Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix

Average Customer Rating:
7.947 out of 10
7.9
 out of 
10
156 of 171(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Review 81 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
92 GTP,
March 26, 2008
By Barbossa
from Pittsburgh, PA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car has been in the family from brand new until this month. It is being sold with some sadness. The car is loaded and beautiful. The last 8 years it has been strictly a fun and show car. It is a multiple winner at local car shows. It handles better than many of GM's modern autos of similar style. The GTP package actually meant something back then. The engine could have used about 30 more hp. It did shred one timeing belt and ate up a set of brake rotors, but a pretty solid car other than those issues."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
GREAT 2ND CAR,
March 8, 2008
By joe
from Bismarck, ND
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We have had this '94 SE for over 2 yrs, now have 110,000 miles on it. Very comfortable drive. Our check engine light comes on periodically, had it checked and were told everything is fine, but it still comes on at times. Handles great in ND winters - all we've done is put on new tires and replace one of the temp control knobs (which broke again). Thinking of getting a new car, but would hate to see this one go, it's just so comfortable to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
GOOD CAR,
March 1, 2008
By BIG G
from NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I BOUGHT MY GRAND PRIX 121000 STILL RUNNING STRONG"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 84 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST older car for the money,
February 25, 2008
By dorothy
from union missouri
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is the best Older Car for the Money. I sell cars and took this in as a wholesale piece for 500.00. 230000 miles still runs great. 30 mpg. new alternator but no other high costs. Its a KEEPER!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good Car,
February 13, 2008
By MashMan
from North Platte, NE
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought my 95 SE in 97 with 27k miles. Tons of problems for the first year, Luckily it was under warranty. Then didn't have to touch it until just the last couple of years, at 150K, outside the normal and a couple of alternators. Had to rebuild the tranny and since then not as good on the gas (low 20s down from around 30) but still reliable. Ride is very smooth. Use now for back and forth from work with no problems. Handles very good in Snowy conditions. Plan to keep until it dies."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
relieble,
February 11, 2008
By chris
from Kansas City mo.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"very good car for a to and from work car to conserve gas drives good and smooth for a car that is 14 years old."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
dependable,
January 19, 2008
By Jaim
from Cicero, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought the 95 G ride for $500, 2 years ago.. She has 203,800 miles on her and she still has a lot of get up and go. Take care of them and they'll take care of you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car,
January 17, 2008
By Tyler
from Columbia City, Indiana
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"My first car...have owned for two years. Purchased at 121k miles, now about 136k miles.
Car runs great! Looks sharp; lots of compliments from friends. The 3.1L engine is great, nice pickup (160hp/ 180+ ft/lbs torque). Fun car.
To be honest, I've been ruthless to this car...pretty much just beaten the heck out of it, and it still runs great.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best car,
January 7, 2008
By lilly
from owensboro,ky
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this car is old but very nice and drives very good for an older model car.i would never trade it off.i will have this car until the day (if comes)doesnot run."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 90 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great 2nd car,
January 4, 2008
By Pontiac Freak
from ohio
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Bought for $2K with 150,000 miles from original owner. The 3.1 engine has lots of power when needed, yet decent gas mileage. First owner took great care of it, body & interior look showroom new! Got this for an extra car, now I find myself using it as a daily driver! All the options still work(even the cd & a/c) Front seats starting to wear a little but still comfy, had to have the intake gasket replaced, and a few sensors along the way but hey it was used. Other than that it's still going strong at 180,000 and looks good too!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
January 4, 2008
By Anonymous
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my car two years ago with 118K on it. I've had no problems with it until recently when the head gasket busted, and the repair is going to cost half as mush as i paid for the car. All in all, This car has been awesome to me. I drove back and forth 100 miles to school for the last year every other day, and never once did this car let me down. Its decent on gas mileage; excellent steering; handles great in the winter, and has a load of power.
I would suggest that anyone buy a car like this.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Excellent Buy,
December 27, 2007
By Mama
from Idaho Falls, ID
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Purchased this car in 1998 with 48K Miles. Now has 171K miles and still going strong. Only let me down twice for a broken battery post & recently the fuel pump failed. Just now due for its' first gasket replacements. Ultra reliable car, a joy to drive and 30 mpg on the highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 93 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
You're taking a gamble...,
December 24, 2007
By FSU Stud
from Essexville, MI
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"1995 SE model. I bought it a little over 2 and a half years ago with 62000 on it. It already had a rebuilt tranny in it. The guy that rebuilt it did a poor job so I had to have it rebuilt again at 93000. It's now at 98000 and I have some problem with the seal btwn the radiator and the engine. Coolant was leaking into my engine block and now I am debating whether I want to fix this or not."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
'92 Grand Prix SE,
December 10, 2007
By alxstyles
from Bowling Green, KY
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Nice sporty look, comfortable to drive. Once you fix the problems, window motor, tranny, and brakes, the car is great. It's got the 3.1 MP engine that has some good pickup. Its beaten a couple of mustangs and camaro's since I've had it. Sounds good. Great first timer car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 95 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1995 Pontiac Grand Prix SE,
December 9, 2007
By Pitbull2o08
from youngstown, Ohio
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Great starter car for any teenager wanting a hot looking automobile with a little giddy up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 96 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great first car but helps to be a mechanic,
December 6, 2007
By Big K
from Central Illinois
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Where do I begin with this car. Bought it in 1999 with 72K on it, as my first. The previous owner must have really beat it up, so I inherited the problems. It ran well, with typical replacement of tires, batteries, and alternator, etc., until 105K miles. From then on...its had a rebuilt trans, rebuilt top-end of the engine/head gasket job, and about 25-35 other parts. I kept it in order to save money (college student) and learn how to fix cars. A major accomplishment is it did survive two winters in Buffalo NY. Also, its good on gas, has an attractive look, and has a strong enough motor to handle most traffic. The bad: left me stranded at least once or twice a year, terrible turning radius, poorly designed door handles(which are pretty important) for the size of the doors, and has been in constant need of repairs. I definitely have a love/hate relationship with this car...but that's how your first car should be."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
What A diffrence,
December 4, 2007
By Vicstarguard
from Plainfield, IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I just bought this car off my brother in law for 2K. Let me tell you, I now am indebted to him, for this is the best car I have ever driven, and I have driven many a car. For such a sporty look I still have plenty of room for myself (275lber) and can enjoy the ride comfortably. It has great pickup and rides smooth. So far it seems to get great miles to the gallon (bout 25mpg city)
And for only having 65K I'm looking forward to the next 200K.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 98 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sweet Car,
November 19, 2007
By Cheeto
from Rolla ,MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Its a good car if it is ur first car. but it is a good relibale car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 99 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great reliable car,
November 4, 2007
By Pontiacgirl
from Florida
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my GP for almost 9 years and with only 116K on it it will last forever, the only problem I ever had was to replace the AC, which in Florida is used almost year round, and basic routine maintanance, I wish it had a little more power, but I'm planning on buying an 07 real soon so that will be power enough!! Great dependable ride!! I will be sad to see it go."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 100 for 1988 - 1996 Pontiac Grand Prix
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
god as 3.4l,
October 28, 2007
By bigthymer
from colorado springs, co
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have my 93 se as a 3.4 bought it at 201,000 miles has 234,000 miles it had a bit of over power with the gas that peels the tires alot. ive been through 2 radiators and the last one took my head gasket. if a purchase is made watch the cooling system carefully other then that its great for a drag car or a show car. the exuast stock is nicer in sound than most least amount of mods needed. tops about around 145 mph."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.