Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2000 Volvo V70

Average Customer Rating:
6.989 out of 10
7
 out of 
10
130 of 184(71%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Review 1 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Spectacular Car To Own!,
November 15, 2009
By Yulie
from Winston Salem, NC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Hope this helps....I purchased my 1998 V-70 AWD volvo wagon USED with 173k miles on April 2009. Previous owner did all maintanence work with volvo dealer..example, oil changes, timing belt, tune ups and so forth.
Since purchased i took the car to volvo, they inspected it only problem found then was my a/c freon was low, I paid $150.00 using A/C special volvo had at the time., they checked everything filled my freon level, put a/c dye to check for any hose leeks, changed my oil, checked tire pressure, washed car inside & out, and provided me with a new loaner car for a day at no charge.... since then I drove my wagon from Winston Salem, NC to Miami, Fla twice round trip with no problems, just changed my oil again and everything is still working fine. I'm looking foward in another round trip this X-mas holiday to Miami, Fla in My Volvo Wagon, not only is it the car in good mechanical order it is luxurious and extremly comfy. I love to use the bun warmmer when colder weather is amist and cruise out with my sunroof/moonroof and all windows open on a nice sunny Warm day!
I can't complain about this car, all I do is BRAGG about it..lol. I was very sceptical in purchasing a european car period,simply due to the costly parts...soo far so good. I recommend that if you purchase one make sure you use your best judgement when purchasing a euro car or any othe makes and always take to the dealer ship, use all any any specials they offer, not only do you save $$$$ you know your baby is in good hands.
Sooo far I agree that VOLVO is a SAFE & RELIABLE car...I LuV my VOLVO!
(Also looking into purchasing a C-70, it's roomy for a convertible coupe)
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Horrible While Not in the Shop,
November 24, 2007
By Random Guy
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"This car we bought with about 40K mi. on it and once the warranty ran out the car fell apart...literally...the dash board makes creaking noises everytime you drive it the suspension has gotten soggy after being replaced the tranny blew and cost $3600 to fix after the warranty ranout services started costing around $2G's a pop (good thing they were once a year) it had great driving dynamics and used to be fun to drive just got the checkstrap welded back on the car for the drivers door the audio isn't what it was and it doesn't get loud enough to hear anymore i could go on and on for hours about its many flaws. reliability is at 2 stars only because it hasnt broken down on the side of the road but when it does it is going to be gone so fast. hit a speedbump at its 10mph rating and now one of the shocks up front makes a popping noise when it has to move more than an inch...etc. etc. again i could go on.
high points, what high points? oh yea the soggy suspension makes for a good ride and the seats are still very comfortable the steering tight and if you put the pedal to the floor the car sometimes wants to go...if you hit the redline...theres not much more than that to be praised on the car.
STAY AWAY FROM THESE AT ALL COSTS!!!!
ours is a 1999 V70 GLT (has turbo) with around 91000 miles and still runs great!! (since weve replaced almost everything on the car but the engine itself and it seems like the tranny wants to get replaced again)
save yourself the time money and effort and just get something better but trust me, do your research and dont get stuck with a car like this."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Many problems - very expensive,
March 21, 2009
By Joe
from NY area
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Bought the car used (98 V70 GLT) with 122,000 miles and it was about 8 years old. Thought it was OK since the CarFax report showed the change of ownership indicated that the bulk of the milage had only happened in the past 2-3 years which seemed to indicate a lot of highway miles. Long story short- the car is very comfortable but I had 2 main issues with it. Poor gas milage around town (15 mpg) although I did get 25 on highway. Yes, I had tuned up and filters changed etc. I expected more from a 5 cyl. car. - Then there were the repairs, everything from major engine work to the headlight on/ off switch. Thank goodness I had a private mechanic that softened the labor blow. Volvo parts are expensive and many parts even required a wait. Sensor and check engine lights were constantly coming on, also ABS and traction control. I have car serviced for oil every 3-4K, so I know that it was not routine maint. problem. - I am sure if I had bought new and only leased for 3 years or traded in then I would have had a different experience, but I could only afford used and I am sad to say that I had a very disappointing experience. That is really sad is I know someone who also bought the same year and model used and is having a similarly bad experience (although I think mine was worse). Sad to say that I am turned off to Volvo and will never purchase another one, new or used. I just traded it in to buy a new vehicle and I literally limped it up to the dealership as I thought I might have to have it towed in!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
V70 "R" = Rocket,
December 8, 2013
By Volvo for Life
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Really Fun to drive. Seats. Stereo
What's not so great about this vehicle?:MPG 17 City, 22 Highway.
ReviewOriginationID:83d28e42dc724625a137a2a4ab777cca
Make:Volvo
Model:V70
Vehicle ID:7158
"My 16 year old daughter hates the way this car looks! She calls it the hearse. But I love my daily driver. I am the second owner of this car but have had it for 14 years. Every year I plan the the car will cost about $750.00 in maintenance, but when I consider something newer, I enjoy the extra money I can save. People forget this car stickered new for $42,000 in 1998!
The things I love about the car are the comfortable front seats. A great sounding audio system and a high pressure turbo charged engine that makes this car a rocket on the highway.
Like all mechanical things, my Volvo has had some things wear out over time. Most expensive has been the new condenser for the air conditioning about 7 years ago ($1800).
I replaced the steering rack about two years ago. ($1500.00)
This year I replaced the tires. For the first time I went away from a V rated tire and put a set of Firestone touring tires. I really love the nice soft ride. I know I've given up performance but I don't drive the car aggressivly.In the snow, the AWD feature allows me to bypass all those soccer moms in their Honda Odesseys and big SUV's. The V 70 just motors on past. I never have any reservations driving this wagon in any weather condition.
My only complaint is that backing out of parking spaces is touch n go. Since the car is so low to the ground compared to more modern vehicles, it is difficult to see other traffic."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1998
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Thousands of $$ in repairs,
December 30, 2008
By Ex-Volvo lover
from Minneapolis, MN
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I've always loved the design of today's Volvo's and they are known for their reliability, right? Well, not my Volvo...
We bought it in early 2006 with about 89,000 miles on it. The problems started about 6 months after we bought it and pretty much never stopped. I have never added up all the repair costs (because it would make me sick to my stomach) but it was about $4000-$5000 on a car that we bought for $12000.
I did love how the car handles, it is very comfortable and luxurious, has a nice music system, and love the looks of it. If I could afford a brand new Volvo, I would probably buy the regular V70, not the cross-country again. The regular one seems to be much more solid.
I recently got rid of the Volvo, even though we still owed $6000 on it. Unfortunately we spent $1200 on repairs just in the last 3 weeks before we sold it, because we thought that would take care of some major issues and we could drive it for a few more years. I guess not. We had 135,000 miles on it when we sold it.
Now we have a 2003 Mazda 6 and we are happy with it. I do miss some of the features like memory seats, heated seats, comfortable leather seats... I guess I miss the seats. Mileage is way better though (29 miles/gallon as opposed to 20 with the Volvo) and the Mazda accelerates way better. The Volvo was very sluggish even though it had a turbo."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I keep buying Volvos,
October 11, 2007
By Toklia
from CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"99 V70 non-turbo. Bought 5 yrs ago with 39k, now has 130k. Have owned several Volvos - this has been a very good one - no electrical or mechanical gremlins on this car. Find a good, honest Volvo specialist-you will save lot$-dealer is almost as costly as for German makes. Stay on top of the regualar maint-newer models aren't like the old 240s that can be abused forever. Many who have not owned a newer series Volvo are expecting these cars to be like the old ones-they aren't! Have had best luck with those cars that fall lower in the trim/performance/complexity level for a given model. This car is the base model wagon, optioned up. Volvo wagons are fantastic flexible haulers. Has the best seats of any car - comfy for hours and plenty of room for a 6'4'' driver. Has never left me walking. Reasonably entertaining to drive - tighter and stiffer than than 2001 and newer and if you keep the revs up it will really go. Gets 22 mpg in daily mostly city driving. On hwy gets about 30 and has been as high as 35 on really long legs at 65-70 mph. Well engineered and well thought out, if you buy one that isn't problem-prone or a lemon it will serve well. Probably costs more to own than a Japanese car but there isn't much else out there in this size of car that has such a high level of comfort, utility, performance and economy."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
volvo v70 GLT,
June 24, 2009
By lemonhater
from Winston-Salem, NC
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Cons:
I have owned 4 previous Volvos (240 series mostly) with no issues but the V70 GLT is the biggest lemon I have ever owned. Bought at 28k for $25k. Problems started 15k miles later. I have spent $3000 in parts alone on this car after 9 years. It now has 145k miles on it. As an x mechanic, I did all repairs myself except the AC which was $1500 so you could double the repair bills if you were not doing the repairs yourself.
Unscheduled repair items include replacement of:
Anti-lock brake module
Mass air flow sensor
smog pump (twice!)
oil separator (may not have been needed)
AC condenser
struts
front engine mount
one axle boot (this might be considered normal maintenance)
2 seat belt fasteners
1 electric door lock
1 door speaker
driver side vanity mirror on sun visor
rear door trim
oil dip stick and tube (have to buy both!)
The car also leaked oil until i fixed that and now leaks coolant from the heater core. Biggest issue is it now burns oil (valve seals I hope). It also goes through tires and gets so-so mileage.
I harangued Volvo about this car but all they did was get a local dealer to call and try to sell me another one! I am done with Volvo.
Pro: comfortable, quiet, peppy reponse. Looks great, but don't fall for it! Buy the seats and put them in a Toyota!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
good family car,
May 15, 2011
By mom of 2
from Essex, Connecticut
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"bought this car after having my first child 7 years ago - paid 13,000 and car had 78k on it. i have a long highway commute (450 miles or so a week) and have driven it regularly at 70-80 mph and it has been great. i have had regular wear and tear repairs (tires, o/c, brake pads, etc.) and the only significant problem i have had recently has been the AC system, which pretty much died on me and i am now shopping for a newer car (another volvo, of course!). i just passed 230,000 miles and other than a few minor oil leaks and the AC, it is going strong on the highway and on local roads. the only big mistake i made was not making sure i bought a car with all-leather seats - these are half leather/half-cloth of some sort and EVERYTHING stains the seats, even water, so they don't look great anymore after two kids in the car-but that was my mistake for not being picky enough about the seats when i was shopping around-i was in a hurry. this is my 3rd volvo over 220k and i will probably only buy volvos - safest car out there as far as i am concerned. several of my friends own similar models from 2000 and 2001 and they have also had great experiences with their cars."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Simple, perfect,
December 25, 2012
By Delman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
ReviewOriginationID:512c6ce00bd0410784f08a82f631a6e7
"In my opinion, this is the perfect car! Why? I am a handy man type and this is a simple and easy car to work on. It has so many fans, reliable information and parts are easy to source. 14 years old and never let me down. Sure, it needs parts and such, but all cars do. As I said, never let me down. Wish list? My non turbo feels under powered. Not horribly, but I wish it had some more umph. When the suspension expires, it goes from great to ok to horrible in a hurry. Perspective, I have 170K on parts made for 100K. Upon a refresh ($650 parts, I do the labor) its like a new car. Amazing finish. Looks like new. Interior? 14 years, no garage, NC sun, leather is looking a little beat. Not bad, but getting a little aged. It is more fun to drive than newer AWD versions, which feel really heavy and have comparably huge turning radius. Seriously folks, you can pick up a decent 98 for less than 3 grand. Are you kidding me? I've got kids and a dog, plenty of space. Six feet of level area with the seats down. I've slept in her plenty of times. Throw into winter mode in the slush and ice, and she's like a truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1998
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Too Expensive,
September 10, 2007
By taxgirl
from Long Island, NY
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We have a 2000 V70 wagon with 100,000 miles. (After reading the other reviews, it appears that this year was a turning point for quality issues.) We decided to treat ourselves to this new luxury car and were thrilled at first. The cargo space is great. It's physically comfortable. The front seats are great. Then, the repairs started. We've PAID to replace the a/c system 2 times - well over $1,000 each time. It breaks down while we are on SUMMER vacation trips. No one at the dealer can understand what the problem is... I do - it's a bad ventilation system. It is physically comfortable, but the repair costs are ridiculous. The cargo space is great. The front seats are great. In the 8 years we've owned this car, we've spent over $6,000 in repairs (NOTE: maintenance is a separate cost) as compared to our 1994 Corolla (about 60,000 miles) on which we've spent $600 in repairs. Had we known at the time of purchase that this car would cost us the additional $6.000 (and counting), we would not have been so quick to buy it. Too expensive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
January 3, 2010
By Franz
from Great Barrington, MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this wagon new and have loved it for twelve years. The only problem I had was that the headlights needed occasional replacement early on, no idea why. There have been no mechanical problems with the engine other than an alternator replacement and a few other things not internal. Over 100,000 it started to use more oil, but I just check it every other fill up. I now have 246500 miles on it and it was the first breakdown I have had. It was some gear or engine sensor that gave up the ghost. The reason I rated the performance with four stars was that I wanted it to feel like a turbo charged vehicle, which it wasn't. But really it was just fine. I have never had a rust problem. The only other complaint was that the indoor front seat light was not a good design, hard to tell what mode you were in. The car looks and acts like new, although I'm hearing from my mechanic that the wiring around the engine has become brittle and should be replaced if I want to keep it. This has been a Great Car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Dependable, solid, safe & spunky,
June 12, 2008
By Jake
from Northern Virginia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my 2000 XC V70 since Jan 2000. I drove it home in a snowstorm. It is fantastic in such weather. I have 73,000 miles on it now and drive it every day. The seats are extremely confortable. The light pressure turbo is really rocket-like on accleration. The wagon began to work even better after the 60,000 mile maintenance. There were problems with the throttle which were expensive to fix but Volvo replaced them all reimbursed everyone and extended the warranty on the throttle to 200,000 miles or ten years. The only issues are - its can be expensive to maintain and it requires premium fuel. But I feel safe in it on the Beltway and after 8 1/2 years the paint looks great and it performs very well. I bought my wife a 2002 XC V70 also and it still smells and looks new after nearly six years. It is even better overall than the 2000. At $4.30/gal. gas, though, I wish it got better gas mileage around town. On the road it gets about 28 MPG, but around town, just about 15 mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Over 170000 miles still looks and runs like new!,
July 24, 2009
By Misty
from Everett WA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car brand new off the lot and have driven it for 170000 miles. It's been through three kids, two dogs, and a few pretty bad winters.
The sport seat interior has held up great. Though the sport inset does seem to stain easily. Next time I will buy all leather instead of sport seats.
Electrical system has had one small bug since I bought it--the system tells me from time to time that my rear driving light is out when it isn't. Besides that all electrical systems work great--power seats, heated seats, heated mirrors, power mirrors, air conditioning still runs like a champ and has never had to be serviced, all the fancy upgrades were worth it. Especially the heated seats and mirrors in the winter.
Handles great. Does have a wider turning radias however. Great in all weather. Handles particularly well in snow. Hugs the road and feels very safe and solid.
I love this car and am now considering buying the new 2010 V60 but will keep this car for my grown up kids.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
99 XC V70 Wagon,
March 19, 2014
By EFlash
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, comfortable, safe, sturdy, easy to work on
What's not so great about this vehicle?:part cost, strange tools
ReviewOriginationID:e43ff77e7d40445e8837ce9286d843d7
Make:Volvo
Model:V70
Vehicle ID:6138
"I purchased this car as at least the 2nd owner at over 170k miles. At this point little gremlins started popping up that apparently are very common for this car. Mass AFS (of which I've replaced 3 times in 25k miles) ABS module, and have since removed the drive shaft (again very common) due to the bad joint. It currently drives in front wheel just fine, although you pay for the AWD, thats what you want, right? Even with these problems I LOVE THIS CAR! It handles the the rally car its roots are set in. The engine has a pretty snarl. It has all the feel of luxury you could hope for in a car this age. Ergo seats are as nice as the brand new ones. Heated seats, defrosting mirrors, rain wiper sensors, this car has not really had anywhere to improve in 15 years (writing in 2014)! Great when you just want to cruise, satisfying when you want to show some spirit- for someone who has owned sports and luxury cars, this is a very comfortable middle ground."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1999
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great car!,
April 22, 2010
By Mac
from Lancaster, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is the perfect sized vehicle for most Americans. It carries 5 adults reasonably comfortably (4 are better) plus lots of luggage space. It carries 3 good sized dogs, it carries several 2x6's for that deck project, or it carries that big screen TV. I know. I've done all that.
It also gets 25 MPG very regularly and will burn regular grade fuel just fine - despite what's recommended.
The GLT, with the turbo, has lots of acceleration. The traction control also works very well. With a set of snow tires it'll go just about every place I've asked it to in our Pennsylvania winters. Tell me again why anyone wants 4WD?
There are several nice features of this car. The headlights, while not the brightest, don't shine in anybody's eyes and they light up the road better than any I've seen. It was assembled very well with no flaws and with a good scrubbing today my 125K vehicle would easily pass for a 25K one - there's no wear anywhere.
A great car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Outstanding car for what it is,
March 19, 2012
By usmcKyle
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:162000
What's great about this vehicle?:comfort, handling, traction,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:body style, no sport mode/ manual shift option
ReviewOriginationID:d3b12793-e225-4db5-9cff-b28e22b3a8ef
"I have been driving this car for about 6 months now. It is the base 5cyl model. living in Michigan our winters can be bad but I had no trouble at all this winter in this car. It is only the fwd model and still cuts right through the snow. for being a station wagon it handles much better than what was expected. I got in expecting a slow moving tank and was quite surprised. the pickup is quick for being the natural aspiration 2.4 5cyl, and cornering is better than some small cars I have driven. over the last 6 months I have had zero problems with this car she will last forever if I keep it. the ride is smooth as glass with minimal road noise. When im inside I love this car with its pep, sporty suspension, and smooth ride. But at the end of the day its still a station wagon and not my first choice on a body style. Ill be selling it soon for this reason but without a doubt I'll be buying another volvo"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1999
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Unreliable and Expensive,
January 14, 2011
By upset
from Denver, CO
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I purchased a 2000 Volvo V70 XC used for $4900 with 134,000 miles on it from someone who supposedly worked on these cars and claimed it was ready to drive across the country except for some "minor" suspension issues. I really liked it when I test drove it because it was very comfortable and the turbo in it was fantastic. However, when I took the car in to get the struts taken care of, I ended up dropping about $1400 in seemingly minor repairs. The radiator needed to be worked on along with one of the control arms. Volvo parts and labor are wicked expensive! Finally, about 6 mo. later I got around to getting the suspension fixed which put my repairs up over $3,000. 3 weeks later the transmission blew leaving me stranded in the mountains and I ended up scraping the thing. I owned it for a total of about 9 months. What a horrific money pit! I would not recommend the headache of owning one of these."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
I have always wanted a volvo..,
September 15, 2011
By seano
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:189751
What's great about this vehicle?:safe, roomy, nice ride, not bad for a hand me down
What's not so great about this vehicle?:hard to solve problems, blind spots, not druable enough for the cost of repairs.
"We we given this car with 170k on it. the first inspection was over a grand. Had an accident in winter. nothing major, almost hit a big dog on a dark back road going 45, went right sideways and swerved hard. This car handled so well it saved my life. That has to count for something. Other than that it's been an expensive mystery to solve. I live in downtown Portland Maine, a lot of pot holes, brutal driveway entrances, cobblestone roads, etc. My suspension and motor mounts have been repaired more than average. With that being said, I can't find a reliable, fair, upfront mechanic that I can trust with this thing. I'm one of those crazy volvo owners without a credit card. Overall, great car if you can afford to fix whatever is wrong with it right away, very safe, confusing to troubleshoot, must be able to keep records and keep up with light repairs yourself and obey the maintenance schedule."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ME
Year 1998
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Dependable; excellent handling; excellent fuel eco,
April 14, 2013
By Boomer
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250000
What's great about this vehicle?:Secure, economical to operate, excellent handling.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:They don't make this size engine anymore.
ReviewOriginationID:ea3c9829f83a4ed28e8d94c906b3b20b
"Been driving for 40+ years in hard MN Winters...this car is the best for winter snow and ice driving conditions...beats out trucks I've driven too. Easy to maintain for the not-so DIY; changing headlights, wipers, interior lights. Excellent owners manual, if you read it. HWY mileage, at 70 mph, varies between 26mpg (in winter at -15 below) to 32 mpg (50+ degrees). I've always changed the oil at 3-500-4,000 miles. It has a design flaw: 4 tie rods. The integrity of the paint- no rust, leather seats-no cracks, and knobs-no losses; after 13 years is super. I asked my insurance to replace the windshield after 150,000 (they did) - it was semi sand blasted from fine grit windshields get with high mileage, and when driving into a rising/setting sun the windshield would glare out. If I could find a low mileage one, and it cleared my test drive, I'd buy it in a heartbeat!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2000
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1998 - 2000 Volvo V70
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best car ever,
October 24, 2014
By sasha277
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:214000
What's great about this vehicle?:Octavia is the best car ever!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I should have got her sooner.
ReviewOriginationID:d314b7c878dc478d9cfaa861e5fd6305
Make:Volvo
Model:V70
Vehicle ID:7157
"I bought my 1998 Volvo V70 GLT a few months ago.17 yr old car that drives like new. I bought it from the original owners and they maintained it at Volvo dealer up until the last few years. The only things I have had to do to it was normal maintenance that the previous owner had let go ie. brakes, replacing timing belt, water pump etc. I did these as preventative measures because I believe it's a keeper. Need to replace 1 front fender because of a rust hole but that's the only spot on the car that has rusted. The car has 214 000m/344 000km and works like a dream. I can hardly wait to try her in the snow. I have taken it on many road trips and the gas mileage is much better than the Dodge van I had owned and it's much more comfortable on long trips. The turbo makes passing a dream..I'd really like to know how fast it will go...lol I LOVE THIS CAR! :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location Canada
Year 1998
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.