Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Average Customer Rating:
8.904 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
389 of 405(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Review 81 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love this truck for road driving,
November 26, 2011
By skippy
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:146000
ReviewOriginationID:e812eeb0-8687-45f3-9774-ec387f96a24a
"This car drives like a car for comfort on the road. I have owned Nissan for twenty years because of this. My current truck is a 1998 and still drives great. The only downfall is the 4x4 has manual wheel hubs, which are a pain in the snow and ice of MN. But I deal with it. Gets about 20-22 mpg."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MN
Year 1998
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
very reliable,
November 19, 2011
By pete
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:120000
What's great about this vehicle?:very pleased
What's not so great about this vehicle?:needs better mpg
ReviewOriginationID:1c18ae95-0c4e-40ec-9b93-3df617f88f54
"need better mpg then 22 on highway driving"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NY
Year 2001
Review 83 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
A little truck with big capabilities and MPG,
November 19, 2011
By Jack
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81000
What's great about this vehicle?:dependability, great MPG and smooth ride
What's not so great about this vehicle?:seat could go back farther, limited storage space
ReviewOriginationID:aa9085f3-eb7f-458e-a394-2b40d032c4cc
"I got a great deal on a 2000 Frontier in November of 2009. I bought it with 50,000 miles on it. The truck has never given me any mechanical trouble at all. It is a 2.4L 4-cylinder with automatic and 2-wheel drive(RWD), and even though it is a 2-wheel drive it does great off-road and I have taken it into muddy steep mountain roads with creeks running thrugh them and have not gotten stuck but ironicly with it's off-road potential it does not do well in snow. This truck is great on gas and I have calculated my MPG and have gotten 32 miles per gallon highway(way better than the EPA rated it LOL) and that is way better than most trucks."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location VA
Year 2000
Review 84 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
MY 2004 NISSAN FRONTIER KC,
November 12, 2011
By CHARLES
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:63555
ReviewOriginationID:c69aa9d1-d0e0-4e05-a9dd-4c8f85c07c9a
"I LOVE MY FRONTIER, I HAVE SEEN A 2001 WITH 749,000 MILES ON IT, SO WHEN I CAME ACROSS MY 2004 FRONTIER I HAD TO BUY IT. THIS TRUCK WILL LAST ME FOREVER."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location FL
Year 2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliable truck that just goes and goes.,
November 5, 2011
By LindaSue
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:81000
What's great about this vehicle?:Easy to drive, pretty good gas mileage, reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:creaking noises no pwr windows or mirror adj insid
ReviewOriginationID:642d8078-b01c-4b4c-a5ff-51b14ad51a1c
"Easy to drive and minimal maintenance required. Fuel mileage varies from 22-25 MPH combination of city and highway. Has lots of get up and go. Have taken it out in the desert on rough dirt roads and it does great--I just have basic tires on it, too. The only odd thing about it is that it makes some strange creaking noises sometimes--esp when it is really dry out. Every mechanic that has looked at it cannot find a thing wrong. It doesn't really do anything when it creaks--just makes noises. Wish it had power windows and side mirrors that I can adjust from the inside. But overall a good, sturdily built, reliable little truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AZ
Year 2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid truck,
November 3, 2011
By Matt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
ReviewOriginationID:87d0f273-0d0b-48b6-be24-570a2ed27d7b
"As good as toytoa, but more affordable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2002
Review 87 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I LOVE MY TRUCK!,
November 2, 2011
By TD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Small and easy to drive, good MPG, low maintenance
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cloth interior not as tough as rest of truck
ReviewOriginationID:691e0daa-4659-490c-8097-34d0dfa600a3
"This was my first new car and it has been worth it. It is dependable, easy to maintain and durable. How many little chevy or ford trucks make it over 100k? Try over 200k."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
GREAT "LITTLE" TRUCK,
November 2, 2011
By j bow
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:176000
ReviewOriginationID:3610eec7-2417-4943-a5cf-5a56bed2d5c6
"The truck is very reliable but I am a big guy and it is a little cramped for me. However The truck its self runs quiet and I think maybe I have had to replace a battery in the 120,000 miles I have put on it. I wish it would run a little lower rpm on the interstate to improve gas mileage but when you are able to get 19 miles per gallon in a 4x4 truck you can't really complain."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
Review 89 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Original owner,
October 31, 2011
By Seth
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:115000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, price, Big truck feel for a small
What's not so great about this vehicle?:side facing seats, Small problems here and there.
ReviewOriginationID:a717ecb1-6fd2-4237-be64-fe7430f66908
"I'v had my truck for 10 years now. Over those 10 years it has never left me stranded. I have gone through a speedometer sensor, alternator, 2 batteries, all 3 belts, new tie rods, an intake manifold cleaning, 1 set of front brakes. 4 sets of tires, 2 oxygen sensors, and a cat. converter. This is by far the cheapest small truck in the world. I've hauled nearly a ton in the back without any problem. The thing I have always hated the most about it is side facing rear seats."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WV
Year 2001
Review 90 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 years later and still a great vehicle!,
October 18, 2011
By RosieRose
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:84000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great engine parts, runs well, no trouble
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small space. Carries 2 adults and one small child
ReviewOriginationID:4a218559-fd87-4290-9aa1-c0074bb53113
"I have owned my Frontier since 1998, brand new. In the 12yrs of owning it with regularly scheduled maintenance it has been a great vehicle. I have only replaced the brakes and alternator once in the last year. I am going to miss as it was totaled yesterday in an accident. Highly recommend."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 1998
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This truck is simply amazing,
October 18, 2011
By Silver beast
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
ReviewOriginationID:93bbe628-72c0-49c7-8c8b-bad507ed11a5
"I have owned the truck for 3 1/2 years and other than normal oil changes I have only replaced the battery and a headlight. The only major repair was the timing belt which is costly, but expected.
The truck had 100,000 miles on it when I bought it.
I drive all over SC for work and at 205,000 miles I have no reservations about driving anywhere in the truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best vehicle ever!,
October 18, 2011
By saye
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51000
What's great about this vehicle?:. great price, fun to drive dependable. no proble
What's not so great about this vehicle?:0000000000
ReviewOriginationID:713f62b0-d753-48c5-a1e6-6e3b09778040
"I would like to keep this car for another 10 years. Need the money."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I own this car and can say it's great!!,
October 14, 2011
By mav
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:144000
What's great about this vehicle?:strong, sturdy, very reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:power steering hoses leak and need to be replaced
ReviewOriginationID:be001acf-a630-4a8a-a1f5-7f8c4f83db5c
"My car has a bit of miles on it but it still runs great. It has really good power for being a 4 cylinder. I can even take it offroad and it runs great. Not many cars this year can compete with it I think, for it being stock and all. The car is sturdy but after having my trucks miles things start to get a little noisy inside the cab, which is normal, nothing you can't fix by tightening but the car still runs real well!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great compact truck,
October 13, 2011
By DougO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:0e0aeceb-dea3-4c2d-8c3e-10931c05ab88
"Would like more power but it is a 4 cyl. Comfortable even for me and I'm a big guy, great gas milage and extremely reliable. This is my 3rd Frontier (first was totaled second I traded because my wife had to have a Tahoe) only considering selling it for a 4 door, my kids are out growing the back seat!! Overall a great truck, I love it! looking for a 4 door supercharged v6 4x4."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
good truck,
September 29, 2011
By galloway
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:166000
What's great about this vehicle?:cheap on gas peppy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:legroom and headliner
"i have 01 xe king cab 2wd 4 cylinder automatic . good running lil truck drive 90 miles a day pulls moutains very well . gettin 23 to 24 miles gallon . the only thing it needs more legroom and better headliner . but overall its a good truck . needs a bigger gas tank."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Owned over 10 years and still love it,
September 28, 2011
By Dabomb
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:102000
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable
"i dont norm write reviews but im looking for a new car..... and the only thing i could hope is that whatever i buy is as reliable as this thing has been 99 frontier aka my dream whip!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
Review 97 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best pickup I've owned.,
September 6, 2011
By justgroovy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:inexpensive to buy and maintain, reliable, still looks good after 9 years
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a couple of interior rattles when driving on a rough road.
This customer did not provide a text review.
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 2002
Review 98 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2003 Frontier XE 2.4L Manual,
September 3, 2011
By Bubba
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:71000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Good Gass Milege, Hauls more weight in the bed than I ever thought possible.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cab is a bit narrow; no rear seat.
"Overall, great truck! A bit underpowered with AC running. A few things creep up around 65000 miles: 1. High pressure A/C hose started a slow leak at the crimp where the metal meets the rubber; 2. Persistant belt squeal, which, after several belt changes, turned out to be that you MUST use the true Nissan OEM belt for at least the A/C. Other than this minor issue, there so far, in 8 years of ownership, no other problems. While I sometimes wish I had the power windows, or the automatic, or even a V6, I am VERY happy with this truck!! And she will be mine for quite a few years to come, especially since it gets better gas milege than even the newer version. You cannot go wrong with this truck!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Value,
August 22, 2011
By 760 frontier
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, durable, good exterior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weak engine, only 143 HP on 4cyl
"Good durable truck worth every $."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
Review 100 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
questionable vehicle,
May 13, 2011
By ruffster
from Central CT
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"My experience was probably atypical but I paid for an out-of-warranty valve job at 124,565 miles.
A definite quality issue so due diligence is recommended.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.