Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.425 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,086 of 1,386(78%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good first car,
December 30, 2008
By BJSPTA
from NH
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought a used 2000 Pontiac Grand Am as my very first car. It rode so smooth and I loved the way it handled. It sometimes wouldn't start but this problem was rather quirky and couldn't be reproduced by my mechanic, so it went undiagnosed. I was forced to give it up when a tree fell on it during an ice storm, and I was very sorry to see it go. I could have gotten another two years out of it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Pontiac Grand Am,
December 10, 2008
By daytons momma
from Jackson, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This car is wonderful. I love it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
my car,
November 28, 2008
By nikki
from Baytown, tx
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had only minor problems with this car....I really enjoy the room and comfort of this car!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good car,
November 23, 2008
By Ty
from pennsylvania
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"ive owned my 99 grand am se for about 2 yrs now.. it has 134,000 miles .i must say i do enjoy it alot the v-6 is pretty powerful. it has been reliable only thing ive done to it was replaced the intake gaskets..GM said its a common problem with that..its quite expensive to have done..i did mine myself and saved alot of money but it took awhile..other than that i get 25mpg in the mountians of pa. and a good set of winter tires it goes like a tank pretty much. the seats arent ment for long trips..there quite stiff and uncomfortable..other than that its great. no other problems as of now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good Car,
October 24, 2008
By JK
from Bellevue, Washington
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I've had this 2004 Grand Am for 3 years. I have had absolutely no problems. It has been very dependable and I tricked it out a little, with clear tail lights and nice rims and have gotten many compliments on it.
No issues at all. I change the oil every 3,000 miles, maybe thats the deal.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
She's been good for me...,
October 18, 2008
By I.D.
from Ligonier, PA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Well of all the people who have reviewed the Grand Am GT, I've probably owned mine the longest. I have had my '99 Coupe for nearly eight years. The typical things have gone wrong with it like the lower intake manifold gasket, water pump, and the front hub assemblies. However, I've had to do no major repairs. Just routine maintenance and keeping up with it is key. No one can deny this is a great looking car. Pontiac got the styling right. Also, for how heavy the car is, there is a good bit of power to it. I've done a good bit of performance modifications to it, and she's beaten some Mustang GT's in her day. 0-60 times are in the 6.5 range still with 123,000 miles. Speed usually means lower MPG, but I get 23-24 consistently. I've gotten as high as 30 on the highway on long trips. The suspension is stiff and it handles well. I've had no problems with the paint and I've just now noticed some surface rust on the underbody. I've obsessively taken care of this car, which is why I believe it still runs and looks as good as it does. That can be said for any car, but I've had fun with this GAGT. I'll be trading it in within the next year for a truck, but I would recommend this car for anyone looking for style and pretty decent performance and reliability."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car,
October 13, 2008
By kidstorm
from Tallahassee, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 2004 Grand Am. I have owned it for a little over 1 year and have had no problems with it. It has great power with excellent gas miliage. I average between 24-28 MPG. I drove it from Florida to Michigan last winter and it was a very comfortable ride. I am 6'3" and I have lots of leg room. I love it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Grand Am,
September 15, 2008
By m
from Utah
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"We've had this car for over 2 years. Its a great little family car. The only problems we've had are the turn signal not working (expecially in heat). And also the passenger side window won't always roll down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
its ok,
September 5, 2008
By Wags
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Its a generally reliable car. Have had a few minor problems with transmission shifting every now and then. Dash already replaced. Some problems with starting after running and turning off and restarting right away. Other than that its a great car, looks sporty and has a decent power. All this and only sporting 11,000k on the speedo!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good value if treated right,
August 28, 2008
By Al
from Columbus, OH
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I originally purchased my Grand AM GT new in 2000, and am about to replace it almost 9 years later. I have put about 100K on it, and overall am quite pleased with it. It has carried me on several long trip including Los Angeles, CA to Miami, FL. I never had any fear that it would leave me stranded. That being said, the car has to be treated kindly, and not abused. I tend to drive with a light foot, and regularly clean and perform routine maintenance on it.
It handles well (a bit front heavy which leads to some rolling in curves), and is fun to drive. It's comfortable and does well on long drives. I get up to 30 MPG on the highway.
There are some problems. One well knows issue if that the car is very front heavy, and this tends to lead to problems with the front brake rotors warping. I have replaced mine 3 times already since I really don't like it when the brakes pulsate. I had the passenger power window fail 3 years ago, and the water pump cracked 4 years ago. Otherwise no major issues.
I am actually quite impressed with the pain. 9 years, and still almost looks new when it gets a good wax.
Overall I'm very satisfied with the car and it has served me well for 9 years. I would not suggest it for someone that will not take care of the car or that plans on driving hard. Now I'm thinking of moving up to a Pontiac G8.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
A good car but watch out for electrical issues,
August 19, 2008
By Markie
from Parma Heights, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my Grand Am SE1 new in 2004 from a dealer in Cuyahoga Falls OH. It is a trustworthy car and pretty reliable. Over 66,000 now I am running into some electrical issues as well as it needing a new water pump. I always have felt that the car never cooled down sufficiently as the thermostat likes to jump around some but never into the RED zone. I love the styling but am a little leary of what the car will be like close to 100,000 miles. If you buy one with that many miles I would have it checked out throughly."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
She's been good to me,
August 17, 2008
By baggs
from fayetteville, nc
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This car has been good to me. Only one problems with the electrical system that was taken care of by the dealership and no problems since. Good performance, she gets up and goes."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
great car for college kid,
August 5, 2008
By jwil
from Cumberland, MD
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i had this car through most of my college career. looks sporty enough to not be a loser, but with fold down rear seating and generous trunk space, i was able to carry most of my dorm stuff in it. Gas mileage could be a little better, and you should watch out for head gaskets and intake gaskets."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 29, 2008
By mufasa
from Flag, AZ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"great car. gas mileage is good. drives excellent on the freeway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
?,
July 16, 2008
By me
from il
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"not bad GOOD ON GAS"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
July 5, 2008
By ge is me
from middletown,ohio
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"bought used with 30000 miles, now 4.5 years later with 205000 miles, tuned it up, put struts all around, complete brake job and giving to my daughter. the v6 been an excellent motor with very little overall maintenance, exterior held very good,intertior wear on driver seat getting in &out, rest of interior very good shape. for a compact car a very good GM vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
grand am good car,
July 3, 2008
By grand am
from 38965
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"it is a good car. seats could sit better but I complain about all new car seats. the exterior of the car could have been designed better like if it freezes the ice could keep your doors froze shut. look at a 1970's cars they can break 3 inches of ice without hardly any door flex, and what is it with the rubber door seals being visible from the outside of the car. exterior quality is not the best. The motor and gas mileage is very good for a v6 i get 30mpg easily 34mpg on the interstate."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Nice Car, Cheap Parts,
June 26, 2008
By chicagoan2
from Chicago, IL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I purchased my Grand Am GT in 2006 used with 16k miles on it. The car has run great for the most part.
It needed a complete brake job at 33,000 miles. I cant vouch for the previous owner's braking habits but all new brakes at 33k was not expected.
The car tends to run hot, especially sitting in any kind of traffic. I watch the temp gauge creep up but it stops before getting dangeriously hot. This is mildly alarming as it would indicate the cooling system may not be working all that well.
Other than these issues, which I cannot put blame on GM as of yet, the car has run well.
Its got plenty of performance to get around town in style and also is not horrible on gas (about 21mpg in the city and 26mpg on the highway).
The inside of the car is minimalistic to say the least but what else can you expect from GM and their cheap plastic interiors.
Not a bad car thus far. We shall see what the future holds."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
June 16, 2008
By SaraPo
from Upper Michiagn
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Ive had my grand am for two years. i bought it with about 94 thousand on it and it still runs like a champ. ive only had minor problems with it, (springs breaking, wheel bearings, and such) its been a great car. I have a black one with tinted windows and it makes it look 100% better. its the type of car that little details really bring it up a notch. Handles pretty good in heavy snow and ice. if you take decent care of it it will probably last longer than you want it to."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Fantastic Car!,
June 15, 2008
By Liddy
from Howell, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had my Grand Am for two years now. It is my first car I have ever bought for myself and couldn't be happier. I have the 4 cyl, so it's not made for speed. I needed something reliable with easy maintenance while I went through the last couple years of school. It has been perfect and I have had quite a few comments on the car in general. The color by far gets most people. I have the Greystone, the same exact one as the pic in here. If you need a reliable car,easy upkeep, decently sporty and arent too concerned about speed, this car is a wonderful choice. Take care of your car and it will take care of you."