Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup

Average Customer Rating:
8.941 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
473 of 487(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Review 21 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good truck,
March 29, 2012
By Gfordguy14
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:152000
What's great about this vehicle?:Always starts and runs good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small interior, and a bit underpowered
ReviewOriginationID:73ef6c25ae08450eaad138848258fe88
"Mine is actually a 1991 but it runs flawlessly and has never broken down. My dad bought it new in 1991 and it has never not started up in the morning. It is my first truck and it always does good in the mud to. It has some downsides like not being able to get my hand in some places in the engine but overall it's good. The interior is small but practical. Overall an excellent truck!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1992
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
very relieable -great mileage with automatic trans,
March 27, 2012
By hoppy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:would like to know value price
What's not so great about this vehicle?:windshield wiper swich location-always turning on
ReviewOriginationID:fa65d8fa5d7c4509aed4151b85e8e1ba
"love the automatic transmision w/overdrive-25miles per gallon. cool back seat, two fold-downs seats for my kids and much,much more!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1992
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great pickup for 1-2 person activities,
March 26, 2012
By bowhunter03
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226000
ReviewOriginationID:b2abc52c937d4253b1979be936171775
"Absolutely a great truck for 1-2 to ride around it. It goes everywhere, never quits, takes tons of abuse and it's fun to drive. However, the back seat is way to small for anything besides small children. I've done a long road trip with 4-college guys in it but I have to say that it wasn't a fun ride. The best part is that ever when something goes wrong with it it's usually still able to get you safely home and to the repair shop. I can't stress enough how much I love this truck. The only thing that could make it better would be if it was the diesel version available over sees. You Tube Top Gear Killing a toyota to see what I mean."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1993
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This truck is a beast...it's never broken down.,
March 12, 2012
By Turtle
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:163000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not much power
ReviewOriginationID:3b22a854-be47-4f12-846d-8383efd57629
"That 22R motor just keeps going and going and going. Not a lot of power since mines a 4X4 but I've never been stuck in snow of sand. Good mileage with this 4 banger. Rust is my only issue but it's almost 20 years old!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The perfect small pickup, but ......,
February 23, 2012
By J
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:260000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very reliable and economical.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Frame rots out
ReviewOriginationID:42d16277-ee57-45f0-ae3b-15dc7ac87952
"Bought the truck new and put 260k miles on it. 22RE engine is great. Took good care of it and it took good care of me. Averaged 33 (highway) miles per gallon and still had original clutch. Changed oil and filter every 5k miles, new brakes and tires every 90k. Overall the very best reliable and economical truck I've ever owned.
Now the bad....
Noticed frame started to rust after about 5 years (even after original dealer undercoating). Holes started to appear after 7 years. By the 18th year the frame was so rotten, it cracked in half. Toyota would not do anything because their frame recall started for 1995 models (mine was 1994 model). It broke my heart. This little truck could have easily gone another 200k miles without much effort.
Too bad Toyota does not still make this model with a better frame, I'd easily buy another. With proper care, engine and drivetrain will last a long time but frame rot is a common problem (due to faulty frame manufacture) and will kill it before anything else."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MD
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Absolutely great vehicle-Keeps on going!,
February 17, 2012
By BetPit
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:191000
What's great about this vehicle?:Awesome truck-easy to drive. I love it!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Paint could have held up better?
ReviewOriginationID:8c0825a5-f0b0-44fd-bbbb-1dc365f47696
"We've had this truck for alost 18 years now. While it does have an oil leak - after all it's 18 years old - it's much less expensive to add a qt of oil occasionally than revamp the entire system. Unfortunately the paint is not in the best shape on the drivers side, thanks to Hurricane Charlie-blew the paint off with sand! But while not the prettiest truck, we look at the rough paint as a badge of honor for surviving the storm. We're finally purchasing a new vehicle (we're a 3 Toyota family!) and giving the truck to one of the young kids from church who's at college and needs a vehicle. I'd highly recommend Toyotas...they keep running through any kind of weather...even hurricanes!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1994
Review 27 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The most reliable vehicle ever.,
February 13, 2012
By ohyeahbb
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:226000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, best investment I ever made.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Horsepower...not fast but it does the job.
ReviewOriginationID:87adcabe-65fd-4cd2-b895-8c0e31f38fc0
"This truck has had less problems than my 2004 vehicle. Keep up on the maintenance items such as oil, brakes, tires etc. and these trucks will last a very long time. Ive only had minor issues with this truck. Overall, it really has been the best investment that I have made in my life so far. I will be buying another truck to replace this one when the time is right."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NV
Year 1994
Review 28 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
its a nice vehicle and fast,
February 9, 2012
By jim
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:85
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive and fast
What's not so great about this vehicle?:it has to cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:31fe8b0a-1644-4bab-b298-ae9c71fb709e
"it dont have a lot room so if u are a big boy not a good vehicle for you"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 1993
Review 29 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
22MPG HWY, Great reliability, Best 4WD performance,
February 2, 2012
By Bill
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:146425
What's great about this vehicle?:GREAT reliability and reasonable gas mileage.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small seat capacity.
ReviewOriginationID:635c8888-b64f-480c-9e9f-3ac283dabcce
"Have owned this truck since new, uses no oil, had to replace the clutch at 120K miles (because of slipping the clutch when pulling my pontoon boat out of the water and up a steep ramp), new radiator at 130K miles and new shocks at 146K miles. Other than that, only routine maintenance i.e.: oil change, new plugs and wires,etc. The 4WD works like a charm in snow and off road. This has been a great little truck and I hope to drive it thousands of miles more."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1992
Review 30 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great truck,
January 30, 2012
By Doogles
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:223000
What's great about this vehicle?:It's fun to drive for the most part
What's not so great about this vehicle?:The 4cyl doesn't like hills
ReviewOriginationID:5ff196ba-4fb2-45c7-964b-79a45c48863c
"Mine is a 1986 Toyota pickup xtra cab 4x4. The truck runs and drive good after all these miles. It just never gives up and never leaves you stranded. It also handles anything you can think to throw at it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 1992
Review 31 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best vehicle I know, just keeps on running,
January 27, 2012
By Nemo
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliabity
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Just won't die! I want a new one :)
ReviewOriginationID:427c742c-25e7-4559-a072-10b0c7b217d1
"I bought this used with 20k in 1994. With 155k and a dozen Cross-country trips on it I wouldn't hesitate taking another cross-country trip with it. Working at a Toyota dealership I really want a new truck but I just can't justify getting ride of a vehicle that runs this good. The 22R series engines are "Bullet-proof". Change the oil regularly and you are looking at 200k easily. The only thing I have had to fix on it is the clutch...and that could be my bad driving habits. I'm a proud owner of a superior designed vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IL
Year 1992
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best automobile ever owned,
January 21, 2012
By bg
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothing
ReviewOriginationID:616a04dc-396c-46d7-b82b-2bc2ccd15402
"i love driving this vehicle every day and it gets you out of tight spots four wheel drive is the best."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 1994
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great for work car, save gas, dependable.,
January 15, 2012
By sunshine
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:227500
What's great about this vehicle?:compact , gas saver
What's not so great about this vehicle?:could use more power.
ReviewOriginationID:7aa868fa-76f5-4891-b96a-3e04f97a2e02
"Have had this car for almost 17 years now. Transmission was rebuilt once. Had timing CHAIN replaced.Wish it had more power at times.Other wise a very good truck, expect it to make to 300,000 miles ."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 1992
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Super dependable little truck!,
January 14, 2012
By Dman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:251000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great value, reliability and versatility.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Needs more power!
ReviewOriginationID:c8c9f1dd-87ee-46eb-b561-967a5e43fceb
"Toyota should make an updated version of these small trucks. With the new engines, buying another one would be a no brainer!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location HI
Year 1993
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent truck. If you find one, KEEP IT.,
January 13, 2012
By Wes
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:224675
What's great about this vehicle?:Steers smooth, smooth ride, good work truck
What's not so great about this vehicle?:heats too slowly, safety belt has no clip stop
ReviewOriginationID:16345082-c97a-41a2-961e-a4f859e3b940
"I've owned my truck 2 years, it has 224k on it and I've put 60k on it. I would recommend be easy on it, don't push it too hard, keep it maintained well and it will be good to you. The steering is exceptional and so smooth. It's a great truck all around. Great work truck, I put 64 miles on it every day. I wouldn't trade it for anything."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 1993
Review 36 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I've ever owned,
January 11, 2012
By Mldon3
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:278000
ReviewOriginationID:a57aa490-7b7e-4848-8d18-9801d5833ed5
"Used as commuter car for 15 years, also used to haul truck-type stuff.
Repair history is exceptional, still has the original clutch, replaced front brakes 3 times throughout the entire life of the vehicle! No other unreasonable repairs required.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MI
Year 1993
Review 37 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19yrs owned and still looks runs GREAT!,
January 10, 2012
By Tomek
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:300000
ReviewOriginationID:a914e5ab-7673-4451-b693-d5b6dd32935c
"I bought this truck new when I was a teenager straight out of highschool. I am now a father of two boys and half way through my 30's and still own it. It looks great and runs great. I had only one problem (which was a recall item) with the head gasket. I did all the simple stuff myself like oil, belts, plugs etc. Easy to work on especially if you get that book. Other than that I would buy this truck again in a heart beat. It will be sad when the day comes that I have to part ways with it. 300,000 miles later ...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1993
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
runs good but body is old,
December 6, 2011
By Jody
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:157000
What's great about this vehicle?:engine is good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:body is old
ReviewOriginationID:8bfb332b-714f-4416-ab56-1a66c843cc68
"runs good but bod is old"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1994
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
not goog,
December 3, 2011
By not good
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
ReviewOriginationID:7c55f95d-bf15-48fb-8d2d-7aae94ad0b96
"not good"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1991
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1989 - 1995 Toyota Pickup
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Built for reliability,
November 19, 2011
By Karl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:179000
ReviewOriginationID:1d3038ab-eb94-4ae5-aa88-0c45028dc5d1
"Very plain, extremely practical, takes a certain person to want the most reliable vehicle made yet not as comfortable as it could be, but then again if it gave a better ride then it would be too heavy to still get just over 30 mpg. The biggest reason why I have owned one so long is because in florida both of my old toyota pickups have zero rust, along with knowing they are an outstanding little truck. In 94 the corolla and the pickups were just a few hundred apart and now the tacoma cost thousands more then the corolla. They messed around with the perfect little truck so now it cost a lot more and doesn't get close to the mileage to 94 and older do. In other countries they stayed with the old style but to make americans happy they started building them heavier and more comfortable and jacked the price and lowered the mpg's. They should stick with what works, but I gues the tacoma is rated high as well? My pic is of my 91 I don't have a pic of the 94 but same style"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1994
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.