Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1979 - 1993 Saab 900

Average Customer Rating:
9.088 out of 10
9.1
 out of 
10
56 of 57(98%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Review 21 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car,
August 18, 2008
By alden1122
from Plymouth, MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love my 1993 Saab Turbo Convertible, it's got 121000 miles on it, and its been a good first car. I've been amazed at how quick it is for a 4cyl, the turbo is great, it has so much power and once it kicks in, the car flies. The Saab has never left me stranded, and has been better to me than I have been to it. The only problems I've had with the car: cruise control failure, and I replaced the steering column after the airbag light came on. I hate the body of it though so I'm letting it go, but I would definitely consider purchasing a Saab in the future. One tip however, check your oil frequently because mine easily burns through 2 quarts in 3000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
my first,
July 16, 2008
By jr
from maine
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this car is great it is my first. i have a 1990 it is great on gas a plus. it takes me were ever i need safe. it has gone cross country and back"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
saab 900,
June 27, 2008
By kristoff
from Pittsburgh
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"other than the transmission, this car is near perfect. I've owned 3 in a row and the only weakness is the gearbox. every car is virtually on the way to a bad transmission. the engines and standard quality is way ahead of its time though.
very safe and reliable. You just have to upkeep them with a good mechanic."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 24 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My Baby!,
June 24, 2008
By ksavory
from Burtonsville, MD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 93 900s Sedan in 2003 as my first car... I was a really hoping for a new car like most young drivers but I soon fell in love with my classic baby. Now 15 years old and closing in on 200k she continues to run great! I had the thermosat stick and make the car think it was overheating a small repair after a quick tow, a new windshield (as others have mentioned), a few other minor issues with the O ring, battery and just some regular maintenance... and she still gets me from A to B and even held up on the long trips too! She has the best clutch Ive ever driven!
But do find yourself a Saab specialist most mechanics will turn you down due to the sideways engine block!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Grab One if You Can,
May 3, 2008
By Robert from OH
from Akron, Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I've owned a C900turbo since '89 - picking up an'86 off 3rd party lease. My '86 now has covered over 215,000mi and still runs remarkably strong - easily will run past the 300k mark.
Have just finished refurbishing a '94 C900t convertible - 170k on the clock and as quiet running as ever.
The C900 is solid as a rock - check the gauge of the body sheetmetal. Turbo 5spds are a blast to drive and, after nearly 20yrs of ownership, I have never tired of the design and engineering of these cars. Truly a classic.
Problem today is finding a worthy example. The latest off the line is now 15yrs old. Make certain it has been properly maintained or your asking for an expensive introduction the the marque. Also, depending on region, watch for rust/corrosion - primarily under lower A-arm mounts and the floor pans.
These can be very rewarding cars, especially if you enjoy turning a few wrenches now and again. If not, find a good independent mechanic in your area and enjoy."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
solid,
January 25, 2008
By Nick
from Maine
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the only car I have owned that has never left me stranded. No major repairs in 18 years on the road and very few non-maintainance repairs. Very comfortable on long trips and very good in foul weather with snow tires, easily out manuvering awd cars. Only issue making me consider giving it up is rusting floor pans, will not pass inspection because of it. If I do not fix the floor pans without hesitation I will buy another Saab 900"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Surprised me!,
January 24, 2008
By Coda
from Oakland CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"To be honesrt I was not really looking for a saab when I started my used car search on Craigslist. I was searching for a car in my neighborhood so I wouldnt have to drive too far to get it. Luckily a nice woman was selling her 91 Saab 900s since she was moving to Australia . I went & checked it out.
Looked like Basic transportation to me.... & for 950.00? I thought it might work out. Shortly after taking it to Saab replay for a major tune up I realized that this car performs better and is more fun to drive than my cranky Volkswagons or my old stodgy Volvo Wagon. All I can say is wow...
the Clutch is totally smooth & is incredibly well balanced. I am in love. I am looking at doing a full restoration on this car. which wont take much, just a new headliner new fuel injectors & a wax..... The bargain of all time....
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 28 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Still Running after all these years!,
January 14, 2008
By jk
from PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 1992 Saab 900 new in Jan 1992 and it's still on the road every day. I've logged almost 300,000 miles and only had to get a new clutch once.
I love this car. My husband wants me to trade it in but I just can't part with it....
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Miles of Smiles,
December 30, 2007
By HJR
from Salem, OR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Being the first car that I ever owned, I wasn't really sure what to expect from a Saab 900. But after taking a test drive in it, I knew it was special. These vehicles really do have it all. Practicallity, reliability, style, and a fun factor that's hard to match. Although it is a 1993 turbo convertible, it is amazingly spacious. I've sat in many convertibles where the back seat is best for a briefcase, not a person. But the saab has plenty of room for even large adults anda trunk that can carry all your gear. Although summer is only a few months long here, the vehicle was built and designed in Sweden, so it can handle the white stuff better than most vehicles. The only work that had to be done was a new clucth right after I bought it. Granted, the car is nearly 15 years old, but it neither looks nor acts that old. I plan on having this car for at least the next four years, and hope even longer. Overall, a great car, whether in hatchback, sedan, or convertible styling."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 30 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Born of Jets,
December 24, 2007
By The Saabster
from St. Louis, Mo.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my first Saab, a 1987 900S, in 1996 with 113k miles. I still have that car with over 300k on it, plus I have an 88 900 w/220k, a 90 900 SPG w/208k, and a 91 900 Turbo Convertible w/84k. What can I say? These are the best cars I've ever owned. They're a little bit quirky to work on, but once you get past that learning curve, what a sense of pride and appreciation you have.
These cars (Classic 900) are such a joy to drive and their unique styling is timeless. And it's not uncommon, when encountering other Classic 900 owners on the road, to exchange "waves" and a smile that says, "I know exactly how you feel my brother. Are we cool or what?"
I hope to take at least one of my cars beyond the 500k mark. I had the transmission rebuilt on my 87 (300k+) at around 150k but have never had to do anything to the engine exept the usual things; i.e. oil, filters, hoses, tune-up, belts, etc. I used to take my cars to the mechanic, but haven't had to for the last 3 yrs. since I've learned to work on Classic Saab 900s myself.
The only negative thing I would say is, that because of the unique "born of jets" engineering design of Classic 900 Saabs, some mechanics are at best reluctant to work on them or at worst, incompetent to do so. In any case, you will want to find a mechanic who specializes in Saabs."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
251K+,
December 10, 2007
By elizasaab
from CHarlottesville,VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my '91 900 in 2001 w/183K on it- for under $1750- though I did have to replace the transmission in 2004, it is a great car - I love my saab- It gets me where I'm going and it's got such a cool and unusual body style, I can always find it in the parking lot - though there are a lot all over the place..b/c they are a great investment - this is my second 900 - the first I had for four years, and when it was totaled in an accident, I got up and walked away - I knew I had to get another Saab - no question. Despite the protests of my brothers, who consider themselves "car experts" my Saab has made me happy, and keeps running, while they've been through at least two or three cars since I've had my one Saab! And I'm still getting 28MPG - which is a lot better than some of hte newer cars I've driven!! I would definitely recommend this to a friend - and am aiming for hte 500K mark - not just 300K - I love my saab (I do have to take it in annually, which usually runs me about $400- but it's definitely worth it - MUCH cheaper than a monthly payment on a tin can!)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
From Sweden, With Love,
December 7, 2007
By Johnva
from Charlottesville, VA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I owned 4 Saabs, all sedans, before this one and had always lusted after the 900 turbo convertible. I bought my '91 in '96 and it never fails to bring a smile to my face when I fire it up.
For its handling, comfort, quality and utility (how many convertibles actually let you take more than 2 full-sized passengers along?), it's hard to top the 900.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Will forever drive Saab's,
November 18, 2007
By Cyndi
from Wakefield, RI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love Saabs and this year and model is just as great as any other 900 I've ever driven. Every Saab I've had the pleasure to own have been the most dependable/reliable cars I've ever owned. I would recommend this car to my friends!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love My Saab,
October 12, 2007
By NWM
from Columbus Ohio
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my favorite car of all cars. I wish Saab would have kept this body style. LOVE IT"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
October 12, 2007
By jprim
from okc, ok
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Awesome vehicle, not much else needs to be said – I purchased my SAAB with 140k miles on it and it continues to run as if it was brand new. Styling is a little to get use to but I like the uniqueness- will drive until she stops running and that will be around 300k"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A Keeper,
October 12, 2007
By My2Cents
from Philadelphia, PA Area
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my first Saab Turbo 900 in 1984. It lasted me until 1999 and I got sold forever on the utility of it: (1) 5-speed + turbo=fun to drive, (2) carry 4 people w/luggage in comfort = practical, (3) fold down rear seat makes cargo space from back of front seat to the rear bumper; that let's me bring home appliances like freezer, washer-dryer combo, etc. or schlep a LOT of stuff from pt A to pt B = HANDY -- Bought the 92 turbo 900 in 1999. In 1st 18 months replaced transmission, clutch, and windshield but saw cost as a long-term investment. Now, 8 years later and car 15 years old, I'm resolved to keep it going as long as possible. Lots of pep and an idiosyncratic/distinctive style that you don't find in today's new cars - plus it's made of metal, not plastic and tin-foil. Soon going to have to fix some cosmetic rust spots but it's well worth it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great car,
September 29, 2007
By mayhembmx
from Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Saab is the best buy out there. I bought my car about a year ago. My dad and I went looking for cars. test drove over 10, and the Saab was the only one worth buying. I drove cars with half the miles then on this car and they were not nearly as good as this car. I love it, it's comfortable, it's unique and very reliable. My car 16 years old and all the power features still work, even the heated leather seats work. IT has over 100,000 miles and runs like it's brand new. The only problem i had with it, was the Thermostat which is a common failure in any car over 10 years old. i bought the part and put it in myself, and i haven't had any problems since. It is a great car and i love driving it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 38 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
September 19, 2007
By oldsnappy
from winslow maine
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I think of this car as my red road rocket. I wish that it was a little newer."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A Solid Classic,
July 31, 2007
By saabman
from Atlanta Ga.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I was a SAAB Technician for about 5 years, and this is the third SAAB I have owned. I have driven 100's SAAB 900's during my career, and they never cease to amaze me. In all my time as a SAAB Tech, I only saw 1 blown motor (as a result of being driven over 50 miles with no coolant) and mileage of well over 300,000 miles were common. The most common problems were transmission failures every 90,000 or so, pitted windshields, and worn out motor mounts. My current car is a 91 900 Turbo Convertible. All I can say is wow, this car never disappoints, 200,000 miles, and still runs smoothly, quietly, and powerfully, it still feels the same to drive as it did at 50,000 miles. It hasn't shown any indication of engine wear, or transmission trouble, and this car was abused and improperly maintained before I received it. The convertible top is wearing out, but held up for a very long time, unfortunately, a new top can cost as much as the car does. There were only about 50,000 units of the vert produced EVER!!! This car is destined to become a highly sought-after classic in the very near future, so now is the time to get one before they become too expensive and rare. just an amazing car all around and I plan to rebuild, repair, and restore this car, until the time comes to pass it on to my kids (I have no kids yet, so I plan on having her for a very long time:)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1979 - 1993 Saab 900
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
perfect,
July 19, 2007
By mongoose
from fresno, ca
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"awsom convertable lots of power nice sleeper. excelent safty features for the year."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.