Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora

Average Customer Rating:
8.396 out of 10
8.4
 out of 
10
119 of 139(86%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Review 21 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car w/ a few quirks,
November 26, 2007
By Aurora Owner
from Northwest, FL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I own a 2001 Aurora w/ about 115000 miles on it. I bought it used in 2005. I love the style and comfort, but it has a few quirks. One of the rear windows won't stay up. A friend had the same problem w/ both of his rear windows. I think it's time to replace the seal on the sunroof. The car is leaking in various places. The check engine light stays on due to a "secondary air malfunction", but I've read online that a lot of Aurora owners have that problem. Other than that, this is a great car and great price for everything that you get. Beautiful looks, loaded interior, smooth ride and constantly turning heads!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Wish They Still Made 'Em,
August 11, 2010
By Highfliers2
from Central Illinois
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my 2nd Aurora - both had 4.0 V8's and both were/are dark red in color. My 02' is one of the best overall cars I've owned - and my stable has had 7 Corvettes a 425 hp 409 Chevy, a 426 Hemi Road Runner and 3 GTOs over the years. The Aurora has the style, the ride and the luxury features + the ultra performance I require in my vehicles. Very little in maintanence -'cept for those bothersome sensors that need to be replaced on a regular basis! I get 28 - 30 mpg on the highway and around 17 in town. The Bose stereo is top notch. I only wish they still made them coz' I'd surely buy another one.."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good but not great car.,
May 27, 2008
By SpicemanX
from Austin, TX
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought my 2002 4.0 used with 40K miles on it. It now has 86K on it. It is a good buy because you can get one for next to nothing since they don't make them anymore (I bought mine for 15K in 2004, and the sticker was for 42K). Over all it is a good car with a great ride. BUT it is very expensive to maintain. I had a hose blow, and it was $250 just for the hose. It uses 8 quarts of oil so they cost twice as much to get done. All of my window motors have gone out and they want $250 just for the motor. The battery size is very hard to find and expensive. Like I said, it's a good but not great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I own two just because I love it so much!,
December 13, 2011
By Fuzznugget
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:131000
What's great about this vehicle?:Everything!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Ummmmm so far so good, no complaints!
ReviewOriginationID:9088470d-c8ce-4a80-9f7d-9571deb24944
"I had a fully loaded Aurora for 10 years (2001) and I loved it but when my son needed a car I sold it to him and bought a brand new little sports car (I didn't have to drive the family car anymore YAY). When winter came to Minnesota I wanted to get a winter car...guess what....I got another Aurora and I love having the luxury drive again, I also use it in the summer months for family outings and taking the dog for a drive. I don't have to worry about dog hair or dirt because of the wonderful easy to clean leather seats. I really wish they had these in a newer version, they are super cars!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2001
Review 25 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great drivers car..,
December 28, 2012
By limey
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:104000
What's great about this vehicle?:Safety, comfort, handling, style,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas usage
ReviewOriginationID:6750b19136a3447b8a618bd9a232f63f
"Drives like it is actually alive... Fast and yet secure. The Cadillac Short-Star engine (V6)is thirsty however. Handling is a dream in the corners and around those great long curvy bends. On cruise control at 70-75mph get around 26 mpg.But driving without Cruise only around 17-19 mpg.(and no,I don't have a lead foot). And my darling wife actually is comfortable in this car because it is just so well made, and even though I tend to drive fast she is not yelling at me to slow down, as she does when I'm driving her little toyota. Wish I could go back 11 years and do this all over again..."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CT
Year 2001
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I don't Want to Sell It!,
October 14, 2007
By TJC
from Arizona
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought my 2001 Aurora new. It now has 62000 miles, and is still an awesome car. It gets GREAT gas mileage, even with the way I drive. I have had some things repaired over the life of the car, but the warranty fixed it all. I have never had to spend my own money except for tires, brakes, and typical upkeep. The 4 wheel independent suspension is awesome. There is simply no car that compares to this one. It is one of those cars that you really don't want to trade-in, and still a pleasure to look at, and a joy to drive. Too bad they are no more. This one should still be made."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
WORST CAR EVER!!,
October 24, 2010
By hateyouGM
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought this car in what seemed to be excellent condition and then the first week I had the car it broke down on me because it needed a new water pump($750) The I found out it needed new front tie rods ($600). The car then started to make a loud whining noise which turned out to be a pulley and ac condenser ($700) the mechanic then told me this car needed $3200 in additional repairs. I am 18 years old this is my first car so i can barely afford insurance and now i have to get rid of it because the repairs are insane. Save yourself and stay away from this car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 28 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing,
August 8, 2007
By D RO
from Buffalo, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought an 02' aurora about a month ago. the car is incredible. the guy i bought it from took excellent care of it. it is very comfortable and handles like a dream. olds should have kept making this car. its very fast and very stylish. i would recommend this car to everyone. i doubt any other 02' could be as nice as this. it has everything in it, including tinted windows and a sound system that i just put in. everyone in my family loves it and my friends always want to ride with me because of how smooth and comfortable it is. i give it an A+++!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great car, incredible value,
March 22, 2012
By Silver sled
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:127000
What's great about this vehicle?:Comfy, quiet, smooth, loaded, reliable, upscale
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Out of production
ReviewOriginationID:c37fc7b1-5a64-477d-b32e-1b5f22bbecbd
"I bought mine in 2005 with 32K miles. It's been a delight. Comfortable, great in bad weather, upscale feel and reliable. In almost 100K miles driving, it's never let me down and been cheap to maintain. Interior materials quality and styling is well above domestic cars of it's day and better than most in this class today. The exterior continues to grow on me and the car does not look 11 yrs old (inside or out). I get 27mpg with the smooth V6 that has good torque throughout the rev range. Only downside is that it is a bit nose heavy for more spirited driving."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2002
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2001 Aurora,
September 7, 2008
By dave
from Akron, OH
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Sept 2008 - I have had my V6 2001 Aurora since Feb '04 when I paid $11,000 & have ran it from 57K to 140K. It has had its share of issues. replaced the ignition lock cylindar twice, secondary air pump and valves, both front wheel hup assemblies, lube steering shaft, and of course brakes and tires. But given all that - I love the size, style, pick up gas mileage, comfort, ability to tow a jet ski, and all the other extra features of this luxury car. It still pretty much looks brand new. I'm planning on keeping it till it has over 200K in miles"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 31 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Junk,
April 1, 2009
By wombat
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I've owned an 01 3.5 from 70k to 82k. In that time, the transmission needs rebuilt, the trunk started leaking, the interior and dash lights work when their in the mood, both front wheel hubs/bearings need replaced, a sensor or two needed replaced, and it eats about a quart of oil every 750-1000 miles. Car was well taken care of by the PO. Wanted to like it, it is fun to drive, just can't justify dumping that much $ in to a car that's not worth anything on trade.
Absolutly no excuse for the transmission. It started acting up at 50k-60k."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Car!!,
July 8, 2009
By Kyle
from Northeast, IA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car a year ago and i have had very very few minor problems with the car. I bought it when it had 86,000 miles on it, now has 108,000 and is in great shape. I could easily see this car be drivable in the upper hundred thousands. It drives great in any weather. It has a very sleek style to it and handles awesome. The car is very reliable, gets great gas mileage 26/27 mpg on highway. But not so good in town or city, maybe around 15 or 16, but still reasonable. I would say that overall it is just a great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 33 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car but expensive to repair,
June 2, 2008
By mx Bill
from sanford, NC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have an 01' V6 that is great on gas 28-30 hwy and 25 overall. It is a good looking body style. The only problem is repairs at the dealer. For example the window regulator cost almost $500.00 to roll up the window three inches. I have replaced two in 7 years. I am on my third oil pressure sensor at $200.00 per repair. I realize there should be repairs with 113K miles but not the same repairs. These cars are a great value now for the money. Just be ready for that little but expensive problem at the dealer."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
A Hidden Diamond,
September 12, 2007
By olds girl from Edgefield
from Edgefield, SC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"This car is great for the money. The styling, the features inside, the cockpit dash - everything is accessible to the driver. I have had problems though with the engine air system (not A/C) & also with the engine light being on even though the entire system has been replaced. Replacing the main computer has not even corrected this. I have spoken with other Aurora owners & the same is for them. My Aurora has 84000 mi & I have had it for 2 yrs (2002 model). I would still buy another if GM would make them."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 35 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
one of the best i've owned,
January 18, 2012
By oldmobile1011
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:cool,stylish,lookigs great, long lasting
What's not so great about this vehicle?:transmission jumping, not good on gas
ReviewOriginationID:98d457ba-99da-4f0c-a534-f855e27448b7
"i love this car, stylish, unique, and very tough. had this vehiclce sicne 2003, recently trade it in but i miss it alot. the only thing i would say about this vechile is that when the transmission starts jumping its kinda annoying. we needed a part for the transmission on our aurora and they told us that the parts was discontinued so had to deal with a jumping transmission which is one of the reasons why we traded it in. its very costly on gas but i enjoyed every inch of the driving experience of it,."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 2001
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
smooth,
December 5, 2008
By bk
from waterloo, IA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had my car for two years and was just curious to see what others are saying about the car. Living in an area that has been getting some rough winters I have realized how well my car handles in snow. I have been able to get through things that most cars cannot handle, the only problem I have had with the car is the check oil sensors continuously are going bad, I have decided not to replace them anymore, the mechanics claim this is common for that engine and will drive this car until it is dead."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The longer I own it the better I like it.,
July 20, 2008
By Tom E.
from Farmington Hills, MI
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned my '02 Aurora (V6) since August 2006. I was a great value then and I've grown to appreciate it a lot more since. It has 63K miles on it now and I've had a few minor mechanical issues (not too expensive). The fuel gauge has a mind of it's own and works intermittently. The Pontiac dealer said it's not worth the cost to open up the gas tank to fix the sending unit so I just keep track of fuel use and I'm o.k. I average 22 MPG (mostly city driving to and from work). Terrific car for the money."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 38 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2001 Aurora,
February 23, 2010
By 50609pm
from Central Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is my second Aurora. I've had this one since 2005 and I love it. It has 164,000 miles on it as of today. The one thing I don't like about this car is when it needs work, it is very expensive. I've had a few problems with it, but most vehicles that have over 150,000 miles do have trouble. I don't want to trade it off until I have to as I don't know what to trade for. I test drove a Cadillac the other day and my car was by far more comfortable. I'm hoping for 200,000 miles. We'll see."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
no comparison for the money,
May 12, 2008
By black4.0
from Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This car has been an absolute treat. It doesnt blend in with any of the standard GM cars. Its fast, with lots of power, reliable despite the Olds name (which any gm dealer still services and far cheaper than any cadillac to service) The A/C has been my only problem, but was fixed under warranty. Extremely comfortable to drive and great on long trips, spacious enough for 5 and has consistently blown away any bmw 5-series (short the 540i). Sleeper car for practically nothing."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 40 for 2001 - 2003 Oldsmobile Aurora
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Very Cute but too many problems,
February 10, 2012
By MEEKS
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:125
What's great about this vehicle?:Great look-great interior- very fast
What's not so great about this vehicle?:2 many problems-2 expensive 2 fix
ReviewOriginationID:f7a157d1-42f1-412d-bed8-098034b3e811
"I've had this car for the last four years and it is constantly in the shop. There are always minor things that always go wrong and repairs for this car are not cheap! My boyfriend has one too, and he has the same problems that I do. I bet these cars were great to have when they were new but they don't age well when it comes to breaking down and needing repairs. Also my car constantly stalls out but I haven't found a mechanic that can figure out what's wrong with it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 2001
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.