Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.417 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,068 of 1,366(78%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car,
October 13, 2008
By kidstorm
from Tallahassee, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 2004 Grand Am. I have owned it for a little over 1 year and have had no problems with it. It has great power with excellent gas miliage. I average between 24-28 MPG. I drove it from Florida to Michigan last winter and it was a very comfortable ride. I am 6'3" and I have lots of leg room. I love it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Grand Am,
September 15, 2008
By m
from Utah
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"We've had this car for over 2 years. Its a great little family car. The only problems we've had are the turn signal not working (expecially in heat). And also the passenger side window won't always roll down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
its ok,
September 5, 2008
By Wags
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Its a generally reliable car. Have had a few minor problems with transmission shifting every now and then. Dash already replaced. Some problems with starting after running and turning off and restarting right away. Other than that its a great car, looks sporty and has a decent power. All this and only sporting 11,000k on the speedo!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good value if treated right,
August 28, 2008
By Al
from Columbus, OH
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I originally purchased my Grand AM GT new in 2000, and am about to replace it almost 9 years later. I have put about 100K on it, and overall am quite pleased with it. It has carried me on several long trip including Los Angeles, CA to Miami, FL. I never had any fear that it would leave me stranded. That being said, the car has to be treated kindly, and not abused. I tend to drive with a light foot, and regularly clean and perform routine maintenance on it.
It handles well (a bit front heavy which leads to some rolling in curves), and is fun to drive. It's comfortable and does well on long drives. I get up to 30 MPG on the highway.
There are some problems. One well knows issue if that the car is very front heavy, and this tends to lead to problems with the front brake rotors warping. I have replaced mine 3 times already since I really don't like it when the brakes pulsate. I had the passenger power window fail 3 years ago, and the water pump cracked 4 years ago. Otherwise no major issues.
I am actually quite impressed with the pain. 9 years, and still almost looks new when it gets a good wax.
Overall I'm very satisfied with the car and it has served me well for 9 years. I would not suggest it for someone that will not take care of the car or that plans on driving hard. Now I'm thinking of moving up to a Pontiac G8.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
A good car but watch out for electrical issues,
August 19, 2008
By Markie
from Parma Heights, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my Grand Am SE1 new in 2004 from a dealer in Cuyahoga Falls OH. It is a trustworthy car and pretty reliable. Over 66,000 now I am running into some electrical issues as well as it needing a new water pump. I always have felt that the car never cooled down sufficiently as the thermostat likes to jump around some but never into the RED zone. I love the styling but am a little leary of what the car will be like close to 100,000 miles. If you buy one with that many miles I would have it checked out throughly."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
She's been good to me,
August 17, 2008
By baggs
from fayetteville, nc
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This car has been good to me. Only one problems with the electrical system that was taken care of by the dealership and no problems since. Good performance, she gets up and goes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great car for college kid,
August 5, 2008
By jwil
from Cumberland, MD
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i had this car through most of my college career. looks sporty enough to not be a loser, but with fold down rear seating and generous trunk space, i was able to carry most of my dorm stuff in it. Gas mileage could be a little better, and you should watch out for head gaskets and intake gaskets."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 29, 2008
By mufasa
from Flag, AZ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"great car. gas mileage is good. drives excellent on the freeway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
?,
July 16, 2008
By me
from il
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"not bad GOOD ON GAS"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 5, 2008
By ge is me
from middletown,ohio
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"bought used with 30000 miles, now 4.5 years later with 205000 miles, tuned it up, put struts all around, complete brake job and giving to my daughter. the v6 been an excellent motor with very little overall maintenance, exterior held very good,intertior wear on driver seat getting in &out, rest of interior very good shape. for a compact car a very good GM vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
grand am good car,
July 3, 2008
By grand am
from 38965
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"it is a good car. seats could sit better but I complain about all new car seats. the exterior of the car could have been designed better like if it freezes the ice could keep your doors froze shut. look at a 1970's cars they can break 3 inches of ice without hardly any door flex, and what is it with the rubber door seals being visible from the outside of the car. exterior quality is not the best. The motor and gas mileage is very good for a v6 i get 30mpg easily 34mpg on the interstate."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Nice Car, Cheap Parts,
June 26, 2008
By chicagoan2
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchased my Grand Am GT in 2006 used with 16k miles on it. The car has run great for the most part.
It needed a complete brake job at 33,000 miles. I cant vouch for the previous owner's braking habits but all new brakes at 33k was not expected.
The car tends to run hot, especially sitting in any kind of traffic. I watch the temp gauge creep up but it stops before getting dangeriously hot. This is mildly alarming as it would indicate the cooling system may not be working all that well.
Other than these issues, which I cannot put blame on GM as of yet, the car has run well.
Its got plenty of performance to get around town in style and also is not horrible on gas (about 21mpg in the city and 26mpg on the highway).
The inside of the car is minimalistic to say the least but what else can you expect from GM and their cheap plastic interiors.
Not a bad car thus far. We shall see what the future holds."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
June 16, 2008
By SaraPo
from Upper Michiagn
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Ive had my grand am for two years. i bought it with about 94 thousand on it and it still runs like a champ. ive only had minor problems with it, (springs breaking, wheel bearings, and such) its been a great car. I have a black one with tinted windows and it makes it look 100% better. its the type of car that little details really bring it up a notch. Handles pretty good in heavy snow and ice. if you take decent care of it it will probably last longer than you want it to."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Fantastic Car!,
June 15, 2008
By Liddy
from Howell, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had my Grand Am for two years now. It is my first car I have ever bought for myself and couldn't be happier. I have the 4 cyl, so it's not made for speed. I needed something reliable with easy maintenance while I went through the last couple years of school. It has been perfect and I have had quite a few comments on the car in general. The color by far gets most people. I have the Greystone, the same exact one as the pic in here. If you need a reliable car,easy upkeep, decently sporty and arent too concerned about speed, this car is a wonderful choice. Take care of your car and it will take care of you."
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I would buy this car again!,
May 28, 2008
By Still driving stylish in Ohio.
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I drove this car off the lot in May '99. It was my second Grand Am, though I did not buy them in a row. This time around I upgraded from a 4 to a 2 door and a 4 cylinder to a V6. I love the extra power and the difference in the mileage was not that significant. I also went with the larger tires/wheels, the wider stance really added to its sporty profile. This car may be technically going on 10 years old, but it still looks good. This model has kept a very stylish and up to date look. People of all ages regularly tell me that I have a nice car. I still enjoy driving it after all these years. Believe it or not it has under 31000 miles and spent the first 3 years in the elements. However, I couldn't give it 5 stars across the board because it did have some problems. While still under warranty I had to have the steering repaired. At about 4 years old the lower intake gasket was leaking coolant, labor was over $500. At 7 there were some electrical system problems, another labor killer. I will probably be driving this car for quite a few more years. I hope it holds up to the higher mileage that other owners are reporting. So, barring any body damage, I will still be proud to be behind the wheel of my 1999 Pontiac Grand Am."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Car... No Regrets,
May 20, 2008
By Monique
from Hawkinsville, GA
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 02 Grand Am in 2004. I've had it for four years and I can;t complain. I've only had ONE breakdown in four years and this was my fault. Ran out of gas (LOL) cause it was too cold to pump. Fuel pump went out and had to replace it. My only complaint is that the blinker sometimes ticks after I make a turn. BUT after four years who can complain? Overall, this is a great car. I am currently at 150,000 miles. (Bought it at 60,000). And, it still rides great."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
decent car for the money,
May 16, 2008
By s
from Des Moines .Ia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have owned this car for six years now i drive it very little but has been reliable over the years. My only complait is that there are some things that seem cheap and low quality. Two weeks after owning the car my front door panels have had the vinyl start peeling up and the dealer told me it was not there problem it was just out of factory warranty when i bought it with 30,000 miles. I have had the lower intake gaskets replaced two times and it seems like a common problem with this car. It has great performance and drives well for a four door family car. The gas millege leaves a little to be desired it gets about 17 mpg in the city and 21 Highway. It also has a terrible heater in the cold Iowa winters. The dealer said they could find no problems with the heater and it's fine. I would disagree. If it's below 30 I do not drive it . It has 61,000 miles now and still is hanging in there for being a 1999. Ok car if on a budget but will get a honda or toyota next time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
cool car,
May 7, 2008
By Peewee
from Buffalo, wyoming
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love this car i have this one except its in white its pretty sweet"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car for the Money,
May 3, 2008
By WI
from Madison, WI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"2000 Grand Am SE Sedan
Purchased with 121,000 miles
Currently has 150,000 miles
Pros: Excellent acceleration, ribbed siding has prevented other car doors from denting sides, comfortable, no major repairs, 32 mpg highway, 25 mpg city
Cons: Wider wheels make driving in snow a bit of a pain, ABS cord was broken in snow and randomly turned off ABS and the trac System
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Its been good to me,
April 28, 2008
By jk
from Bellevue, Washington
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have not had one problem with this vehicle. It does have too small of a gas tank though. Only 10 gallons."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.