Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2005 Volvo S60

Average Customer Rating:
8.279 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
289 of 344(84%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Review 1 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car!,
December 18, 2011
By Rick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great price, quality, handling, superior safety
What's not so great about this vehicle?:costly repairs
ReviewOriginationID:ea9e739a-1ab7-49f7-9645-c5a07e0b0412
"I have to say that I am saddened to write this review, yet I want to express the faith I have in the Volvo's quality, design, and overall SAFETY. I was just in a head on collision in my S60 R two days ago with my 13 yr old and my 2 1/2 yr old. The damage was isolated to the front of the vehicle and kept away from the passengers and myself. We all walked away unscaved. In comparison the wreck looked minor when looking at my vehicle. On ther hand, the other vehicle (Dodge Intrepid) looked like it hit a wall at 70 MPH. All safety features on the Volvo, ABS, Traction Control, and SRS worked as it should have. Prior to the wreck, overall, the vehicle responded when I wanted it to and with pep on top. This vehicle combined a family sedan with a sports car...everything I could want and need. As for shortcomings, if anything goes wrong or needs replacing, the cost can leave a bad taste but as long as you maintain good care, all costs are minimal. I highly recommend the car and look to find another, maybe a few years newer, if my insurance decides to total the vehicle out."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2004
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this car!,
October 18, 2011
By Lynn J.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85000
What's great about this vehicle?:well worth the price, safe, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:lousy turning radius (that's all!)
ReviewOriginationID:f13aa82c-23e8-4567-840e-4c2628c8f30f
"This has been the most reliable car I've ever owned. The only problems I've had were little cosmetic things, everything mechanical works as good as the day I drove it off the dealer's lot. It has a great, solid feel that speaks to its safety ratings. If you take care to have it serviced as recommended, these cars really will last forever. I plan to hand mine down to one of the kids, and buy the XC90 next."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
This vehichle is very reliable and comfortable!,
October 15, 2011
By alex
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
ReviewOriginationID:36b02b46-69ca-40dd-9556-05049e630e07
"I loved this vehichle! It has leather seating and powerlock windows and doors!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
dealer maintained,
October 11, 2014
By frank
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:185000
ReviewOriginationID:d622e52323ee496297e1d4e52e3aecac
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5005
"for a car 12 yrs old,,looks like it just came out the showroom,,,need to see to believe"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2002
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Ride, Bad Drive,
August 21, 2014
By DylPickle
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
ReviewOriginationID:cae1902ee9ee44148da5a1e025e0da7f
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5005
"It rides like a Buick. Like floating on pillows for suspension. Very well designed interior and high quality options, great sound system, and not bad looking on the exterior. But being behind the wheel is dismal. Unresponsive steering, braking, AND throttle. But, there are plenty of people that don't care about that stuff. If you are one of those people, then this is indeed an excellent car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2002
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
In for the long haul,
July 22, 2014
By Kay
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfort, turn on a dime, great control!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Some of the plastic amenities have turned to ...
ReviewOriginationID:91dd46877a6b4cbe8f74e3964488ad40
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5332
"Bought this car used, for $7500 with 45,000 miles on it. Up until 99,000 miles, with regular service ( every 4,500 miles) it has been a true workhorse. Fan replaced at 98,000 miles and have had A/C problems ever since. Drove it from Rhode Island to Florida, in perfect comfort! I have two slipped discs and have yet to find another car that gives the comfort and support while driving. The deep seats, dual A/C, huge trunk, great leg room, great and comfy back seats! Have loved this car from day 1 and feel that I got a great deal at a great price. Looking into the XC6o now.. cannot give up these fabulous seats."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2001
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car!,
June 7, 2014
By Greg
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:1f9ba8c127a64281a5c3b21347936aeb
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:348234
"This is a great car. After many years of driving I have decided to sell it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KS
Year 2005
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Wonderful, comfortable, and efficient.,
May 19, 2014
By Volvo Driver
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:147750
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfort, efficiency, power, features
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Limited legroom in the back seat.
ReviewOriginationID:67abdce6acad490db7eddc790686de55
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:3687
"I purchased this car off of a lease. I have driven this car over 110K miles in the last 8 years and have loved it every time I got into it. It is comfortable for me at 6'4" though the legroom in the back seat leaves a bit to be desired as my kids grow. It is great in the rain and snow and got me through two harsh South Dakota winters. The stereo system is pure joy. The leather is the softest I have ever felt even in other European sedans at much higher price points. There is a surprising amount of trunk space. There is ample power and yet I still manage to get as much as 31.5MPG on the highway with 85 octane fuel. I would strongly recommend this vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2004
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love this cat!,
April 19, 2014
By Kk
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very fun and sporty.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor turning radius
ReviewOriginationID:470dfe13b17448b185424075f11853e2
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:348234
"Very reliable. Great pick up. Very comfortable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2005
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
saved my cousins lives,
March 20, 2014
By matt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:safe
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothing
ReviewOriginationID:9c453734207b4534920ba28a0b4e3343
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5332
"my cousins were brod sided at high speed and walked away they bolt another and the s60 extremly safe"
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location MS
Year 2001
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One the best cars I have had! I was blessed!!!,
March 10, 2014
By Chandis
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:210000
ReviewOriginationID:9b9e5b75687b496cbfa4dc59792b7690
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5011
"God blessed me with such a great car am I am greatful!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
It's engine is fantastic but everything not great.,
March 5, 2014
By elijah
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Sunroof, Options, Fast
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Thin Leather, Parts, labor
ReviewOriginationID:f0687874ea3a41ed8efb752a44e4f098
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5004
"Parts are extremely expensive and everything from sunroof parts to the strut mounts broke. All door handles are either off or really loose. It's a fun car, good driving while it lasted but now it's just a bad money pit, though I would buy a newer Volvo with a warranty still. too much money on an old car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Saved Our Lives,
February 11, 2014
By Tyler
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:101000
ReviewOriginationID:7172b31aab6d49b6a410cc01cffde01a
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:1880
"Back before Christmas I was involved in a head on collision that was the other drivers fault. The wreck was at 50mph with a small truck. Without going into detail, the other driver ended up in far worse condition than any of us. My daughters were nearly unscathed in the back seats. My leg was broken severely, but I feel INCREDIBLY fortunate to be alive after such a major crash.
Before it was totaled, the ride was fantastic, the power was more than adequate (2,4t @ 198hp), and it handled supremely (except for the turn radius)
I will be buying another Volvo, and more than likely another S60"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 2005
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
First car,
January 4, 2014
By Ryan
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:196000
What's great about this vehicle?:little bit of turbo kick, low cost, safe, stylish
What's not so great about this vehicle?:mpg, cost to repair
ReviewOriginationID:b083afc1597f485bbe1f6662e4f7107d
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5335
"I love this car! I have run into very few problems, especially considering the mileage on it and neglect of care it went through before my ownership. Only negatives are high cost of parts and that the gas mileage is not very good."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 2001
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
excellent car, can't go wrong,
December 3, 2013
By Jesse
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, best value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not the best mpg,
ReviewOriginationID:1bd2ab98ffc14c4b8ebb7aedcc075714
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:3352
"This is only my second car I've owned in my lifetime and I don't think I could be more pleased. I was going to the garage with my other car about every other month and it was starting to be a bit expensive, so I went ahead and decided to take the risk on getting another used car that's had a few years on it. I have owned this car for about a year and half now and I just enjoy it more and more everyday it seems. This car rides like it's brand new, even for being over ten years old. I never though of Volvo being the right car brand for me but the perfection and craftsmanship of this car is almost unbelievable. I have had absolutely no problems with this car. I keep it very clean which is a lot easier when you love the car. The way it handles is amazing for how old it is. I've driven both older BMW's and Audi's and to be honest the way this handles definitely beats them. And the style of this car doesn't go away, so many people ask me what year the car is and when I say it's an '03 they kind of are shocked. I can honestly recommend this car to anyone that is looking for an older BMW or Audi, this car is so much more reliable and it's a smarter move. Drive one to see for yourself."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2003
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Double take when you come past this car!,
December 2, 2013
By Ken
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:153000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy maintenance, doesn't burn oil, 5 seater
What's not so great about this vehicle?:headunit spazzes sometimes
ReviewOriginationID:046d03f15240443f97b4483fcffef3ab
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5005
"Honestly was never a volvo fan until i got handed the keys from my parents hands. Trust me, they have never left them since, coming from a 19 year old this should mean something. This car gives you the ease of driving on a whole new level for its generation. Great suspension, sporty saloon, leather seats with seat warmers for the winter, telescoping steering wheel, the whole 9. When properly maintained with servicing done this machine will run for a while. Ive had it for a year and it hasn't given me any troubles knock on wood. Its a great a to b driver and ideal for long trips. Granted ive ran into minor pitfalls like a cv axle boot ripping and an etm module getting clogged but other than that it has been smooth sailing. If your at a dealership unsure of what to get, try this car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location International
Year 2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
One of my favorite cars,
November 13, 2013
By dave
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:128000
What's great about this vehicle?:quick, fast responding throttle, handeling is very
What's not so great about this vehicle?:consumes a good amount of Premium fuel!!
ReviewOriginationID:132f3eb9851548efa0949c722414ed4b
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:348234
"Iv had this car for quite a while now, and as far as used cars go, this one has been very low maintenence. i love the styling both inside and out.
This car has saved me...
If i didnt have AWD, i may not have this car after last winter!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
solid safe car. expensive to service,
November 7, 2013
By ND
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:expensive to service
ReviewOriginationID:ea943da8c50d44a88f4f8ad73da44a40
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:3355
"Worth every penny"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Money Pit!!,
October 30, 2013
By Had to Have One!
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
3
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:Had fun driving mountain roads
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Money Pit!
ReviewOriginationID:e4f7e9a8f78e47669f9b0532e37bb944
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:3687
"Always wanted one of these; owned two Volvos previously. Bought one that was a two owner, well maintained vehicle from Volvo dealer. The car lives in the shop and every visit I'm quoted $400-600 for repairs...Brakes, timing belt, HID lights, radiator, throttle body, chassis settings light....everything on this car will break and it's expensive to repair. I'm done!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 2004
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001 - 2005 Volvo S60
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfy but costly,
September 14, 2013
By ploafers
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:187000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfy seats, great gas mileage, awesome OEM stereo
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Costly repairs, poor visibility, turbo lag
ReviewOriginationID:9e00fcbdf8d348128cb74c3c4bb15d77
Make:Volvo
Model:S60
Vehicle ID:5335
"After four years, and 50k miles behind the wheel, and I'm not really feeling the whole "Volvo For Life" mantra, anymore. The engine's made of gold, but the Aisin transmission is a time bomb, and the rest is Ford's cost cutting at it's finest. If you want safe, European practicality, shell out the cash for a newer model, or stick with ze Germans."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.