Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.948 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
484 of 498(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Review 21 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best I ever owned,
September 2, 2013
By oldman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:485000
Reason for Sale:gave away to a family member
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ride could be a little rough at times
ReviewOriginationID:7139a901f26b489f89c152c6dbf153a3
Make:Toyota
Model:Xtra Cab
Vehicle ID:9944
"bought it new and put over 480000 miles on it. Gave to my kid.It is like a member of the family. It never failed me."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location TX
Year 1994
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best hunting rig I have owned,
July 9, 2013
By duck 01
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:175000
What's great about this vehicle?:Off-road performance A++, Fun to drive,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rough ride for highway and city use,
ReviewOriginationID:364f178918d34584b618f60505166e61
Make:Toyota
Model:Xtra Cab
Vehicle ID:9953
"I don't care for it on the highway but that's not what I bought it for. It is the best hunting and fishing rig I have owned. Its 4wd works better that any other stock truck I have driven. It is nimble and will float over nasty mud and climb just about anything. Just wanting a stock truck not having to do a lot of mods this is a great choice. They cost more than a comparable Chevy or Ford but its worth the investment. I would buy another one but if this thing runs like they say I might not ever have too."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OK
Year 1994
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin',
April 22, 2013
By Michael B.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not the most comfortable.
ReviewOriginationID:451cefd09faa4bc697ee2ab06fdc0e79
"No, it is not a Timex it's a Toyota. I don't exactly own this
but purchased for our company as a secondary truck. This little guy just keeps going and going. Not the most comfortable but reliable. For a vehicle that is nearly 20 years old and we have owned about 10 of those, I am very happy with it. It will probably be here when I retire.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1994
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Investment I've Ever Made!!,
March 24, 2013
By nick
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:208550
What's great about this vehicle?:fuel economy, great price, and they drive great!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not too much power or torque
ReviewOriginationID:d47e259f77cd407a8c62f573dcf49776
"These little trucks are tough! I am an avid hunter and mine has been in the woods several times. It has taken a beating, and has been in the mud (I'm only 18, gotta have a little fun). I've never had the slightest problem with this truck. It has a 3" body lift with 33x12.5x15's on it, along with Mickey Thomson black lock rims. It drives like a caddilac! These trucks don't have much power, but I've never been stuck. I recomend this pickup for any teenage southern boy that likes to ride trails and play in mud. I recomend it for people of all ages! All around great truck!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1993
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
i wish i would have kept this truck,
March 24, 2013
By jamfre
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:201000
Reason for Sale:wanted a car
What's great about this vehicle?:dependable, good on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothing special
ReviewOriginationID:6d9671f8c8c14b08b7304fcbf1e4d31c
"It was used when I bought it. it was much to drive but i always could depend on it. I wanted a car and sold the truck...it was reliable vehicle."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location CA
Year 1993
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
most dependable and off road potential,
February 25, 2013
By shon
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:147000
What's great about this vehicle?:Truly is.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not much power due to small engine with big tires.
ReviewOriginationID:21b3f79a4a8c4a91ba4983b1a61ffb10
"very reliable, never give me a problem since I purchased it 2004. I hope Toyota would build this truck (22re and the like) again.
Excellent value: KBB may value at 4-5K$ but people sell/buy at 6-8K$ depending on condition of this exact model (22re, 4wd, xcab, and manual trans.).
For my lifted truck, it had been offered $7K but I refused to sell it because it is hard to find, not like the v6 3.0L."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1995
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Super Reliable at 250 K original AC&trans,
September 1, 2012
By Captain K
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable Nimble Tough
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Body a little "light" >18 years of mountains beach
ReviewOriginationID:03dba21bcd974318819c984ed80cb657
"Contrary to datasheet, mine was built in Japan. Super reliable! At 250 K it doesn't burn a drop of oil. Still have original AC (works great), transmission, radiator, radio, etc. Original brake pads lasted over 100K, still has other original brake parts. This vehicle was from when toyota focused on quality, not quantity. Look at what the taliban drives in afghanistan (toyota trucks) and ask yourself why. Hadles really well, good mileage (contrary to datasheet, mine got 29 mpg HWY, and at 250 K, still gets better than 25 mpg)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1994
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
No dents 1989 toyota PU what am I worth ?,
July 13, 2012
By jake
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:175000
ReviewOriginationID:53cf305708764844b8a74de6419e8ec8
"This is a truck I just bought . A 2 wheel drive long bed , great shape body wise needs a little motor work .what am I worth ?"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 1992
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Real mans Truck,
June 20, 2012
By ford recovery utility vehicle
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
ReviewOriginationID:a3b43d50d98a48d7bb52eea95353bc5f
"recommended vehicle for all weather and terrain, low end towing capacity, fuel efficient, dependable, long lasting, a friend for life, rescues fords often"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One Tough 94 Toyota 4x4,
May 17, 2012
By AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:180086
ReviewOriginationID:79f0645a28b84b2f806e63b7224e1fcb
"I bought this truck below KBB for my son's first vehicle which made him the third owner of this good condition, well used pickup, but, still a solid driving truck w/ 31" tires and 3" body lift. The previous owner had the 22RE engine rebuilt at 150,000 miles w/ new clutch and I fixed a few other simple issues and now have been driving this truck every day until my son gets his drivers license. Other than being underpowered which will be perfect for it's new owner, I have been really enjoying driving this tough little truck around."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 1994
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best truck ever,
March 31, 2012
By bill
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:181000
What's great about this vehicle?:sits on 33 12.50s with 3 inch body lift
What's not so great about this vehicle?:little rust is all
ReviewOriginationID:50377aade98f4c9ebb8daaa3f7ed5296
"this truck has never left me stranded before i love it"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 1992
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good truck,
March 29, 2012
By Gfordguy14
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:152000
What's great about this vehicle?:Always starts and runs good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small interior, and a bit underpowered
ReviewOriginationID:73ef6c25ae08450eaad138848258fe88
"Mine is actually a 1991 but it runs flawlessly and has never broken down. My dad bought it new in 1991 and it has never not started up in the morning. It is my first truck and it always does good in the mud to. It has some downsides like not being able to get my hand in some places in the engine but overall it's good. The interior is small but practical. Overall an excellent truck!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1992
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
very relieable -great mileage with automatic trans,
March 27, 2012
By hoppy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:would like to know value price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:windshield wiper swich location-always turning on
ReviewOriginationID:fa65d8fa5d7c4509aed4151b85e8e1ba
"love the automatic transmision w/overdrive-25miles per gallon. cool back seat, two fold-downs seats for my kids and much,much more!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1992
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great pickup for 1-2 person activities,
March 26, 2012
By bowhunter03
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226000
ReviewOriginationID:b2abc52c937d4253b1979be936171775
"Absolutely a great truck for 1-2 to ride around it. It goes everywhere, never quits, takes tons of abuse and it's fun to drive. However, the back seat is way to small for anything besides small children. I've done a long road trip with 4-college guys in it but I have to say that it wasn't a fun ride. The best part is that ever when something goes wrong with it it's usually still able to get you safely home and to the repair shop. I can't stress enough how much I love this truck. The only thing that could make it better would be if it was the diesel version available over sees. You Tube Top Gear Killing a toyota to see what I mean."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1993
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This truck is a beast...it's never broken down.,
March 12, 2012
By Turtle
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:163000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not much power
ReviewOriginationID:3b22a854-be47-4f12-846d-8383efd57629
"That 22R motor just keeps going and going and going. Not a lot of power since mines a 4X4 but I've never been stuck in snow of sand. Good mileage with this 4 banger. Rust is my only issue but it's almost 20 years old!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The perfect small pickup, but ......,
February 23, 2012
By J
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:260000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very reliable and economical.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Frame rots out
ReviewOriginationID:42d16277-ee57-45f0-ae3b-15dc7ac87952
"Bought the truck new and put 260k miles on it. 22RE engine is great. Took good care of it and it took good care of me. Averaged 33 (highway) miles per gallon and still had original clutch. Changed oil and filter every 5k miles, new brakes and tires every 90k. Overall the very best reliable and economical truck I've ever owned.
Now the bad....
Noticed frame started to rust after about 5 years (even after original dealer undercoating). Holes started to appear after 7 years. By the 18th year the frame was so rotten, it cracked in half. Toyota would not do anything because their frame recall started for 1995 models (mine was 1994 model). It broke my heart. This little truck could have easily gone another 200k miles without much effort.
Too bad Toyota does not still make this model with a better frame, I'd easily buy another. With proper care, engine and drivetrain will last a long time but frame rot is a common problem (due to faulty frame manufacture) and will kill it before anything else."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Absolutely great vehicle-Keeps on going!,
February 17, 2012
By BetPit
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:191000
What's great about this vehicle?:Awesome truck-easy to drive. I love it!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Paint could have held up better?
ReviewOriginationID:8c0825a5-f0b0-44fd-bbbb-1dc365f47696
"We've had this truck for alost 18 years now. While it does have an oil leak - after all it's 18 years old - it's much less expensive to add a qt of oil occasionally than revamp the entire system. Unfortunately the paint is not in the best shape on the drivers side, thanks to Hurricane Charlie-blew the paint off with sand! But while not the prettiest truck, we look at the rough paint as a badge of honor for surviving the storm. We're finally purchasing a new vehicle (we're a 3 Toyota family!) and giving the truck to one of the young kids from church who's at college and needs a vehicle. I'd highly recommend Toyotas...they keep running through any kind of weather...even hurricanes!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1994
Review 38 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The most reliable vehicle ever.,
February 13, 2012
By ohyeahbb
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, best investment I ever made.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Horsepower...not fast but it does the job.
ReviewOriginationID:87adcabe-65fd-4cd2-b895-8c0e31f38fc0
"This truck has had less problems than my 2004 vehicle. Keep up on the maintenance items such as oil, brakes, tires etc. and these trucks will last a very long time. Ive only had minor issues with this truck. Overall, it really has been the best investment that I have made in my life so far. I will be buying another truck to replace this one when the time is right."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1994
Review 39 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
its a nice vehicle and fast,
February 9, 2012
By jim
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive and fast
What's not so great about this vehicle?:it has to cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:31fe8b0a-1644-4bab-b298-ae9c71fb709e
"it dont have a lot room so if u are a big boy not a good vehicle for you"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1993
Review 40 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
22MPG HWY, Great reliability, Best 4WD performance,
February 2, 2012
By Bill
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:146425
What's great about this vehicle?:GREAT reliability and reasonable gas mileage.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small seat capacity.
ReviewOriginationID:635c8888-b64f-480c-9e9f-3ac283dabcce
"Have owned this truck since new, uses no oil, had to replace the clutch at 120K miles (because of slipping the clutch when pulling my pontoon boat out of the water and up a steep ramp), new radiator at 130K miles and new shocks at 146K miles. Other than that, only routine maintenance i.e.: oil change, new plugs and wires,etc. The 4WD works like a charm in snow and off road. This has been a great little truck and I hope to drive it thousands of miles more."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1992
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.