Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Average Customer Rating:
8.898 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
384 of 400(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Review 81 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Solid truck,
November 3, 2011
By Matt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:110000
ReviewOriginationID:87d0f273-0d0b-48b6-be24-570a2ed27d7b
"As good as toytoa, but more affordable"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2002
Review 82 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
I LOVE MY TRUCK!,
November 2, 2011
By TD
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:234000
What's great about this vehicle?:Small and easy to drive, good MPG, low maintenance
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cloth interior not as tough as rest of truck
ReviewOriginationID:691e0daa-4659-490c-8097-34d0dfa600a3
"This was my first new car and it has been worth it. It is dependable, easy to maintain and durable. How many little chevy or ford trucks make it over 100k? Try over 200k."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
GREAT "LITTLE" TRUCK,
November 2, 2011
By j bow
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:176000
ReviewOriginationID:3610eec7-2417-4943-a5cf-5a56bed2d5c6
"The truck is very reliable but I am a big guy and it is a little cramped for me. However The truck its self runs quiet and I think maybe I have had to replace a battery in the 120,000 miles I have put on it. I wish it would run a little lower rpm on the interstate to improve gas mileage but when you are able to get 19 miles per gallon in a 4x4 truck you can't really complain."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
Review 84 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Original owner,
October 31, 2011
By Seth
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:115000
What's great about this vehicle?:gas mileage, price, Big truck feel for a small
What's not so great about this vehicle?:side facing seats, Small problems here and there.
ReviewOriginationID:a717ecb1-6fd2-4237-be64-fe7430f66908
"I'v had my truck for 10 years now. Over those 10 years it has never left me stranded. I have gone through a speedometer sensor, alternator, 2 batteries, all 3 belts, new tie rods, an intake manifold cleaning, 1 set of front brakes. 4 sets of tires, 2 oxygen sensors, and a cat. converter. This is by far the cheapest small truck in the world. I've hauled nearly a ton in the back without any problem. The thing I have always hated the most about it is side facing rear seats."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location WV
Year 2001
Review 85 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 years later and still a great vehicle!,
October 18, 2011
By RosieRose
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:84000
What's great about this vehicle?:Great engine parts, runs well, no trouble
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small space. Carries 2 adults and one small child
ReviewOriginationID:4a218559-fd87-4290-9aa1-c0074bb53113
"I have owned my Frontier since 1998, brand new. In the 12yrs of owning it with regularly scheduled maintenance it has been a great vehicle. I have only replaced the brakes and alternator once in the last year. I am going to miss as it was totaled yesterday in an accident. Highly recommend."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MS
Year 1998
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
This truck is simply amazing,
October 18, 2011
By Silver beast
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
ReviewOriginationID:93bbe628-72c0-49c7-8c8b-bad507ed11a5
"I have owned the truck for 3 1/2 years and other than normal oil changes I have only replaced the battery and a headlight. The only major repair was the timing belt which is costly, but expected.
The truck had 100,000 miles on it when I bought it.
I drive all over SC for work and at 205,000 miles I have no reservations about driving anywhere in the truck."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location SC
Year 2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
best vehicle ever!,
October 18, 2011
By saye
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:51000
What's great about this vehicle?:. great price, fun to drive dependable. no proble
What's not so great about this vehicle?:0000000000
ReviewOriginationID:713f62b0-d753-48c5-a1e6-6e3b09778040
"I would like to keep this car for another 10 years. Need the money."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2000
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I own this car and can say it's great!!,
October 14, 2011
By mav
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:144000
What's great about this vehicle?:strong, sturdy, very reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:power steering hoses leak and need to be replaced
ReviewOriginationID:be001acf-a630-4a8a-a1f5-7f8c4f83db5c
"My car has a bit of miles on it but it still runs great. It has really good power for being a 4 cylinder. I can even take it offroad and it runs great. Not many cars this year can compete with it I think, for it being stock and all. The car is sturdy but after having my trucks miles things start to get a little noisy inside the cab, which is normal, nothing you can't fix by tightening but the car still runs real well!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great compact truck,
October 13, 2011
By DougO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:130000
ReviewOriginationID:0e0aeceb-dea3-4c2d-8c3e-10931c05ab88
"Would like more power but it is a 4 cyl. Comfortable even for me and I'm a big guy, great gas milage and extremely reliable. This is my 3rd Frontier (first was totaled second I traded because my wife had to have a Tahoe) only considering selling it for a 4 door, my kids are out growing the back seat!! Overall a great truck, I love it! looking for a 4 door supercharged v6 4x4."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
good truck,
September 29, 2011
By galloway
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:166000
What's great about this vehicle?:cheap on gas peppy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:legroom and headliner
"i have 01 xe king cab 2wd 4 cylinder automatic . good running lil truck drive 90 miles a day pulls moutains very well . gettin 23 to 24 miles gallon . the only thing it needs more legroom and better headliner . but overall its a good truck . needs a bigger gas tank."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AL
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Owned over 10 years and still love it,
September 28, 2011
By Dabomb
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:102000
What's great about this vehicle?:very reliable
"i dont norm write reviews but im looking for a new car..... and the only thing i could hope is that whatever i buy is as reliable as this thing has been 99 frontier aka my dream whip!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
Review 92 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best pickup I've owned.,
September 6, 2011
By justgroovy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:inexpensive to buy and maintain, reliable, still looks good after 9 years
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a couple of interior rattles when driving on a rough road.
This customer did not provide a text review.
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 2002
Review 93 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2003 Frontier XE 2.4L Manual,
September 3, 2011
By Bubba
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:71000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Good Gass Milege, Hauls more weight in the bed than I ever thought possible.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cab is a bit narrow; no rear seat.
"Overall, great truck! A bit underpowered with AC running. A few things creep up around 65000 miles: 1. High pressure A/C hose started a slow leak at the crimp where the metal meets the rubber; 2. Persistant belt squeal, which, after several belt changes, turned out to be that you MUST use the true Nissan OEM belt for at least the A/C. Other than this minor issue, there so far, in 8 years of ownership, no other problems. While I sometimes wish I had the power windows, or the automatic, or even a V6, I am VERY happy with this truck!! And she will be mine for quite a few years to come, especially since it gets better gas milege than even the newer version. You cannot go wrong with this truck!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Value,
August 22, 2011
By 760 frontier
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, durable, good exterior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weak engine, only 143 HP on 4cyl
"Good durable truck worth every $."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
Review 95 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
questionable vehicle,
May 13, 2011
By ruffster
from Central CT
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"My experience was probably atypical but I paid for an out-of-warranty valve job at 124,565 miles.
A definite quality issue so due diligence is recommended.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2002 XE king is reliable,
April 26, 2011
By Jimmy
from Santa Cruz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have had no issues other than with the cargo area lamp, and one bad fuse on the blower fan. The ride is a bit stiff and bumpy, but otherwise, a reliable vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2003,
April 10, 2011
By OMG
from Oregon
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
"Not impressed with it at all. Wish I would have bought an Acura.... The bed squeeks and is not comfortable on long trips. Now there is a recall on the driving shaft.....And gas mileage...thats a joke.... have to put Super in as its a supercharger... overall cost per year...outragous!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 98 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Ole Reliable,
March 31, 2011
By Insomniac
from Jersey Shore, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've purchased my Frontier new, as a leftover from '04 and have not had one regret. Starts up everytime and hauls a good amount. A few flaws in my truck would be when a family member overloaded it with dirt...now it creeks when I turn going down the driveway. Plus the fan for the heat/air has lost its #2 setting. Overall if you treat it right, it'll return the favor."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 99 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
March 30, 2011
By Al
from CT
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"great truck... just unde powered"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 100 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good truck,
March 20, 2011
By andy
from fort payne al
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i just bought a 01 xe model 4 cylinder automatic it has 154000 on it still runs tough. ive had fords chevy and dodge my 1sy nissian not afraid to drive it anywhere. ill proably buy another one later on when the smurf dies."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo