Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.42 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,075 of 1,373(78%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Nothing but trouble,
February 12, 2010
By Ihatepontiac
from Cincinnati, OH
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"The GM Passlock security is horible. Had to had the car towed a few times, and my daughter has been stranded many times because the car would not start. I will never buy a pontiac again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Good car,
February 12, 2010
By Al
from detriot, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"So many on the market, and so many still runnning, almost everything is an easy fix, and you can run this car to the ground, i have 270,000 miles and shes still running strong."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
February 8, 2010
By joned
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Had this car 8 yrs now, never any problems w/it, love all Pontiacs and will drive nothing else!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This is a very good car,
February 7, 2010
By Bren
from San Antonio Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Wow, where do I start. I bought my car when she was a year old and have had her ever since. She originally had 30k miles on her now she has 179k. I loved the way she looked when I first bought her, and wow she has been a good vehicle for me. I drive over 50miles round trip to work everyday and she still has no major problems. I have been faithful changing her oil every 3k miles since I've owned her never skipping an oil change. The AC is very cold in the summer in temps here in Texas running over 100 degrees you would never know it in this car. Most of the times running it on low speed is all it takes to keep it cold in the car. I have had no major problems with her. I think I changed out the alternator about two years ago. The trunk lining I think might be leaking just a bit when we get a hard rain, but that's about it. This is my 3rd Pontiac car I've owned I have had good luck with all three. I would recommend this car to anyone, but I think the key to all cars giving you the best performance is the oil changes. I love this car so much I will not trade her in or sell her, when I purchase another vehicle. Instead I'll keep her as my second vehicle"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Happy Grand Am Ownder for 8 Years,
February 5, 2010
By Aurora
from North Carolina
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have a 2001 model and have not had very many problems at all out of it....seeing how long I've had it and how many miles i've put on it since I bought it in 2002. I have an hour drive to and an hour drive from work every day and it's been very dependable. There were a few things the past couple years my husband was able to fix on it that went wrong...but other than that it's been a very dependable good running car! I definitely got my money's worth out it!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great All around,
February 2, 2010
By Enthusiast
from New York metro
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this 1999 coupe for 7 years and I can't say enough great things about it. Handles great in poor weather. I have always performed routine maintenance and it has rewarded me with no major or expensive problems. It looks great, even when it hasn't been washed in months! I get 30mpg. It has good pick up. I have over 130,000 miles currently and it is going strong. Just a great car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
January 29, 2010
By queequeg
from Indiana
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I love my car, although I pretty much had to have the entire top half of the engine replaced, a shock broke overnight, and I had to repair some electrical thing, but I forgot what. Other than that it has been a good car, I hope to get a very long life out of the car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
January 28, 2010
By beezer
from Carver, MN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We bought a 99 model in 01 with 44K. We now have 137K, and the V6 is still going strong. It's been reliable, and gets decent mileage. I think GM phased out the wrong brand..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
garbage,
January 26, 2010
By gcastro
from new jersey
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i bought this car brand new in 2001 and loved it. i had to go back to the dealer a couple of times for very minor things, but it was covered under the warranty. after that 35,000 miles warranty expired, the car gave up on me. i must have spent thounsands to keep my grand am gt1 together, including putting in another engine. this is a very nice car to look at inside or out, comfortable, fun to drive, great value at first, and with a great monsoon radio system. now its worthless with only 66,000 miles on the car. this was my first new car. i've owned gm vehicles from 1978-1989 with no problems plus this 2001 grandam, and this has been the biggest piece of junk i have ever owned. no more pontiac for me thank you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
BAD IDEA,
January 25, 2010
By RACHEL
from HUNTSVILLE, AL
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"THIS IS THE WORST CAR IVE HAD IN A WHILE. IT WAS GREAT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT. ITS AN 01 GRAND AM GT RAM AIR AND IT HAS GIVIN ME MORE TROUBLE THAN I ASKED FOR. IVE REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP, FUEL INJECTOR, BRAKES, ROTORS, THROTEL CONTROL SENSOR, THERMOSTAT, AND A FUEL GASKET. I ALSO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM. IT AGGRAVATES THE HECK OUT OF ME WHEN I HAVE TO BE LATE FOR WORK BECAUSE MY CAR WONT START. YOU WOULD THINK PONTIAC WOULD PUT A RECALL ON IT.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the best vehicles I have ever had!,
January 22, 2010
By cissyjo
from Austin, Texas
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is such a reliable vehicle. It is comfortable, stylish, and has get up and go in it with great gas mileage too."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Looks like a Race Stock car,
January 15, 2010
By mm
from calif
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"To bad they don't make it anymore. Consumer Reports magazine said it was not to good , they were wrong,like many of there reviews. My 2 door chrome wheels, 2001 GT has been almost problem free, over 120 k miles and looks good , not like a lot of the overseas plastic cars. Wide tires , quick also....."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
January 13, 2010
By fg
from venon, ct
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"This car is excellent on gas. It usually costs me about $25. for fill it up. I have had no issues with the car, it rides good with regular maintenance. Descent car for what you pay."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
great...at first,
January 10, 2010
By KELS
from Dayton, Oh
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"When i first saw this car in the lot i feel in love. 2 and a half years later, it's a peice. I've already had to buy a whole new computer for the car which cost me 600 dollars, I had to replace the brakes and the roter. and not to mention the beautiful red dash lights, most of them are burnt out. The clock lights are completly burnt and im told the only way to fix it is to buy a whole new stereo. The only good thing about this car is the engine. My car is sitting in my drive way dead... why? because i have no idea. I just got a brand new battery 3 days ago. Im not happy"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
not a great car,
January 10, 2010
By bob
from minford, ohio
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"this car is okay except for one thing. not too long after we bought the car a security light kept coming on when we tried to start it and then we would have to wait ten minutes for the light to go off and try it again. the car always starts after that but it is extremely aggervating"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Very good for high miles!,
January 7, 2010
By Joe mama
from Beloit, WI
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my Grand Am 4 years ago with 118k miles , I now have 158k miles. I only had minor problems on it, the power window motor went out after 2 years of owning this car, the security light came on a year ago, sometimes it didn't start for 10 minutes when the security light came on, it would flash. So I got a different key and it never happened again. Overall a great car with minor problems. The style of this car is great! One of the best looking cars on the road! Boo for the Pontiac G6, a very ugly car which brought down Pontiac sales, they should of redesigned the Grand Am. I will miss Pontiac because they had other good cars like the G5, G8, Solstice, Vibe, and the Torrent SUV. I'm keeping this car until the wheels fall off which will be a long time. I love my Grand Am!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Car!,
January 5, 2010
By Tina
from Mankato, MN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This was my 2nd Grand Am, I had a 1999, and it had some mechanical issues, but I loved the car so much that I got this one when I was ready for something newer!
It has more room than the previous years, rides well and is overall a great car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
My first car... and it was a lemon!,
January 4, 2010
By Mountaineer12
from West Virginia
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"For my 16th birthday in 2005, my parents bought me a 2002 Grand Am SE1 Coupe with only 28,000 miles on it. We thought we found the perfect car: low mileage, excellent condition, and every option! We were wrong... I owned the vehicle until my 18th birthday and in the 2 years I had it, it was problem upon problem. 3 new starters, fuel pump and multiple visits to the garage, plus the car wouldn't start on a normal basis because of an electrical problem the repairmen said was due to the security alarm. In order for it to start when this happened (which was often) we'd sit with the key in the ignition for at least 15 minutes until the system reset. WORST CAR EVER"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Perfect for us!,
January 4, 2010
By Barbie
from Los Angeles, Ca
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We bought this car used, with 83000 miles, from the original owner, and we have had no major problems with it. The motor to the passenger window went out, and had to have it replaced, for $75. Great gas mileage and very easy to handle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
January 1, 2010
By UNGAT0
from Paola, KS
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"A nice, good performing vehicle with a great look, overall a great car and a good buy. I would recommend this to anyone."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo