Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Average Customer Rating:
7.44 out of 10
7.4
 out of 
10
1,108 of 1,408(79%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Review 341 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable & Trusty ol' car,
May 8, 2010
By Bingo
from Shelbyvill, MI
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this vehicle four years ago. I was the second owner. It has driven like a new car from day one. The maintenance has been very little, and it cleans up very nice. The trunk angle is a little hard to put big items in it, but the back seats do go down.
I love this car, the engine is strong, and I would recommend it for economical reasons too. I get approximately 25 miles to the gal. if not more. Enjoy the ride!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 342 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sporty lil thing!!,
May 4, 2010
By Chero
from Owego, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"If you want quality, look no further than the Pontiac Grand Am! Here are a few words I commonly use to describe the Grand Am: Sharp! Speedy! Reliable! Comfortable! Chick Magnet! The Grand Am is near Jeep-like in quality and reliability... and thats sayin a lot!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 343 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Really good vehicle,
April 27, 2010
By College girl
from Southern Illinois
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned 2 a '99 and an '04 Grand Am SE, V6. Other than regular oil change, tires, breaks etc, I have had no major problems with them. The 99 i owned from the time I was 16 until 3 years ago when I sold it, it had 120,000 miles on it and still is running strong. The 04 I bought with 60000 and has 111000 on it now, it is a great car for a 16 year old and a great college car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 344 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2nd Grand Am,
April 25, 2010
By SunnyGirl
from Vancouver, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car is reliable and a great value for your money. I owned a 2002 but it was totaled. It had 152K miles on it and ran perfect, so it was only logical to replace it with another Grand Am. Stylish car and great car for a younger driver."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 345 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great Car,
April 24, 2010
By anonymous
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I bought my 2003 GrandAm preowned in 2004. It has been the best car. I have taken good care of it with regular maintenance and have had no problems except for wear and tear issues. I did have to replace some seals after 6 years of ownership and 160,000 miles but that is it. I have passed this car to my son and it is a very relialbe vehicle for him. He was recently broad sided and he was perfectly fine, so for safety I give it an A plus. Now just hoping they don't total my car. If I had it to do over again I would buy this car. For the guy that said never buy an American Sedan, he is wrong. This is the 1st and only American car I have owned and I love it. My other car is a Honda."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 346 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
April 19, 2010
By nomorepontiacs
from illinois
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"i have put my grandam in the shop so many times that i had to put it up for sale to pay the fees to fix it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 347 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My Grand Am,
April 18, 2010
By Rich
from New Jersey
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"The reliability of the car has surprised me. Comfort and Amenity wise its average but talk about a car that just keeps running with no repair cost other than tires and brakes this is it. I'll take this baby to 200,000 miles easy and I'm more than halfway there."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 348 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Am,
April 17, 2010
By Bullitman
from Springfield MO.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Bought this car from my mother when she could no longer drive. She bought it new. I have drivin it over 200k miles. The only trouble I ever had was the fuel pump went out. Too bad they will stop making Pontiacs. Only reason I'm selling it is I bought a truck for my job. Not enough cargo space. I also own 3 Hondas. All 3 have had alot more repairs. If I were to buy a new car Iwould have to go with the Grand Am."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 349 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Problems,
April 16, 2010
By apc
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"3 of the 4 power window motors broke, 2 power steering pumps and only 115,000 miles, lots of maintenance"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 350 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Typical American made car.,
April 12, 2010
By ASE mechanic
from AZ
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
"I am a certified mechanic and if your looking for a sedan that gets great gas mileage, good power, and good comfort and excellent reliability do NOT purchase an American made sedan especially not the Grand Am's.
Honda, Toyota, Nissan, are all great choices that with very little trouble and maintenance not to mention cheaper to maintain will last you 300K miles without any major issues.
Grand Am's have many very very expensive common problems, Main one being cooling system, Head gaskets blowing, power steering pumps failing, Starting problems related to the vehicles obsurd electrical system and body control module and passlock system. It will cost you thousands in repairs before you know it. Do not risk it. Many body electrical problems and window motor problems and the list goes on.
Just read the reviews on Honda accord's, toyota camry's, and Nissan Altimas. I would never own an American car again. Sorry, just too many problems. I have always been more than satisified with every import ive owned."
How long have you owned this vehicle? I don't own this vehicle
8 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 351 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
April 11, 2010
By joe
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"window broke = BAD"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 352 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Never Again,
April 8, 2010
By me
from Flint, MI
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought my 01 in 07, it was great for about 6 months, then EVERYTHING started to go wrong, had to replace the coil in the blower for the heat and ac, have replaced 2 wheel bearings, need to replace 1 again, right now I need a new strut mount, my passlock system keeps messing up and the car won't start ( a trick for others who have this problem, leave the key in the ignition at the on position for 15 minutes, then turn to off and then it will start right up) It handles horrible in winter and hydroplanes like crazy in the rain, I will never own one again, and would never recommend to anyone I know! Which is sad because I was soo happy to get this car, and now I'm just trying to get rid of it"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 353 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
awesome car,
April 7, 2010
By travis
from watertown wi
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i own a 2005 grand am i live in wi and the car handles throw snow like no other i feel like i'm driving a 4x4. the car has never gavin me grief the only thing i had to replace is the trans axle seal on passanger side and normal maintaince brakes and tires and oil. my wife and i will never get ride of this car we have it for life could be a ilttle taller really low to ground for me. If your planning on getting one get a v6 good performance i owned this car since 05 it has 88,000 on it and going strong"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 354 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable car,
April 6, 2010
By Cdizzle
from Missoula, Montana
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I own a 2000 pontiac grandam SE 4 door coupe and it has been a very reliable vehicle. I purchased the vehicle 6 years ago and have put 115k miles on it without any problems outside minor maintenance. The gas mileage is excellent and I feel that preventative maintenance has allowed for the mpg to stay in the upper 20's and lower 30's on the highway. I have put a full synthetic oil in this car since day one and it has run like a dream. I am 6'4 and find the car very comfortable to ride in minus the fact I am unable to wear a hat in the vehicle. This car has been everything I had hoped for, little maintenance, affordable price, and has been reliable allowing me to pay if off and still have faith that I can drive it for years to come.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 355 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Horrible,
April 4, 2010
By mntman
from pa
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"i got this as first car for my son expecting it to be great and fast. boy, was i wrong! good for the first 30k miles i put on it, (bought it at 60k) then things started going south. first the drivers side window clips broke breaking the window and screwing up the motor, that was 400 dollars. the brakes go fast in this thing and he's not hard on them. the belt broke ripped the cooliant lines out, that cost 800 bucks. now the tranny's starting to slip. i'm just gonna go trade this in on a ford for him, always thought gm was half decent til now."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 356 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car for the price,
March 29, 2010
By tech guy
from Aurora, CO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"The SE has a smaller engine (4 cyl) than the more popular GT (6 cyl). This usually is a big negative given the size of the car. But that's definitely not the case with this car. The SE puts out surprisingly robust power with the twin-cam engine. More than enough to face challenging freeway on-ramps. The great gas mileage is a real plus on the wallet too.
The molded interior is nicely designed all the way down to the armrest, which is comfortable for long drives.
The car rides smoothly, but the road noise come through louder than most. Turn up the stereo volume and its no longer noticeable.
Had one major problem (power steering) in the 8 years I've owned it. Overall a great car to drive."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 357 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Value,
March 25, 2010
By Wiest
from Wisconsin
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am GT about two years ago. It had 70,000 when i bought it. I have had no problems with the car so far. Ive had to replace the brake pads and tires but that was expected. The car is surprisingly fast when needed. Acceleration is impressive for a sedan. I think for what i payed for the car it was a steal for the amount of style and reliability it has given me. I live in Wisconsin and this car has never had problems starting on those -20 degree mornings. It also handles VERY well in the snow."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 358 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best car I ever had.,
March 22, 2010
By Zak M.
from Midland,Pa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car handles like a sports car,It has a lot of power.when you hit the gas it go's.The only thing I did to mine was put a K&n Highflow air filter on it. I Love this car !"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 359 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
200,000+,
March 12, 2010
By Greg
from Lansing, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 04 Grand Am in 8/2004 and it had 13,000 miles on it. I have driven it for almost 6 years and have nothing but good things to say. Right now it is at 200,000 miles and still going strong. Other than routine maintenance (tires, brakes, etc) the fuel pump is the only replacement I have had to make. Love this car, hope it lasts another 100K"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 360 for 1999 - 2005 Pontiac Grand Am
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car,
March 11, 2010
By Sandy
from Colorado Springs
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"It's paint stays new looking for years; love the solid sound when the door closes. Good gas mileage 22-25mpg."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more