Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima

Average Customer Rating:
8.122 out of 10
8.1
 out of 
10
105 of 115(91%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Review 41 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
93 Nissan Maxima,
March 11, 2008
By Co
from Boca Raton, FL
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Smooth ride, dependable, good pickup but maintenance has been an item. It is expensive to keep in excellent condition. Odd things need replacing or fixing. For example, the windows drop down and require a new motor. This has happened on every window at some time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
A real work horse that is a class act.,
June 13, 2011
By Tom
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:200000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:NO CUP HOLDERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"This car, although needing the usual repairs, is a value I believe to be well worth it. It still runs good, air works,
and just now showing its 20 year old self. Bought it used 10 years ago and it was way ahead of its time in '91. Just sold yesterday for $1200.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1991
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Very happy with this car,
August 5, 2009
By A.B.
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Have owned my 1994 Maxima for 15 years. Most problems are with electrical system ie power window mechanism replacement every few years, door locks often do not work right esp. in cold weather. Overall average repair costs on this car have run about $1,000/year."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 44 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Still going at 283,000 miles,
October 3, 2011
By Cher
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:283000
What's great about this vehicle?:solid and safe; decent gas mileage; still looks good
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders and no good place to set a coffee cup; seems to go through brakepads pretty quickly
"The car has served me well. While the Nissan has been a little harder on brake work (as has my newer Honda), it has been a good car. I put a new transmission in it at 250,000 miles. That's how much faith I had in the car. Wish I could afford a new one!!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location GA
Year 1991
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Built to Run,
February 23, 2009
By K2MAX
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"After a 4000 mile round trip to Chicago via Denver, New Orleans, and Houston Texas; I was truly impressed with the 1990 Nissan Maxima. It handled the mountains of Colorado as though they were the flat lands of Texas. The 3.0 liter V6 loves to "run"."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
sucks to much gas also not worth the price,
April 10, 2012
By haybailer
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
2
Definitely
What's great about this vehicle?:oh! its good in a pinch
What's not so great about this vehicle?:sucks to much gas
ReviewOriginationID:78afea0de22b4331be4332d3a7e5fdb9
"nissan gets far to much for there cars and trucks when it comes to dealer finnance like my 04 nissan maxama kbb said its only worth 4000.00 on a 9000.00 $ loan so do you think with 81010 miles on it it)s really worth the money. no i don)t think so."
Ownership Status I don't own this car.
Location International
Year 1994
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Maximas Amaze Me,
August 29, 2008
By swanny
from Newberg, OR
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I can't believe these litttle cars. I now have over 248,000 on my 1994 Maxima SE. I have not yet needed engine or transmission work done. I did replace the starter at 199,000, and the fuel pump at 220,000. Other than that, just regular maintenance."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awsome just awsome,
December 18, 2009
By J Man
from MA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I owned this car sense 1994 and used it for work purposuses. It just died 12-5-09 due to rust, the frame broke, and although its repairable i dont want to fix it. 396010 miles and it still had more in it!!! unbelievealbe i love this car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best Car Ever !,
August 25, 2009
By Ray
from NJ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I had bought a used 1991 maxima with 100K miles in year 2000 for 4000 dollars. I must say its worth every penny. I drove another 100 K miles on it in the last 9 years and finally sold it today. I am really sad parting away with it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 50 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great fun, reliable, And stylish.,
July 17, 2012
By kong
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:138000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive, reliable, great motor.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Only one normal sized cup holder
ReviewOriginationID:1a10a7ce4f0046058bbfabb94d92b0a4
"I actually own and drive this car. I Also bought A late model maxima for my sister based on My maxima's performance. P.S. This is a pretty fast car and The Faster You Drive The Quicker your gas burns in any car it's common sence."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 1992
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
very good car over all,
May 29, 2009
By Ho PR
from Puerto Rico
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car for $200.00 in PA. on 2008 and it runs like a $5000.00 car, I have put spark plugs/wires oil n filter.
I would like to thank the previous owners for the GREAT car that they sold me...Bless them.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 52 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great used car,
October 12, 2007
By Gregbear
from Los Angeles
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"We had this car in our family, then sold it to a friend, then bought it back. It's been a great car, very comfortable and reliable. Only issues have been with the power window motors."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Its Just a Great Car,
July 11, 2008
By Maxima Fan
from Oregon
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Several members of my family have owned Maximas and each vehicle, no matter what year was extremely impressive. When compared to others in its class, the Maxima is at the top."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 54 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
i love this car.,
October 12, 2011
By hollywood
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:210423
What's great about this vehicle?:great power, reliable, comfortable, economical.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders.
ReviewOriginationID:989233ce-38a5-4ff9-9cdc-f4e8c9e7c585
"i love this car. spent 900.00 for it and put in an additional 1000.00 in minor repairs due to previous owner.
i would still spend another 5000.00 if it needed it.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1991
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best older car by far,
February 13, 2012
By Nissan Lover
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:Fun to drive reliability power acceleration Bose
What's not so great about this vehicle?:No cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:42b12481-e0a9-442b-8d44-703ee1952094
"This is the best car I have ever owned. It has never left me stranded. I worked for a junk yard and i'v seen theses cars with 560K on them."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 1992
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
nice vehicle,
December 26, 2008
By kaps
from Boston,MA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love my maxima. Im a college student, and it has been very reliable, except 1 day a year when it overheats... but usually very reliable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
September 7, 2007
By ramirez
from owensboro, ky
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"mostly electrical problems/ price was good about 1500.00 i went 4000 miles on an oil change and it was still full and color was clear."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great looking car,
October 30, 2007
By dee
from Moreno Valley, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I love this car!It has taken good care of me for the past 15 years.Reliable, efficient, comfortable and stylish."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 59 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
A safe,reliable like new older car,
April 22, 2014
By ZZ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51100
ReviewOriginationID:37390d02d7524554993880da69739971
Make:Nissan
Model:Maxima
Vehicle ID:9588
"car is pearl white,New Michelin tires, New brakes. Car looks near new and runs and drives like new. A"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1994
Review 60 for 1989 - 1994 Nissan Maxima
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Car has issues,
January 30, 2009
By Dean
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"Vehicle had too many mechanical issues...given it did have over 200K miles. But spacious and stylish."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more