Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai

Average Customer Rating:
8.333 out of 10
8.3
 out of 
10
27 of 27(100%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Review 1 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Suzuki Samauri (ZUK) Most Fun to Drive,
November 3, 2013
By Energizeranimal
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, fun, fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not very safe
ReviewOriginationID:4a26f8f5b6de401394f841813c63aa2d
Make:Suzuki
Model:Samurai
Vehicle ID:11226
"Kelly Blue Book says I could get from $750.00 for a trade in to $1600.00 selling it my self. I paid $2400.00 and have been offered $5000.00 for it. I think Kelly is out of touch with the actual value of this car. I passed up the $5000.00 I was offered. I just drove it to and from Joshua Tree National Park where I had a great time driving it on two of their off road trails. It went everywhere we ask it to go and without any issues of any kind. I have also driven it to Portland, OR and to and from Los Anegeles CA several times. It can fit in any parking space. My only parking issue is sometimes I can't find it hidden between other cars and others think the space is vacant until they start to pull in behind it. It is perfect for southern California summers when we remove the top and doors. It is just a bit safer than riding a motorcycle and just as much fun. I can say that because I also have a Harley. Kelly has really missed the mark on this vehicle. Boooo! Mine is actually an '88 but Kelly doesn't go back that far."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1993
Review 2 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Cool car,
February 5, 2012
By Fre
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:600000
ReviewOriginationID:2b4c4b95-23eb-417d-86bd-4d032e33d8c6
"Great car"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1992
Review 3 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Met All My expectations for a use DD/offroader,
October 8, 2011
By vanwazltoff
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:100000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, simple
What's not so great about this vehicle?:ride comfort, electrical system, slow
ReviewOriginationID:11499112-ec2c-4e2c-acee-ae1e9245615e
"Unfortunately i was plagued with FORD as my first vehicle, it cost me $50 a mile to run because everything just broke or failed in the short time i had it. i sold it and a year later i bought an '86 samurai for my b-day. it met all my expectations for a vehicle that i am going to have to live with for the next few years. everything that was wrong with it was neglect of previous owners. its not fast and definitely has some issues keeping speed on the freeway, but i was aware of these problems before i bought it. it had been unregistered for over 10 years and was someones weekend 4x4 so not everything was in tip top shape
the electrical system was in bad shape and only the break lights and headlights worked when i got it so i immediately started rewiring the rear end and that fixed all the problems with lights. lesser gauge wires and oxidation that plague older electrical systems and i am still trying to fix the blinkers.
really good on gas, i only use 2-3 gallons a week but i dont have to travel to far.
i have not been off roading in it yet but i will try it out as soon as i have a buddy to go with. it has 31" tires on it. rust cancer spots are common around the windsheild
so far it has been a good little 4-wheeler and i am happy with my decision to get it, but very unhappy with previous owners that didnt take good enough care of it. its the least feminine samurai i have ever seen because its flat black with a giant target on the hood. there is a definite fan club for samurais, i know a guy that has 14 and another that has 5, and i get compliments about it all the time."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1991
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
more value now that when buy,
April 16, 2011
By puertp rico
from san juan pr
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Execelent buy in 1992. No problem at present . Best buy that jeep an oher"
Review 5 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good Truck,
March 24, 2011
By Azsamurai
from Camp Verde,AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Ive Always been into sports car , Still have the 86 Porsche 944 Turbo i got for my 16th bday (26 now) sold the 99 prelude that i turboed i bought when i was 18 but still the srt-4 i bought at 21 that has 375 hp with little trouble. I got the suzuki because my mother had a sidekick forever and it was a great car. I"ve always liked the boxy shape of the samurai,ive owned GSXRs and know suzuki makes great machines so when i got into 4 wheelin i knew what i needed.I bought a 88.5 hardtop samurai off a friend with 165k Jan 1st.2011 for 1250 he wanted 2k. it smoked really bad so there was no way he was gettin 2k from me. Sure enough 1.5 months later in devoloped a rod knock. I needed a block which i found one with 50k on its rebuild , however he had a carb on that was runnin rich and i mean rich , and it ruined the rings but thats all it needed it 2 smoked. I took it to a machine shop , had the blocked honed and new flat top pistons installed. I paid 75 for the block and the work cost 150$. I droped the head off at the same time and paid 240$ to have it re-built. New valve guides/seals , new valves , springs , retainers , everything and for the price it came with all Head related gaskets. I bought all new gaskets and quality head studs and put it back together.The og Engine was so loud but the Rebuilt Engine is so quiet. I also put a new water pump, timing belt, and radiator hoses in it.New plugs , wires , cap rotor , fan belt , Aluminum Radiator,Brand new clutch and new brakes all around. With me doing the work to get it running good again and i mean good cost me 500, but its worry free now. I bought all the hardware i needed and a SS CV harley carb and swaped out the stock one, cone filter cold air intake system, Pacesetter header, straightback 2inch exhaust to a flowmaster muffler, and with the flattop pistons it makes around 90hp@ the crank now. Its light and has a lot of low end , so for it is , its quick.I rhino lined the interior black it looks good, carpet floor mats,Black 97 front seats out of a Sidekick,stock black samurai seat out of a 89 my og"s were all torn.It had no Tach stock so it has autometer tach now set to 6k. Had no clock or cupholders stock it does now. I sanded it down including the engine bay n door jams,rocked it primer gray for a while but now ive it painted professionally Porsche Red,new the fender guards are black,carbon fiber =). 15 inch Ultra rims that are powder coated black,ZuksZOR custom off-road bumbers front and back with guards off the lights and front grills that are black,Skid plate on front ,winch setup , chroms transfer case guards, all badges are white with stock white SUZUKI STICKER on back , BIG-0 oversize tires warranty 4 life, stock powder coated white rim on back with the same big-o oversized tire. added a extra after-market leaf spring all around for a 2 inch lift on it, Koni struts all around. The suspension is great stock just i just did a few look goods and smoothed it.Lights are LED in the back and LED in the front Headlights are 8k HID headlights. Shes all finished now , topped it off with a tom-tom gps and a Pioneer 52X4 watt deck , 5 1/4 sony 3 way X-PLODS up front and sony 6x9 3 way X-PLODS in the rear with a Rockford fosgate 100x4 amp.
If you know ARIZONA is all types of Terrain. Sand , Dirt , Mud , water , creeks Hill mountains all kinds of stuff. Next to my spare i have a 10 gallon gas can mount so i will take this thing 100 miles out into the desert hunting and never get stock. My friends have wranglers and they get stuck before this does. I have winched them out before. Its not easy to roll , i slide her around dirt corners. It is so well put together its a real joy. Never breaks down , very reliable , i do all services on time myself. Ive taken mine from ARIZONA back home to NOR-CAL napa valley, ive took it from ARIZONA to oregeon ,as far as washington state and back no problems. Mine hits 86 mph before it tops out and i only do on straights , its fast enough to travel in but not fast enough to really get in trouble. I usually keep it at 65-70 . im 6"2 and have plenty of stretching room inside. It fits 2 full sized Adults with Luggage comfortably. Off-road there hard to beat , on road extremely reliable , for a 1.3 it it will suprise you with its speed, with the performance carb set-up i have i average 30mpg. on the highway at low rpm in 5th at 65mph cruiseing i get between 33-35 , 35 is the best ive got though. stock carbs get 25 mixed and 30 highway. I love mine though , it comes in handy in arizona, i wouldnt sell mine because i did everything by myself so its worth a lot to me. It has 12k now since rebuild and still rock solid. Mine is rare and has everything someone could possibly want including upright gunrack for hunting, but i wouldnt let her go for less than 4500 i think , thats about whats in it and theres no suv or truck that can do something this cant. I just picked a 16v ohc 1.6 liter EFI sidekick engine with the ECU,wiring harness, and conversion kit so i can use my samurai engine, paid 650 for everything which is a screamin deal since i could sell it all for 1200 the conversion kit alone is worth 350. They have 110hp and smoother engine since its fuel injected. its out of a 97 with 95k on it. Same as the tracker engines , my friends gran mother totaled hers so i bought. Wish me luck with engine. ill atleast replace all gaskets while its out. if i install it my samurai engine will come up for sale,wish me luck. If you come acorss a Samurai BUY IT. Not to many left and hardtops like mine are extremely rare so dont think twice =p"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gotta love it,
February 2, 2011
By Neumann
from Marshfield, WI
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Im 16 had mine for 6 years used to drive it in the fields. has over 190000 on it..odometer stopped working and it runs 8,000 rpms out of it strong yet..love it and go mudding with it all the time"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Can't help but to love em'!,
December 25, 2009
By xMRxSGTx
from Benton, Tn
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"They are cheap, fun, and just a joy to own. Don't expect to get where your going in a hurry, but then again the 1.3L will suprise you in its low end grunt. I have owned several and if i sell it, i always seem to manage to get another one in a few short months! These things are a blast!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 8 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
King of Jeeps,
May 31, 2009
By the G-man
from mobile,AL
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"i absolutely love this truck it has been an amazingly fun vehicle, contradictory to what everyone thinks its almost impossible to flip it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 9 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
yeah... its a suzuki,
January 21, 2009
By um...
from hattiesburg, ms
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
"this car is absolutely amazing foroff road situations... its a good toy... its not good with keepin up with traffic... mine has a 66 hp 4 cyl... not exactly the speen demon nor do i expect it to be. i absolutely love it other that its really coled in the winter and hot in summer... i just need a new ac and heater.the convertable is fantastic though when its not rainin... rough as a cob on the road and highway.. i drove it from hattiesburg ms to gulf shores which is about 100 miles or so it went ok... great mileage i get about 30 and i drive it like crazy... so my advise is to use it for a toy... i am gettin a new everyday truck and gonna use suze for the mud and stuff... get one:)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
lil beast,
January 12, 2009
By shazamurai
from north carolina
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"bought mine for 600 dollers put about 150 dollars in it for a battery and full tune up. it has around 200000 miles on it and will need a clutch soon but what do you expect. it runs exellent and starts no matter what. it is slow only 63 horsepower when it was new but it was never ment to be a sports car. and the offroad performance is exremly impressive havent gotten stuck yet. it isent very comfortable but it wasent ment to be, ive gotten around 25mpg mixed driving and all the parts that ive seen are very cheap and the vehical is so simple you can easily do it all the maintenence yourself. i think it looks cool to, a fun little truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Fabulous,
October 15, 2008
By pseank
from Bent Mountain, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Its a convertible! Its a go anywhere 4x4, It gets 30mpg! 125000 miles and runs like new and uses no oil - The only major repair was the computer - I had it rebuilt and it cost $250.00 instead of $1300.00 for a new one! - This vehicle is not for those looking for comfort, rides rough, cold in the winter- hot in the summer. I will say consumer reports got it wrong about the possibility of rollover - I have driven the 88 Samurai and the 92 I now own very aggressively and never came close to rolling . I am certain you would have to be sliding sideways first and then have the wheels catch to flip. In a nutshell its a great vehicle overall"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 12 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
UNSTOPABLE!,
July 29, 2008
By nerf12
from Benson,AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"no matter what the terrain, this things it on head first. mine's an '86, all stock and it runs perfect, just needs cabruator work. GREAT ON GAS!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 13 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
April 25, 2008
By Gmoney
from Coffeville, MS
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This is most definitely not a family vehicle. But is an amazing off road machine. This vehicles light body lets it sit on top of mud and cross hard terrain with ease. I own 3 myself and love them all."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great hunting vehicle,
April 18, 2008
By Hassett
from HARPERSVILLE, AL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"IVE ALWAYS LOVED THEM LITTLE SAMMYS. IF YOU LIKE TO RIDE IN THE WOODS ALOT THIS IS THE BEST TRUCK FOR THE BUCK THAT YOU CAN GET."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bullet Proof Vehicle,
January 26, 2008
By Ricky D
from Apple Valley, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"The Sammy may not have very much ooomph on the street but offroad it is almost unstoppable. It is also very reliable and will take a lot of abuse with no complaining. Seating is a lttle uncomfortable, but overall cabin room is fine even for a six foot tall frame. Truly a fun little vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Samurai's Rock!,
January 25, 2008
By dirtbikegirl500
from Scottsdale, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned one of my Samurai's for 19 years. The only thing I have ever had to fix on it was a bad Clutch cable. I drove it as an everyday driver for many years and now I use it as my off-road only vehicle. My Samurai is all Stock except for some six inch shackles and I put some very small Super Swamper Mudd terrain tires on it. This vehicle is the bomb. There is no place that it cannot go. It will climb anything from trees to the biggest gnarliest hills and then swim through water that is flowing over the hood. Even then my Samurai refuses to quit. When I first got it back in 1989 my Samurai got 45 mpg and that is no lie. Nowadays it does not get such good mileage due to the fact that the carborator could use a rebuild probably. nevertheless she always fires right up and goes like no tomorow everywhere imagineable. I love Samurais! I can sell you on them with just one ride. Oh and the old tale about they tip, All a bunch of bologna I drive like I stole it and I have never tipped."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Samurai,
November 16, 2007
By beh47
from Winnemucca, NV
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Tough little vehicle for off-road use. Lousy on the highway, just not enough umph to push it and keep up with traffic. With stock seats, not comfortable on long drives. Easy to install seats from other vehicles.
Lots of aftermarket parts available to modify and increase perfomance capabilities.
Fun to drive off-road, definitely not the "family" sedan."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best 4by ever,
November 15, 2007
By samurai man
from washington
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"PROS: love it great gas milage in town and highway great handleing perfect offroad 4by CONS:way underpowered rough rideing"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
good mud buggy,
August 27, 2007
By bacon
from metropollis,IL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"these little vehicles will go through anything i own 2 and they are easilly modified for off road"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 20 for 1987 - 1995 Suzuki Samurai
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great gas saver,
July 29, 2007
By lizzy
from Bedias,tx
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"fun small jeep,that really saves gas -also makes great mud park toy with right accessories.Very lightweight,and handles better[easier]than regular jeep."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.