Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Average Customer Rating:
9.513 out of 10
9.5
 out of 
10
152 of 156(97%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Review 1 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7-year / original owner,
October 9, 2007
By zzzspyderzzz
from Elgin, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I remember the first time I saw this car in a Car and Driver article back in 1999. It wasn't yet available here in the states, but I knew I wanted one and put a solar yellow on hold at a local dealer and proceeded to wait until April 1st which was the official launch date. In the first summer of owning it, I put 16,000 miles on it. I am now up to 48,000. It was, and still is, such a blast to drive. A detailed explanation for my ratings follows:
Reliability: I'd like to have given this a 4.5, but instead rounded up. I did have an issue with fuel injectors in the spring of 2002. This might have had something to do with storing it all winter (I live near Chicago, and it's never seen salt on the roads.) Toyota covered this fix under warranty. I have also had an issue with the engine hood release cable and have had to remove the rear grill in order to unfasten the assembly on a few occassions. Thirdly, I just realized the other day that my passenger side window will not budge. I'm not sure if the switch went bad, or if it's a fuse. At any rate, it's not as cool when the top's down and the window is all the way up. Other than these 3 "minor" nuissances, the vehicle has been solid.
Quality: Bang for the Buck is the proper phrase for describing this car. This is simply an amazing car for the price. It was 23,500 brand new in 2000, and kbb has it listed at 11,500 7 years later.
Performance: This car is quick, but not fast. I've topped it out at 130 mph, and the acceleration is modest. I once read 0-60 in 6.6 in Motor Trend. However, it more than makes up for it in handling. Take this through a set of twisties and you'll know what I'm talking about. It's a go-kart on steroids.
Styling: With the unique styling of the MR2 spyder, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I personally love it's looks, and have had people ask if it's a porsche. The color of the vehicle does have a dramatic impact on the overall look. For instance, my solar yellow really pulls out the styling features whereas the black one seems to hide them.
Comfort: I've never sat in it and thought "Geez, this is uncomfortable." At the same time, I've been in luxury vehicles and know the difference. However, when considering the price, it is relatively comfortable and I personally like the "curb-level" view. You really sit low to the ground which helps with handling.
Overall Rating: I've had thoughts of selling it recently, but then I cleaned it up really well and it looked like new again. With only 5,000 being manufactured annually for the U.S. market between 2000-2005, Toyota put approximately 30,000 of them out on the road. I'd love to pull it out of the garage in near mint condition in 30 years when the number is dramatically lower. Bottomline, this is a wonderful and unique car... 5 stars."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best First Car!,
April 18, 2012
By MR2SH
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:75000
What's great about this vehicle?:A bargain for how fun and unique it is
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not as practical as most cars
ReviewOriginationID:5d5cd9c791f24d96a916a29f22df533a
"I saw this car, and instantly fell in love with it. So many people stop and stare at it, and some even think it is a Porsche. I was aware of the miniscule trunk space when i bought it, but the spaces are well thought out. The storage area behind the seats is plenty big for weekend luggage and there is a nice sized recepticle on the top of the dash, a large glovebox, and some depressions in the center console. The "Frunk" is a good size but less practicle to access. The car has plenty of power, and becuase of the weight and light steering, the car is very fun to take around corners. My car has the sequential Manual Transmission (SMT), which is a manual transmission with a computer-operated clutch. This transmission does not have a true automatic mode, but it will downshift from second gear to first when you stop at a light. You can shift up by ulling back on the floor shifter or with buttons on the back of either side of the steering wheel. To downshift, you push the floor shifter or push one of the buttons on the front of the steering wheel. The transmission shifts smoothly and quick enough for normal driving, but at higher revs, it can begin to feel sluggish. When downshifting it automatically blips the throttle for smoother shifts. Also, because of the cars size, it does not ussually roll when you let your foot of the brake, but it still will roll a little. The top is pretty simple to put up and down, but is much easier to do it when ouside of the vehicle. The process is simple: crack the windows (the diver window has an auto-down feature), unclip the two hooks via a button on the hook and fold it down, if your lucky you can hook the top down from the inside, but it will resist that. To put it up: unclip it from the down position, lift up via the small metal handle, flip down the visors, and hook it on to the windshield. The top doesn't leak, but does let in alot of noise. There is a flip ut sun/windblocker behind the seats, but is dark enough it makes it difficult to see out of. Theseats are confortable, but don't allow for much movement. Also, the steering wheel feels like it doesn't go up enough. The cabin is larger then it seems and the radio and climate controls are within easy reach. With 4 speakers, the radio is not amazing, but it is plenty for me. The only issue i have with the radio is, the antenna raises when the radio is on, and I broke it when I drove into the garage. The steering makes it easy to ark, and I can't imagine driving anything else!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Toyota's last real and affordable sports car,
January 24, 2012
By RedShark
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:74500
What's great about this vehicle?:bargain sports car, excellent handling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:minimal storage space, could use more power
ReviewOriginationID:dda52545-4cfb-4fda-8461-869755e093c1
"Lightweight, go-kart-like handling, minimalist, underpowered. Those are the main characteristics that come to mind for the MR2 Spyder. Lightweight meaning only the Lotus Elise weighs less among its contemporaries -- at 2200 lbs it's hard to find a lighter sports car. Nowadays most cars are bulked up and porky thanks to safety and convenience features, or just design without weight loss as a serious consideration - look at the 370Z or Mustang. The go-kart-like handling benefits from the light weight, plus the mid-engine layout gives you driving dynamics no FF or FR car can deliver. On the road or on the track driving the MR2 is like wielding a precision scalpel. In terms of creature comforts the car is a bit lacking; it has even less practicality than a Miata since the trunk and storage capacity is almost nil. But hey the heater works well even with the top down and it's a convertible with a glass back window - something that many of its competitors couldn't provide. You could describe it as a slimmed down Porsche Boxster, or a larger, chunkier Lotus Elise. For me it was a 2nd car, but if you are single with no kids and/or travel light it could definitely work as an only car, certainly as a commuter car with its great fuel mileage and zippy dynamics. The last point, many people felt the car was underpowered. Certainly compared to the previous generation MR2 that's true, but given how light the car is, you really don't need that much more power -- there's enough to get you in trouble for sure if you are clumsy with the wheel and pedal inputs. I've had mine since new for about 12 years and loved driving it everywhere. Driving it always puts a smile on your face. Unfortunately Toyota hasn't really built a true sports car since the MR2 (although the new GT86/Scion FRS may finally break that curse) and that's why I've held on to it... although I am looking at the FRS coming later this year."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2000
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Nothing but fun!,
June 4, 2014
By Mrs. and MR2
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:119000
What's great about this vehicle?:Toyota, Reliability, MPG, Fun Factor
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Storage, but you don't buy it for storage!
ReviewOriginationID:e4e1939fda3b4eb5bb06e4a1659cee7b
Make:Toyota
Model:MR2
Vehicle ID:5156
"I had a yellow 2001 MR2 spyder several years ago, I sold it because of a job transfer and have missed that little car ever since. Since that time I have had other cars (including an 08 RX8), but nothing compares to the MR2 in driving satisfaction. The Mrs. and I just found and purchased our second 2001 MR2 spyder, except this one was white and I love the color combo much better. Drving one of these machines is an awesome experience like no other. It only weighs about 2200 pounds so the small 1.8L, 138hp engine is fine to accelerate and gets great MPG. The twisties in the road are what makes this car fun and exciting. It handles just like a go-cart with immediate feedback and feel of the road to hug the corners. Everything on the styling is awesome and you frequently get looks (ok, gawks) or people asking what the heck kind of car it is. Most can't believe it is a 13 year old car. Another positive aspect of this car is being a Toyota and the engine is the same one in the corolla's so repairs are cheap and easy to maintain. I think mine will need a new top soon, but other than that it is solid and a bargain to have some fun. The only thing you can knock this car on is the non-existent storage with no real trunk and only a small space behind the seats - but the thrill of driving the car outwieghs the negative storage and you just pack lighter if you are taking it somewhere! This is an excellent car and they are becoming extinct with the last model year in 2005 - get'em while you can to enjoy driving with the top down and zipping around the corners and thank me later!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 2001
14 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Impressive,
July 8, 2010
By Chief
from Omaha
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have the 2005 with SMT 6-speed. Great handling car that rides on rails and never talks back. Replaced stock exhaust with a Borla muffler and dual tips and added the AEM cold air induction system along with a UNICHIP custom chip. Wow! That freed up a ton of HP and torque and sounds way better.
Also replaced all wheels with custom rims and 17" low profile tires that leveled out the car, lowered the rear an inch and also improved handling but sacrificed some ride comfort. You'll get used to it though and the profile is that much more improved. With the rear spoiler it looks like a cross between a Ferrari and Porsche with the convertible top down. You will get tons of people telling you "Cool car" driving around town. With only 1,000 imported into the US it's also pretty rare...everyone has a corvette or mustang but the MR2 stands out.
With the 1.8L Toyoto motor and drivetrain, it's bullet-proof and the 2nd generation of this same motor powers the Lotus Elise to 150+ MPH and 0-60 in the 4.7 second range. Even with all the mods and driving it in fun mode you get 28 - 30 MPG. I've owned or driven a 911, C-5 Corvette, BMW 320, Celica GT and nothing compares to the MR2 for overall driver satisfaction. Sure, some go faster but overall this car just makes you smile and is easy on the wallet to maintain and operate! For the money, nothing can touch it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
not as expected,
January 26, 2010
By skjytm
from california
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"I came to find out that these mr2 spyders were not as well designed as i had previously thought. First of all the latches to the convertible top need to be constantly tightened and the car is extremely noisy around corners and it is very difficult to get hard tops for these since they were not sold in the us so you will end up forking out around 3,000 for one. It handles well but lacks power. The car has around 140hp which seems like alot for such a small car but it really isn't. There is no trunk, no storage space in exception to a capartment behind the seats. You cannot rotate the tires due to a tab on the rear rims that connects to the axels. It is has very bad blind spots when the top is up. Right now my car has around 82,000 miles and will burn 10w 30oil if you do some research this is a very common problem in these and it costs around $1800 to have new rings put on. These should have come with a 6spd transmission while driving at 70mph the rpms will be at 3500 which is very high. Overall i would say that its a really low quality car. I bought mine from an older gentleman who was the original owner no accidents. I had thought that since it is a toyota that it would be a very good reliable car. I would not recomend these to anyone go with a honda s2000 or a z3 if you want a 2 seater sports car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great car, not reliable,
September 29, 2009
By Chuck
from Birmingham, AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have such mixed emotions about this car that i have no idea where to begin. I bought my 2001 spyder with 110,000 miles on it, thinking that because it is a toyota it will run forever. OHHH boy, was i wrong. on my drive home, about 300 miles from where i bought it, i noticed an awful noise and had no idea what it was. But after driving it a few more miles i realized that it was the sound of metal on metal with no kind of lubricant whatsoever. i pulled over and checked the oil to find out that there was none...at all. i took it to an repair shop where they told me i needed to replace the engine, which would cost me a whopping 4000 dollars. After talking to the dealer that sold it to me, we worked out an agreement, he would pay 60% of the cost. So I replaced the engine and everything was great...for about three weeks. i started hearing this awful rattling noise coming from the engine compartment, so i took it back to the repair shop and found out that i needed a new exhaust system for 2000 dollars, i am still working out how to pay for this. Dont get me wrong, i absolutely LOVE this car. evrything about it. and i will pay whatever i have to to keep it running. but just know that this particular model is not quite as reliable as the rest of the Toyota cars that we know and love."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fun, Practical, Reliable,
April 5, 2010
By I like it.
from Seattle, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I got my 2001 model in 2005 with 3500 miles on it. Removed the precats to prevent the engine from self-destructing, put decent tires on it, and have put 40,000 miles on this car as a daily driver ever since. My not-on-the-freeway 1-hour commute is fun and only takes 45 minutes in this car. There is plenty of room for everything I need to carry (way more space than my motorcycles had). Did I mention that this car is fun to drive? Lose the OEM tires though. Used it to take a high-performance driving class. What a blast! This is not a high-power car, but is light-weight, efficient, and has plenty of performance for street driving. It's practically a luxury car compared to my last two roadsters (Datsun 2000, Triumph TR-3A). Handling is precise, shifting is smooth, the brakes are awesome! I'm 5'-6" and the seating and control positions are a perfect fit for me. The variable valve timing gives a lot of mid-range torque for such a small engine, and Toyota did a superb match of the gear ratios to the engine characteristics. In fact, with all the compromises that have to be made in order to design a car, I think Toyota got all the important ones just right. Oh yeah, did I remember to mention this car is just purely FUN to drive?"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 9 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
My one true love,
April 18, 2009
By Auntie MR2
from Deerfield Beach, FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I got my 2002 model in November 2001. Going on 8 years later, the magic is still going strong. I have spent very little money on the car. Mainly tires and brakes. I recently got a job 40+ miles away and thank goodness for my little gas sipper. I STILL get compliments on this car all this time. I got the manual (not the Sequential thingie) and the leather and I'm so glad I did. After 7 years I am ued to cratively utilising the minimal cargo space and have hauled even big things in this car--top down, Pawley's Island double hammock sticking out. This car is astonishingly comfortable and great for us five footers--we can finally reach the pedals! This is my only car and on the few occasions I have needed 4 seats because I had visitors flying in, I rented cars (Enterprise, they pick you up!) and it was well worth the $250 or so I have spent over the past 7 years as opposed to havng a second car. Renting other cars just made me appreciate my baby more. I have to say one negative thing, though, My 1995 Dodge Neon handled better than this car. My Dad dorve both of them and agrees. That car really gripped the road and mine went for 300K+ miles. I'm keeping my Senor Dos 'tl the wheels fall off or 'til death does us part."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
fun car for Gramms,
February 17, 2010
By wyrebender
from concord, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"After care giving my late husband for 2 yrs as he battled cancer I felt I needed something fun in my life.
I decided to buy a Prius. I've always owned Toyotas and went to the dealer ship. Looking around the lot, I spotted the MR-2 Spyder.
I aways loved sports cars (my first was ab 1958 TR-3) and the Spyder brought back memories of driving with the top down, wind in my hair and great fun!!!
I checked it out, drove it and I was sold. I thought of the practically of it and the fact that I have 6 grand daughters, not practical at all. But I was sold!!!
I've had nothing but fun in my Spyder!!! It has been very reliable, not a bit of trouble with it. I've driven it on long trips and found that it is anything but comfortable but that issue is secondary to the top down and sun shining!! Trunk space??? Who needs to haul all that "stuff" around on a trip anyway???? I can fit a change of clothes and an overnight bag in the compartments behind the seats.
Yes it is impractical but I have loved every moment behind the wheel and am the envy of my gals and my children too!!! This granny is not too old to enjoy a fun car and jealous glances from other drivers!!!!
PS: I have another car to haul the g'kids around!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Super Fun Car,
September 3, 2007
By Bouncer
from Detroit, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This car is close to being a street-legal go-cart. The leg room is a little tight for a 6-4 driver, which I am, but the fun-factor offsets that problem entirely. It is totally stable at anything under 9/10ths driving. Gas mileage is excellent (30mph City, 35mph Highway). It does eat sport tires (17000 miles on first set) but then that is also a function of driving style. Because it is so rare, it gets lots of looks and compliments. The sound system is first-rate. It is good for a 2-day trip for two, if you travel light. The top is well-built, water-tight and quiet at speed. It has yet to burn a drop of oil; and, if you wish, you can lug it down to 2000rpm in 5th gear and pull away smoothly. The transmission shifts quickly and smoothly, especially if you add an aftermarket quick-shift kit. Braking is excellent, but downshifting to take advantage of engine-braking extends brake life. The transmission synchonizers are more than capable of accommodating downshifts without heel-and-toeing. I would strongly recommend this as a 2nd or 3rd car, as it is really not very practical. However, it does provide excellent driving fun combined with superior build-quality and great mileage."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fun Car!,
September 17, 2007
By South Carolina Driver
from South Carolina, SC
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my MR2 Spyder a few months now, I love this car. Its a blast to drive, it hugs the curves and mountain roads. Its a huge attention getter. People often come up to me when I'm parking the car to ask questions about it and say "they have never seen one before". Its great to drive a rare car. It often gets mistaken for a porshe boxster:). When I was shopping for a sporty convertable for summer I looked at a Honda S2000, BMW Z3, Audi TT. Miata and test drove all of them. The S2000, Miata, and Z3 were all too crapmed (I am 6ft tall) and the Audi after research was a little too high maintence than I was wanting for a summer car. The Mr-S was roomy, for a small car. I can drive the car comfortably, it has plenty of leg room. The "front trunk" space is big enough for my grocery shopping and out of town luggage. And the space behind the seats is also pretty big, you can eaily fit 3 carry bags in there. Over-all its a great car, it has nice body lines, it looks very sleek. I have the factory TRD Kit and rear spoiler on mine, and lowered on Tein Springs, It looks great! I just love this car, and would recomend it to anyone looking for an affordable fun sporty convertable!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
underrated champion,
October 26, 2007
By dooga
from Hanover, NH
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"The Toyota MR2 Spyder is an underrated champion sports car. It is an engineering marvel. It is shorter overall than a Miata, but with a longer wheelbase. It can out accelerate and out brake a Miata while delivering better gas mileage in a package that accomodates larger drivers. Each successive year, Toyota has tweaked the MR2 Spyder with evolutionary improvements from the 2000 model to the 2006. My 2003 delivers never less than 32 mpg and regularly delivers 36 mpg on regular gas. The car has been absolutely reliable. The manual top goes up or down in seconds right from the driver's seat. Many of the features that distinguished the MR 2 Spyder from its competitors are now found in the newer generation of two seater roadsters from other manufacturers. The exterior illumination is superior. The controls are simple and logical. The top stowes flush with the body, so visibility is not compromised. Air flow around the passenger compartment is well managed with the top down. The MR 2 Spyder is a blast to drive. Its comparative rarity causes people to ask me daily, " what is that?" Guesses have included Porsche, Ferrarri, Lotus,"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
sensitive car,
September 4, 2011
By chickity
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
Reason for Sale:end of lease
What's great about this vehicle?:handles well with hp tires, great mileage, fun, fast, easy to wash (it's so small)
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Internal knobs and parts fall off often, water leaks in through air ducts, sensitive
"I no longer own this car but leased one right out of college knowing that I would not likely keep it long term anticipating changes (need for baby space) in my needs. The car got great gas mileage, fast (wind blows you nearly off road because car is so light), good handling,reliable and looks nice. Not comfy for long distances. It handles very well. However, both splash guards fell off (dealer left screw off once), second time just fell off and tore causing underbelly damage which was covered once by dealer and another by Toyota. Water leaked in through external air ducts which got plugged with leaves and filled cubbie with water. Toyota covered. Design defect? Also, two sensors went out at once, one would have cost 800.00 to replace. Random. I hear this happens if you let your gas get low. Liked car but would use as secondary car. Fun but not practical. No trunk space either. It has front trunk and cubbies for storage behind seats. Choose between groceries and passenger. Don't think car would do well in accident."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location CA
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Truly Fun Car,
May 4, 2012
By RP
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:62000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price, fun to driver, good value, big grins
What's not so great about this vehicle?:limited space
ReviewOriginationID:176a98a4fcc64be3aec8c82e60c70136
"I bought my car in Stuttgart Germany and use it as a daily driver. Its is great for city driving and can cruise the autobahn at 120 mph with all ease and still deliver great gas mileage. Spaces is limited but I attached a sports rack on the rear and can easily carry suitcases and other articles once they are securly strapped down. I am 6'2' and weigh 230 lbs, I have no issues with spaces, and comfortably drive the car. I driver the car year round and have never issues with leaks from rain, or loss of control in snow. I do have to change to winter tires to deal with snow. I have no plans to part with the car and would receommedn it to anyone who needs a reliable daily commuter, city car, or, just a weekend/summer driver. My car is silver with a black top, I park my car it in between a Porsche convertible and BMW 3 series convertible everyday (same color scheme as the MR2) and each day someone mistakes it as twin of the Porsche."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location International
Year 2000
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Found one? Do it.,
February 22, 2014
By RakNoFobik
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:Excellent handling, awesome gas mileage, reliable.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Uuuh... Where do I put this??
ReviewOriginationID:7255da36bee34dd9af04f34b3a1aa96f
Make:Toyota
Model:MR2
Vehicle ID:4841
"I'm a mopar guy. That's right, beef-eating muscle nut. My first venture into the import world was the NA (90-97) miata. It was an alright car, but mine kinda fell apart in a classic case of you get what you pay for. This year I got my income tax and started looking for another miata when a friend at work offered to sell me his '02 spyder. Three days, and I'm in love. This thing holds the road like no other, actually pretty torquey for a four-banger, and ten bucks actually does something as far as gas goes. 30 mpg. A big step up from the 8-12 mpg I'm used to with my classic. This thing is loads of fun, but can't really handle fun loads, as the trunk is next to non-existent. But, if you bought this car for it's stellar storage capacity, you've got bigger problems than figuring out where to stash that giant stuffed bear you just had to have."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
All Smiles,
October 8, 2007
By Spyderman
from Portland, Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought the Spyder new in 2000. This is absolutely the most fun you can have in an affordable sports car bar none. I have owned a TR6, 2 Corvettes ('91 & '98), and a Miata (big mistake), over the years and none even come close to the handling of the Spyder. I loved the all out power and acceleration of the Corvettes but they couldn't keep the Spyder in their sights on tight twisty roads. In addition the Vette's ate me out of house and home as far as lack of reliablilty and the maintenance required. I haven't spent a nickel other than tires and oil changes on the Spyder. In addition I can get over 30mpg averaging over 100 MPH with the Spyder = unbelieveable! No matter how bad my day 10 minutes in the MR2 will always put a BIG smile on my face. Kudo's to Toyota for the car but too bad they no longer are available"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love it!,
August 14, 2013
By Sue
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:45000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive-easy to find parking-easy on gas
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no trunk space, just a little space behind seats
ReviewOriginationID:35a00f4b111740f0aa49b8603281bacb
Make:Toyota
Model:MR2
Vehicle ID:5156
"I have a 2001 model. I bought this for myself when I turned 50. I wanted a second car but something fun to drive too and all the other cars did not fit the bill.
My husband wanted me to buy a new car but didn't see anything I liked. Too young looking, too much money ect. I bought this in 2003 so I bought it used with about 18,000 miles on it for around $24,000 ( I know too much!) but couldn't help myself. Love this car! I usually cover it for the winter since it's not good in the snow but love driving it. it's like driving a go-kart but on the road and a little bigger and handles really nice especially on the turns. Feels great with the roof down even when it's a little cool.In the 10 years I've had it, had to replace roof, clutch and wheels but that's it. Fun car to drive!! Will never get rid of this!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My Baby Blue is Best,
April 27, 2009
By Missy
from Salinas, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this 2003 car in 2005 and love it. It has the smt 6 speed and have had a problem with it 3 months ago. Local Toyota dealership ended up calling factory to have their techs help with diagnosis and resolution. Pricey repair but thank goodness it still was under warranty. Baby Blue has only 34,000 miles and she is a little honey. Driving a big car intimidates me so I am very happy driving this one in heavy traffic or on a country road in the summer with the top down along Big Sur on Hwy 1. I have looked at Pontiac Stealth and Saturn's Sky but they do not speak to me as the Spyder does. I am single, so I don't mind the limited storage space and besides my other car is a truck. Bring the Spyder back, Toyota, you have a lot of fans with this one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2000 - 2005 Toyota MR2 Spyder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The best car EVER!,
July 21, 2013
By Angela in Northern California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:126000
What's great about this vehicle?:Gorgeous, fun, reliable, fuel efficient
What's not so great about this vehicle?:None! Groceries ride shotgun!
ReviewOriginationID:6b7750f6a3e546d58d2e0ea5f2ee46ac
Make:Toyota
Model:MR2
Vehicle ID:3485
"I have coveted this car since I saw the first generation back in 1985. I finally got around to buying a used 2004 (23,000 miles) in 2005 when I found out Toyota was going to stop making them. I bought it without a test drive, and it turned me into a "car" person! I have had it for 9 years and it took me at least two years to quell the desire to scream "YEE HAW! YEE HAW!" every time I pulled off a red light. But, I still drive it EVERY weekend--take it out to drive 100 miles just to drive it. I say I'm going shopping, and when I get to the store, I JUST KEEP GOING! It is that much fun! It is also very reliable--it's never left me stranded. My boys tease me that I'll be buried in it. I really want a new one (2014, that is)!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.