Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner

Average Customer Rating:
8.278 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
196 of 216(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Review 61 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best there is,
March 16, 2009
By allie
from PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Brought this 4runner in 94 and it never let us down. Even after two major accidents (double roll over on ice, and someone running a stop sign). Both times fixed back up like new you would never have known it had been in an accident! Has over 190,000 miles on it and is just starting to slow down now. Cleans up like new! Also have a 97 that is just as good, now looking for a third one for my daughter. Toyota knows how to make them!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable, quality made SUV,
March 3, 2009
By Kellie
from Seattle, WA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my 93' 4runner for four years and it is the best car I have ever had. It is extremely reliable, it has never broken down on me, and all electrical parts still working. Usually in older cars, buttons stop working and things short out, but not with my 4runner. If you take care of your 4runner and maintain it like you should; it will have a LONG life."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Family vehicle,
January 14, 2009
By Mickey
from Cupertino, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned a 1992 4-runner for 4 years. I have put many miles on it and it has always been reliable! I haven't had any major problems. Only routine maintenance. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone even with higher mileage. They run forever!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Superb reliability,
October 13, 2008
By 95 4-runner from nothern california
from humboldt co, california
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Excellent handling on and off road. Use the 4WD for snow, beach and unmaintained dirt roads. Has never left me stranded and handles like a champ with 145,000 miles. Very dependable- everything still works- windows, remote keyless entry, a/c, etc. Had the valves and oxygen sensors replaced but otherwise just routine maintenance. Highly recommended! About to replace it with a new 4-runner (with trepidation!)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this vehicle,
August 21, 2008
By Roro
from Lacey NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle for my business,it was 8 years old and looked pretty good. It took a few times to realy get used to it I usually only drive semi luxury cars, I wasn't used to siting so high.
This is a work horse, I drove it on long trips to pick up stock and we really filled it to the limit and it never failed me except for the time I didn't drive it for a long time and the battery died. I inherited some money and I am going to sell this, I am said but I now need an open bed, but I am going to buy a Toyota for the quality and reliability of their cars and trucks.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Never Stops Rolling,
May 20, 2008
By Jackal
from Washougal, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Great looking truck that outperforms most off-road. Only thing i do not like about this vehicle is the gas mileage and engine power. Then again, maybe it's because my 4runner has 194000 miles on it..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
still running,
May 1, 2008
By dowel
from San Diego
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 4Runner over two years ago and have never had any problems with it, other than I paid way more than I should have. Everything still works like new (AC/windows/locks). I do have a pretty squeaky belt or something under the hood but i can't hear it from the inside and it doesn't effect the performance so I ignore it for now. Mine only has 97k though, I don't now that it will last for 200k plus like everyone claims. Also, it is amazing off road, I have literally climbed mountains with this thing."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1995 4Runner 4WD Auto,
April 28, 2008
By Steady Eddy
from Jacksonville, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bout this vehicle with 117K miles from original owner. It now has 177k miles with no problems. Paint is still shiny and starts instantly. 4 Wheel drive works flawlessly thoug I rarely use it. Tranny is smooth and quiet. Replaced rear springs to level vehicle. Love the truck style tail gate with power window which allows hauling with the gate down. 4WD sits high. Gas mileage is OK which is expected for a 3.0 truck. Sunroof works great. Cabin space is a little tight for 6 footer but not uncomfortable. Overall love this truck and expect to see 300K miles :-)."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great lil beater!,
February 11, 2008
By Ryan went japanese
from Minneapolis,MN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I just got the truck not too long ago! I bought it with 267,000 on the clock! Runs awesome! I love the 4 lo in it you could crawl up a wall! And the gas isn't great but its better then my other car!! I am amazed ant how well it runs with over a quarter million miles!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4runners are Incredible,
January 29, 2008
By Infiltrator
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This by far is the best truck I have ever driven. Sure, its not the fastest, and definately doesnt have a any acceleration, this truck was one of the last runners made with a true metal shell. It's a real truck. I have seen these trucks go well over 200,000 miles, and have never been stranded. I am on my way to hitting 200k and would still take my truck anywhere. Heater and A/C are amazing. Extremely reliable. Only problem with these trucks is the head gaskets. Other than that, nothing but good comes from a truck like this."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car Ever Owned,
January 25, 2008
By Radar
from Walnut Creek, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I purchased this vehicle with 83,000 mi, it now has 201,000 on it. I have never been happier with any auto. It has never let me down, and would not hesitate taking it anywhere.
I have owned this car for 10 years!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
solid suv,
December 24, 2007
By kayaking fool
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Have owned 3 4runners, loved them all. Only downside is the fuel economy and a spot underpowered.
Upside is with regular standard maintenance these vehicles will run forever, 300k on original motor is not unrealistic. Avoid the 4cyl models, and the automatic transmissions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1992 4runner,
November 19, 2007
By toksha
from Maine
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"the 1992 4runner 4x4 is a winner of a vehicle when you get the 4 dr package.Mine has the 6 cyl engine and the 5 speed, it is very fast and handles great, awesome in the snow! very useful for me with two large dogs, and working in construction! handles everything i have ever thrown at it, and is reasonable to upkeep! rare maintenance or breakdowns, over 200K on mine and no oil burning, tough little rig!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
i love this truck,
September 25, 2007
By sexy
from red bluff ca
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"you have to love this truck it is stylish quite gets great gas milage and has power it dont get better"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality off-roader,
August 14, 2007
By Runner
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought it used with 270,000 miles. The V6 gets bad gas mileage and is really slow but this is still a great vehicle. Excellent off-roader stock or upgraded. Reasonably comfortable and will look good for years to come. Although mine leaks fluids, I am impressed how it always runs perfect. I'm never affraid I will get stuck or stranded but my 4Runner!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Decent truck,
July 8, 2007
By Coloradoducker
from Colorado
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I have had this truck for seven years, and I have beat it up. It keeps ticking at 199,970 miles. Original engine threw a rod at 110,000 miles, replaced with a rebuilt and glad I did. Original trans, t-belt, water pump. Just put 31x1050 BFG AT tires on, should have gone smaller. Loss of power and fuel mileage. Went from 15-17 mpg with 225/75 tires to around 12-14. But the tires look sweet."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Very reliable,
April 1, 2012
By strife
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:230000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very reliable, able to move on any terrain.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:repairs can be fairly expensive.
ReviewOriginationID:6860ae50bd94489b8934723de24be96b
"Ive had this car for 5 years and after 230000 miles, the trany went out even though the car wouldnt move in normal drive, the car moved on 4x4 low. what amazes me, is that even though the transfer case on high went out, i was still able to move the car on low to a safe place away from the road. highly recommendable for a person who is looking for reliability and not a big fan of having constant problems with the car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1995
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1995 4Runner,
February 18, 2011
By Wreckingball
from San Diego, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My wife bought her 4runner from a dealer after the lease on it had expired from a previous owner. It only had ~21,000 miles on it then. That was nearly 16 years ago and the truck now has a few more miles to go before clicking the odometer over to 200,000. I've had to do general maintenance + valve gaskets, oil pan gasket, some vaccume lines, EGR and PVC valve in the last few years. Most of the miles are from daily commuting in San Diego, CA. I've installed an electric fan to get rid of the clutch fan and the gas milage improved as well as the throttle responce. It's been a great vehicle, and my wife is still very happy with it. Yes, she wants a new car because she's had this one so long, but she isn't feeling pressured to buy anything "now", because she knows her 4runner is still very reliable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable, Safe, Best I've owned,
December 23, 2013
By Coach
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:Low maintenance. Great in bad conditions. Reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not fantastic mpg. Not high speed (80+)
ReviewOriginationID:357da78a2ec147b08094076a16038c61
Make:Toyota
Model:4Runner
Vehicle ID:8461
"Great vehicle. Have had very few problems (actually only issues have been very minor and were previous owner inflicted). Low maintenance. Does GREAT in inclement weather. Toyota made a winner with this. If you are looking for a high speed, sporty, flashy car, keep looking. If you want a very dependable, long lasting, off road, reliable rig, this is it. Best vehicle I've owned."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1995
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 1990 - 1995 Toyota 4Runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome Truck,
March 15, 2012
By Matt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:195000
ReviewOriginationID:a0e968b9-b6a8-4686-b9aa-6751618c9cad
"It's a great truck, never had any problems with it, beside the typical headgasket blowing coming over the pass. But it drove all the way home and out to the shop to get fixed even. Also looking at doing the very easy 3.4L swap into it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1994
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.