Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu

Average Customer Rating:
8.126 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
824 of 974(85%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Review 81 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
VERY RELIABLE EASY HANDLING,
September 14, 2013
By DAVE
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:39300
What's great about this vehicle?:GOOD PRICE, EASY HANDLING AROUND TOWN
What's not so great about this vehicle?:SLIGHTLY TIGHT FIT INSIDE FOR ME INSIDE
ReviewOriginationID:06883b0a7ed44b3bb9a83559d80df7b7
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:201
"VERY PLEASED WITH CAR. HANDLES WELL, GOOD GAS MILAGE.GREAT IN TOWN CAR."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2006
Review 82 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I've ever owned!,
September 11, 2013
By Love my Maxx
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:119000
What's great about this vehicle?:spacious, easy to pack, great for family,reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bad factory tires, cd player did break
ReviewOriginationID:1005a8b5763a4c70b1d14766ca30b145
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:261
"This car is fantastic!! It has plenty of space for 2 car seats, and you can even squeeze a third passenger in the back if you have to for a short trip. The hatch is spacious and so easy to pack, SO much better than a trunk. The mileage has always been good and other than coming with poor tires from the factory, it's been fantastic. I spent the first year thinking it didn't do well in the snow, only to be pleasantly surprised when we put new tires on. If you can beat me to a low mileage one, grab it immediately! You won't be disappointed."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Dependable,
September 7, 2013
By Chris
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
ReviewOriginationID:f0ea921cc86b4af0802b93f0a8c8ea37
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:256
"My wife picked out this car several years ago and while I've not been the biggest fan of it's look, it has been a very dependable vehicle the entire time we've had it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car,
August 22, 2013
By Nanalisa
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:10000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive,great gas mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:problem with electric window back passanger side
ReviewOriginationID:6eaa92209b854e5da931b6d5b43b5ed1
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:256
"I just Love this care good on gas comfortable easy to drive got new tires on the front but due to husband passing can not afford the payments asking 6000.00 just to pay off or take over payments already paying for another car with less payments to go.it's a maroon color."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Loved to drive it, too bad the electronics failed,
August 4, 2013
By Shaina
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:74000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great drive, good price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:non-essential features fall apart
ReviewOriginationID:730a941d552542a99a616f8775f6fd70
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:261
"When I first saw this car, I did not like the way it looked. I grew to love it, especially the convenience of a hatchback and folding rear seats. This car handled well and was very reliable in the winter (for a car). I did not have to do many repairs, other than the expected expendables. However, I had problems with the electronic options of the car. The CD player gets CDs stuck in it so I gave up trying to use it. The remote for the locks do not work (both of my remotes stopped working at the same time, so I assume it is a problem with the system). The lock button on the driver's side door doesn't work, I have to reach over to the passenger door to lock the car, or use the key manually from the outside. Overall, I really liked this car, but the conveniences are unreliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2005
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car,
July 30, 2013
By PammyJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:106104
What's great about this vehicle?:Roomy, remote start
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Hatch has no key and gas door is not secure
ReviewOriginationID:9d3aba28acac4e3e8740cb8141795db5
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:203
"I thought it was an ugly car but the features I required were awesome, such as a remote start.
The back seat has great leg room. Every person that has sat back there has commented on it. The back doors open wider than most cars and is helpful for hauling items or even a person that is on crutches.
The two things I do not like is that when folding down the rear seats the area is not flat with the hatchback floor and the hatch has no key (my fobs don't work anymore).
I would purchase this car again.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my Malibu Maxx,
July 28, 2013
By zanne
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:plenty of room in backseat
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:dbf6ee45935243ed8919ced61e81cfe6
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:2078
"I have never had anything go wrong with my Maxx.. I wish Chevy was still making them.. I cant say enough about my car.."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
dependable,
July 26, 2013
By Kelly
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:111000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:CD player went out. Hard to replace.
ReviewOriginationID:7e6e42a7d01640b1a38a81f89fd39cc2
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:2077
"Love my car. Great for around town. I'm a "baby boomer" and really needed the extra trunk room for helping my mom with a wheelchair. It was the car I needed when I needed it. Really no problems with it. Hope it hangs in there for a while longer. Recommend it for a good daily in-town car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
Review 89 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Drives great and retains it's valuve,
July 25, 2013
By DM
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:99000
What's great about this vehicle?:drives great, good pickup, good mileage on highway
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Interior doesn't hold up to well.
ReviewOriginationID:580cd81a3460433a9229e989c575596c
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:260
"We bought this car used in 2008 with 22,000 miles on it and we have loved it ever since. We have driven it across the county twice with no issues. It gets great gas mileage on the highway and is pretty comfortable to ride. The only bad side is the quality of the interior. The back side of both of the front seats came lose after the year and the radio and door look knobs are rubbing off but other than that, it is a great car. Drive nice, rides nice and still looks good on the outside."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2005
Review 90 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I have ever owned!,
July 24, 2013
By Gerry K
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:70000
What's great about this vehicle?:Handling, ride, power (6cyl)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage (6cyl), seats stain easily
ReviewOriginationID:b02d84a4b28c4abba259724a4c4cf026
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:83545
"i am 60 years old and have owned over a dozen cars. I bought this car used with 24,000 miles on it and have had it for over 5 years. This is the first car I have had zero problems with. My only complaint is that the seats stain too easily, even with water, and my gas mileage is 18 in the city, which is lower than advertised for their 3.5 6 cylinder. The handling is excellent, it has good power, is roomy for its size and the design is nice. I absolutely love this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 2007
Review 91 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Good design flawed by GM stopping to finish the co,
July 16, 2013
By Rick
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:174000
What's great about this vehicle?:v6 I average 29.6, it goes quite well
What's not so great about this vehicle?:power steering unit loss
ReviewOriginationID:abe02edab3aa4892baef9041af46b5c2
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:203
"The Maxx is wonderful thought on paper, which is where GM should have left this car if they were not going to finish the concept.
The good: Mileage - v6 I average 29.6, it goes quite well and has never failed to start. The seats are comfortable and the use of space good.
The bad:The steering unit has been replaced twice in 150K miles, the suspension makes noises which GM claims is normal, the seats stain with water, I have never had good service from the GM garage bc of the car and GM will not stand behind the issues. The ride is terriable at best, and the power steering goes out in the winter ONLY!
I come from a GM family and sorry to say, I will never buy another GM product due to the failure!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Ugh,
July 16, 2013
By kf
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:136000
ReviewOriginationID:e5bf9200feee452383ce6dc1686d2c00
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:2076
"Nothing but trouble. Window motor repaced 2 times, electrical issues that can't be found. Gas gauge broken. Not a good experience for me."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2004
Review 93 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I wish these were still made!,
June 30, 2013
By Izzie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:79005
ReviewOriginationID:b62e85525a0b48359b78c40c2f259742
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:261
"I love my Malibu Maxx. I wish that these were still made! I was able to move myself into and out of my dorm at college and into my first apartment with this car. I love the hatchback for tailgating too!
The Malibu Maxx has been super reliable! I've had (knock on wood) very few problems with it, and the problems I've had have been regular wear and tear (brakes) or something completely off the wall (ran over a wrench)."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location DE
Year 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car!,
June 29, 2013
By Bowser
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:104200
What's great about this vehicle?:Affordable,good space
What's not so great about this vehicle?:does not have the pep of a 6 or 8 cylander
ReviewOriginationID:594fc9f0e69b43cca30c6cefe428e202
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:256
"In my 40+ years of driving this has been my favorite vehicle. It is roomy but smaller,gets great gas mileage and has not required any major repairs. (I have 104,237 miles on it.) On the freeways(interstate highways) I get between 36--46 miles per gallon. I set the cruise control to 70 and only change it if conditions call for a change. It is not a luxury car but affordable and enjoyable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Simply put - It's the best car ever made,
June 24, 2013
By Analyzes
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:Handles perfect, great acceleration, fuel mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not found one yet
ReviewOriginationID:dc559d8694234ba1a7776ba7c0fecc51
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:209
"I own a towing and Auto repossession company - and as such i'm in a different vehicle many times a day either moving or driving them. My 2006 Malibu Maxx still beats just about everything else I drive. It's a true "drivers car" - Everything was set up just right from the factory and even after 6 years it still handles like a dream. The quality put into it is second to none, and you'll be hard pressed to ever find a matching car in ride, comfort mixed with performance. A true 5 out of 5 stars - From a 20 year car professional."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of my best vehicles,
June 20, 2013
By Bill
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
ReviewOriginationID:4a4fa60e628e4fdebd01aa3289df6cbd
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:201
"My Malibumaxx is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Reliable, good mileage, looks good, drives good."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car! Wonderful mileage and plenty of room!,
May 18, 2013
By Kor
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
Reason for Sale:Didn't sell it. It got totaled.
What's great about this vehicle?:Can take a beating, easy to change oil, etc
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No AUX port,
ReviewOriginationID:50b1abd4afd6487188852e86ca6c6b6f
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:83541
"This was my first car that I ever bought back in 2008. Over all I loved it; great mileage, wonderful ride, plenty of room both in the trunk and the cab. Even changing the oil, filter, battery, etc was so easy I thought I was doing it wrong. It was a great, dependable car.
I give this car a high rating overall because my trunk met the cab in an accident. The car was totaled beyond all repair but my boyfriend was able to walk away from the accident with no problems at all.
Overall? Love, love, LOVE this car.
"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location CA
Year 2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent!,
May 15, 2013
By Tat
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:98000
ReviewOriginationID:40fe7841e0a94c8b9e175714c4dd9e9d
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:201
"This car was bought to tow behind an RV. It is great! Easy to set up.
Has the complete set up including tow bar, ready to hook up and roll!
Sold RV - needed a van for ease of entry and exit.
This would be a great car for someone needing a "toad"!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
Review 99 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
love this car,
May 12, 2013
By tnj
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great to drive, good pick-up, tough
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weird brake thing,
ReviewOriginationID:62692333c28848fe991704638522bf87
Make:Chevrolet
Model:Malibu
Vehicle ID:261
"Its not a fancy car or a flashy car, I really love it. It has alot of get up and go. It always starts, very little maintaince so far, just the oil. It does have something goofy going on with the brake system, noone seems to be able to figure out what. It hasnt been dangerous or make me feel like the brakes are going out, they work great almost always. Once in a while it does something goofy, thats all. I cant even really put a reason why I am so crazy about this car, just the entire car together. Lots of room for stuff. Comfortable, drives really well. Tough really tough little car. Maybe that is the best way to explain it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ND
Year 2005
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for 2004 - 2007 Chevrolet Malibu
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great versatility, good gas mileage,
May 2, 2013
By Larry
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:117000
What's great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage,lots of room inside w/ seats down.
ReviewOriginationID:9e1670046e6949ea855791ad629e14cf
"The Malibu Maxx has been a very reliable and handy vehicle. I have hauled 12' lumber and have used it to take vacations(with bikes on back). The vehicle has a really nice ride and doesn't tire you out. Gas mileage has been consistently above 30 mpg on the highway.
Cheap to insure and didn't break the bank to purchase.
A real good value. Runs great at 117K.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.