Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder

Average Customer Rating:
8.683 out of 10
8.7
 out of 
10
155 of 164(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Review 1 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Can't ask for more,
January 29, 2014
By boosmom1103
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:152000
What's great about this vehicle?:Runs great, fits a faily of five plus a dog.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:`No cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:ec77cc7fcdb04cb391185d37b54f1ac9
Make:Nissan
Model:Pathfinder
Vehicle ID:8183
"I have had my Pathfinder for three years now. I have done minor work to it. Tuneup, brakes,and new exhaugt. It run perfect. Got to get the Japan made one. They run very well.
I will be keeping it for a long time. All it truly needs is cup holds.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1995
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this vehicle,
November 20, 2013
By starrydancer
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:245000
What's great about this vehicle?:got a good price, sits up high, very comfortable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders lol
ReviewOriginationID:88dc9f9b92c7470a980a7e01b066c741
Make:Nissan
Model:Pathfinder
Vehicle ID:10968
"owned it for about 3 yrs now - had to replace a radiator hose & radiator - other than that normal maintenance - very reliable, easy to drive, holds a lot, fun to take camping"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 1993
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Like a part of the family,
November 3, 2013
By nature girl
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:230000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, safe, cargo and passenger vehicle, 4 x 4
What's not so great about this vehicle?:so-so gas mileage,
ReviewOriginationID:ab2b88354d8c485fb4864e8276be90e7
Make:Nissan
Model:Pathfinder
Vehicle ID:10963
"I had a 1991 Pathfinder Red like the picture above in my family for three generations. The last person to drive it was born in 1990. She hit the back of a U-haul truck that suddenly stopped in front of her and damaged the head light assembly, pushed the fender in and scratched the hood. At this point the rust/rot was bad enough not to fix it. It was a very sad day when we drover her to the junkyard :( She was a good old friend. She was very versatile but, not very good on gas. She was a looker. I changed the timing belt apporx every 60k miles, and needed a new transmission at 140,000. She moved cargo on roof racks, barreled through snow with 4 wheel drive, drove country streets, city streets in NY, as well as back roads. There wasn't anything this faithful truck couldn't do that was asked of her. She carried a child from an infant; and, when that child learned to drive, she was her one and only. In 20 years this Pathfinder served us all well."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1993
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Love my baby!,
June 29, 2013
By Miss Mary Mac
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:187500
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun, Versatile, durable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bad gas mileage
ReviewOriginationID:fcd8cdc6f4f040cf949e757920f55b55
Make:Nissan
Model:Pathfinder
Vehicle ID:8183
"Bought my Pathfinder from my brother about 5 years ago. Great truck! I love how high it sits, there are practically no blind spots and so far an amazing ride.
He handles offroading great, and has only broken down once, and even then was easy to repair. (Blew the alternator last weekend) He always passes Emissions with flying colors and has a nice, big trunk for groceries or having fun. ;)
My only complaint is the gas mileage, but I guess you can expect that on most older trucks. All in all, very pleased!
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1995
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome reliability,
June 27, 2013
By Jane
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, good looking, roomy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:none
ReviewOriginationID:2099beb96fd44c448f6c4ba0a34c89de
Make:Nissan
Model:Pathfinder
Vehicle ID:9617
"I've owned this car for 13 years and it has been (by far) more reliable than the toyotas and honda I've owned. Love it!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1994
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
I like it, I don't love it, not gas economical.,
October 13, 2012
By Chevy1Nissan2
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:201050
What's great about this vehicle?:Dependable, passes the Cal smog check always.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not gas efficient.
ReviewOriginationID:00b176818deb4497a5604aa5335cd7cc
"I hate the lack of gas efficiency, i'm very very frugal,but I love that it passes the California smog check each and everytime (unlike my 1991 Honda Accord),despite that i've owned it since 2003, and I love the comfort."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1993
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great shape,
March 19, 2012
By veteran
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:95516
What's great about this vehicle?:very clean, low mileage and reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Husband was a smoker until 5 years ago.
ReviewOriginationID:dccd0dfd-aca2-407a-91a3-4a0d2236c589
"My husband purchased this SUV new. he loved it and only drove it 95,516 miles since he brought it home from the dealer. During the warranty period all work was done by Nissan. After the warranty all service was performed by a local mechanic we have used for 29 years. Due to the passing of my husband I want to sell it because i have a small car and i can't get used to driving such a big vehicle."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NJ
Year 1995
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
better than average suv,
February 23, 2012
By crow
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:easy to drive and goes anywhere
What's not so great about this vehicle?:poor fuel efficiency and under powered
ReviewOriginationID:9fcac6b4-b711-410f-831a-365c226688ca
"Hope this is helpful."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1992
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best vehicle i've ever had,
February 20, 2012
By cricket
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's great about this vehicle?:easy to get around in, easy to get in and out of
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders, thats it
ReviewOriginationID:33e69581-24db-4cbd-b140-b2945ca020e8
"This is my second pathfinder, i will have another when this one ever dies."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MECHANICALLY SOUND!,
February 5, 2012
By T
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:324000
What's great about this vehicle?:VERY MECHANICALLY DEPENDABLE!
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needed a stronger engine for towing 4 Wheelers
ReviewOriginationID:65030184-9f6d-4866-9862-03dbe7cbb827
"~100 ALASKA miles per day. Vehicle continues to go go go...a little maintenance really PAYS off! would still be my daily driver, but the AK backroads winter salt finally began to show after 13 yrs, I needed a stronger engine for towing. VERY reliable vehicle! It is a back-up vehicle now"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AK
Year 1994
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This thing is "Bullet Proof".,
January 23, 2012
By Chuck
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:350000
ReviewOriginationID:b98fe73d-3f29-4974-aa08-4611d4d573c6
"Keep up the maintenance and there is no end to how long these things will run. No major repairs, and it purrs like a kitten. I bleieve it will make at laast 400,000 it may even reach 500,000 miles."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 1995
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
One of the best,
January 18, 2012
By Nissan1011
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:everything is great
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not very gas efficent
ReviewOriginationID:98d457ba-99da-4f0c-a534-f855e27448b7
"i have owned a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder since 1996 i have had nothing but great things from this vehicle and it still runs today. keeping up with the new vehicles on the block. working having to travel a lot, with home health so it was a plus that the vehicle was very reliable. since we have owned this vehicle we have only had about 2 problems with it. that would be water pump went out one time, and the steering while lock. no transmission problems what so ever. every time we are looking to purchase a new vehicle, the 1st place we look is Nissan."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1995
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This has been the best car ever made. LOVE IT!,
January 11, 2012
By Beenyque
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:185000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable and fun to drive
ReviewOriginationID:f71c5923-412f-4d18-98a4-01ee951e0c67
"I bought this car new and it has NEVER let me down. I have never been stuck in the snow, even in major snow. Although the years have taken a toll on the paint (we live where they salt the roads in the winter and no paint is able to withstand that)it still looks wonderful. My two sons have learned to drive a standard transmission on this car and it still remains a faithful friend to us."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location UT
Year 1992
Review 14 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing dependability and longevity!,
January 11, 2012
By A-Bear
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:188000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, powerful, unbelievable value, longevity
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Absolutely nothing!
ReviewOriginationID:4ace656f-c25f-41f4-9432-3b0b0a9c2e0b
"I absolutely love my 95 Pathfinder! It has been the most reliable and has required the least maintenance of any vehicle I've owned- 188,000 miles and still going strong. In the 9 years I've owned it, I've only replaced the starter, a thermostat, and a water pump. Powertrain, tranny, and engine are amazing: we call it 'The Tank'!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid,
January 11, 2012
By derpy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:220100
What's great about this vehicle?:power, handling, room, drive train
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders, low economy
ReviewOriginationID:82331bc4-4d0f-43ea-a80a-d22da50799e8
"What can I say? Over 220K miles on it it has never needed anything more than tires and an oil change from me. The 4 wheel drive went out on the front passenger side last winter but I've font that it rarely requires 4WD and if it is getting stuck 4WD doesn't help (in Western Washington mud). My favorite thing about it though is the on road handling. It always feels planted and solid but has enough power to drift comfortably if you want to and can actually exceed the speedometer by almost 30MPH. I've beat this car and it seems to enjoy it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WA
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliable Always,
January 9, 2012
By Eugeneguy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliabilty, capability, ruggedness
What's not so great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, no cup holders, road noise
ReviewOriginationID:ebdcce63-9fce-408e-8b03-a9d525a02096
"Only a couple problems over 170k: exhaust manifold leaked as per most of these V6s, and was repaired. Only gets ~16mpg overall, though. Excellent in the mountains, snow, etc."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OR
Year 1995
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best 4x4 ever for a small suv,
January 6, 2012
By boosmom11
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:4x4 works great, motor runs forever
What's not so great about this vehicle?:check diff and trans
ReviewOriginationID:e4f1a124-5487-4ba4-826e-f2fc57fca355
"I have owned many suv and 4x4s the pathfinder is way more the what I wanted. Handles well. corners great and I never used the 4x4 in snow. I was in 3 feet and I came out of it in 2 wheel drive."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location ID
Year 1995
Review 18 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Great SUV for winter driving, and great power.,
December 9, 2011
By hidden07
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:77100
ReviewOriginationID:02e4a7aa-4d9a-436b-b8ea-f12230dade2c
"I have owned this car for almost 5 years, and have had little or no problems. Last year's blizzard I was one of the few vehicles on the road. Great 4 wheel. Wish it had cup holders"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WI
Year 1995
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
decent running,
December 1, 2011
By rita
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Reliability: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Not At All
6
Definitely
Approximate mileage:207062
ReviewOriginationID:5e79fa98-fe59-4b8d-93c5-6cd0f5c42075
"has flaws on inside and out just had tranmission worked on"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 1995
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1987 - 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
The perfect small SUV,
November 18, 2011
By ant
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:See above
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Not the best on gas, but acceptable.
ReviewOriginationID:3f813c61-3113-4f40-b3ab-5b105e568d61
"I think the size and styling of this vehicle is perfect. Great driving, towing, and looks."
Ownership Status I want this car.
Location GA
Year 1995
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.