Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla

Average Customer Rating:
8.866 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
161 of 164(98%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Review 1 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Reliable, and Excellent Preformance,
May 27, 2008
By Graf
from Providence, RI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This car was purchased new in 1989 for about $12,000 it originally belonged to my mother and now I am the owner of this car. I must say, this is one of the best car I have ever driven before! My mother wants me to replace it with something modern, but I have refused to replace it and having been driving it everyday.
PROS of this car:
What makes this car so great? It is extremely light, and easy to control.I used this car to pass my road test. My corolla has a pretty good acceleration and it still catches up to the average road driving.
You can not go wrong with the corolla. Especially this model. My car currently has about 100,000 miles on it and I have had no serious problems with it.
It is also pretty fuel efficient! I am surprised at the fuel efficiency in this vheical. I use this for normal everyday travel. To campus and back. It is very fun to drive especially on long roads.
The car is pretty roomy. I must say, with an old car, you have done everything you can with it. I really like the big trunk that allows me to put a bunch of things in the back. It put more then what I would expect.
Compare to the cars I see today, I wonder how much they can fit.
What are some CONS about the vhiecle:
Extreme Windy days can be a problem: As I stated before this car is extremely light and easy to control. With lightness their can be an issue with winds, especially heavy winds that make it shake when at 45 MPH or faster.
Low suspensions: My car has been put to the test when it comes to suspension test. If I did not know better I could have sworn the people building the roads are intentionally making bigger hills and taller speed bumps... I ocassionally hear the scratch underneath going through large bumps. You can not tell the difference looking at it, but if you put it side by side with another car you can see that newer cars are a little bit higher.
Pretty "low" seats. I have had a few family members complain about the back seats. It feels like sitting on the "floor" I plan to add some cusions and wash the backseats this summer.
Mechanics Intentionally Making stuff up or mesing around with your car!: Yes, I have had a few mechanics who intentionally played around with my car to purposefully make repair cost higher. I have yet to find out which machanic stole my Air Conditioning Unit. My AC currently does not work because the whole AC unit was removed! I did not notice it was missing until I went to get the car checked in the summer! It was stolen sometime durning the winter season when I had to bring it in a few times to diffrent shops for some major repairs! ( Replace Radiator System, Replaced Muffler, Changed the wiring of the car. )
Car Status:
It is still running great,though I think it might need a transmission replacement soon. Also their is a small hole in the muffler near the engine which is expensive to replace, which I haven't bothered replacing. Plenty of rust underneath the car, one door with small holes from rust. It is also missing a back right rim. It also needs time to warm up during the cold winter times."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
The Denver Wonder Wagon,
May 24, 2009
By geo
from Denver,Colorado
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Car: 1992 Corolla Wagon DX-Automatic
History: I bought this car, used, with 19K miles on it in 1995 for $8000.00. I've got about 97K on it now. I don't drive far but I do drive it nearly everyday.
Reliability: It has been a most reliable vehicle. The car has never left me stranded...unless I left the head lights on or it was just time to get another new battery. I have enjoyed the car and it has served me well. In 14 years of ownership, I have less than $2K in maintenance/repair costs and one of the repairs to the suspension was the result of a huge pot hole...not the failure of the vehicle itself. I have not neglected the car but I probably could have been more attentive to it's maintainance. Thankfully, it has been very forgiving of my lack of attention.
Performance: Front wheel drive does well in the snow. Surprisingly, zippy starts from a red light. It is however,not a very powerful car. When you load it up with people or stuff you will definitely feel the difference in its performance but it will handle your Home Depot needs. If you plan to go into the mountains fully loaded, you better "feed the hampsters that power it, turn off the AC, and get a running start on the inclines. Oh, you'll get to the top of Floyd Hill alright, just not as fast as everyone else.
Comfort: The ride is smooth, and not too noisy. If you are a tall person you may find the car a little less comfortable than a shorter driver/passenger. The seats are comfy but backseat legroom is a little limited. My cloth interior still looks good and the rest of interior has held up well too. I don't have any missing knobs or plastic parts snapping off. I do have sun cracks in the dashboard now - but I kind of expect that after 17 years of baking in the sun.
Recommedations: This is a Great little car. One of the best purchases I ever made. I will be giving it to my dad at the end of this month. I only hope the next car I buy will be as good as this one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I Love This Little Toyota Corolla Hatchback,
June 28, 2008
By A Long Time Owner
from San Francisco
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my 1987 Toyota Corolla FX hatchback for almost 21 years and dearly love it!! In those years, I have put on nearly 150,000 miles and it still gets great gas mileage. It is very easy to drive and to park, and hasn't had any major mechanical problems.
About a year ago, I thought about replacing the car because I wanted a car with automatic door locks and windows that roll down when I push a button. But when I started looking at cars, I couldn't find a car that I liked better. First of all, most of them have bodies that are all "plastic" -- try finding a place to attach a hide-a-key box. The bumpers are all painted to match the car and scratch very easily. This car is made of metal and has "real" bumpers. A little ArmorAll keeps the bumpers and trim looking good. A lot of the new cars look like a wedge of cheese - a look I really dislike! When you're in them, you can't see what's behind you (The rear window is too small and high) and the front end just disappears, so you can't judge how close you are to things in front of you or behind you. This little car has a big back window and essentially no blind spots. And … it still has a lot of “zip” at its age. After doing a Ben Franklin checklist – the yeas out-weighed the nays and I decided to KEEP my little Toyota!!
My other car is a newer Lexus that is very comfortable and extremely quiet. It also gets good gas mileage, but takes premium gasoline. The Toyota runs smoothly on the cheapest gasoline. I find that I enjoy driving the little Toyota Hatchback much more than the Lexus. After shopping, I can plop my purchases into the large “trunk” – very big items are no problem since the seat backs fall forward to accommodate them. This has been a terrific car and I plan to drive it for a long, long time!!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I Love What You Do For Me, TOYOTA!,
July 15, 2008
By taco jim
from harrisburg, pa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"First about the car itself. It is simply fun to drive. it has a 1.6 liter 4cyl. carbeurated engine. Sure it lacks in power but what do you expect from that itty bitty engine? Toyota wasnt building this to be a street racer, they were building a cheap, reliable, gas sipping car and man did they achieve it in spades. For its size it is suprisingly spacious. If you get a hitch, you can still easily tow a small trailer with it without feeling much of a toll on the car. It is very easy to see out of and now that its 20 years old, the seats are just starting to wear in and be comfortable.
Now more specifically, my corolla. I bought my 89 corolla wagon recently and I am so happy I did. It has just under 180k miles on it. It had some pre existing problems when I bought it. But I couldnt beat the price...200 dollars. It appears that whoever had it before wasnt very concerned with replacing parts when they should have been according to the regular maintenance schedule. I have replaced the valve cover gasket, drive belts, water pump, thermostat, brakes, tires, fuel pump, fuel filter, air filter, spark plugs to get her running. And just the way she sounds and runs makes me trust this car to get me anywhere I want to go. It has never left me stranded, The only things it need (all pre existing) are a new hood, fender, and driver door (minor rust and 20 years of wear & tear), A new transmission (mine works but 5th was out before i got it), and a head gasket. And with the proper care, I know it could last me another 100k. I love the fuel efficiency i get with this. This is the car I was searching for my whole life and never realized it. I LOVE WHAT YOU DO FOR ME, TOYOTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Vehicle I've Owned!,
September 20, 2008
By Teacherrit
from Pacific Northwest
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I've owned my 1992 Toyota Corolla All Trac for abut 7 years. I bought it with 80,000 miles on it for $5,000. Since that time I have put another 100,000 miles on it and they have been absolutely trouble free. I have done routine maintenance such as brakes, fluid changes, shocks and struts and axles. The only non standard maintenance that I performed was to swap out the exhaust manifold when it cracked at 150,000 miles. This was a $50 dollar job and I could do it myself. The all wheel drive is wonderful in snow, ice and rain. The back can haul all of the gear that you want. The seats are reasonably comfortable and the build quality is second to non. This vehicle is a perfect kid hauler/grocery getter or wonderful mountain/ski car. I cannot imagine ever owning anything as reliable and functional. I am now expecting my fourth baby and that is the only reason that I am considering selling it. I wouldn't but my wife doesn't want to have a car just sitting around.
Cons: It is a bit underpowered so no blazing passes on the freeway. It is also pretty bare bones spartan so don't expect luxury amenities. Not a gripe otherwise."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
312000 miles original engine and transmission,
August 4, 2011
By climberguy
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:312000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, repsonsive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:engine leaks oil after 300,000 miles, not really a con.
"I bought this 1991 Corolla Station wagon from the second owner in 2000 for $3000. It had 150,000 miles. I had it inspected by my trusted mechanic, who confirmed it had been taken care of. Both my kids learned to drive on it. The only thing I've replaced has been the clutch, timing belt, the radiator, starter and water pump, and that was of course normal expected maintenance. It is a daily driver and has more 'get up and go' than my 2004 Toyota Tacoma. Currently at 312,000 miles on the original engine and manual transmission, I am considering spending $800 on replacing the front and rear engine seals, and the timing belt. It leaks about a quart of oil a week from the 20 year old original engine seals, which is perfectly normal on an old car. I doubt I could buy a car this reliable for $800, so I'm tempted. They built them good back then. I'm hoping they still do, as we bought a 2010 rav 4 to replace this old corolla, which we thought was going to die...but it just keeps going. The rav4 is parked, awaiting the long delayed funeral."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1991
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable,peppy,fun-to-drive,great - on- gas!,
August 28, 2011
By Mentallytough
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:201000
What's great about this vehicle?:Economical ; fun to drive, especially lane changes and tight corners; powerful 1.6L ; retains value
What's not so great about this vehicle?:only cupholders are in glovebox.
"I bought my 1992 toyota corolla with 166,000 miles. Now, at 201,500 there has never been any mechanical issues other than 2 oil leaks (one at valve cover) that i fixed and i installed a new clutch and muffler. Super reliable and awesome gas mileage around town and highway-30 mph intown and 40-44 mph highway. My mechanic tells me the engine compression is the same as if it were new off the production line! I once t-boned a bigger, heavier car and caused $2500 damage but the only consequence to my corolla were a scratched bumper and cracked sidelight! I expected the front to be crumpled as the door of the other car i hit and was amazed at the lack of damage. Both cars moving at 20 mph at impact. Super strong reverse gear and surprisingly roomy trunk. This car is not comfortable for anyone over 6' tall and no convenient cupholders are my only other issue , unless i wanted to complain about no airbag which i don't..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 1992
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1989 toyota corolla sr5 coupe,
October 23, 2008
By lovemysr5
from piggott, ar
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have a 1989 corolla sr5 coupe that i have owned for 7 years. it was passed down to me from a family member and it has been a joy to own. it now has 243,000 miles on it and i still love it. it has been one of the most reliable cars that i have ever owned. other than routine maintanance; i have replaced the front rack, starter, and just recently the alternator. the engine has never been opened and still runs very good. since it is carbuerated, it is a little cold natured in the winter but still keeps on ticking. i will warn others to have their brake lines and transmission lines checked if they are getting up there in age. both of these busted on mine and were cheap fixes; but could have resulted in an accident or transmission replacement. i currently have an 07 yaris also but still love to drive my old corolla coupe more than my new car. you can't go wrong with one of the old corollas."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
excellent car!,
June 20, 2008
By sally
from Ky
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This is my first car ever. I got it august 05.
Since then i have never had any real trouble out of it. I am not sure if it has a 10 or 11 gallon tank but i get 375 miles to the tank EASILY. (That's city driving too!)
In today's market that places its fuel efficiency for a sedan at the very top of the list. My car is 18 years old now with 151k on it. Really i can't complain about it.
The only thing i have noticed with my car specifically is that it doesnt like cheap spark plugs. So i put in the Bosche platinum 2's. Runs like a deer.
They say this car is only worth 1500? Not with todays gas prices!!! at 32-40 mpg its worth ALOT more than that in my opinion.
I have decided i am just going to buy another corolla when this one goes out. You can't beat this kind of quality for the price. No way!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 10 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Corolla DX - 1990,
May 21, 2009
By TomR
from Ohio
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my Toyota Corolla DX new in Fall 1990. I've had the car 19 years and have had no trouble with it. I have had to replace the typical "wear out" items like tires, brakes and batteries but I have had no major mechanical problems with the car. I also did not have any dealer service on the car when it was new. Simply put - Nothing Went Wrong!"
I would have kept the car until the wheels fell off, but I had a friend whose son is in college and needed a car so I gave it to him. I only did it so I could buy a new 2009 Toyota Corolla LE.
This makes four new Silver Toyota Corollas, (1-DX and 3-LE) that we have owned. I have had no problems with any of them!
I highly recommend a simple, fuel efficient, mechanically robust car like a Toyota Corolla to everyone.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
88 Corolla DE Sedan 4D,
May 18, 2008
By Loganomar
from Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I owned this car since 1999 when I was in high school, it has been my first and only car and its great, its giving me 25mpg on PR with all the hot weather in here. No major repairs have been made. I paint it and looks like new, put 15" rims and good tires, lower it, put a glass direct fuel filter, open the second bbl on the carburetor, an exhaust pipe and i love it. Really good sound, good torque. I had some addons on it like voltmeter, rmp clock, etc It's been 9 years since I owned it, been the second owner, first one a lady that took great care of it, and it's my toy, even my girlfriend likes the car and doesn't want me to sell it. I'm planning to have it for a really long time, in the future buy another corolla and repair some minor things in that one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 12 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Can't Complain,
July 23, 2008
By D2Dad
from Virginia Beach, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"It's a '92 - bought it used Florida in 98 with 58k for $5000. Now has 113k and has never let me down. Three cross-country trips and countless 10 or 20 mile commutes. It's getting a little ugly (faded paint on hood and roof, cracked dash board, seats getting worn), but it's still so smooth, reliable, and great on gas that I'm havin' a hard time bringing myself to sell it even though I've got two other newer and nicer vehicles. With a 40 mile round trip commute every day here, I take this car over my '03 Silverado truck because I get twice the gas mileage, even though I'm sure I get some looks wondering why anyone would still be driving a faded out old economy car like my Corolla. Probably, no, definitely the best $5000 I ever spent."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love my car. I love my car. I love my car.,
March 3, 2008
By Jeska
from Centreville, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My parents bought my car when I was a young lass, it is a '92, and they bought it in '97. It still drives just as good now as it did then. Its almost as old as I am, and I've been driving it for a few years. Its lovely to me. I will be so upset when it dies. But I don't believe it ever will. I have to replace a part or two every year or so, but its not very expensive, so it's worth it, over buying a new car. I have to keep it outside in the elements, and in the drastic climate changes that VA is known for, my car has been reliable. Sometimes I have to leave my car for months at a time without driving it, and that effects some cars very badly. Not mine. My car--invincible.
I love my car.
I love my car.
I love my car.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 14 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car Ever,
December 23, 2008
By Nicky
from Toms River, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my 1992 Corolla for 10 years; I bought it used. It extremely reliable, comfortable to drive, cheap to own, and I don't want to part with it ever, even though its exterior has not been cared for properly (by me). It has 142,000 miles on it. It is so easy and comfortable to drive as well as being a perfect size. I look at new cars and think they look nice, since I haven't taken good care of the exterior of my car it looks a bit shabby compared to other cars on the road. But I just can't part with it. It gets great mileage, better or as good as new cars touting their great mileage. This car does what a car should do: gets you safely where you want to go. Simple, cheap, user-friendly. I love my car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 15 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car!,
October 14, 2011
By Colt430
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:308000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great gas, Reliable, Low costs, Nice options.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:I won't lie it loves to rust.
ReviewOriginationID:a76db68f-02e0-4978-ba53-f49d3d89e220
"I bought this car about 8 months ago after my 1989 Cavalier started to hit it's grave at 192,000 miles. Bought it for a very low price from a old man who was a mechanic for VW for 32 years. I saw that it had about 250,000 miles and I was kinda iffy at first. Test drove it and practically fell in love. It drove great and was just very smooth, also it had great options (power everything including moonroof.). Been driving it for the past 8 months everywhere. As you can see I've put alot of miles on it and It's still running strong like the first day I drove it. Great car to get if you want something reliable, gas saving (and I'm talkin 35 ), and easy mantinence. Great car for anybody."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1991
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best Car I've ever owned!,
March 21, 2008
By Jeni
from Vinton, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This car is absolutely amazing. I have a 91. It has 227,800 miles on it and is still going strong. The engine has no leaks of any sort. Makes no noise. The transmission has even more miles....well over 250,000., The car was a repo from the bank and the original owner busted a hole in the transfer case on the tranny. Replaced the tranny with one off of a car with more miles. Still going strong. The only reason we are getting rid of it is because we have a baby and the car-seat makes things TIGHT in the car. We just bought a 2002 Camry. We are definately a toyota family. We have a 94 Toyota truck, 91 Corolla, and an 02 camry. My husband owned a Camry in high school. We LOVE toyota."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 17 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I miss my Corolla,
May 19, 2008
By Former Owner
from Lafayette, IN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my '88 Corolla new in '87. Best car I've ever owned! Like other owners, I had to replace the clutch, also put two new mufflers on it. Aside from that I had very little maintenance expense. Original tires drove for almost 100,000 miles, (NO LIE!) mostly highway. One thing I still do not understand is the MPG. I drove my Corolla for 125,000 before it's untimely demise in a collision and was still getting 42 MPG highway until then. (Again, NO LIE!) Not sure what's up with newer cars (even some hybrids) not measuring up to this - even the newer Toyotas. If it where not for the unfortunate accident in 1994, I am sure I would still be driving my baby."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Excellent value,
July 17, 2009
By jessie51
from tyler, tx
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car used in 2002 with 96k and have put about 60k on it in the last 7 years. It has been in a pretty rough accident that dented the back end and makes it so the trunk won't close, but the car still runs great and is going strong. It looks terrible, but I just can't get rid of it because it's so reliable. I've replaced the starter, distributor, valve cover gasket, and alternator since I've owned it, but other than that, only regular maintenance has been required. The car is a little weak, and as the bottom-of-the-line model, is uncomfortable on long rides, but with its reliability and how cheap it is to operate, I really can't complain."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 19 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1992 Corolla All-Trac DX,
April 27, 2010
By wwherbert
from Denver Colorado
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned many Toyota's and this is the third corolla. The 1992 All-Trac is very good for all types of driving. This model with the 4AFE engine is a little under powered, I have a 5 speed and this is best for the mountains here in Colorado as this is a heavy car for the engine that it has. I have found all corollas to be more than what you would expect in a compact. Parts are cheap, maintains simple, and the reliablity can not be beat! Corolla's are loved in Japan and Austrailia especailly wiith the AE101 and AE111 engines. Yes either of these will fit a 1992 All-Trac like mine. Guess what I will do if my engine ever goes out :-)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 20 for 1988 - 1992 Toyota Corolla
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
October 31, 2007
By CRC
from Lunenburg NS
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This was the best car we ever owned. It's made it thorugh snow as high as the front bumper, started in the coldest winters. We've had it for 6 years now. The only thing that was probably the most expensive thing to fix was the struts. Rear struts were replaced two years ago, and they're in dire need of being done again. well over 320000kms and still kicking, and kicking strong, it's an awesome car.
A Cadilac jumped out and our Toy decided to eat it. Well the Caddy was towed away while we drove the Wagon away. Insurance is giving us over $2000 for it, can't complain! But she will be missed!! If you can find one!! GET IT!!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.