Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.426 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,088 of 1,388(78%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
March 6, 2010
By Case
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Based on other reviews and my own review this car is hit or miss. I have had the car for 4 years, 40,000 miles. Ran great for about a year, then problems came up around 85,000 miles. First my power steering went out on it and cost about $500 to put in a new pump. Then, it blew a gasket and cost about $700 to fix. The coolant system seems to make problems for this car so if you're looking to buy I would do a coolant flush on it if it runs hot. I believe the radiator may be leaking because it goes through fluid very quickly. The power steering has gone out again recently and cost another $400 to fix. Seems like an okay car for the first 80k, but after that the coolant system seems to break down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very dependable,
March 4, 2010
By mccain
from dc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i am an owner and would recommend this car to anyone. It is very reasonably priced with no issues to date. Good on gas and on highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
It WAS a good car :(,
March 3, 2010
By Kara
from Fort Wayne, IN
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my 01 grand am that I bought in 06 we had it about 2 yrs then we had to replace the motor on the window because it went out, short time later had to replace the water pump, 3 to 4 months later we had to replace the alternator, then we had to move from FL to IN and in KY coolant leaked into the engine causing it to over heat and so we were told to replace the engine, we didn't because of the price compared to the value of the car. There were many other small things that went wrong too but this car was NOT a good buy for us."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
One repair after another,
March 1, 2010
By KM
from St. Cloud, MN
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my '99 Grand Am used 2 years ago. I loved it for the first 2 years! This year, everything is going wrong. My spring coil broke (very expensive new spring coils and tires); my turn signal would "click" whenever and however fast it wanted (an expensive new turn signal shaft), the security light would turn on and prevent the car from starting (a new ignition). Awful!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
pass on this,
March 1, 2010
By don
from fort wayne
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"cheap built expensive to fix not comfortable not satisfied at all will go back to ford products...."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
g/a,
March 1, 2010
By mark
from ma
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"good dependable transpotation. Cheap to maintain.
front wheel bearings seam to wear out at 70K
otherwise good car
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
awesome,
February 28, 2010
By succa345
from kingman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is an awesome car aND IT WILL LAST YOU FOREVERyay!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sweet, Fast, Reliable... Need I say more?,
February 27, 2010
By NJ
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My 2003 Grand AM is quick, gets great gas milage with its punchy 3.4L V6... And the Auto Transmission shifts crisp and secure every time... I Love how this car drives!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
:(,
February 26, 2010
By El Guapo
from Orem, UT
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"This car has given me nothing but headaches ever since I've gotten it. The power steering went out only a couple of weeks after I purchased the vehicle. i aslo had to get the rack and pinion replaced. The radiator has leaked non-stop. There must be something wrong with the electrical wiring in the car because lights are always going out and my power locks on the driver side no longer work. The coolant sensor has also gone haywire and the check engine light alwas comes on too. The low setting for the fans no longer work so if it's hot or cold you have to have it on full blast. I'm surprised that this car has lasted me as long as it has, but I'm waiting for the day that it finally stops working. Other people that I know own the car haven't had this many problems, but they have always consistently had electrical problems. If you're going to get one just make sure you get it checked out first. The V6 does give the car good speed and power."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
This car is junk,
February 26, 2010
By LLk
from Jesup, GA
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I absolutley hate this car. Replaced the coolant sytem 3 times and still having problems.I will never bye another pontiac again. HATE IT!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I love this car!,
February 25, 2010
By Pontiac2
from Bogota, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had this car for 155000 miles now, and hope it lasts for at least another 155000. It has been one of the most reliable cars I have ever known -- I have only had one coolant leak and replaced the starter. It handles well, can accelerate when needed (and wanted), and handles great in snow or rain. It may look outdated by today's standards, but inside is a treasure!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
really disappointed,
February 21, 2010
By Ash
from Wisconsin
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I was so excited to finally get a grand am. I always loved the look of them and I had always heard they were really reliable. It ran great for the first couple months, but then it started having a lot of problems. First, it started having troubles starting. Then it got to the point where it sometimes wouldn't start at all and it shuts off while I'm driving. Then half my gauge lights stopped working, and my cruise control and heat sometimes won't work. I'm worried that this is some major computer problems and I don't have the money to repair it. I'm stuck with a car that isn't reliable and isn't even paid off yet. Very disappointed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Starter Car,
February 19, 2010
By ChiefsFan
from KC, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have only had one thing wrong with this car for the 10 years I have had it. It didn't cost more than $30 to fix the problem and she still runs like a champ with more than 198000 miles on it. The Best starter car for young kids on the market for sure!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car!,
February 19, 2010
By Nice
from Fairburn, GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This has been an excellent car. I bought it Jan 10-2006 to have an extra car on hand from a lady that hates she sold it. Due to losing my job I sold it today. I am really going to miss this car. Sole with 108,333 miles. I can't say enough great things about it. Handles great in all weather. I have always performed routine maintenance and it has rewarded me with no major or expensive problems."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Solid buy,
February 17, 2010
By Casey
from New Haven, CT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought it new in 2004 and now have 114,000 miles on it. No major problems other than a road raged straight truck driver..$6,000 damage. Upcoming issues; leak in coolant system, starter on its way out. Very happy with this purchase. Casey"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Nothing but trouble,
February 12, 2010
By Ihatepontiac
from Cincinnati, OH
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"The GM Passlock security is horible. Had to had the car towed a few times, and my daughter has been stranded many times because the car would not start. I will never buy a pontiac again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good car,
February 12, 2010
By Al
from detriot, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"So many on the market, and so many still runnning, almost everything is an easy fix, and you can run this car to the ground, i have 270,000 miles and shes still running strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
February 8, 2010
By joned
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Had this car 8 yrs now, never any problems w/it, love all Pontiacs and will drive nothing else!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is a very good car,
February 7, 2010
By Bren
from San Antonio Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Wow, where do I start. I bought my car when she was a year old and have had her ever since. She originally had 30k miles on her now she has 179k. I loved the way she looked when I first bought her, and wow she has been a good vehicle for me. I drive over 50miles round trip to work everyday and she still has no major problems. I have been faithful changing her oil every 3k miles since I've owned her never skipping an oil change. The AC is very cold in the summer in temps here in Texas running over 100 degrees you would never know it in this car. Most of the times running it on low speed is all it takes to keep it cold in the car. I have had no major problems with her. I think I changed out the alternator about two years ago. The trunk lining I think might be leaking just a bit when we get a hard rain, but that's about it. This is my 3rd Pontiac car I've owned I have had good luck with all three. I would recommend this car to anyone, but I think the key to all cars giving you the best performance is the oil changes. I love this car so much I will not trade her in or sell her, when I purchase another vehicle. Instead I'll keep her as my second vehicle"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Happy Grand Am Ownder for 8 Years,
February 5, 2010
By Aurora
from North Carolina
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 2001 model and have not had very many problems at all out of it....seeing how long I've had it and how many miles i've put on it since I bought it in 2002. I have an hour drive to and an hour drive from work every day and it's been very dependable. There were a few things the past couple years my husband was able to fix on it that went wrong...but other than that it's been a very dependable good running car! I definitely got my money's worth out it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.