Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat

Average Customer Rating:
7.466 out of 10
7.5
 out of 
10
571 of 771(74%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Review 21 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
German junk money pit,
October 20, 2009
By tdisucker
from Bloomington, IL
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"2005 Passat TDI wagon. Well, I've owned four TDIs now, going back to the 96 Passat wagon. I've always been a big fan. That is over--VW now produces a full line of poorly engineered headache vehicles that you just can't justify buying anymore.
This is my SECOND 2005 Passat TDI wagon. The FIRST one dropped an injector that destroyed the entire engine at 300 MILES!! They gave me a whole new car at that point. It has been serviced religiously at a good VW dealership. The recalls and repairs have been horrific, and will continue indefinitely. Now, at 50,300 miles of gentle driving, the transmission control module and radio are shot ($2000+, out of warranty). The car leaks water into the passenger floor board, where "genius" German engineers placed the module in a pan--brilliant. The check engine light on these pieces of junk will likely burn out the bulb from the frequency that it is on.
So, there you go. I LOVED TDIs until VW screwed it up with the new ones. Tell me TDI fans, how can you justify a diesel engine that will go for 300,000 miles when all the peripheral problems will double your original purchase price over the unhappy life of the car? DO NOT BUY A VW unless you want a stylish migraine headache that is in the pit half the time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Hold on to your wallet!,
May 25, 2010
By mikemund
from mikemund
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Major gripes:
This car is very high maintenance and very unreliable. Have had to replace a tie rod, the coil system, the head gasket, and the spark plugs to the tune of over $2000. Also had to pay $84 for an oil change. 5w40 oil is expensive, and this car (V6) takes 6.5 quarts of it. Will be doing my own oil changes from now on. My wife likes it, but I have put her on notice that one more major breakdown and it's gone.
Minor gripes:
Having to use premium unleaded. No dash light to indicate when cruise engaged. Needs a bigger gas tank. The latter two may have been taken care of with later models. Wish gas mileage were a little better, I'm getting high teens to low 20s.
On the positive side, I love how the car cruises on the interstate, and it feels very solidly built. The acceleration is top-notch with the V6. I feel safe with my kids in this car (airbags all around, ABS, traction control)
Good cargo room (I have a wagon)
The modern day Passat looks like it gets better mpg and has about as much power as this one, but there's no way a brand new one would fit in my budget.
The reliability issues are a killer, as far as I'm concerned, and the vehicle that replaces this will likely be a Japanese minivan or crossover."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Has everything you NEED, with German style/class,
November 9, 2011
By Arbuckle
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:71000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fuel economy, Safety, Comfort, Appearance, $$$$
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Lack of power seats, torque, and HID headlights
ReviewOriginationID:52365069-dabb-4737-97ee-0a53bbd7e03a
"I was skeptical, at first, when thinking about taking the transformation from Japanese cars (in which I've owned all of my life) to German cars.
This is the most reliable car I have ever owned, and I will be buying german cars for the rest of my life now! When I bought it I had Volkswagen put the performance suspension system and wheels on it (Billstein lowering springs, BBS wheels) which tookover the SAME warranty as the car. I then had the windows tinted, and I get compliments everywhere I go now. Not only it is good for the public eye, but I would trust the life of my daughter in the hands of this masterpiece.
From the "comfort zone" on the sunroof to the laser-welded seams on the exterior and doors, this truly is the car for anybody. Take into account the 1.8 (K04) TURBO and this car will suit the needs of any owner.
The only thing I need to warn you about is the choice of oil you use in the engine. ONLY USE CASTROL FULL SYNTHETIC. If you do not use synthetic then you may encounter the worldly-known "sludge" problem that you hear about.
All in all, I would recommend this car to anybody looking for a spacious sedan that offers great style and the best safety features out of any brands on the market."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great in Every Way,
January 23, 2009
By VW Sally
from Dallas, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We owned our VW Passat Wagon for a little over two years before it was totalled, but enjoyed it completely.
Performance: Great reaction and had lots of "get up and go".
Fuel Economy: We averaged about 18 mpg in the city, but could get up to 28 mpg on highway trips.
Options: Ours had more options than we knew what to do with. This was the first car I ever owned that inspired reading the owners manual. All the option were very easy to figure out and use.
Reliability: It was only in the shop once to get an alignment. Other than regular maintenance, we didn't have to do anything.
Safety: After simultaneously being hit by an 18-wheeler and an SUV, the cab was fully protected. The safety crumpling and protective frame acted exactly as designed. The front and side airbags added additional safety.
Comfort: It was a challenge to get two car seats and all the baby stuff in the back seat, but the additional space of the back compartment was very spacious. The driver's seat was very comfortable during long trips. Back seat didn't have a lot of leg room.
Recommendation: Probably not best for families with more than two small children. Good for a family with two children who have grown out of car seats."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Great, if not for maintenance,
August 17, 2009
By Family VW
from NW (Washington/Oregon)
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have an 03 Passat Wagon 4Motion, V6. Vehicle is comfortable, with all the amenities of a high end luxury vehicle (essentially an Audi for about 10K less). I get about 17mpg city and 25mpg highway (21mpg combined). Vehicle is great for road trips with the kids, with moderate storage in the back. Powerful V6 runs smoothly on the highway, with minimal road noise. Nice styling for a wagon.
Unfortunately the vehicle is expensive to repair (if you go through dealer, expect $100 per hour labor). Mine has about 85,000 miles. I have had to replace the rear brakes and rotors three times (once after only 13,000 miles). The rear brakes/rotors run about $325.00. The fuel pump, fan clutch, water pump, thermostat have all had to be replaced, in addition to a problem with oil leaking into the coolant (luckily replaced under warranty). While the customer service at the dealership service shop is always great, the continual issues outside of routine maintenance (oil changes, etc) make it expensive to own and therefor I could not recommend one to a friend. My old Honda has twice as many miles, with a fraction of the mechanical issues and pennies on the dollar in comparable repair costs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
One of the best near-luxury cars you can buy,
September 29, 2011
By BobNFloyd
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105605
"For most of us regular folks, we can't buy the BMW/Audi/Mercedes/Lexus/Infiniti/Acura brands easily in our budget, but VW has traditionally given you a great alternative between 5-10 grand cheaper. Often the VW is a close cousin to the Audi with both being acknowledged for having premium interiors within their class (albeit with a higher price). I find my generation of VW Passats to have good acceleration, a fun tiptronic, and a tossable driving dynamics.
At issue with most VWs is reliability. From my perspective, I've had excellent mechanical reliability, but the electronics are the major downfall. I once wrote a back of the napkin count of my car troubles (In and out of Warranty). I've had 8 recalls (2 times each for Coil Packs and Seat Heaters), along with various other electrical gremlins that weren't recalls. I suspect this isn't terribly unusual given German cars' perceived reliability but it's held true here.
If you are half way handy and willing to keep up the maintenance, this car is one of the best cars within it's price range. If you're a no none sense, just get me where I want to go, don't consider VW in general."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2003
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Fun car but unreliable and expensive,
August 31, 2007
By vw_owner
from Chicago
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought this car based on a glowing review by Consumer Reports in 2002. They reported that the reliability, performance, and safety of the Passat would be above average and recommended it as the car to buy. I’ll admit, the car is fun to drive but they missed the boat on its reliability. My 2002 Passat has been recalled repeatedly since I bought it new. Just a few of the more annoying recalls were 1) the electrical coils needed to be replaced almost immediately and 2) the rear wheel well had to be reinforced to protect the gas tank. In total, I believe I’ve received over 10 recalls in the last 5 years and have spent countless hours waiting at the dealership for the repairs to done. Beyond the recalls, I’ve sunk several thousand dollars into overpriced repairs for a car which currently only has 52,000 miles on it. The water pump and the thermostat failed, the brakes and tires needed to be replaced, and my radio has had a short in it that the dealership can’t seem to figure out. The only thing keeping me from switching cars right now is the cost of keeping the Passat is still less than getting a new car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Worse Car I've EVER owned,
November 19, 2009
By Anything but a VW
from West Coast, Florida
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
"I've owned several different types of cars over the past 30 plus years: Toyotas, Hondas, Mazdas, Saabs, Fords, a Lotus, and even a Fiat...the VW Passt is by far and away the worst of all these cars. I can't keep up with the recalls; the interior is falling apart -- the knobs snap off the radio, the surface of the panels peel, everything rubber part seems to melt or decay; the car leaks water into the passanger compartment and is constantly moldy; the leather passanger seat, which hardly gets used, split along the seam; the car needs shocks; engine mounts; new vacuum hoses; cv boots; and more -- $3500 in repars -- and it only has 43,000 miles. I've had cars travel over 130,000 mile and not need engine mounts or CV boots.
Did I say this was the worst car ever?
Oh, by the way, this is the worst car ever.
I'm disappointed I had to give it even one star.
And, I know several people who have the same kinds of complaints about their VWs -- not just Passats, but other models as well.
VW buyers beware . . . these cars work nicely when they are new, but cost a ton to keep up. Good luck if you buy one.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Never again,
January 24, 2009
By Dr. Mom
from Vermont
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This car is expensive to repair, and needs repairs often. It is nice to drive and handles snowy road conditions with confidence and ease. It has nice pick up and handling. Excellent all wheel drive keeps traction in all kinds of conditions. The "check engine" light cannot be turned off by any mechanic I know! Somehow the shape of the car makes it so that mud and salt from the road are sprayed directly onto the rear windshield at all times; you cannot drive the car without wiping the rear windshield every time you need to change lanes. It doesn't tell you when your coolant or oil is low and should be checked, rather first sign of trouble is when a big flashing red light comes on saying "STOP IMMEDIATELY" and the car starts beeping frantically at you! The doors lock automatically every time you drive, but don't unlock when you stop, making it hard to let your kids into or out of the back door unless you think of it every time. It goes through tires and brake pads the way my kids grow out of their clothes. I'm afraid to own another car that even LOOKS like a Volkswagon. Auf wiedersehen!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
sweet car,
August 10, 2008
By fishman
from douglas, ma
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I sold my 12 mpg gas drunk pick up for a more fuel friendly vehicle. Didn't set out looking for a VW...it was fate. I needed 4 wheel drive due to where I live, so this 2002 Passat 4 motion (AWD) seemed like it would work well. I'm thrilled I bought it. I was a little worried with the 90k miles on it but the car felt so tight and well put together when I test drove it, it eased my worries. With it's 200 hp 30 valve 6 cyl, she moves along quite well. I do a lot of freeway driving so I didn't want some overreving 4cyl working overtime to keep up with the long miles, the 6 cyl does it very nicely. Having to sacrifice a few miles per gallon for the AWD is well worth the peace of mind for winter driving in New England, so I didn't mint the 19/23 mpg, a lot better then the 12 mpg in my 4x4 truck!
This nugget is loaded with all kinds of cool electronic gadgetry like seat warmers and automatic fold in / tuck away mirrors. It gives a sports car like ride but still very easy on rough terrain. Interior has plenty of room for my 6' frame... I love this car, I want to go drive it now- bye!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 31 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2002 Passat GLS Wagon,
March 29, 2009
By sdski
from Charlotte, VT
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car new, drives great, fast, plenty of power, a very solid car to drive. Everything was great while the car was warranted. Then the car began have problems with the brake calipers and and rotors. I would not recommend this car if you live on a dirt road. The dirt may clog the calipers and will stop the brake pads from fully releasing from the disks, this has caused the car to go through a set of rotors and pads every 12 to 20 thousand miles. The original rotors lasted 70,000 miles. The cars suspension system is a weak point. This is because it has EIGHT ball joints. They are very expensive to fix. As I write this both upper ball joints on the left and right side are being replaced for around $500-600. The CV joints are also very expensive to fix. I would recommend that as the car reaches the 80-90 thousand miles that it should not be brought back to the dealership, there are many shops that can work on VW's at half the price that a dealership will do the work at. The car is great in the snow. I would gladly drive another VW. You cant beat German engineering!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
The Passat looks better than it actually runs.,
January 20, 2013
By Megan
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfortable seating, quick speed turbo engine
What's not so great about this vehicle?:tons of mechanical issues, expensive to fix
ReviewOriginationID:6281143e38944df0b2080cd4863b4598
"I've always heard Volkswagons 'will run forever' however after just paying it off (5 yr loan) I must begin to look for other car options and sell mine. I bought the car at only 5 yrs old, and now at 10 it has got to go. In addition to a monthly car payment, I had to put back for a monthly car fund! Every other month something was continously going bad. From door latches, to a new battery, to chronic engine coils going bad time after time. This car that looks so good, runs so bad. I was very disappointed with how much money I put out for this car. It will always be a 'lemon' to me, taking every dime I had to fix. Not to mention how hard it is to find an out-sorced mechanic that knows how to work on VOlkswagons. When I drove the car off the lot after purchase and went for gas, that was when I found out it was premium gasoline ONLY. I love the look of the outside and inside of the car, always will. However when it comes to durablity and dependablity you won't find it in this passat. I will not buy a Volkswagon again, nor promote to my friends and family. Very displeased."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2002
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Luxury VFM performance sedan (High maintenance),
August 17, 2011
By Geo
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
"i have owned this car for a year after buying from a well kept private owner, and I am extremly satisfied with the car. It has been rock solid for the past 10k miles. Its extremely solid, try going over some bumps or a pothole with this and then in a Sonata.
My car has all leather int, monsoon audio(bose speaker i.e) which for an audiophile like me leaves nothing undesired.
Its expensive to mantain, 100$ oil changes every 3k miles ( to avoid sludge), premium gas etc, and parts are like super expensive, a wiper blade costs u 60$ as compared to an accord or camry one for 20$. But get into a 2010 Accord and then get into a W8, or even full leather black interior Passat, and you will understand the quality of materials used as well as simplicity design at luxurious style in passat. Accord or Camry uses injection moulded plastic as compared to leather (dash) all structures, and polymer bound (smoother finish) blend.
My kid runs in car kicks things, but its rock solid.
-ves. A/c cooling wasnt on par with japense counterparts, it takes a bit more time to chill.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2003
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
January 18, 2008
By Tony
from Hampton, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my second 2003 Passat Wagon. My first I was the original owner and the only problem I had with it was the drip rail covers would not stay in place. In May 2006, my wife was driving it when a guy ran the red light doing 50+ driving a 1984 Chevy one ton truck and hit the right front corner of the wagon. He spun my wife around 1 1/2 times in the intersection. All the doors opened with ease even though the whole front end was smashed up to the windshield. The engine was pushed down under the car. The firemen that responded thought for sure someone had died in this crash due to the damage. My wife walked away with a cut hand from where the airbag threw her hand up into the rearview mirror, and had to have surgery on her knees from where the force of the impact clacked her knees together. The firemen and police both said that it was the car that saved her life. She is so impressed with the safety of VWs, she insisted that I buy another, so I did. Bought another 2003 passat wagon cause I don't like the looks of the B6s. I'll stick with the B5.5 cars."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
LOVE IT!,
April 25, 2008
By MN Jen
from Minnesota
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love this car. my '03 is the second Passat I've had (had a jeep in between but only kept it 10 months before going back to the Passat!). The 1.8T manual is super fun to drive - feels like a sports car when you want it to...or a nice family sedan :) The handling of this car in snow & ice is fabulous (i don't have 4 motion) and is better than any 2 wheel drive car I've ever driven (with exception to the Jetta which was pretty equal!) and is even better than may 4WD vehicles! I guarantee my next car will be a VW, but I won't have to trade in for a while I've got 56K miles today and no signs of ANY mechanical issues that haven't been covered by warranty. The VW service department has been great (although I have most of my work done at the local shop & not at the dealer.) All around this is a very fun, stylish car to drive. The perception is that these are much more costly than they really are - so I get many turned heads. Also, with fuel prices skyrocketing I get an easy 27mpg city driving with my manual tranny - and about 35 highway! Love it. Buy it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
The good, the bad & the ugly,
June 27, 2008
By Salesman
from Nashville, TN
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I purchased this vehicle used (40,000 miles) with the intent of covering my sales territory.
.
The Good:
Gas mileage for the 1.8L Turbo is excellent.
The sound system (Monsoon) is excellent. Quiet cabin, road noise is comparable to Land Rover, BMW. Interior components are nicer than other cars in this class. Styling is excellent and the car has all the halmarks of a German engineered vehicle. The car feels solid and drives great. There's ample room for even a six foot adult in the back seat. The paint and finish are high quality.
.
The Bad:
The car shows substantial wear after driving only 30,000 miles. The leather on the drivers seat is wearing thin and cracking.
.
The Ugly:
The sunroof has trouble closing at times. The digital readouts for the mileage, ect.. flicker and sometimes do not work at all.
The resale value dropped rapidly leaving me upsidedown over five thousand dollars in only 18months.
.
Overall, despite some issues the car is an excellent choice for someone who pampers their vehicles and doesn't mind the initial drop in value.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 37 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Superbly Satisfying Driving Experience!,
March 1, 2013
By (N/A)
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:142000
What's great about this vehicle?:Ride, handling, engine excellence, interior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Repairs are unanticipated and Costly!
ReviewOriginationID:052ea4b87bc14256aba8e6bee9793871
"Were it not for the fact that the car drives and performs as great at 140K miles as it did at 140 miles I would have dumped it after the transmission needed repair at 85K miles. When the car needed a $6.7K valve job at 120K miles, I considered junking it, only it still drove as well (and had more features) than the 2013 Passat TDI I considered buying.
Being a retired Seasoned Citizen, I agonized over the cost of new cars with the features and comfort that this aging beauty still provides - so the annoying price of repair is overshadowed by my pleasure each day I drive it.
The car is a dream to drive on long trips, where it regularly gets 26 MPG on 3,000 mile vacation trips; and I get 22.5 MPG in the Winters; and 23.5 MPG in the summers around Kalamazoo.
As close as I can tell, the new Passats are NOT as well appointed and built as this 2003 model, and I could not justify purchasing subsequent Passat models.
My current choice for its replacement is a 2013 Camry Hybrid - just for the mileage and anticipated better reliability."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 2003
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Horrible Expierence,
February 4, 2009
By StationedInGermany
from Germay
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"I think my husband and I got a dud of a car. We bought this car thinking hey a good travel car boy were we wrong. The first 3 days the check engine light came on and the dealer had it in and out of his shop because it would come right back on after he would give it back THEN there was this horrible bumping in the wheel. Come to find out he sold it to us with tire rottedwheels (At this point 500 bucks spent into it) Then The Alternator went out! (Paid 400 EURO for the part and labor) Then 300 Euro for a Tune Up,New Belt and Oil Change, When you drive on the autobahn or interstate the window wistles (i have read that on many reviews) Over all we have had a HORRIBLE expierence.. We have put as of today 2 grand into this car because of just reoccuring problems..Maybe its just a dud..I hope so . Getting it fixxed today for Overheating (and we have no idea why all fluids are full ect) AND out left seat heater has went out)...Trading it in after we get it fixxed..Wouldnt recommend this car to anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
First VW, Love Love Love it.,
September 6, 2013
By HappyRanger
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very fun to drive and still gets 30mpg!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cupholders do kinda stink,
ReviewOriginationID:2784f30d60a24a6eb8d19104e0dd1afd
Make:Volkswagen
Model:Passat
Vehicle ID:3641
"Bought my VW Passat Wagon (2003 model) with 1.8 engine and 5spd manual over a year ago. Car had 123,000 on it then, has over 150,000 now. Yes, it cost about a grand to do the timing belt/water pump/cam tensioner routine maintenance. I would have tackled that if I currently lived where I had a garage, but I don't, and it's -30 here in the winter.
I put good tires on this wagon (Michelin Pilot Exaltos) and keep the oil changed in it. A few things (power mirror, cruise control, center caps for wheels, rear windshield wiper) have given me some trouble, but for a 10 year old car with over 120k miles on it, I'm not shocked or dissappointed. I either fixed or had repaired the few minor problems I've had with this car. Overall, my wife and I love the car, love the power, love the handling, and LOVE the fuel economy. We've seen 32mpg on interstate roadtrips, and have never seen less then 26mpg with lots of town driving. We will buy another Passat wagon as soon as we have the cash for an upgraded year.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ND
Year 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2001 - 2005 Volkswagen Passat
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Wolf in Sheep's Clothing,
December 18, 2007
By P-Jo
from Bellingham, WA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We purchased our W8 4-motion Passat used in 2004 in advance of our second child being born and have never looked back.
In getting rid of my more sporty BMW 3-series I was worried that a more "family oriented" car would not be as fun to drive, but I was wrong.
The W8 Passat is a joy to drive, especially on the freeway where 85mph feels like you're doing 55mph! Taking corners is a blast as well, German engineering feel like riding on rails.
We chose this model based upon the large back seat (for child seats) and the sporty/sexy look.
The two issues I have had with this model are 1)Super premium gas is recommended by the dealer specs, and 2) The pricies W8 model looks no different than the basic model in its class. I have tried lower octane fuel and have had no knocking or pinging but do notice a decrease in performance. As for the shared look of all models, maybe they notice the W8 on the back of my car as I roar past them on the freeway with my V8 engine and dual exhaust.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.