Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra

Average Customer Rating:
8.694 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
511 of 553(92%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Review 1 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
No Power!,
April 23, 2008
By Mish
from New Hampshire
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"I bought my 04 XTerra new; left the showroom with 30 miles on it, so I felt I got a great deal on it ($19k with a trade in car.
Pros: Excellent in the snow. Bottom line is, I live in New England, have my entire life, and I still get nervous driving in inclement weather. So no matter what I drive, it NEEDS to get me through the long winters here without giving me heart attacks. This truck has definetely exceded those expectations.
It gets up a very long-steep hill in 4 wheel drive. When it snows, it's a total nightmare, and I have driven by people countless times this past year, and they're going backwards as I'm passing them. For that, I am eternally grateful I bought this truck.
It's not super fancy inside; very basic; so for people looking for extra fancy stuff, this truck does not have those things. To me, I couldn't care less. It seems to be built very well, and I've had friends over the years who have driven their XTerras till they die.. and go buy another, so I bought it due to their high recommendations.
Cons: This truck has very little power... especially excellerating onto the highway, people are always passing me flipping me the bird. You just can't expect a ton of power out of this vehicle in that regard, but it seems once it gets going, it's fine; it's just the initial pickup really is lacking here.
Fuel Economy is not great. Everyone knows this however, so buying one should not be of a surprise with the gas issue. I do not commute; if I did, I MIGHT trade it in; but I can go a full 2-weeks on a full tank; all city driving -- which costs me (right now..) around 50.00 bux to fill it.
It also isn't the smoothest ride I've ever owned; AGAIN... keeping in mind it is a truck, and it drives like one, it is what it is. With that said, I would definetely say that it is not a great highway vehicle; or a long smooth drive-vacation type vehicle as it's a very bumpy ride.
Also... an important note, not sure how other owners feel, but I've noticed on very windy days, (New England has them...) the taller - vs. wider build of this truck is such that the wind will take it.... and it tends to sway a lot on the highway at higher speeds, and there is some significant lean to it also; I suppose if you don't drive like a maniac on exit ramps, it's not that huge of an issue; and I suppose it's all a matter of getting used to driving a truck that looks like an SUV, but really is a truck in every way.
More smaller Cons:
Leg room can be an issue for some. I'd say for a driver over 6 feet tall, would find it too short. I am 5'10, (female) and I have plenty of head room; but admit that I would like another few inches in the leg area.
The gas and brake pedals are closer together than norm, so for a man with larger feet might find this akward. For me, I actually like it.
I also think the steering wheel should have 1-2 more upward pivots; since when I have it in the highest position, it's still a bit too low to my legs -- for my taste.
Over-all... I'm not the slightest bit upset that I bought this, again, it gets me through the awful New England winters, and that's huge for me. I also do not commute, so even though the gas mileage isn't great for a commuter, I have yet to feel that crunch.
I think as an overall value, it is a great value, and the back cargo area is large enough for all the things that owning a home brings.
I think I will keep it for a few more years, the pros outweigh the cons for me.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Almost bought another one,
May 20, 2008
By Jersey Chris
from Northern New Jersey
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought the Xterra because it's a truck. And I was going to treat it like a truck. I wanted a vehicle that would take the abuse and ask if we can do it again. I wanted to be able to be rough with it not have to worry about breaking something. It also was, and still is, one of the best-looking vehicles on and off the road.
I bought the truck band new and, as of writing this, have 181,000 miles on it. Other than changing the fluids on a regular basis, I've put so little money into the maintenance of the truck. Currently I have the original engine, transmission, and exhaust, although the exhaust is pretty ripe.
Early on, I took it off-roading on a few occasions and was incredibly impressed with the capabilities of a stock vehicle. I also use it to pull my 18-foot boat from my parents' house to the lake up some pretty steep inclines. The engine strains on the longer hills, so it can feel a bit underpowered. Acceleration is mediocre so don't expect to win any quarter miles, but then it wasn't designed to be fast. It's a truck.
The 4WD on the truck has never left me stuck, other than one time off-roading. Of course, half of us with stock trucks got stuck. In the snow, I confidently maneuvered around everyone else slipping and sliding all over the road. Even on inclines I was sure I'd have to get a running start from, I shot up from a dead stop while the other two cars struggled to creep along. The limited slip differential is a joke, though. Unless there is similar grip beneath the tires, too much gas will make one wheel spin. Just use a gentle toe. The 4 wheel low allows me to shoot up ridiculous inclines with ease and makes pulling the boat from the loading ramp child's play.
Comfort is perfectly acceptable in the front, but getting in and out of the back for tall people like me may have difficulty. The opening at the floor is very small and my size 14 feet need some contorting to get in and out. Thankfully, I'm the one who drives it, so it's not a big concern for me.
There's plenty of hooks for securing stuff in the back. Cargo space is good and the split fold rear seat offers more flexibility.
The 2000 Nissan Xterra has been wonderful. I'm not sure how much longer I'm going to keep it. I like to use it on the weekends (now that I just bought a more economical car for daily travel) but I would have bought another without hesitation if gas wasn't creeping up on $4 a gallon."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2002 XTERRA SE 4X4,
September 25, 2010
By CL
from Missouri
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have had my "X" for almost 7 years now and very happy with it!
I love the styling of the older models more than the newer boxier types. Everything holds together really well and takes the bumbs and grinds.
Performance is good for the size of the engine they put in the unit. Works for pulling U-haul or small car and can hold its own towing while going up mountain roads, dip in fuel economy is very noticable when doing this but your towing up a mountain. Otherwise towing on flat highway shows a very small decrease. Acceleration is pretty peppy for off the line goes and starting from the bottom of an on ramp going onto the highway (up hill in this case on a curve) I can hit 70-75 before I have to merge. Handles well at high speeds and evassive manuevers are above average.
Stock offroading is reduced to small trails and or mudding. I put on 31.5" tires under the stock setup and don't have a lot of trouble, a little grinding on the fender in a "cranked all the way to the side" turn.
Room is very extensive, back seats are good enough for a six foot person, a little cramping if in for a long ride with no stops. Driver and passenger seats are very comfortable and fit well, same problem on long drives but you can last longer in the front. Interior is very nice and accomadating and configures for your daily use, given the back seats can be laid flat.
With just the basic changes in oil and a trany flush when it was recommended, over 7 years i have had one major and one minor problem with it. The major problem: had to replace the steering gearbox at about 60k miles it cost about 2k parts and labor. I understand a burr broke off inside the gear set and caused damage to the gears making it almost impossible to turn the wheel. However i understand this was a fluke and is not common at all. Minor issue was a airconditioner leak that took about 20-40 dollars to replace and its worked fine sense. AC is a little on the warmer side for my taste but it could be low on coolant or a recharge could be in order. Also, upgrades for offroading ability are a bit expensive and limited but the options are there.
For 7 years old it has been really fun on road, off road and everywhere inbetween. It is small enough to be easily drivable, parkable and trailable while maintaining good space on the inside. FUN FUN FOR MORE YEARS TO COME!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Daily commuter and weekend warrior!,
November 17, 2007
By Jeeper at heart
from Riverside, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned my 03 SE since late 04 - it was a dealer demo with only 18K miles on it for $19K, and had the Rockford Fosgate sound package - The only addition I made was a cold air intake and that, by itself, made this beast as powerful as a Supercharged X - in the past 3 years I have put well over 125K miles and while I average 16-17MPG (gas is expensive) I fill er with 87 octane and it purrs just fine. I use this as my daily driver out in the field and have never had a problem (other than a flat tire, knock wood) - I change the oil at 7k miles (I'm cheap) but the mechanic says the oil still has life left when he pours it out. We use the X to tow our Jeep to camp, and have even come down Odessa Canyon in it once when we got lost - it did great for a 2wd.
The Xterra is a great all around SUV, it corners well and stops extremely quickly (I have been rear ended 4 times, but the tow hitch has save me from any damage all but once!) - The AC is good for cooling the entire compartment and the Rockford audio system is AWESOME, though with it Nissan could have installed a larger Alternator as when the bass is pumpin the headlights dim a bit.
Since it's a 2WD I dont expect it go go where my Jeep does but I'll tell you it has suprised me many times in the snow and on rocky inclines other SUV's would fail on while towing.
our kids love it due to the stadium seating they can actually see out the windows in their car seats unlike our old Suburban...
The V6 does consume gas, quickly, I estimate about 1$ worth ever 5 miles or so but the amount of gear I can fit inside and on the roof racks makes it worth it.
In 2005 we used it to tour the Western US, about 3500 miles in 10 days and it ran like a champ - even at high altitude in the snow and rain...
We love our X, if it got better Gas mileage it would be 100% perfect for us! (Hence the 4 stars in performance)...
I do plan to get another X when this one quits but I figure that wont be for another 100-200k miles with proper maintenance..."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
110k miles and going strong,
May 27, 2010
By Matt
from New York
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I purchased this SUV in 2005 with 22k miles on it already (2003 model). This vehicle is excellent on the beach, in the snow, general off-road, and just plain driving.
My friends with similar sized SUV's (Explorers, Trailblazers, etc.) always get stuck in that mid-summer, baby powder-consistency sand, even when they air down. My Xterra has only been stuck in the sand once, and that was when it was driving behind a super slow truck going up a 30 degree incline sand dune, and even then, all that was needed was to air down a little more, and rock it from reverse to drive a few times. No manual excavation necessary.
This ONLY complaint I have is the gas mileage...it is pretty awful, but that was to be expected, with it being underpowered and relatively heavy. It gets about 18mpg hwy and 13mpg street. Other than that, the car gives a somewhat bumpy ride, but again, this is expected since it is an SUV.
The interior is very roomy, and driving is extremely comfortable. I do not mind long road trips (I drive an hour to and from work every day, so my idea of "long" might be a tad bit biased). Not much has been needed to be replaced, only the battery, brakes/rotors/calipers, and air-filter that was upgraded to a K&N. Also, what I love about this SUV is that there are so many ways to accessorize the vehicle to make it unique. This car is EXTREMELY reliable, and has never failed me by not starting, unless I have left the lights on or something.
I highly recommend this SUV to anyone who enjoys the outdoors, but not so much to the long-distance commuter. Reliability, ruggedness and super comfortable - all in this SUV, and for not nearly as much money as comparable ones."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Piece of junk,
August 10, 2012
By Tom
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Not At All
1
Definitely
Approximate mileage:121000
What's great about this vehicle?:Height, full frame
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poorly designed, unreliable
ReviewOriginationID:6dfee828649b4ac78108c43f7d24f0b5
"My wife bought this car a few years before we got married and it has been terrible. It has leaked oil, antifreeze, power steering fluid and freon. It is poorly designed, using technology that was outdated for years in 2004. For example, it has a mechanical fan, and not an electric one - something which I thought no manufacturer still used even in the 1980s, let alone 2004 - which means the fan will rotate slowly when the car is at idle; not very good in the Arizona heat. It also still uses a distributor ignition which increases maintenance costs and potential problems. (For comparison, my 2001 Ford Crown Victoria has an electric fan, distributorless ignition, and four wheel disc brakes with ABS, and some people consider that to be an outdated design) We had to replace the radiator, water pump and just about every hose and belt on the car. The alternator is in a very unfriendly place on the bottom of the car, making it much more difficult to remove than it ought to be, considering how often they fail. The final straw came earlier this week when, at about 121,000 miles, a freeze plug on the back of the engine started leaking coolant. The only way to fix this is to pull the engine out of the car - no thanks, I'll trade it in and let the dealer worry about it.
On the plus side it does have a nice ride height and a full frame, the reasons why she bought it in the first place. Also the transmission has been relatively trouble free.
Bottom line - if you want to buy a car with a 1960s design and 1960s build quality then buy a 1960s car, not this one.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2004
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2nd Owner, No Regrets!,
August 29, 2011
By Bosleydog
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51200
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive, looks neat, very usable for the active outdoor lifestyle
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Little tight for me, not super fast (but then again no speeding tickets)
"I bought this Xterra sight unseen from the original dealer in Texas 3 years ago over the internet. Clean car fax, nice pictures and dealer reputation sold me. I've wanted one for a few years, liked the looks and styling and 'utility' of it. I flew down, drove it back 1000 miles.
I picked it up with 37k on it, today it sits with 51k. It is a fun truck, I have the i4 (2.4l), bare bones no power package, no 4 x 4, manual trans, ice cold AC, upgraded stereo. It just runs - snow, ice,rain, whatever - it sits high and looks like a 4 x 4 though it's not. It will run 80 on the highway (all day) but I like to keep it closer to 70 as the engine works pretty hard to keep that pace. I tow a camper trailer (2500#) and a bass boat (2000#)with no issues whatsoever.
I want my kids to drive it as I can't bring myself to part with it but neither are interested, the scorge of having two environmentalists in the family! I'm 6-03 a little over 300lbs and I fit fine but long trips to West Virginia for white water rafting or out West for camping can make me sore and I'm a little cramped. I like being able to put bags of ice on teh rooftop or wet clothes from rafting without getting the interior a mess. Everyday driving is fine and it runs like a top.
I keep up on all maintenance and every squeak and I've decided to sell since no one else wants it in my stable.
I downgraded the comfort for my own reason above. recently I bought a larger car I fit better in and can tow as I need. The space in the garage is needed for another acquisition."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2003 Xterra reliable and fun for active families,
April 3, 2012
By CC2
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, roomy, fun to drive, great looking NICE
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Gas mileage is not so good - but we got used to it
ReviewOriginationID:f61270c5d9f8448f9c190db043253437
"We bought this car in 2005 when we had a new addition to the family. We no longer fit comfortably in our smaller car or our pick up truck. So this was a very good option. My husband was very picky about the smaller SUV's because he thought some of them looked feminine and the Xterra seemed a little more rugged. We both agreed it was a very cool looking suv. I cannot believe it's almost 10 years old. The way it runs is the same as the day I bought it and I bet it lasts another 10 years or more. We have had one issue with it, the air conditioning went out in 2009 and we had to have it fixed. Apparently this is common do to a hose that isn't designed well on the A/C for this car. But other than that, the only things I've had to do to maintain is change the oil, brakes twice, and bought a new set of tires in 2009 which replaced the stock tires. It's seen several road trips to the beach, to Nashville, to Charleston, and we drive it through the Blue Ridge Mountains every year when we go camping. The Xterra is a great vehicle for families who love to camp or take trips to the beach! Stock cd/radio and speakers sound great. In fact, I am very impressed with the sound system in this car. I really cannot say enough good things about it, it drives well and it's never let me down...not even once. If you're in the market for a smaller SUV, I highly recommend you consider the Xterra."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2003
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Pretty Good for price.,
January 12, 2012
By sevtmt
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:89000
What's great about this vehicle?:Very reliable, great off-road, good design
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Poor MPG, a little noisy, slightly underpowered
ReviewOriginationID:a6ca98a9-162e-4d9c-9650-cfc018fef9ff
"I've owned this vehicle since 2004 and it has served me well. No major mechanical issues at all - just a new battery and some brake pads. I have good snow tires on it, added a Thule roofrack for bikes and skis, and a tow kit to haul a small camper. I like the interior design: the back seats are high up so people can see out, the controls are simple and straightforward, the premium 6-disc sound system is awesome(!), and the back seats fold down for cargo storage. It actually drives pretty nice on the highway and feels stable and safe. Off-road it rocks. This is a great vehicle for an outdoor enthusiast who wants a dependable vehicle with decent cargo space and good off-road capability but does not want to overpay for a Toyota. I never worry that I'll get stuck anywhere in any kind of weather. Now, the downside. It does not great great gas mileage - only about 18 - 20 highway, depending on what kind of tires you run. It is a little noisy on the interstate but then, I'm not expecting this to outshine a Cadillac in that arena. Lastly, I wish it had a little more power. There is a turbo model but mine is the regular 6 cylinder. Fine for most driving but not great for towing heavy loads (though I have). Of course, it gets eaten alive by my wife's monster Chevy Suburban V8! Oh well, I still love my Xterra!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MT
Year 2003
Review 10 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I'm INLOVE...,
September 19, 2009
By Nissan~Isuzu Girl
from Eldred, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I'm a die hard Isuzu fan. I've had 2 first generation Troopers, 1 first generation Amigo, and 1 second generation Rodeo. I LOVE my Isuzus. I never thought I'd stray from them.... until I got my '99 Rodeo and it was nothing but a nightmare from day one and I decided that second generation Isuzus are NOT nearly as great as the 1st gens--I will NEVER own another newer Isuzu again! I had the Rodeo finally figured out and was starting to really like it when I came across a 2000 Xterra at a tiny dealership with 5 SPEED written on the window in huge white letters!!!!!!! I traded my automatic Rodeo at the drop of a hat--I've always hated automatic trannys--and I can honestly say that it is THEE best trade I could have EVER made. This Xterra is the most wicked beast on the road! It's solid and quick and gets decent gas mileage for a 6 cyl. SUV. It has NO power options whatsoever. The A/C doesn't work. It doesn't even have tilt wheel! But, I am madly inlove with this thing and I think everybody needs one!!!! This truck rocks, and as tough as it is to admit it, I think I'm turning from my beloved Zu's a bit. I'll always love Isuzu, but I'm thinking this won't be my last Nissan. Drives like a dream, LOTS of room like crazy-mad, looks wicked, soooo fun, indestructable--Great vehicle. Get one. You'll like it! :)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Very reliable! Hold their value well too!,
February 4, 2012
By NisaanLover
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:95000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, good handling, last a lifetime
What's not so great about this vehicle?:less than desirable gas mileage, plain jane
ReviewOriginationID:d005cdac-0e6e-4834-882e-645686304efc
"I purchased my 2004 Xterra SE approximately a year ago (obviously used). It had right at 70k on it when I bought it, and now has 95k.. No mechanical problems, runs like a dream, and handles extremely well for an SUV. I have encountered a few minor issues, such as my headliner separating from the roof near the windshield, but it was an easy fix. Just recently my window has been sticking, might need a new motor or have a loose wire in the door, but not a big deal because I just give it a second to catch up and push the button again and it rolls right up..
Don't get me wrong I LOVE my Xterra, I have admired them ever since I was old enough to remember.. It is a great vehicle and I do not regret the purchase whatsoever.. The only reason I am considering selling mine now is because I would like something a little more luxurious, but that's what the pathfinders are for! haha Xterras are great for guys or gals who would like to go off-road or don't need all the bells and whistles. Oh, one more thing!- it handles well in the rain, and snow! Nissans run forever, so don't let the high miles of some for sale fool you, I'd almost guarantee any Nissan for 300k or better.. including Xterras, I see 02-04 models with 200k plus selling for 5-6 grand around here.. X fans are like a cult, welcome to the family :)"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location KY
Year 2004
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
great affordable off-road vehicle,
December 7, 2011
By Jayed
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:134000
What's great about this vehicle?:great afffordable off-road vehicle
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not for the overly tall
ReviewOriginationID:1c58da61-9c5d-4cc0-814d-294c5021f4a8
"I bought my Xterra at 68,000 miles and have put on 66,000 miles in 3 yrs- aside from basic services, i've only had to replace the fan clutch (about $400). My Xterra is currently at 134,000 miles and running great!
Mid-sized can be an issue. although its taken 5 girls on a 14 day road trip, camping across America and fit all the outdoor equipment, luggage, and people inside, it was not very comfortable in the back. Think they call it stadium seating but the rear passengers require at lease a 4 hr rotation which is fine since I go through a tank of gas about every 4.5 hrs when traveling 75-80mph.
Plastic- although at first glance, the Xterra looks a bit like a toy, the plastic has saved me from a lot of superficial spending- I have bounced off and even leaned on boulders, etc with very little damage to my bumpers- I can't count how many people have nudged my bumper in the parking lot without a scratch. The only issue I see is a bit of rust in a few spots but thats northern vehicles unfortunately and purely cosmetic.
Off road performance is awesome! I've traveled in the mountains through deserts from Minnesota winters to texas monsoons to high noon in Death Valley, CA with no issues- very reliable SUV and if they hadn't bulked up the latest models, I'd be purchasing the next series."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2004
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
BEST Vehicle Ever,
July 5, 2011
By Rafty981
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:72000
What's great about this vehicle?:Most AMAZING vehicle ever! Love the look, love to drive it, love to loan it for others to drive.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:NONE
"I purchased a 2000 Nissan Xterra in June 1999. Yep, one of the first to hit the market in my area! My family always FREAKS when I purchase a brand new car....meaning a car that is JUST hitting the market for the 1st time (I did the exact same thing in 1996 with the Toyota Rav). I have never been disappointed in either of those choices.
My Xterra has driven across the country (starting or ending in NC), Canada, the Yukon and all over the state of Alaska. Other than a few minor issues (the rear windshield wiper motor has gone out twice; both times during the extreme cold winter temps in AK and BOTH times was replaced under warranty.), I have NEVER had any issues with my Xterra.
My family LOVES it so much that when I first moved to AK from NC, they were all borrowing my car and loving every second of driving it. We now have three Xterra's in my family; all different model years, but they all run remarkably well including mine that has been here since the beginning and has traveled through some of the worst driving conditions around. The funny thing is, while mine is the oldest and most widely traveled, the other 2 have the most mileage on them and they run like a dream.
LOVE LOVE LOVE isn't enough to cover how we all feel about our Xterra's and we recommend them ALL THE TIME!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2000
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 Year and 225,000 Miles still going,
June 22, 2009
By mrewing
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I got my Xterra in July of 2000. As of the end of June, 2009, I have almost 225,000 miles on it. During that time, I have had cracked exhaust manifolds which had a recall on them and a leaking rear main seal. I have also replaced most of the suspension (lower control arms, tie rod ends, etc) parts because the Xterra had a hard time staying in alignment. Most of the suspension problems was because I go off road a lot and because of the high miles. The rear main seal problem was the most expensive to replace and went out at 210,000 miles--which is very good for any vehicle--and every vehicle will eventually have this problem. I have also replaced the radiator twice, battery, tires, and had the brakes done 3 times. The original rotors are on the truck, which is quite remarkable since most cars get a new set every 75,000 miles.
The vehicle is very, very, very reliable. I have never known a vehicle that is as reliable as the Xterra. I intend on putting another 200,000 miles on it before I give it up.
The only reason I gave it low marks for performance is Nissan put a lot better engine in it for the 2006 model year. The engine in the 2000 model year was the old Passport engine and it is not a very powerful engine. It runs forever but the newer engine was a lot more powerful."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
218,000 miles strong,
August 8, 2009
By MChen
from Montana
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We bought a 2000 XE in 2005 w/ 98,000 and have put over 100,000 miles in 4 years, including quite a few miles in 4wheel. She's still going strong and we love her.
She could certainly go a little quicker up the big hills on the interstate, but when you put her in 4-low she'll crawl her way over anything it's sensible to drive up, and we're talking some of the worst, two track, off-camber roads in the lower 48. She's been to just over 20 states, withstood the heat of Arizona and the cold of Montana.
We've had to replace a fuel injector and do a little work on the exhaust system cause the previous owner let the underside rust up a fair bit, but otherwise she's going strong.
We also do quite a bit of work on her ourselves, it's a bit of a hassle to change the oil as you have to remove the skid plate, but changing the transmission fluid is easy enough and the shocks aren't so bad... brake rotors rust up pretty quick, but again, that might have been the previous owners not dealing with the salt in the midwest :( She's been a pretty easy vehicle to sort out and handle regular maintenance on our own, but if you drive a lot of gravel roads, put some lock-tite on the skid plate bolts as it's easy to loose those guys when you're not being careful!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
August 16, 2008
By Beezer
from Cincinnati, OH
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought the Xterra new in 2003. I have 75,000 miles on it and planned to drive it another 3-4 years since it has been paid off. I've only done routine maintenance and it has been the best car I've ever owned. It's dependable, rugged, and fun to drive. It's also very safe. This past week, I was driving home from work and a car came across the center line and hit me. I swerved to avoid but he still hit me on the driver's side right behind my door on the back seat door. The imact spun me around and the car behind me hit me again on the front wheel. That impact flipped me over on the driver side door in a ditch. The air bags deployed and I was wearing my seatbelt. After the inital shock and help from a passerby, I was able to crawl out the passenger side door. Besides bruised ribs and some miscellaneous bumps and bruises, I was able to walk away. I totally credit the Xterra for saving my life or at least preventing serious injury. I'm waiting on the adjuster to check out the car. I'm hoping it's not totalled and I can have it repaired (which the auto body shop says can be done). Yes, I might pay more for gas as it only gets 16-18 mpg, but I'll take that hit if it can protect me and take a hit like that. I would recommend the Xterra to anyone!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Take it back!,
March 14, 2011
By Anonymous
from OKC, OK
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
"I have a 2004 XE and it has been nothing but trouble. I bought it used in 2006 and I have had it in the shop every 4 months since then. I have replaced: radiator, wiring, spark plugs, fuel pump, patched oil leaks, water pump, two hoses, the battery, the steering column and multiple filters. I know some stuff is just standard, but I swear it's felt like I have re-built the car from the ground up. The bumper is a joke and mine came loose after an ice storm. The car has zero power and has trouble accelerating. I can't run it over 65mph or the engine starts to struggle and over-heat. I wasn't expecting luxury when I purchased this car, but I was expecting something tough and reliable. I haven't dared to take it off-roading, I don't think I would make it home. It was just a sad purchase and a horrible mistake on my part. I was excited to buy my first Nissan, considering their rep, but I don't think I will ever buy another. The whole experience has ruined it for me. I would not recommend this car to anyone. STAY CLEAR and if you just purchased one, make sure you bought that 100,000 mile extended warranty because with this car you will need it. TAKE IT BACK if you can. Good news is that I am onto something better and will be rid of the car soon."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 18 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
its a beast,
December 16, 2009
By NORDMK1
from clinton twp, mi
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought her brand new in 2000 and I have had her vertical (YES UP and DOWN) She has caught air, been in some really nasty mud and made it out on her own, she has seen and survived a Montana snowstorm, She has towed a full size trailer with a modified jeep on it (well over her weight limits) She has been driven from Jacksonville Florida to Knoksville Tennesse multiple times, from Florida to Bremerton Washinton from Washington to Davenport Iowa and back in march of 03, from Washingtom to San Diego California, from San Diego to Bioloxi Mississippi and back, and Just recently driven from San Diego to Detroit. She had her transmission rebuilt at 120,000 miles, replaced shocks once, belts once the red paint is a little faded due to the Flodida, Califirnia, and Mississippi sunlight but there is no rust at all. She still jumps off the line and will squeals the tires. I will be buying another Xterra when she finally dies, but I dont see that happening anytime in the near future. I may just get her repainted just to pretty her up. She has been in one accident but the yellow pole one broke her turn signal dented the bumper and the quarter pannel...I wasnt driving and I appologized to her for letting someone else driver her once I fixed her."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Rock Solid for 10 years and Counting,
January 6, 2012
By Stonewall
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:155555
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, versatile, Reliable, stylish
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Rough Hwy Ride, Metric Rims, AC died
ReviewOriginationID:d4be49d2-e209-4b27-bdef-f282eb5bb328
"My wife and I have owned this car for nearly a decade now. We have the basic XE model and it has been amazing! 2 wheel drive, 4 cyl. 2.4 L and no complaints. The factory CD player and the AC are the only two things we've had to replace. The AC was expensive, but it was well worth the investment. I used to wish it was a V6, but I love the manuel 4cyl. This thing has literally been everywhere and in all conditions and has always come out smiling. We've even had a few minor accidents in it and she's held up very well. Got rear-ended by a big American sedan and it totalled the sedan. All it did was put a dent in my bumper and break a license plate light!
We wanted a family car, but we were in college, liked to camp, and didn't want a minivan. Yeah, it's not the most convenient ride for two carseats, but it was our soul vehicle for 9 years! Everyone likes it. I like the rear stadium seating and the fold down back seats. The motto is right: "Everything you need, and nothing you don't." Highly Recommended truck. I will drive this until the wheels fall off...literally. And then, I'll probably replace with another Xterra. VERY RELIABLE."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2000 - 2004 Nissan Xterra
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2004 Nissan xTerra SE S/C,
June 9, 2010
By Chris
from San Diego, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My dad bought this car when I was still in high school in 2005. I didn't even have my license but I'm glad I was able to acquire it. It had 25k on it and was previously driven by a single business woman. It now has around 65k on it. I have had zero issues with the engine, steering, braking, handling, or any mechanical issue. Great reliability! I surf, skate, snowboard, bike, and do every sport. It is extremely versatile and in all weather conditions.
Exterior-wise.. it is the classic look, not the new more lego-like build. It doesn't look outdated.
Interior.. plain. not ugly. simple. ease of use is essential. Rockford Fosgate sound system is absolutely amazing for stock!!
I do have a few cons that I wish Nissan couldve addressed:
the 50/50 fold down seat rather than the 60/40. no mp3 hardwire capability with the RF system. seats could be a bit more comfortable on longer rides. and finally gas cost is rather high. does well on the freeway, but city driving seems to kill it.
Overall the xTerra is a great reliable fun car to drive. Great for offroading even in 2wd. very utilitarian. perfect for people who are adventurous!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.