Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.43 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,098 of 1,398(79%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
April 11, 2010
By joe
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"window broke = BAD"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Never Again,
April 8, 2010
By me
from Flint, MI
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought my 01 in 07, it was great for about 6 months, then EVERYTHING started to go wrong, had to replace the coil in the blower for the heat and ac, have replaced 2 wheel bearings, need to replace 1 again, right now I need a new strut mount, my passlock system keeps messing up and the car won't start ( a trick for others who have this problem, leave the key in the ignition at the on position for 15 minutes, then turn to off and then it will start right up) It handles horrible in winter and hydroplanes like crazy in the rain, I will never own one again, and would never recommend to anyone I know! Which is sad because I was soo happy to get this car, and now I'm just trying to get rid of it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
awesome car,
April 7, 2010
By travis
from watertown wi
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i own a 2005 grand am i live in wi and the car handles throw snow like no other i feel like i'm driving a 4x4. the car has never gavin me grief the only thing i had to replace is the trans axle seal on passanger side and normal maintaince brakes and tires and oil. my wife and i will never get ride of this car we have it for life could be a ilttle taller really low to ground for me. If your planning on getting one get a v6 good performance i owned this car since 05 it has 88,000 on it and going strong"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable car,
April 6, 2010
By Cdizzle
from Missoula, Montana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I own a 2000 pontiac grandam SE 4 door coupe and it has been a very reliable vehicle. I purchased the vehicle 6 years ago and have put 115k miles on it without any problems outside minor maintenance. The gas mileage is excellent and I feel that preventative maintenance has allowed for the mpg to stay in the upper 20's and lower 30's on the highway. I have put a full synthetic oil in this car since day one and it has run like a dream. I am 6'4 and find the car very comfortable to ride in minus the fact I am unable to wear a hat in the vehicle. This car has been everything I had hoped for, little maintenance, affordable price, and has been reliable allowing me to pay if off and still have faith that I can drive it for years to come.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Horrible,
April 4, 2010
By mntman
from pa
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"i got this as first car for my son expecting it to be great and fast. boy, was i wrong! good for the first 30k miles i put on it, (bought it at 60k) then things started going south. first the drivers side window clips broke breaking the window and screwing up the motor, that was 400 dollars. the brakes go fast in this thing and he's not hard on them. the belt broke ripped the cooliant lines out, that cost 800 bucks. now the tranny's starting to slip. i'm just gonna go trade this in on a ford for him, always thought gm was half decent til now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car for the price,
March 29, 2010
By tech guy
from Aurora, CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The SE has a smaller engine (4 cyl) than the more popular GT (6 cyl). This usually is a big negative given the size of the car. But that's definitely not the case with this car. The SE puts out surprisingly robust power with the twin-cam engine. More than enough to face challenging freeway on-ramps. The great gas mileage is a real plus on the wallet too.
The molded interior is nicely designed all the way down to the armrest, which is comfortable for long drives.
The car rides smoothly, but the road noise come through louder than most. Turn up the stereo volume and its no longer noticeable.
Had one major problem (power steering) in the 8 years I've owned it. Overall a great car to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Value,
March 25, 2010
By Wiest
from Wisconsin
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am GT about two years ago. It had 70,000 when i bought it. I have had no problems with the car so far. Ive had to replace the brake pads and tires but that was expected. The car is surprisingly fast when needed. Acceleration is impressive for a sedan. I think for what i payed for the car it was a steal for the amount of style and reliability it has given me. I live in Wisconsin and this car has never had problems starting on those -20 degree mornings. It also handles VERY well in the snow."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I ever had.,
March 22, 2010
By Zak M.
from Midland,Pa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car handles like a sports car,It has a lot of power.when you hit the gas it go's.The only thing I did to mine was put a K&n Highflow air filter on it. I Love this car !"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
200,000+,
March 12, 2010
By Greg
from Lansing, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am in 8/2004 and it had 13,000 miles on it. I have driven it for almost 6 years and have nothing but good things to say. Right now it is at 200,000 miles and still going strong. Other than routine maintenance (tires, brakes, etc) the fuel pump is the only replacement I have had to make. Love this car, hope it lasts another 100K"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car,
March 11, 2010
By Sandy
from Colorado Springs
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"It's paint stays new looking for years; love the solid sound when the door closes. Good gas mileage 22-25mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
March 6, 2010
By Case
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Based on other reviews and my own review this car is hit or miss. I have had the car for 4 years, 40,000 miles. Ran great for about a year, then problems came up around 85,000 miles. First my power steering went out on it and cost about $500 to put in a new pump. Then, it blew a gasket and cost about $700 to fix. The coolant system seems to make problems for this car so if you're looking to buy I would do a coolant flush on it if it runs hot. I believe the radiator may be leaking because it goes through fluid very quickly. The power steering has gone out again recently and cost another $400 to fix. Seems like an okay car for the first 80k, but after that the coolant system seems to break down."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
very dependable,
March 4, 2010
By mccain
from dc
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i am an owner and would recommend this car to anyone. It is very reasonably priced with no issues to date. Good on gas and on highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
It WAS a good car :(,
March 3, 2010
By Kara
from Fort Wayne, IN
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I loved my 01 grand am that I bought in 06 we had it about 2 yrs then we had to replace the motor on the window because it went out, short time later had to replace the water pump, 3 to 4 months later we had to replace the alternator, then we had to move from FL to IN and in KY coolant leaked into the engine causing it to over heat and so we were told to replace the engine, we didn't because of the price compared to the value of the car. There were many other small things that went wrong too but this car was NOT a good buy for us."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
One repair after another,
March 1, 2010
By KM
from St. Cloud, MN
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my '99 Grand Am used 2 years ago. I loved it for the first 2 years! This year, everything is going wrong. My spring coil broke (very expensive new spring coils and tires); my turn signal would "click" whenever and however fast it wanted (an expensive new turn signal shaft), the security light would turn on and prevent the car from starting (a new ignition). Awful!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
pass on this,
March 1, 2010
By don
from fort wayne
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"cheap built expensive to fix not comfortable not satisfied at all will go back to ford products...."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
g/a,
March 1, 2010
By mark
from ma
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"good dependable transpotation. Cheap to maintain.
front wheel bearings seam to wear out at 70K
otherwise good car
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
awesome,
February 28, 2010
By succa345
from kingman
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"this is an awesome car aND IT WILL LAST YOU FOREVERyay!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sweet, Fast, Reliable... Need I say more?,
February 27, 2010
By NJ
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"My 2003 Grand AM is quick, gets great gas milage with its punchy 3.4L V6... And the Auto Transmission shifts crisp and secure every time... I Love how this car drives!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
:(,
February 26, 2010
By El Guapo
from Orem, UT
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"This car has given me nothing but headaches ever since I've gotten it. The power steering went out only a couple of weeks after I purchased the vehicle. i aslo had to get the rack and pinion replaced. The radiator has leaked non-stop. There must be something wrong with the electrical wiring in the car because lights are always going out and my power locks on the driver side no longer work. The coolant sensor has also gone haywire and the check engine light alwas comes on too. The low setting for the fans no longer work so if it's hot or cold you have to have it on full blast. I'm surprised that this car has lasted me as long as it has, but I'm waiting for the day that it finally stops working. Other people that I know own the car haven't had this many problems, but they have always consistently had electrical problems. If you're going to get one just make sure you get it checked out first. The V6 does give the car good speed and power."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
This car is junk,
February 26, 2010
By LLk
from Jesup, GA
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I absolutley hate this car. Replaced the coolant sytem 3 times and still having problems.I will never bye another pontiac again. HATE IT!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more