Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.429 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,093 of 1,393(78%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car for the price,
March 29, 2010
By tech guy
from Aurora, CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The SE has a smaller engine (4 cyl) than the more popular GT (6 cyl). This usually is a big negative given the size of the car. But that's definitely not the case with this car. The SE puts out surprisingly robust power with the twin-cam engine. More than enough to face challenging freeway on-ramps. The great gas mileage is a real plus on the wallet too.
The molded interior is nicely designed all the way down to the armrest, which is comfortable for long drives.
The car rides smoothly, but the road noise come through louder than most. Turn up the stereo volume and its no longer noticeable.
Had one major problem (power steering) in the 8 years I've owned it. Overall a great car to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Value,
March 25, 2010
By Wiest
from Wisconsin
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am GT about two years ago. It had 70,000 when i bought it. I have had no problems with the car so far. Ive had to replace the brake pads and tires but that was expected. The car is surprisingly fast when needed. Acceleration is impressive for a sedan. I think for what i payed for the car it was a steal for the amount of style and reliability it has given me. I live in Wisconsin and this car has never had problems starting on those -20 degree mornings. It also handles VERY well in the snow."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I ever had.,
March 22, 2010
By Zak M.
from Midland,Pa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car handles like a sports car,It has a lot of power.when you hit the gas it go's.The only thing I did to mine was put a K&n Highflow air filter on it. I Love this car !"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
200,000+,
March 12, 2010
By Greg
from Lansing, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am in 8/2004 and it had 13,000 miles on it. I have driven it for almost 6 years and have nothing but good things to say. Right now it is at 200,000 miles and still going strong. Other than routine maintenance (tires, brakes, etc) the fuel pump is the only replacement I have had to make. Love this car, hope it lasts another 100K"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car,
March 11, 2010
By Sandy
from Colorado Springs
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"It's paint stays new looking for years; love the solid sound when the door closes. Good gas mileage 22-25mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
March 6, 2010
By Case
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Based on other reviews and my own review this car is hit or miss. I have had the car for 4 years, 40,000 miles. Ran great for about a year, then problems came up around 85,000 miles. First my power steering went out on it and cost about $500 to put in a new pump. Then, it blew a gasket and cost about $700 to fix. The coolant system seems to make problems for this car so if you're looking to buy I would do a coolant flush on it if it runs hot. I believe the radiator may be leaking because it goes through fluid very quickly. The power steering has gone out again recently and cost another $400 to fix. Seems like an okay car for the first 80k, but after that the coolant system seems to break down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very dependable,
March 4, 2010
By mccain
from dc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i am an owner and would recommend this car to anyone. It is very reasonably priced with no issues to date. Good on gas and on highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
It WAS a good car :(,
March 3, 2010
By Kara
from Fort Wayne, IN
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my 01 grand am that I bought in 06 we had it about 2 yrs then we had to replace the motor on the window because it went out, short time later had to replace the water pump, 3 to 4 months later we had to replace the alternator, then we had to move from FL to IN and in KY coolant leaked into the engine causing it to over heat and so we were told to replace the engine, we didn't because of the price compared to the value of the car. There were many other small things that went wrong too but this car was NOT a good buy for us."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
One repair after another,
March 1, 2010
By KM
from St. Cloud, MN
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my '99 Grand Am used 2 years ago. I loved it for the first 2 years! This year, everything is going wrong. My spring coil broke (very expensive new spring coils and tires); my turn signal would "click" whenever and however fast it wanted (an expensive new turn signal shaft), the security light would turn on and prevent the car from starting (a new ignition). Awful!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
pass on this,
March 1, 2010
By don
from fort wayne
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"cheap built expensive to fix not comfortable not satisfied at all will go back to ford products...."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
g/a,
March 1, 2010
By mark
from ma
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"good dependable transpotation. Cheap to maintain.
front wheel bearings seam to wear out at 70K
otherwise good car
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
awesome,
February 28, 2010
By succa345
from kingman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is an awesome car aND IT WILL LAST YOU FOREVERyay!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sweet, Fast, Reliable... Need I say more?,
February 27, 2010
By NJ
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My 2003 Grand AM is quick, gets great gas milage with its punchy 3.4L V6... And the Auto Transmission shifts crisp and secure every time... I Love how this car drives!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
:(,
February 26, 2010
By El Guapo
from Orem, UT
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"This car has given me nothing but headaches ever since I've gotten it. The power steering went out only a couple of weeks after I purchased the vehicle. i aslo had to get the rack and pinion replaced. The radiator has leaked non-stop. There must be something wrong with the electrical wiring in the car because lights are always going out and my power locks on the driver side no longer work. The coolant sensor has also gone haywire and the check engine light alwas comes on too. The low setting for the fans no longer work so if it's hot or cold you have to have it on full blast. I'm surprised that this car has lasted me as long as it has, but I'm waiting for the day that it finally stops working. Other people that I know own the car haven't had this many problems, but they have always consistently had electrical problems. If you're going to get one just make sure you get it checked out first. The V6 does give the car good speed and power."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
This car is junk,
February 26, 2010
By LLk
from Jesup, GA
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I absolutley hate this car. Replaced the coolant sytem 3 times and still having problems.I will never bye another pontiac again. HATE IT!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car!,
February 25, 2010
By Pontiac2
from Bogota, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this car for 155000 miles now, and hope it lasts for at least another 155000. It has been one of the most reliable cars I have ever known -- I have only had one coolant leak and replaced the starter. It handles well, can accelerate when needed (and wanted), and handles great in snow or rain. It may look outdated by today's standards, but inside is a treasure!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
really disappointed,
February 21, 2010
By Ash
from Wisconsin
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I was so excited to finally get a grand am. I always loved the look of them and I had always heard they were really reliable. It ran great for the first couple months, but then it started having a lot of problems. First, it started having troubles starting. Then it got to the point where it sometimes wouldn't start at all and it shuts off while I'm driving. Then half my gauge lights stopped working, and my cruise control and heat sometimes won't work. I'm worried that this is some major computer problems and I don't have the money to repair it. I'm stuck with a car that isn't reliable and isn't even paid off yet. Very disappointed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Starter Car,
February 19, 2010
By ChiefsFan
from KC, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have only had one thing wrong with this car for the 10 years I have had it. It didn't cost more than $30 to fix the problem and she still runs like a champ with more than 198000 miles on it. The Best starter car for young kids on the market for sure!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car!,
February 19, 2010
By Nice
from Fairburn, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This has been an excellent car. I bought it Jan 10-2006 to have an extra car on hand from a lady that hates she sold it. Due to losing my job I sold it today. I am really going to miss this car. Sole with 108,333 miles. I can't say enough great things about it. Handles great in all weather. I have always performed routine maintenance and it has rewarded me with no major or expensive problems."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Solid buy,
February 17, 2010
By Casey
from New Haven, CT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought it new in 2004 and now have 114,000 miles on it. No major problems other than a road raged straight truck driver..$6,000 damage. Upcoming issues; leak in coolant system, starter on its way out. Very happy with this purchase. Casey"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.