Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre

Average Customer Rating:
8.349 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
325 of 344(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Review 1 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great car, comfortable seats, good suspension,
August 14, 2013
By JR
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180000
What's great about this vehicle?:Smooth ride, Comfortable seats, relable car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Intake manifold gaskets, dexcool
ReviewOriginationID:dd076b3f80e04815b61abf3a1155cfd5
Make:Buick
Model:LeSabre
Vehicle ID:5093
"I've got 180,000 just had the upper intake manifold done. People that are complaining. If you don't take care of your car it won't take car of you. You need to changeout the Dexcool, and get regular oil changes. I have a bad back and had to get rid of my other car due to back problems. They have very comfortable seats, if your seat goes bad take it to an upolstery. I've got the original drum brakes on the back.
You should avoid bumpy and dirt roads because it's bad for the suspension...although it's a smooth ride. One of GM's best engine's. I have the original transmission...some of the plastic parts can erode with time, like the piece coming off the fuel pressure regulator can crack. But you can get replacements at a junk yard, or the dealer for odd parts. The only major design problem was the plastic intake manifold and dexcool. However, if you have changed your dexcool, not waiting 5 years! your engine will last.
The main thing is that when the temperature gets over 200+(not sure of the exzact number), but the gaskets can get corroded from the dexcool...try not to run your engine hot and change your coolant. They now have dexcool compatible universal coolant which you can have your coolant system flushed and replaced with. Some people go further and do a preston coolant cleaner, and just put in fresh stuff. Regardless, I still believe you can use dexcool if you replace the intake manifold gasket with the aluminum one. Hey mine lasted almost to 200K miles and the coolant was only changed 5-6 times. It's recommended you flush it every other year at least."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Most underrated car on the market,
November 11, 2009
By fr88
from Georgia
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this car just before the gas crunch a few years ago. It had originally been built for a Buick executive in Michigan who kept it at his home on Florida. Car was loaded with every option available on a Lesabre Limited that year, and to say it was in pristine showroom condition would be quite an understatement. I bought it at 68k miles and it now has 111K. I bought this car for gas mileage - it was rated the same as a contemporary V6 Camry or Accord, but I knew it would be vastly cheaper to maintain, not to meation much cheaper to purchase. People ignore Buicks in favor of dreary cramped Japanese brands, but the Buick is a real car built for full-sized adults to ride in great comfort and hushed silence. I get 20 mpg around town with a heavy foot, and have averaged 30mpg during steady state highway cruising. Maintenance has been minimal: fluids and normal wear items. The only repairs have been the waterpump, belt tensioner, and starter. Only problem has been a very slight oil leak at the oil filter housing. One thing that ensures that Buicks run forever is a comprehesive oil monitoring system in these cars. Not only does the car tell you when to change oil,. but it also tells you if your oil level gets low, even if the engine oil pressure is fine. This helps promote good maintenance habits from the previous owners.
Compared to its competition, these cars are the best value on the used car market. Utterly reliable, inexpensive to purchase and operate, and no similiar family sedan is cheaper to maintain or repair. Buy with confidence!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functional, not flashy,
November 15, 2009
By thejmfc
from Jenison, MI
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The 1996 LeSabre is unique in that it is the last year of the "old" style before it was refreshed slightly in 1997, while also being the first year of the Series II engine. One glance from the headlights to the engine and the year can be positively identified.
My experience with this car in the five years i've owned it has been good. Aside from tires, struts, brakes, and a transmission (at 165000 miles), the car has been maintenance-free and dead-reliable. It seats four adults in comfort, though the seats aren't as comfortable as, say, Bonneville buckets. Ride is somewhat soft - never jarring, but sometimes floaty. Steering also leans toward easy, not precise.
Styling is conservative and tasteful. Not a car that will draw envious stares, but I think it's lines still look nice 14 years later.
The trunk is spacious, but lacks a pass-through for long items.
Trouble areas on these cars include: intake failures of the engine, rust in the wheel-wells and rockers, failure of the auto-level rear suspension, torque-converter clutch shudder, and eventual transmission failure. Transmissions can easily last 150-250k miles if treated well, but the 3800 engine can famously go on forever - making the transmission the weaker of the two.
Fuel economy is quite good for the size and age: About 27-29 mpg highway, 22 mixed.
Overall, a fine car. I would recommend a LeSabre to anyone looking for reliability and fairly good economy in a full-size sedan."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Been a Good Car,
March 15, 2012
By Mike
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:191000
What's great about this vehicle?:roomy, good visibility, good ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:for its age and miles I have no complaints!
ReviewOriginationID:1242a791-1087-4f85-bfd1-16e41bb8fdc1
"Although I have had some issues with this car over the five years I have owned it, I bought it at around 70,000 and have put another 120,000 on it myself. Got it from the original owner and he had all the oil change records and such so I was confident in it. Bought it without even taking it to a mechanic. Think I paid around $2,200 at the time. The air flow power unit has not worked from day one (controls on steering wheel do, so I can still change temp from heat to a/c), nor has the cassett/CD player, but the air worked and after a recharge will still work. Struts have worn out but before they did the ride was amazing. My engine has developed an oil leak over the past year (car is 16 years old!), probably just the pan, yet it still runs strongly. One power window failed last year, but again, that is just age. Despite issues, it has been a dependable car for over four years - transmission is EXCELLENT! Very roomy yet I get between 20-22 in the city still. I am thinking of keeping it to as the body is still in pretty good shape and I'd like to see if I can get 250,000 miles out of it. I grew up with Buicks and love them - they have always made a very good product. All-in-all I have been very happy with my 1996 Lesabre - desite the recent problems it has been one of my favorite used cars I have owned. The 3800 engine and tranny are amazing."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1996
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is a great car,
January 2, 2008
By Carguy
from Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought a 1997 Buick Lesabre over three years ago with 55,000 miles and it was in great condition. It now has 117,000 and I recently bought new tires because this car will last a long time. The 3800 engine (3.8L) is one of the best engines ever made, as well as the transmissions. It's been used in 100's of cars over the last 10 years and it is very proven. If you are a used car buyer, the best way to search for a car is go and talk to your local mechanic who works on cars for a living. Ask them what are the proven and reliable cars and if they would buy what you are looking for. Also ask what they drive. If you mention the 3800 engine, it will always be a good response. Also..... this car is a very smooth drive and I like it because it's not over high tech..... and the more technology, bells and whistles a car has, the more that can go wrong with it. I plan to drive this car for at least 200,000 miles. I can change my own oil easily, and I recently changed the plugs and wires and it took me about 20 - 30 minutes. Since I bought it, the only repairs I had was the tension pully and serpentine belt wore out at 100,000 miles, and my son put on new brake pads. Is it my dream car.. no, but lets face it, I paid $5500 three years ago and if I maintine it right, it's like driving for the next 100,000 miles with no payment. Not a bad deal."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
55 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
It's a Buick!,
February 7, 2008
By bassman
from Cleveland
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I got this '96 LeSabre from my mom after her husband died. It had 28,000 miles on it. I had to sell my Suzuki Samurai as I couldn't afford insurance on 3 vehicles. (I also had an Astro.) This was such an "old man's car!" But it soon grew on me. The seats are not as comfortable as I thought they should be, no lumbar support although they do adjust up and down, tilt, and such. Seems like two buttons do the same adjusting. The 3.8 engine is flawless, plenty of power. My sister bought an '02 LeSabre and had nothing but problems with it. I get 29 mpg on the highway (fully loaded with luggage and 4 people) and 23 mpg in the city. (I only got 28mpg with the Samurai!) I've owned it for almost 7 years and have 153,000 miles on it. The heater control located behind the glovebox has given me problems but seems to have fixed itself. As big as this car is I can't seem to squeeze my bass fiddle in it as the doors are too small and the back seat doesn't fold, something I plan on addressing soon. I would recommend this car to anyone who doesn't mind driving an old guys car! I still love the styling. It's big, heavy and safe. ABS is a charm. I still have the original stainless steel exhaust. I plan on driving it until it's done, hopefully another 100,000 miles or so!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My 2nd LeSabre,
May 27, 2013
By RnbowAngel
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:107000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable on trips, easy to drive,dependable
ReviewOriginationID:00a93c8ef1534e6a88696e362449e8bd
Make:Buick
Model:LeSabre
Vehicle ID:6199
"THis Vehicle has been awesome for transportation. My 1st LeSabre was a 1994, I was given the car in 1999 by my dad, it was my mom's car so after she passed he didn't need the extra car and I was in need of one. Anyway It got me to work, to my dad's 118 miles away, to Indiana, and I ran the miles up on it from the 115,000 it had up to 357,000 before the engine and transmission finally had enough. Then the body was perfect, and I hated to have it crushed, so I sold it to a guy just for the body, and he still gave me 800 for it because he had one that was totalled but the engine and transmission was still good. Now I have a 1998 it only has 107,000 miles on it, it has some body damage but runs great. I hate to part with it because it is a dependable car.My maintenance cost on both cars has been minimum. The basic oil, changes and tires when needed. No major repairs. The worst in both was for an alternator, brand new on my 1994 was $125 with a lifetime warranty. I am having to get the one for this one now, but it was priced at $140 brand new w/ the lifetime warranty. Low maintenance, most likely to give a lot of wear and tear for an owner."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 1998
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Fantastic Car,
June 10, 2008
By Mr. G
from Providence, Utah
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We purchased this car, 95 LeSabre, over 3 years ago with 61,000 original miles on it. It had been parked in a garage for 3 years without being driven. It showed it and smelled horrible. After a serious cleaning and replacing the heater blower motor it has worked great. The seals on the AC had all dried out so we replaced the compressor and updated it to the new coolant. That was all we had to do to it initially. It now has 141,651 miles on it and I have had to change the spark plug wires and plugs on just a couple of weeks ago June of 08.
Replaced the rotors and brakes in December 07 and rear shocks & Struts. The best mileage we have had is around 23 mpg on the road. But for the cost of insurance and a new car payment even with gas at $4 per gallon we can pay for a great deal of gas by keeping this one. It has performed exceptionally well and still does.
The 350 was one of the best motors GM ever made until they came along with the 3800 series. It is comparable for the size and has better gas mileage. This is a fine car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
93 Buick Lesabre,
October 28, 2008
By CharmedOne
from Newburgh NY & PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Hello, I bought a 93 Lesabre about 3 years ago for $1500 at a small dealers lot. it had 115K, I drove that car all over the place, Ended up trading it in for a newer car Big Mastake, the newer car was bad. Went to get my buick back, and someone already bought it. Now my Friend has a 94 Buick in better shape, No rust. for $1000 and I am grabbing it. The dealer i am buying the 94 buick from just got my old original buick back on his lot, The body is in beautiful shape but the underbelly of car is rusted thru. Has over 215K on it...
Basically saying my old buick was comfortable, and true, never left me sitting. Has a few small issues, like stalling going around a corner, but other wise excellent. I am hoping for the same luck with the 94 buick i am buying in 3 weeks. Its much cleaner all the way around so I cross my fingers for GOOD LUCK! Which i have always had with my older buick. If you can find one with minimal rust, for under $2000 with 120k to 165K I would grab it, it wont let you down.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 10 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very Good Transportation,
June 11, 2009
By SJG
from MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 93 Le Sabre in fall '04 with 119K on it as my 1st car. I got it pretty cheap because it needed brakes, tires, a wheel bearing, and tiny trans cooler line drip fix. The car had obviously NEVER SEEN A GARAGE IN IT'S LIFE, but still looked pretty good with olly a little rocker panel rust. The only things that didn't work were the ACand power antenna, but all I was looking for dependable transportation at a good price. Soon after I got it the alternator went, which was the only time ever the car didn't start, but an alternator is expected.
The car always drove and rode nice and got good gas mileage (usually at least 31 Highway). By fall of '08 I sold it for only $300 less than what I paid for it and bought a 1998 Pontiac Bonneville that was like new. The only reason why I got rid of the LeSabre was because I found the Bonneville (also has 3800 V6).
The Le Sabre only Cost about $75/mo to drive/maintain (not counting gas, insurance, or registration)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
gm hit this on the nose,
September 21, 2007
By david
from michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I loved this car between me and my dad we owned it for 7 years and put on 129,000 miles on it. (We bought it at 58,000) These cars are bullett proof and with last until you have great grand children. I think in the whole time we had it we only put 2,000.00 into it. Seats are the beat ever so soft a baby could sleep on them. Like any leather it gets really hot in the summer and cold in the winter.Beware that the valve covers leak oil and at least my car had trouble with the battery cables croding over.
I know this is long but I will tell you all that it had wrong with it and it still drove like a champ. Oil leak battery cable croding over. no horn, air bags went off (god that hurts), no radio no heat or air, crack in the windshield.I had to get rid of it because it caught on fire.
I also have a 2002 chevy impala LS with the same moter and I have put more money in it then carter has liver pills. the 3.8 moter it the best moter ever made hands down.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best car yet,
March 28, 2009
By Buicklover
from Dorr, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have owned my buick lesabre for almost a full year. Its 16 years old and i am 17. The only problems that i have had were the window seals leaking when going through a car wash, the casset player dont work, and the AC dont work neither. its got the worlds most comfortable back seats, all cloth, and the front seats are very nice too. except fer the middle seat. its very hard and not very relaxing like the rest of the car. I have never had anyone complain about there not being enough leg room in the car though. I absolutley love the chrome pieces that go around the car, the sound system is great, and the bumper guard in the front is great for winter parking. the car never gets scratched that way, unless u park behind a truck. The clearcoat is starting to peel on the hood though. It sounds great, looks great, and runs like a beauty. I get about 26 mpg on the highway and around 19 in the city. It could be just the way i drive too though."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love it,
September 24, 2008
By Reliable Car
from Winchester, IN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My mom owned this car for 5 years with only one major problem which involved leaking head gaskets at about 85,000 miles. Mechanic said Buicks are notorious for leaking gaskets just as they are getting broken in. He assured us that it would not happen again.
My mom gave me this car my senior year as my "going to college" gift and I love this car. I don't really like the looks but it drives wonderfully. The only drawback which is an optional feature, is Dynaride which has to do with the cars shock absorption. It basically means on bumpy roads you CAN NOT drive fast because you will be bouncing around like a jelly bean. But being a teenage girl my friends like this feature about the car!
Overall, I will never trade this car! I don't care if it is cool or not. It is just fun to drive! I would highly recommend it for young teenage drivers. It has a calming effect that helps you slow down, and drive safely!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love it,
September 16, 2010
By 1992 LeSabre Lover
from Michigan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned 2 '92 LeSabre Limiteds after driving Cadillacs for many years and love it just as much. The seats are the most comfortable I ever experienced, bar none, (Hate bucket seats!!) The ride glides and floats almost as well as the Cadillac even though the car is 19 years old now. Both cars needed new alternators at 100,000 miles and other than new batteries and tires and regular maintainence, needed nothing until new brakes at 140,000 miles. I still can't believe I have the original exhaust system. I live in Michigan and the car always starts right up even in the winter. The only complaint I have is the paint. They paint started chipping off a few years ago and then the rust moved in. The body is terrible and I wish I could just put a new body on my trusty, comfortable ride. I have noticed the same problem on most older Buicks in Michigan--such a shame."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 15 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Didn't have it long, and that's fine with me!,
July 9, 2014
By freddie in L.A.
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:97000
Reason for Sale:It got totaled and I was glad. Buying 04 Corolla
What's great about this vehicle?:Kinda cushy, compared to economy cars. Roomy.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Boatlike, stodgy. I'm too young for this Buick!!
ReviewOriginationID:18adb9be9bf1484396856d3124473765
Make:Buick
Model:LeSabre
Vehicle ID:6199
"To be fair, it wasn't the right car for me in the first place: I got it used at a great price. My other cars have been: '78 Civic and '84 Corolla (both bought new), '67 MGB, '68 VW Camper. I'm replacing this Buick with a 2004 Corolla: better mileage, easier to park, much less stodgy.
It did strand me a few times, but it had not been really well maintained by DPO.
I really have an issue, though, with the lousy interior design. Too easy to accidentally leave dome light on and run down battery; stereo had stupid detente settings so we could never get the volume where we wanted it; etc., but the STUPIDEST thing was the hazard light switch - difficult to find and even harder to engage, but easy to turn off. etc.
It had 97k on it when totaled. It had been a rental for the first 25k. I only put about 15k on it: it was an okay second car to my VW."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Car,
May 28, 2010
By Robby
from Mississippi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought the car with 130k, and now have over 220k, other than normal maintenance I have done nothing to the car. Just in the last six months have I really been able to see anything aging. The a/c compressor quit at 219000, the driver's seat has sunk in where the springs have gotten weak, other than that I have spent very little money on it. However, the 3.8 v6, has a plastic intake manifold that sits on top of the engine, under a plastic shroud, this needs to be replaced every 100k miles, it will crack and leak. Mine was bad when I bought it, and it's time to change it again. It's very easy to do if you know anything about engines. I have owned the car for 2 years next month, and for the last year have been trying to find another one, for my wife. I will trade this one when it hits 300k, maybe, but not before."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Surprising economy,
January 27, 2008
By ktek01
from Columbia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Got this car from my father two years ago, he had some problems with it and had a newer LeSabre so I got this one for nothing. New upper intake, major tune up and it was ready for the road again. So far it has never broken down, but at 128k it is starting to show its age a bit. AC compressor going, water pump starting to make some noise, the tape deck problems, needs a TPS sensor, oil level sensor, struts, and probably a hub for the ABS light. Still runs good and gets very good fuel economy for its size, probably 25 or so around town and I get close to 30 on Interstate trips. I would keep it for another 10k but the repair costs are starting to add up so I will probably trade it on something newer, cant really complain considering the miles and I would recommend a lower mileage one to a friend."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great American car!,
November 4, 2007
By tran2
from Yuba City California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 97 lesabre with 60500 miles on it at one of those used car tent sales two years ago (jan 06) for $3988. It was one of the few times of buying a car off the lot and not feeling they got the best of me. I had previously owned a newer Park Avenue and loved it too. Though the Park was nicer (had every conceivable option), the Lesabre is great. Not totally problem free. It needed brakes and rotors right away. Did it myself, parts are cheap for this car. I had to replace the waterpump and idler pulley (fairly easy) and I have changed the rear struts. That is probably the biggest complaint. The "Dynaride" is in my opinion way too soft. The strut replacement didnt really help all that much. Overall, I love my Buick and will get another soon oh and 26-27 MPG consistently!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Good overall car despite several flaws,
June 5, 2011
By heitzrun
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:233000
"This car is one that I have overall been satisfied with. The 3.8L V6 is one of the longest lasting engines. The ride is smooth and comfortable. I purchased with 141000 on and have put nearly 100,000 on it. The car is comfortable, roomy, and has many "luxury" features.
The downside. Everything but the engine fails. I have fixed the following items.
Throttle Position Sensor
Quad Driver
Air conditioning compressor
Computer
Muffler
Collector Gasket
EGR valve
Water Pump
Belt
Spark Plugs
Spark Plug wires
Driver control panel
Alternator (2x)
Battery
Intake manifold gasket
Tires
Serpantine Belt
Transmission
Transmission Filter
I also patched the wheel wells which all rusted
Rocker Panels rusted
Some of these things are routine maintenance, but this seems excessive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1994
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1992 - 1999 Buick LeSabre
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This car is one owner, she was elderly lady,
March 29, 2014
By dasie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:32000
What's great about this vehicle?:car has dyno ride,feels like u are floating
What's not so great about this vehicle?:cig lighter is only thing that does not work ,has
ReviewOriginationID:5d79a017f5a34646a4ea5842d07d0daf
Make:Buick
Model:LeSabre
Vehicle ID:8667
"The elderly lady who owned this car lived next door the car was bought before her husband passed away,He was very old fashioned and set in his ways, At the time the car was the top of the line, it has factory spare, but he insisted to carry reg. new tire as spare, insisted the oil be changed on time,(not another mile until it was done) thecar has a light that comes on warn u that it is ALMOST time to change the oil,to him the white walls on tires were suppose to show on outside,I know these things dont tell you alot,but it SURE tells as picky as he was ,the car was taken care of,Guessing might have been on interstate maybe 10 i know the longest trip was appox 300 miles away then they both passed awa,Igot the car from their daughter, thank you"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1994
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.