Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra

Average Customer Rating:
8.736 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
399 of 435(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Review 1 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Everything you need, nothing you don't.",
February 25, 2013
By JA90
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:107000
What's great about this vehicle?:Quick engine, great looking, ready for anything.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Expensive recalls, poor fuel economy.
ReviewOriginationID:2dab026bd5aa45b48421d7486be37228
"I completely understand when others express their dislike for the Xterra, and that's because it's not a vehicle for everyone. It is a specialty vehicle. If you just want a vehicle where you sit "higher up" to run errands and make your daily commute in, than the Nissan Xterra is not for you.
On the contrary, if you want one of the most powerful small-size SUVs on the market that can handle 5000 pounds trailing behind it, the toughest of 4x4 trails, rides stiff like a true truck, and isn't packed with useless luxury features like heated steering wheels and memory seats, than the Xterra is perfect for you.
It has an extremely well-assembled interior, with perfectly fitted easy-to-clean plastics being the main cabin material of choice. The buttons and controls for AC and the great radio are very well-placed, and the attractive cloth seats are very comfortable and easy to clean. The exterior is a love it or hate it; I happen to find the boxy, muscular appearance very rugged and cool.
Something that I did not expect out of the Xterra was the fact that the 4.0L 261-hp V6 engine is actually quite fast. You can blow past most sedans on the road from a red light, and highway passing (even at speeds upwards of 70mph) is very easy for the Xterra. It is very torquey at low RPMs and has another intense powerband around 4000 RPMs. This SUV does, after all, share a modified version of the celebrated VQ35DE engine found in the Maxima and 350Z.
Cargo space is more than adequate and the roof rack is best-in-class. Steering is deliberate and due to the short wheelbase the Xterra maneuvers somewhat like a large family sedan rather than a bulky SUV. Brakes are very responsive and smooth. The stock tires handle extremely well in rainy conditions, though I would recommend Michelins to enhance performance even more. True to its truck roots, suspension is a bit bouncy on pavement (which some may find fun), as it is tuned to handle off-roading purposes.
Being well over six feet tall, the Xterra is very top heavy -- slightly more so than your average SUV. Combined with a speedy V6, some caution must be exercised when rounding tight corners or making abrupt lane changes.
Fuel economy is dismal at around 14/20; and a 21-gallon tank makes spending $75.00 at the pump common. However, this is to be expected with a strong 4.0L engine like the Xterra's.
As with any used vehicle except maybe a Honda, there are a couple of technical service bulletins posted on 2005-2008 Xterras that are very serious. This includes the timing chain tensioners being inadequately constructed, an issue which will result in a slight whine upon acceleration around 80,000 miles. Unfortunately, this is a very expensive issue to resolve, costing around $900-$1,200 and requiring almost the entire engine to be dismantled. Another problem is the coolant leaking into the transmission fluid, leading to transmission failure. This is also a very expensive issue to take care of, especially if a full transmission replacement is involved. As with any used-car purchase, you should do your research so you know exactly what you're getting into.
In conclusion, if you know what you're buying and the Xterra fits your needs, there is simply no better choice. The 2nd generation Xterra speaks for itself, 2014 will be its 10th model year running. Kudos to Nissan for creating an awesome product."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2006
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Great Great!!!!!,
October 30, 2012
By David
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:80000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, Simplicity, Off-Road Capabilit
What's not so great about this vehicle?:A little bumpy, Not Luxury, Gas Mileage
ReviewOriginationID:cd2a5e6c26c14249987b8fee9bd09a41
"I have owned this Xterra for almost three years now and have put 60,000 miles on it. This vehicle has been absolutely amazing. I never knew the prowess and capability of Xterras until I bought this one. With around 260 HP stock, it has plenty of power and i have towed 6,000 Lbs with it flawlessly, although you could tell it was behind you due to the short wheel base. I bought it lightly used, 22,000 miles, for half the price of a new one. The offroad capability is AMAZING, especially if you have the off road version with lockers. Mine does not but it is still much more capable than any other SUV, besides a jeep. There was a competition in 2008 in Desert Valley and here was the final results:
Land Rover- 5th
Hummer H3- 4th
Toyota FJ-3rd
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon- 2nd
Nissan Xterra Off Road- 1st
Thats right Xterra won over the Jeep and FJ, but i still think jeeps are pretty good at getting just about anywhere but they are not reliable being made by Dodge which is a very unreliable company in my opinion especially compared to Nissan. My Xterra has never had any problems and the only things that have given me issues is my tires leaking which may be a valve stem problem or tire problem. This is NOT A LUXURY VEHICLE BY ANY MEANS. They are nice yes, but no bells and whistles, short of cruise control and CD Player. Its simple and the Xterra modo from Nissan is "Everything you need, nothing you don't". I will have to say awesome stero in it as well. Plenty of room inside, im six foot and there is still plenty of room for someone larger. Fair to good back seat leg room, plenty of headroom due to bump in roof design. Its not top heavy like it looks though. From what i understand the Xterra is a true SUV, where they took Frontier truck and boxed it in, theres your Xterra. Little bit of a bumpy ride compared to Chevy Trail Blazer. Awesome hatch space, when you open the liftgate the hatchspace is all hard plastic and when you lay the seats down, the backs of those is the same hard plastic so it can take spills, woods, heavy camping gear, whatever you want to put back there. Grey interior easy to keep clean, nice seats, double glove box, also hill descent control is a great feature that most come with. 4-low is awesome with huge torque increase and great limited slip. My buddies chevy 2500 HD 4WD got stuck going up hill but my X zipped up it like it was nothing while pulling the log splitter. I live on a farm in the smokey mountains so i have had it in plenty of snow, mud and odd/uneven rocky, and steep terrain. Never had any problem. Overall this vehicle is great. If your looking for a luxury vehicle this isnt it, maybe Pathfinder or next up from that but i dont know anything about those at all. If your looking for reliability, off-road capability and somewhat fuel economic this is you. The fuel economy with your foot on the pedal hard or towing or off-roading is about 14-15 MPG, if your easy on it you get 17-18 MPG combined highway and intown, and i drive both equally. NOTE: The only reason i get 17-18 is because i never take my vehicle above 2500 RPM, and i drive slow on backroads, 60 on highway, 70 on interstate. It will get worse if your get on the pedal at all but the power is there if you need it.
"
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Easy hill, but it shows how it doesnt spin in a bad spot. My sisters Trail Blazer would have never done that.
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2007
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
A new Hardbody,
March 13, 2012
By Big O
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:74000
What's great about this vehicle?:Power, seats, performance, style, utility
What's not so great about this vehicle?:fuel economy, interior needs 4 more inches
ReviewOriginationID:054151c8-6f53-4a41-8e81-ec6c23eb294e
"I sold my 95 Hardbody 4X4 extra cab before purchasing this used 06 in 2011. First off it lacks the appearance of high quality plastic, but there are ZERO rattles and there is nothing more annoying than a rattling vehicle. Nissan has the most comfortable seats of any vehicle I've driven and this one didn't disappoint. No big bells and whistles (Xterra S model) other than the basic AC, power windows/doorlocks/mirrors, cruise, vehicle dynamic control and 4 wheel drive. It's as long as my Honda Civic, so parking it in the garage or anywhere is a breeze. Oh, and it's turn radius is WAY tighter than my old Hardbody pick-up (that thing required a 5 point turnabout while this thing can do it in a simple u-turn). On the road it drives way better than my old pick-up, better braking, cornering, and LOTS more power. Off road it was adequate, but nothing like my old pick-up. The Xterra is more likely to bottom out and it's gearing isn't as low as my old pick-up, which makes for less rugged off-roading. I gave it a slight lift and the more standard (less sporty) 265/75/16 all terrain tires making it more capable off road, but more twitchy on the road. I love the commanding and unobstructed view I have while driving. I've used the interior and roof rack to haul all sorts of things including my mtn. bike, camping supplies, moving boxes, etc. I've also dropped the seats and used it like a little camper (if only it were 4 inches longer in the interior, then it would be PERFECT to sleep in). I've had no reliability problems and have owned it for about a year. If comparing this to the Toyota FJ, remember that the Xterra makes lots of power on regular unleaded while the FJ requires super unleaded fuel. The Nissan also has a more traditional door set-up, and better view than the FJ, because the FJ has some HUGE rear pillars that obstruct the view. No it's not as capable as a jeep wrangler is off-road, but it is all around more user-friendly and with a couple of mods, it is nearly as capable as the jeep. The biggest negative of the X is it's gas mileage (just like all it's comparable rivals). If it could consistently get 22 mpg, I'd sell my 4 cylinder Honda and only drive this. I can't wait to take it out again on a 4wheeling/camping trip. I love my Xterra! Funny side note, I accidentally left my dirty socks and hiking shoes on the top (not in the covered storage)of my X, drove up a rugged hill, 1 mile down a rough dirt rd, and down the road into Bishop, CA (approx. 10 miles). After picking up supplies I walked back to my Xterra and noticed what I had left on the roof! The rack and wind deflector worked very well and I'm sure it wasn't designed to protect loose socks and shoes. Thanks Nissan!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
Review 4 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
My 2nd Xteera. I LOVE THIS CAR!!!!!,
September 4, 2011
By Wezi427
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:27000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great price, engine, hill descent control is awsome.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:plastic interior needs to be changed in the next redesign.
"I had a 01 Xterra for 4yrs and I loved it. The only problem that i had with that vehicle was that it was very underpowered. When Nissan changed the the Xterra in 05 I knew that I wanted to check it out, and I did. The 01 that I had failed in comparison to me.
I purchased my brand new Xterra Off Road with the upgraded audio with auto/trans in October of 07. It is now 09/04/11 and I'm about to hit 27000 miles on the vehicle. I love this car. I hope that they never discontinue this vehicle. The engine is smooth and very powerful compared to the 01. The inside has not changed much, it's very basic with a lot of plastic. The cloth seats in the Off Road package are different from others (I think the SE trim can get it too).
The biggest change for me is engine, it needed it. I live in Philadelphia where the traffic varies. The past couple of winters we had a lot of snow, I never got stuck in it( I never have). I think that when you get 2ft of snow some of the newer SUVs and Cross Overs have problems with it. Look at the front end of a newer Chevy Tahoe. From the bottom of the bumper to the ground there is not much ground clearance. My car has no problems.
If you have more than 2 kids look for something else. No 3rd row seating, it's not big enough I would go with the Pathfinder. My son is almost 2 and he always wants to ride in my car. My wife has a 07 Murano (she loves it). My son likes how the rear passenger seats sit higher than the front. It allows him to see the rode. As the driver you have a great view from every angle. The seats are roomy and comfortable. I'm only 5'8 so it's not a problem for me.
I mentioned before how I wanted more power out of the engine and that is why I went with the 07. With this in mind you will burn a lot of gas if you live in a city. I knew that when I bought the car but, it's been worth every penny. I have a blast when I drive my car. One issue that I have with this car is that the front passenger power window seems underpowered compared to the rest of the windows. I had the same problem with my 01. I don't know if anyone else has had the same issue.
This is my 3rd Nissan, this includes my Murano that my wife drives. My wife and I are now loyal to Nissan because of the great quality products that they provide. I hope that they continue to make these cars.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2007
Review 5 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
The Mountain Goat,
January 27, 2012
By djohnson
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:69000
What's great about this vehicle?:Offroad capability, power, interior flexibility
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Fuel economy, soft rear suspension
ReviewOriginationID:50304534-1179-4bee-b169-3ee628245208
"I spend more time off road than most SUV owners, and I've found the Xterra to be almost unstoppable. I have the Offroad model, and it's incredible. The factory upgrades on this model add valuable ability when in the really rough stuff. They are: Bilstien shocks, electronic-locking rear differential, and underbody skid plates, and hill descent control if you have the automatic transmission. My Xterra has the 6-sp manual, which has also been spectacular.
On paved roads, the towing capacity of 5,000lbs seems conservative to me. I've towed a little over 4,000 several times, and the Xterra seems like it could do way more than an extra 1,000lbs. The engine is exceptionally strong for a V6-- power has never been an issue.
One thing that has been a bit under my expectations has been the gas mileage. I have a small lift (3 in,) and mud terrain tires, and those things certainly work against efficiency. I get about 14 or 15 mpg, highway or surface streets. Before I made those changes, I was regularly hitting 20mpg, so make sure you work that into the cost of the upgrades if you're considering modifications. Well worth it, IMO, but not a low-impact change.
The interior has been great. Really easy to clean, super versatile with the flat-folding front passenger seat, flat folding rear seat and sliding tie-down system in the trunk area.
Another thing that has been below expectations is the stock rear spring setup. It's clearly set up for on-road comfort, rather than hauling capacity or stiffness. When I packed the thing with camping gear for two people and a 90lb dog, the rear suspension regularly rested on the rubber suspension stops. That made the vehicle's stability less than ideal on the highway and the trail. I found a pretty simple fix for that with an after-market leaf spring system available easily online for about $300. I installed it myself in one day, and I'm not a mechanic. It has completely fixed the issue and not negatively impacted the ride in any discernable way.
Overall, I couldn't be happier with my Xterra. All of the sacrifices made to drive an extremely able off-road vehicle are totally worth it, and nothing currently available in the US is in the same class as far as every-day functionality, comfort, and capabilites. It's everything an SUV should be.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Powerful When Needed,
August 24, 2014
By Fuzzy
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:78000
What's great about this vehicle?:Competitive price, fun to drive, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Seat comfort, excessive speed in 1 Low
ReviewOriginationID:2403ed3e87894ea38c0a1b0389897a83
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:393332
"The Xterra S series had the hauling capacity we needed to build a home, the power needed to get up mountains weekly for skiing and hiking, and the lower price we wanted to pay compared to similar SUVs.
While building our home in another town, I was returning to our current home alone late on a winter night. I was almost to the top of a mountain pass at 10,000' or so and had to pull off to relieve myself. Because there was 3' of new snow I could not see the deep ditch I pulled into until it was too late. The Xterra was banked at quite an angle. I attempted to pull forward a few times but the off-road front tire could not jump the embankment. After a moment of panic and review of my options, I threw the Xterra into 4 Low, gunned it in reverse and spun the steering wheel so the back tires could jump the embankment. This was risky because if it didn't work my front tires would now be in the ditch. But it worked! Strangely enough the front and rear tires had enough power to push me out but not pull me out. Being a female by myself in this remote area under these conditions late at night was scary, buy my Xterra got me out of this bind for which I'll be forever grateful.
There are lots of useful gadgets on the S model that help with hauling, tying down, getting in, reorganizing, etc.
Highly recommend Yokihama Geolander ATS tires for this car for all season/all terrain use.
Items I've noticed that need improvement:
1) The seats, as usual like in 99% of cars, are very uncomfortable on both seat and back. The only car seats I've ever thought were comfortable in both front and back seats were my 1998 Aurora and 2005 Cadillac. I don't understand why manufacturers cheat on the comfort of seats and backs considering they are used 100% of the time. We are now looking for replacement seats by another manufacturer to improve comfort after using seat cushions and lumbar inserts for eight years.
2) While the Xterra has great traction, control, and clearance, when descending steep grades and using 1 Low to reduce speed and use of brakes, the Xterra still wants to speed up to about 20mph-too fast on steep grades and curves. The engine should slow the car down to 12mph max so the driver can control the Xterra without brakes.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NM
Year 2014
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
I fall in love every time I fill it up and wash it,
October 7, 2011
By Melbie
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:great for snow :) perfect for ALL baby gear.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas isn't the best but ok.
ReviewOriginationID:8e020608-46c8-4ac0-bdba-594f8cf9f26f
"We bought this car when we got into snowboarding. We traded in our Frontier, non-4X4, for the Xterra, with 4X4. I loved my Frontier but with the constant trips we were making to the snow and the fact that my frontier didn't have a lot of leg room for our backseat passengers it caused us to head over to the nearest Nissan Dealership. When I first got into it I was in love. It seemed so big and perfect for what we needed it for. After our snow season ended, I wanted my frontier back, but I still liked my xterra I just wanted my "truck" back. We bought it in March of 2007 but in May of 2007 we decided to go on a road trip to AZ from CA. My grandma sat in the back seat and she hated it. She didn't like that she was sitting on the rear tires and that it was super bumpy. She also didn't like getting in and out from the backseat. I didn't fully understand till we drove back from AZ and I sat in the backseat. Boy was she right. The rear tire takes 1/2 the back door which creates a problem getting in for an "old" lady. Since you are pretty much sitting the rear tire it is a bit bumpy. Once snow season started again I was I was still happy. My husband and I just learned we can't have grandma sit in the back even if she says she doesn't mind. December of 2008 I got pregnant. Which made my husband and I very happy that we no longer had the "truck" because a truck is NOT practical for a child. With the stroller and all his riding toys and bed for grandmas the xterra was perfect. Getting the baby in and out of the xterra is a big deal only b/c again, the rear wheel takes 1/2 the door. Of course I have traveled far and long with my xterra. We bought it with 10,000 miles and I have put over 120,000 miles on it on my own. The only thing I have done is replaced the tires and the oil. I still haven't done the 100,000 mile service but I know it needs to get done if I'm going to get another 120,000 miles out of it. Even tho I want a new car I really want to see how long I can keep this car running ;)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
LOVE my Xterra,
November 4, 2012
By peeking
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:90000
What's great about this vehicle?:great fun to drive, dependable, decent mileage
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no lock on glove compartment, visors break easily
ReviewOriginationID:b7434339d9d04edc9a9e88326656014f
"This is my second Xterra. My first was an '03 3.3 L, V6, manual tranny 4WD. I like a manual transmission and purchased the Xterra originally because it offered the vehicle size I wanted with the transmission & 4WD option. I enjoyed the 2003- but it was an XE- what, 170-180 HP? It was the basic model- no frills, but it did the job. I easily pulled out a 4 WD Tahoe that was stuck in mud and snow. Once the miles hiked, I went looking for a newer 4L, V6. IF you want an Xterra, get the 4L engine. My HP went up 265, but with the manual transmission I sacrificed MAYBE 1 MPG. The 2003 was a 5 speed- the 2005 is a 6-speed. I love this truck. With both vehicles I got between 16-18 MPG city (depending on a/c usage)and 22-24 HWY- the 4L tackles a highway very nicely. It doesn't ride like a caddy- but it's a TRUCK. It rides like a workhorse. A bit bumpy- but I expected it to do so. The back seats on this model lie fully flat- which was not the case in the 2003 model. Nissan also rigged the 2005 so that the back seats pull down much easier. I have a complaint about the visor set-up. Cheaply done - had to replace (and probably will have to replace again one day). Also would have liked to have had a locking glove compartment (which the 2003 did have). The 2005 has a timing CHAIN (remember those?). Very glad of that- and an option that allows you to start the engine (push of a button) without engaging the clutch. Nice. Plenty of power ports. I do wish my vehicle had the side curtain airbags- but maybe next time. I plan to hold on to this truck for a very long time. I drove out of state to find it. The manual transmissions aren't easy to get your hands on, but well worth it in my mind. Not sure I would say so if I lived in an urban area, but for rural, snowy weather this fits my needs perfectly. Oh, and I took it camping last summer - had a very comfortable sleep in the back for 3 days."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2005
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Competent at many roles.,
November 16, 2011
By francesco devargo
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:22000
What's great about this vehicle?:Capable off road, looks good, powerful.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Could be better equipped. More MPG's!
ReviewOriginationID:45b41890-fb17-4508-a8df-6a51883f4c49
"The Xterra isn't the fanciest, most comfortable, or most well equipped SUV, but what it does, it does well.
I've had mine in a great many different off-road situations, including once when I pushed foot-deep mud with my front bumper. The Xterra never even blinked. I was skeptical about "brake locking" (aka, traction control) for off-roading, but it works surprisingly well. When a wheel spins, that wheel is braked and the power goes to the wheels that have traction.
Doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but has the basics to be comfortable in everyday driving. I've pressed mine into service as a vacation hauler and it makes a decent station wagon, with enough room for my 5' 11" son in the back and lots of luggage.
Reliability has been good so far. No problems.
Great power and handling for a big vehicle. Gas mileage is only so-so (personally haven't gotten more than 20 mpg). Interior space could be better. Upholstery is cheap looking and stains easily. I added seat covers and now don't have to worry so much.
Mine developed a squeak somewhere deep in the dash that can occasionally be annoying. The cruise sometimes can't make up its mind at lower speeds, dropping several miles per hour below where I set it, then "waking up" and rushing forward so quickly that soon you're going faster than you want to. On the freeways, though, it's fine.
Lots of hauling room with the seats down. Sturdy roof rack with rooftop storage compartment, which is nice for carrying messy stuff outside your vehicle. And of course, the thing looks like it is ready for action.
If I had it to do again, I'd buy it in a heartbeat. I heard the Xterra is going out of production in the next couple years. I hope that's not true...I'd like to have another one."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Won't buy another,
November 20, 2013
By Truckeerr
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
What's great about this vehicle?:Versatile car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor gas mileage , Faulty parts, no Nissan support
ReviewOriginationID:eb8226715c374e8cbb898b8a8e0c4a0d
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:1376
"Original owner of a 2006. I bought this as my first Nissan based on a recommendation of a family member who use to own a Sentra. I really like the SUV, style, truck frame, all the different uses I get out of it and it's my only vehicle. My biggest issue is the fact the engine light is on more than off in the lifetime of the vehicle. Right after the warranty expired the fuel sensor went out and Nissan wouldn't help me replace it. Ok, warranty I get it. But then I saw lots of other Xterras with the same problem. After I spent $500 to fix that the engine light came back on and all 4 catalytic converters went out at 82,000 miles. I can't smog my car in California with out replacing and the quotes I got are around $4000 for all 4. That's a California thing since they are very expensive in this state. Then the transmission started acting funny and about that time I got a class action notice in the mail about some replacement money to help, but you can't have more than 100,000 miles and again I was just past that at 102,000. So I spent $800 fixing the leaky radiator which cause the damage to the transmission. After arguing with Nissan telling them they have put faulty parts in the Xterras and won't help out money wise with the bad parts I give up and will never buy a Nissan again. It's too bad because I really like the vehicle just not worth putting lots of extra money into fixing it all the time. My old Toyota went 300,000 with very little repairs and expense. Humm. Maybe my next one again. I don't feel Nissan backs up their cars in a reasonable mount of time to support car failures! Great car if you just want to park it most of the time."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Pros & Cons,
February 3, 2010
By tncb
from Omaha, NE / Council Bluffs, IA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Have had my Xterra for almost 3 years. Love it!! very dependable.
Cons-Wish the dash was a little more modern looking (mine's a 2005, haven't seen the new ones, maybe this has changed), Wish there was an armrest on the driver's side. Passengers say front passenger seat isn't comfy on long trips, I don't mind the seats. Little tricky for people to get in and out of back seat since the door openings are narrow. To be expected, top heavy when windy out. NOt the best gas mileage, and some wind noise when driving on the interstate....nothing unbearable. Have a check engine light that has continued to go on and off since I've owned, dealership says it has to do with the vent distributor on heater/ac....nothing serious. Also a rattle sound when I drive...dealership said that was due to hood mounts? To me it sounds like the shocks rattling, but nothing impeding the functionality and dependability of vehicle.
All "negative" things about it are all things I expected of an SUV, no suprises or extreme let downs.
Pros-Very spacious on the inside, all material on seats and interior is top quality, durable. Lots of storage compartments throughout. Great for hauling, seats fold down flat making tons of room for hauling. Love the hard plastic coating on the surfaces when all folded flat in the back end, don't have to worry about sharp objects ripping my seat material. Like all the tie down anchor spots in the back end to haul. Mine is 4wd and never had a problem getting around during the Iowa winters. Dependable, no serious care trouble
Love it, when it comes time to get a new vehicle I will be looking at Xterras again.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
05 Xterra,
April 24, 2010
By Original Owner
from Texas
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"I bought the 2005 2wd Xterra new and have regularly maintained it. The X definitely has power. I have never had problems passing. I like the interior and exterior from a functional standpoint. I keep the back seats down for cargo space, so no riders in the back seat. I get between 20 - 22 mpg, which I am okay with for an SUV.
I have had mechanical problems. The fuel level sensor module has been out a couple years. It's $400 for the dealer to repair / replace, so I just keep track of mileage. The cam shaft sensor has gone out, and I have had it replaced. The serpentine belt (or the tensioner) has squealed pretty much from 1 yr old on starting. Now the dealer says my timing chain/tensioner needs replaced. Nissan has issued a technical service bulletin (TSB) NTB09-128 for the timing chain (Nissasn also issued a TSB for the fuel level sensor module). A TSB means the dealers should be looking for the problem, but Nissan has no intention of fixing the problem for free of charge. My wife owned a Nissan 240 that basically fell apart at 100K miles (was going to cost more to fix that was worth), my best friend owned an Xterra that basically fell apart at 110K miles (SPENT more to fix than was worth, then sold after more problems), my Xterra has 100k miles. I will be trading it off soon!!! Great vehicle if you intend to get rid of before 100K miles.
The big question is: should your vehicle require major maintenance before 100K miles? If your answer is "yes" then you will have no problems with an X. If your answer is "no", then you should research other vehicles before purchasing."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
capable 4x4 gas hog,
December 7, 2010
By vtpenguin
from Vermont
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Purchased a used 2007 S model, 6 months ago. Put 15k miles on it in that time. This vehicle is a truck, not a car, so handles like a truck. I purchased this at a bargain price of $14500, compared to a brand new one, it was a steal. Great time to buy a 4x4 gas guzzler because everyone is buying subaru's and other small AWD cars.
Handling: even for a truck, is poor. My Mechanic can't determine why, but it wonders on the road a lot. Just the nature of the X, be prepared for it. It can be tiring to drive on long trips.
Quality: Nissan saved a lot of money by building the interior of this car out of cheap plastic components that break, crack, and scratch easily. Seat material is poor. Wear was very apparent when I purchased this used X. Engine is also noisy, and there is some moderate wind noise. I had a 04 X and it seemed to have better quality interior than this new design.
Capability: This is where the X shines, very powerful V6, excellent 4x4 capability and tows a 3000 pound boat with ease. Nissan clearly put an emphasis on the capability rather than the interior quality. With all that power comes a price, and it's paid when you fill up. With gas at $3.20+ per gallon, a fill up will cost you $60. That will move you about 350 miles, if you're lucky. Don't buy this car for the mpg!
Bottom line: for the 4 to 5 months of snowy driving in the northeast, the X is ideal. You're much safer in this SUV than you are in a small AWD car, and I won't put a price on my family's safety. This is an excellent vehicle. I will buy a new one when this one hits 150K miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Would not buy it again.....,
February 21, 2009
By FifthAvenue91
from Maine
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"The X is a ruggedly built vehicle with plenty of power. We have had the car for about 3 years, and the only issue so far was with a loose exhaust baffle, which the dealer took care of. The car goes along very well and has ample power. The seats are very comfortable and the X drives like a truck - no luxury ride here!!!
The downsides to the X are mileage and resale. The resale drops like a rock and you will do well to get 16 MPG. If you tow even a small trailer, count on 12 MPG or less. Had I known this, I would have gone with a bigger SUV - Explorers and Trailblazers both do better in terms of mileage. The dealer where we bought this told us to expect 20-21 MPG. As a comparison our last vehicle was an Explorer and we regularly achieved rated Highway MPG. We don't even come close in the X. The other downside is that you will have to buy all parts from the Dealer, including touch up paint and rear window wiper. The Transmission Fluid is also a Nissan Type J, which must be purchased through the dealer. This may not seem like a big deal, but if you keep your vehicles for a long time and utilize a local garage OR do repairs yourself, it does become a bigger issue.
The factory tires (BF Goodrich Long Trails) also needed replacement at about 32,000 miles. We did rotate the tires every 8,000 miles, but to no avail. We went with Coopers on the replacement, so maybe we will have better luck.
The paint does scratch very easily compared to other vehicles I have had. I would say that all in all, the X is okay, but I don't think I would buy another."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
perfect for active living with kids, dog, gear!,
February 23, 2014
By ully
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:1200
What's great about this vehicle?:powerful, compact, simple, practical, super fun!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:stiff ride, no extra space inside (not roomy)
ReviewOriginationID:d3a4a55824a1482780f3fb3d3a9e35a4
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:393338
"Just upgraded my older Xterra (2002) to a 2014 Pro-4x. I can't think of anything that is missing in this model! The upgrades are perfect down to the last detail.
The engine is much more powerful and is super spunky on the HWY. I love the heated leather seats and the plastic vs carpet in the back storage area. The matts in the back seat area cover the middle hump which keeps the carpet from wearing. This vehicle will be easy to keep clean! It has every 'techy' convenience but doesn't look busy and cluttered. The back seats fold down perfectly flat so we can sleep in the vehicle on road trips if needed. There are more storage compartments in this model for 'stuff' and they are really well designed. The vehicle is wider and feels much roomier. The driver and passenger seats also have more leg room.
I have always loved the Xterra for it's rugged design and sporty look. We live out in a rural area and deal with lots of snow and crazy road conditions. I've never had a problem. I also drive logging roads a fair bit in the pursuit of adventure...This vehicle handles well and can literally go places that no other vehicle can. It's pretty amazing! I would have liked to get the built in DVD players for the back seats...that's still to come :)
It is for sure a 'stiffer' ride than many of the SUV/crossover vehicles that offer a smoother highway drive but you quickly get used to the feel of it and it's worth it when you look at the trade offs. It's truly the best vehicle for family adventuring in alap seasons with kids, the dog and lots of gear!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location Canada
Year 2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Powerful, Fun, and Capable Off-Road Vehicle,
July 22, 2014
By Jim
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
Reason for Sale:Gas mileage, high mileage
What's great about this vehicle?:Power, off-road capability, 6-speed manual
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage, rear seat access, cost to repair
ReviewOriginationID:84783dafc68c44fe8654d605e103ca66
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:1378
"I had a blast with this car for 4 years before selling it to get a newer vehicle. It's surprisingly fast, but you'll pay for it at the pump, and otherwise its a rough and rugged go-anywhere SUV that isn't quite like anything else.
I sold it because I put a lot of miles on my vehicles, so I wanted something a little better on gas, plus it was just getting up there in mileage. It ran and looked great when I sold it with about 150k miles, and I (well, "we," including my fiance and friends) still miss it.
I took it from GA to Manhattan to Denver, and lots of places in between. I've slept in it, crossed rivers, crawled over boulders, got up over 115 mph on the highway, and hauled groceries and mulch.
The only time it didn't start for me was when I had a dead battery, and all we did was push it far enough to pop the clutch, and that got us to the auto parts store for a new one. I ended up putting a good bit into proactive repairs, but it probably could have gone without some of it. I'm an engineer, and like my vehicles running smoothly.
Two expensive maintenance costs to look out for:
1. Clutch (manuals only). The factory one is undersized, and will often go out before 100k miles. Dealers want around $2k to replace it due to the excessive labor required. Highly recommend replacing factory clutch with a Jim Wolf Technologies part, which should be a wash in cost.
2. Raditator/Tranny Leak (automatics only): Major issue with certain models/years. Wasn't a problem for me, but could cost you thousands if you have an automatic.
"
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location GA
Year 2006
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I bought two!,
April 17, 2014
By jabr
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:5000
What's great about this vehicle?:Value in functionality you need and iconic styling
What's not so great about this vehicle?:More MPG but not at expense of functionality
ReviewOriginationID:443cb129b3114a29b4e1c86a6a77828f
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:393332
"I bought a 2012 xTerra that I used for my hunting dogs and traveling cross country from MN to WA every other month or so. I have a love/hate relationship with the MPG. I wish for more MPG but at the same time I don't want the xTerra to lose it's iconic styling and functionality so I deal with it. I pretty much get around 18 MPG in ideal conditions cross country. Everything else I love so much that I just bought a 2014 model because I am afraid Nissan might stop making the xTerra. My wife also loves the xTerra so I said fine, I'll get my own.
I also like the xTerra because i feel like I am paying for value in functionality I actually need rather than junk I don't need. Example: I don't want or need a car that parks for me, stops for me, checks my blind spot or any other goofy safety computer junk. I like to drive and don't need help. I don't even care about the navigation or other computer and audio stuff. I would rather buy aftermarket and install professional sound. At the same time the stock navigation and audio are very good in the xTerra as long as you can deal with a subwoofer under your seat. I had to change that. Now power, braking, handling, off road capability, and iconic styling? I'll pay for that.
My 2012 has 70,000 miles and my 2014 has 5000. Neither has had any issues and am happy to have both of them. It gives us peace of mind that we can handle nearly any road or off road condition in MN and driving across country. Dogs are comfortable too in back with the seats folded down."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2014
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Little Red Wagon that Could,
June 20, 2012
By Cricket
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:161000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, Great Winter Car, Versatility
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Road noise, Gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:6ee731c789644e749e46f24002b6dc7a
"I have the 2002 S automatic with 4x4. I've loved the reliability of this vehicle!
I did the basic maintenance (oil, etc) and put two sets of tires on it while I owned. The only problems I had were: the temperature adjuster/resister which went out twice (there was a recall on this) and the fuel pump once (I had a local guy fix it and he botched the job somehow and the vehicle was running out of gas at a quarter of a tank. So from then on it was the dealer for fixing after that).
It survived the Wyoming Rockies and the Wisconsin winters with ease. I did one haul on unplowed roads from WI rapids to Tomah in at least 6 inches of snow without ending in the ditch or getting stuck! I also picked up a guy on the way to work one winter when his sedan was stuck in the snow. Done some hauling of our motorcycles and lots of yardwork mulch hauling over the years without trouble. You can't beat the driver's view (I changed from a toyota corolla which is low to the ground). I also like the tough look exterior which seems lost on the newer SUVs/cross overs.
On the con side... It does get a bit loud out on the highway and does get pushed by the wind. I would imagine any high profile vehicle would be pushed by the wind. The only reason I'm thinking of getting a smaller SUV is that I'm commuting a bit further now and would like a little better gas mileage but any AWD or 4x4 vehicle will suck down a lot of gas but I don't want to be stuck in subzero weather in a Wisconsin winter either."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great OffRoad Vehicle Plus Daily Driver-05 6spS4x4,
April 25, 2014
By JMAT
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:Affordable, Great Off-Road Capabilities.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas Mileage, Back seat space room
ReviewOriginationID:cf64525c1d46480ebf8bf7ecd3db5325
Make:Nissan
Model:Xterra
Vehicle ID:1455
"Please know, this SUV/Truck is very basic. One review I read said, "everything you need, nothing you don't." This is very true. Simple in necessities which is great for me. I don't need anything fancy. Great hauling ability and great trunk and over head space.
I have had this 2005 Nissan Xterra S, 6SPD, 4x4 for a year now. I bought it with 103k in miles. I now have 114k in miles. We had a rough winter and this vehicle helped move me and my family around with no issues. The 4WD really helps get through some tough thick snow with ZERO problem. Having this vehicle in 6spd stick is great because you can move in and out of problem situations and is actually pretty peppy for a V6 265hp vehicle. This Xterra will move when you want it too.
I did have to replace the rotors/brake pads but this is normal. I didn't have the service records but since then everything has been great. I also replaced tires with what was recommended, BF Goodrich Radials T/A. Ride is smooth and clean. I did get cloth seats which on long road trips are not very comfortable, I would suggest a seat cushion. Other than that, the X-Terra has exceeded my expectations. I believe this can go to 240k in miles. You just must keep up the regular preventative maintenance and it should be fine.
One Con that I wish I could change, for the size of this vehicle, the backseat space could be larger. I would allow for a little less trunk space for more backseat legroom. Maybe similar to the pathfinder in space size."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005 - Current Year Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Vehicle,
August 12, 2011
By Doug
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:112000
"I have a Off-Road 4x4 model. This is has been my daily driver since I bought it in 2005. It is a great vehicle and haven't had any serious issues with it. Being that it is in Minnesota the salty winters have caused some rock chips to start rusting, but that is my only complaint. I use it off road often and have never gotten stuck, even on some pretty trecherous back country goat roads where I probably shouldn't have gone in anything but a military vehicle. I am planning on keeping my X until it won't turn over anymore. I have read other reviews of people saying that car seats don't fit and the like. I have two car seats in the back of mine right now and they fit with room to spare. People do complain about the entry and egress from the back seat and the placement of the door handle on the rear doors. Personally I like how the back seat and doors are, I have gotten in and out of there plenty of times and it has never been a problem. I have upgraded a few things over stock in the last few years...nothing big...adjustable shocks and more aggressive tires. It is unstoppable now. I would definitely buy one again. Best in class power when it came out and still one of the top performers. I get 18/24 mpg which I know is way higher than EPA, but the math doesn't lie. I have towed large boats with this but you feel it a little once you get around 4500lb trailer weight...otherwise you don't really realize you are towing.
All around a great vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 2011
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.