Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu

Average Customer Rating:
8.126 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
806 of 953(85%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Review 81 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car,
May 1, 2013
By NYJohnny
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:always runs, low maintenace, good mileage.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:b2a1b497d1674505be36fb8cac775804
"After 103,000 miles I've only had the brakes done twice and then routine service. Highway at 70mph is 31 around town it drops to 22. This V-6 is quick off the line, likes to cruise at 75-80 and just runs and runs.
The passenger seat folds flat so I haul 10ft boards with the hatch closed! Better than a pickup!
Why trade it since it's paid for.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
decent little car,
April 15, 2013
By will
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:good fuel economy , reliable car , comfortable too
What's not so great about this vehicle?:panels rattle, driver seat welds broken
ReviewOriginationID:730df36c65344fc89e0d6e42792a10e4
"bought this car when my buick blew a head gasket. it had 165,000 or so on it now have almost 190,000 on her. she had some problems when we first met.major problem was batt light would come on when you tried to accelerate. check engine light never came on only the service vehicle soon light would flash and the electric power steering would cut out every time you mash the gas. thought alternator was bad had it checked it was fine. so changed the belt and pulleys still had the same issues. so thought computer was bad, but I did some research online and found out that if the spark plugs and wires are after market this will cause the problem. someone had put after market wires on this car. for some reason it only wants a/c delco parts got some new wires and plugs from the dealer and wa la problem solved. she runs like a champ now. no problems at all since just changed oil and you know regular maintenance. very good on gas. I drive 30 miles one way to work and back. she gets me there all week and Friday night I still have a little less than A quarter tank. that century, I had to fill up on the 3rd day. So I am very pleased so far. I am just starting to hear bearing noise but that is part of regular maintenance , the car does have over 190,000 on it time to change them out anyway and do brake job at the same time. tires seem to be wearing evenly as well rotate those every 4 to 6 thousand miles.the driver seat welds have broken so seat moves around. this seems to be a reacquiring theme on most Malibu forums also. I just took the seat out and had a mechanic weld it back for me and that did the trick for 20 dollars. just to recap most of the problems are minor little annoyances that don't cost to much to repair, so all in all a very good reliable car that will get you from point A to B safely."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Greatest car, best convience ever,
April 14, 2013
By maxx3
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:46000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, great value, good mpg
What's not so great about this vehicle?:So far none
ReviewOriginationID:7451d3f0bc05466587e58b0136f40501
"Drives great, and I can use as a sedan or a great little station wagon. Have hauled a six foot cabinet, bicycles, and precious people from babies and great grandmas and grandpas. Safety seat installation is easy and very secure. Great for vacations lots of room. Very enjoyagle ride."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NE
Year 2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
very great for a first car, highly recommend it,
April 1, 2013
By Matt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117116
What's great about this vehicle?:very dependable, great on gas, spacious
What's not so great about this vehicle?:acceleration is sub par
ReviewOriginationID:b76fd4842a78444590acbc0b3fc23fa6
"i own this car and have for about two years now, i got it with over 100,000 miles on it and it still runs as great as the day i got it. the only issue im having with it now is that the acceleration is not that great. which really isn't that big of a con to the car but i know alot of speed demons out there are looking for something fast. once you get it going the top speed will even out the lack there of acceleration. great first car and i highly recommend it to anyone looking for a dependable vehicle with great gas mileage, i get 20.5 mpg daily!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Overall a great American Made Car,
April 1, 2013
By RemtecEng
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:102000
Reason for Sale:Traded for a 2013 car.
What's great about this vehicle?:Good looks, performance and good gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Interior could use more gizmos.
ReviewOriginationID:516082c7ca8149be9d9175a9e2d12213
"The 2005 Chevy Malibu LS with the 3.5L engine gives tons of HP and performance all with very good mileage. We experienced 20-25 city, 30-33 highway. No complaints there. The interior was well finished and comfortable although the amenities were sparse. The exterior with the rear spoiler was sharp looking and can turning many heads especially when hitting the gas a little to hard. As with most GM cars, experience the normal maintenance at 60K+ mileage."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location NY
Year 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I LOVE MY MAXX,
March 6, 2013
By licia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:149000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great price , fun to drive, sporty look
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none yet
ReviewOriginationID:a61844bde9d04b6a90dea71f0c9883d7
"I bought a 2004 Malibu maxx lt 148000 miles fully loaded and even though it has a weird minor start issue every now and then I love it. lot of cargo space fast take off gas is not to bad but hey im used to driving a gas guzzling expedition... lol so im just happy 50 gives me a stern fill up instead of a half of tank. Great handling and fun to drive"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Much Better Than I Expected,
February 24, 2013
By MaxxMan
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:109000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, Interior Room, Features, Gas Milage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:A few rattles here and there
ReviewOriginationID:eade438ee1104c3086487681041b3692
"I bought this car almost solely on price. After all the deals GM had available, my Malibu was about $5000 less than a comparable Accord or Mazda 6, a deal I simply could not pass up. Buying this car new in 2004, I expected it to need a few repairs down the road, but it has been almost 100% reliable, with only a very few repairs during warranty. After almost 9 years of ownership, I am shocked everyday that it drives so well and has held up beautifully after so much hard use. An Accord of this age would probably also drive well and be nice and tight and rattle free, but it would have cost me $5000 more at onset, and not be worth $5000 more 9 years later (I just checked values and it is worth about $2300 more). All in all, my Malibu has been a great car for me and I fully expect to buy another GM car when this one finally bites the dust."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 2004
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I have owned!,
February 13, 2013
By frank
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:152250
What's not so great about this vehicle?:seat fabric stains easily
ReviewOriginationID:c502d4d1d10a465abc72b380e3090bf6
"I bought this car new in July of '05 and I now have 152,246 miles on it. It has the 3.5L V6 engine and in my daily commute of 32 miles one way I still ave. 30mpg. I admit that it is rural driving not many stops but great for the miles. Just 1 set of brakes and a front hub on each side and an intermediate steering shaft which was under warranty. Still fun to drive and I will run it into the ground!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2005
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car for its price,
February 9, 2013
By Dee
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Good price good value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:High gas consumtion and bad suspension
ReviewOriginationID:7116b3c65dfa4717a5f73f1c56f8136e
"I am 18 years old and this is my first car. I bought my Malibue last year with 145 k miles. So far I only needed to fix the breaks, for a car with this much miles it is very good. The gas milage is not so good, because the angine is big, it is a v-6 3 liter. The responce is not that good as well, but I'm OK with that. At the moment it has noise coming from the front suspension springs, but my Dad says its nothing to worry about. In all I think it was a good purchase, and I recommend the car to anyone."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
GREAT for a first car and rough drivers!,
January 30, 2013
By Dave
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:39100
What's great about this vehicle?:great tranny, engine, interior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:outside is boxy looking, could have done better
ReviewOriginationID:1bf67f72279b49c5aa7e2461bf27745c
"I just turned 20 years old. I received the car brand new when I was 15 and has been a wonderful car. No complaints. I won't lie, I have had some FUN times in it. I am very rough with it. I turn fast, drive fast, and have alot of fun in it! Never had any troubles with it. It's a 4 banger so great gas mileage and jets around pretty good! I drive it very rough and fill my tank up MAYBE twice a month, no more. My mom drives a Kia Spectra and when I drive like I do in mine her tank goes town within 3 days or so and it's slower. The '07 Malibu is an absolutely awesome car. Only thing I don't like is the exterior looks a bit boxy. Do not place things on the seats or they will scratch! Place on the floorboard. The trunk is huge, I am 6'2 and can comfortably lay inside of it. I would suggest the car to anyone. No rattles or anything! Great cheap car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2007
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car.,
January 23, 2013
By Dee
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:97000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great pick up, handles really well. Even in rain
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Doors are heavy.
ReviewOriginationID:d3fb7e412ffa46d5a0690d19972cc929
"I have owned this car for almost 6 years . Never had any major problems with it. It is easy and comfortable to drive. Has great acceleration! I had a small car before this. It was like driving a cardboard box. I really love my car ;)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wonderful for a growing, active family!,
January 22, 2013
By CHRIS
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:65000
What's great about this vehicle?:Versatility!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Maybe having OnStar for the life of the vehicle?
ReviewOriginationID:9b36612ad253419d890d1f85df2fcd19
"I bought this car to have room for my 3 growing girls, my husband, and myself. We have used this car to go camping, long distance drives, and for everyday use. Cannot say enough about the versatility of this vehicle! We use the rear cargo cover as a table during trips and camping, the cargo cover can be slid behind the rear seats to make room for larger items, and the rear seats and the passenger front seat fold down to transport longer items. I will invest the time to maintain this vehicle so that I don't have to try and find another vehicle that does all of this!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2006
Review 93 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This is my 2nd Maxx! Love, love the hatchback!,
January 1, 2013
By Lissyobx
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:87000
What's great about this vehicle?:Love the look, & power!
ReviewOriginationID:3d543aa7937246c9bf5c3225f329b7dc
"I live in my cars. Had a Cheroke prior to my 2 Malibu Maxx's. Wonderful to have a much better MPG, great style & still be able to pack it full! My SS version has so much power & all the goodies I could want! Keeping it until it won't go any more!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2007
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I LOVE my 2007 Chevrolet Malibu!,
December 20, 2012
By Natureglo
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:72274
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable, reliable
ReviewOriginationID:91ff57fb9eb34ff5ac4c51313775ec69
"This car was a tremendous investment for me. I purchased it from a dealership in Elkton, MD, almost five years ago. This car has never let me down. I love how it drives and I love the fact that it's never broken down on me. I may be getting ready to take it on it's longest trek ever from WV to AZ. I feel confident in this car's abilities to get me there safely."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WV
Year 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love this car!,
December 19, 2012
By Bluebird
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:103000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great gas mileage. Great handling.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Nowhere to put my purse in the front seat!
ReviewOriginationID:59b04286746f40efa8812ec150627157
"I love the way this car handles. From the power assist steering to the tailgate hatch this car suits me for every need. I use it for business and pleasure. It has never let me down. One flaw seems to be excessive brake wear. I'm not sure why that is but I have seen that in other reviews also. I wish they still made this car. I would buy it again. Roomy, comfortable, great gas mileage, low maintenace. What's not to like."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great car,
August 26, 2012
By sal mal
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:low gas mileage comfortable seating ,nice exterior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:kinda small inside
ReviewOriginationID:0fc833d320ba4b85be762fbe774efd9f
"great car i have owned it for 3 yrs love it"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 2007
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Wonderful Car.,
August 11, 2012
By Racer28
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:103200
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun To Drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Radio is fuzzy.
ReviewOriginationID:4763b9dbfa5e4db7aa9a9ec5f43bfa28
"I just bought a 2005 Chevy Malibu, there were some minor fixed (ie: Radio broken, had to replace the Anti Theft chip and remote, had to get a new master key ) but over all this is one amazing car, I'm super pleased with it. My favorite thing about my car is the fact I can down shift it like a standard vehicle! I also loved how straight it drives down the road, its so comfy too, the radio (now that I have it fixed) Is amazing as well :-) The A/C will freeze you out of the car and the gas mileage is amazing."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NM
Year 2005
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car,
August 11, 2012
By Amie
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
ReviewOriginationID:5a071597d0984962804a79e0568079a9
"Reliable and Comfortable what more do I have to say"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
the best car i have ever own,
August 9, 2012
By smiley
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:28756
What's great about this vehicle?:grat gas mig
What's not so great about this vehicle?:dont drink in the car
ReviewOriginationID:8b5745cbd36044e2b34d9e933cd71cf3
"yes"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My first vehicle...so far so good. No problems.,
July 16, 2012
By cat
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very fun to drive. Great gas mielege
What's not so great about this vehicle?:had to replace the struts, normal ware and tear.
ReviewOriginationID:aa3a318e8f1c4846a66ff2b72d9a4e90
"I think it's a great first car. I bought it myself so I take really good care of it. One day i'll trade it in, but for now i'm happy."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2006
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.