Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.439 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,114 of 1,414(79%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love my car,
May 24, 2010
By brynnus
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my car for almost 5 years and have put 75,000 miles on it so far. It now has just over 99,000 miles and it is still a great car. So far it has lost 3k in value; very surprised and very, very pleased with that. I plan on getting around 200k out of it before I give it up."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
02 SE Great Car,
May 20, 2010
By WILKEY
from Washington, IN
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned my '02 Grand Am SE with 2.2L since it was brand new on the dealer lot. It now has 192K+ miles on it, gets driven 100mi a day, and it still runs great. Exterior and interior leave something to be desired as far as mine goes, but its been a work car for nine years now and never seen the inside of a garage. Its not exactly been pampered and waxed (EVER). So considering it only as a little rust behind each door and the dash is pulling up a bit in the corners, its doing good. Mechanically though its been a dream, nothing besides routine maintenance. I would highly recommend this vehicle, and will get another one whenever this one decides its had enough."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
yaky from iowa,
May 19, 2010
By yaky
from solon,iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i have had this car since it has came off the showroom floor and even though i wash it everyday and wax it every week doesnt mean its not a fun car to go out there and test its limits. this car has never had any problems and has never seen the inside of a shop, all the oil and standard maintance has been done by me. this car with out a doubt is the best car out there period."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Go N Broke,
May 18, 2010
By Don
from Fort Wayne In.
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Had this car for a little over a year so far replaced the fuel pump twice peplaced coil pack, replaced starter, and then brakes thats general maintaince, ran ok for about 3 months, then found oil in radiator bad head gaskets repaired that now intake manifold gasket is leaking . by pass these heaps no wonder they done away with this brand..never will buy GM again"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2000 Grand Am GT1,
May 14, 2010
By WackAttack
from Riverside County, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I have had the Ram Air Edition of the GT for 10 years now. It's an excellent car, far better than the GM products of the 80's and early 90's. The only thing I believe could be done better is to use larger or cross drilled, ventilated rotors. The stock equipment can warp due to heat when used aggressively. It's kind of a sports car, so that should not happen. Also, you have to buy very good tires to have handling performance, the suspension is a bit softer than it should be."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
was a great car,
May 13, 2010
By chrispy
from RI N.Scituate
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I was in a front end accident and it is totaled"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable & Trusty ol' car,
May 8, 2010
By Bingo
from Shelbyvill, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle four years ago. I was the second owner. It has driven like a new car from day one. The maintenance has been very little, and it cleans up very nice. The trunk angle is a little hard to put big items in it, but the back seats do go down.
I love this car, the engine is strong, and I would recommend it for economical reasons too. I get approximately 25 miles to the gal. if not more. Enjoy the ride!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sporty lil thing!!,
May 4, 2010
By Chero
from Owego, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"If you want quality, look no further than the Pontiac Grand Am! Here are a few words I commonly use to describe the Grand Am: Sharp! Speedy! Reliable! Comfortable! Chick Magnet! The Grand Am is near Jeep-like in quality and reliability... and thats sayin a lot!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Really good vehicle,
April 27, 2010
By College girl
from Southern Illinois
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned 2 a '99 and an '04 Grand Am SE, V6. Other than regular oil change, tires, breaks etc, I have had no major problems with them. The 99 i owned from the time I was 16 until 3 years ago when I sold it, it had 120,000 miles on it and still is running strong. The 04 I bought with 60000 and has 111000 on it now, it is a great car for a 16 year old and a great college car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2nd Grand Am,
April 25, 2010
By SunnyGirl
from Vancouver, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car is reliable and a great value for your money. I owned a 2002 but it was totaled. It had 152K miles on it and ran perfect, so it was only logical to replace it with another Grand Am. Stylish car and great car for a younger driver."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car,
April 24, 2010
By anonymous
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my 2003 GrandAm preowned in 2004. It has been the best car. I have taken good care of it with regular maintenance and have had no problems except for wear and tear issues. I did have to replace some seals after 6 years of ownership and 160,000 miles but that is it. I have passed this car to my son and it is a very relialbe vehicle for him. He was recently broad sided and he was perfectly fine, so for safety I give it an A plus. Now just hoping they don't total my car. If I had it to do over again I would buy this car. For the guy that said never buy an American Sedan, he is wrong. This is the 1st and only American car I have owned and I love it. My other car is a Honda."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
April 19, 2010
By nomorepontiacs
from illinois
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"i have put my grandam in the shop so many times that i had to put it up for sale to pay the fees to fix it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My Grand Am,
April 18, 2010
By Rich
from New Jersey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"The reliability of the car has surprised me. Comfort and Amenity wise its average but talk about a car that just keeps running with no repair cost other than tires and brakes this is it. I'll take this baby to 200,000 miles easy and I'm more than halfway there."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Am,
April 17, 2010
By Bullitman
from Springfield MO.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought this car from my mother when she could no longer drive. She bought it new. I have drivin it over 200k miles. The only trouble I ever had was the fuel pump went out. Too bad they will stop making Pontiacs. Only reason I'm selling it is I bought a truck for my job. Not enough cargo space. I also own 3 Hondas. All 3 have had alot more repairs. If I were to buy a new car Iwould have to go with the Grand Am."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Problems,
April 16, 2010
By apc
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"3 of the 4 power window motors broke, 2 power steering pumps and only 115,000 miles, lots of maintenance"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Typical American made car.,
April 12, 2010
By ASE mechanic
from AZ
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"I am a certified mechanic and if your looking for a sedan that gets great gas mileage, good power, and good comfort and excellent reliability do NOT purchase an American made sedan especially not the Grand Am's.
Honda, Toyota, Nissan, are all great choices that with very little trouble and maintenance not to mention cheaper to maintain will last you 300K miles without any major issues.
Grand Am's have many very very expensive common problems, Main one being cooling system, Head gaskets blowing, power steering pumps failing, Starting problems related to the vehicles obsurd electrical system and body control module and passlock system. It will cost you thousands in repairs before you know it. Do not risk it. Many body electrical problems and window motor problems and the list goes on.
Just read the reviews on Honda accord's, toyota camry's, and Nissan Altimas. I would never own an American car again. Sorry, just too many problems. I have always been more than satisified with every import ive owned."
How long have you owned this vehicle? I don't own this vehicle
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
April 11, 2010
By joe
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"window broke = BAD"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Never Again,
April 8, 2010
By me
from Flint, MI
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought my 01 in 07, it was great for about 6 months, then EVERYTHING started to go wrong, had to replace the coil in the blower for the heat and ac, have replaced 2 wheel bearings, need to replace 1 again, right now I need a new strut mount, my passlock system keeps messing up and the car won't start ( a trick for others who have this problem, leave the key in the ignition at the on position for 15 minutes, then turn to off and then it will start right up) It handles horrible in winter and hydroplanes like crazy in the rain, I will never own one again, and would never recommend to anyone I know! Which is sad because I was soo happy to get this car, and now I'm just trying to get rid of it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
awesome car,
April 7, 2010
By travis
from watertown wi
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i own a 2005 grand am i live in wi and the car handles throw snow like no other i feel like i'm driving a 4x4. the car has never gavin me grief the only thing i had to replace is the trans axle seal on passanger side and normal maintaince brakes and tires and oil. my wife and i will never get ride of this car we have it for life could be a ilttle taller really low to ground for me. If your planning on getting one get a v6 good performance i owned this car since 05 it has 88,000 on it and going strong"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable car,
April 6, 2010
By Cdizzle
from Missoula, Montana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I own a 2000 pontiac grandam SE 4 door coupe and it has been a very reliable vehicle. I purchased the vehicle 6 years ago and have put 115k miles on it without any problems outside minor maintenance. The gas mileage is excellent and I feel that preventative maintenance has allowed for the mpg to stay in the upper 20's and lower 30's on the highway. I have put a full synthetic oil in this car since day one and it has run like a dream. I am 6'4 and find the car very comfortable to ride in minus the fact I am unable to wear a hat in the vehicle. This car has been everything I had hoped for, little maintenance, affordable price, and has been reliable allowing me to pay if off and still have faith that I can drive it for years to come.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.