Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Average Customer Rating:
8.882 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
373 of 389(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Review 81 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best pickup I've owned.,
September 6, 2011
By justgroovy
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:inexpensive to buy and maintain, reliable, still looks good after 9 years
What's not so great about this vehicle?:a couple of interior rattles when driving on a rough road.
This customer did not provide a text review.
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location AR
Year 2002
Review 82 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2003 Frontier XE 2.4L Manual,
September 3, 2011
By Bubba
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:71000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, Good Gass Milege, Hauls more weight in the bed than I ever thought possible.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Cab is a bit narrow; no rear seat.
"Overall, great truck! A bit underpowered with AC running. A few things creep up around 65000 miles: 1. High pressure A/C hose started a slow leak at the crimp where the metal meets the rubber; 2. Persistant belt squeal, which, after several belt changes, turned out to be that you MUST use the true Nissan OEM belt for at least the A/C. Other than this minor issue, there so far, in 8 years of ownership, no other problems. While I sometimes wish I had the power windows, or the automatic, or even a V6, I am VERY happy with this truck!! And she will be mine for quite a few years to come, especially since it gets better gas milege than even the newer version. You cannot go wrong with this truck!!"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Value,
August 22, 2011
By 760 frontier
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:105000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, durable, good exterior
What's not so great about this vehicle?:weak engine, only 143 HP on 4cyl
"Good durable truck worth every $."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 2002
Review 84 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
questionable vehicle,
May 13, 2011
By ruffster
from Central CT
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"My experience was probably atypical but I paid for an out-of-warranty valve job at 124,565 miles.
A definite quality issue so due diligence is recommended.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2002 XE king is reliable,
April 26, 2011
By Jimmy
from Santa Cruz
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Have had no issues other than with the cargo area lamp, and one bad fuse on the blower fan. The ride is a bit stiff and bumpy, but otherwise, a reliable vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2003,
April 10, 2011
By OMG
from Oregon
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
"Not impressed with it at all. Wish I would have bought an Acura.... The bed squeeks and is not comfortable on long trips. Now there is a recall on the driving shaft.....And gas mileage...thats a joke.... have to put Super in as its a supercharger... overall cost per year...outragous!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 87 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Ole Reliable,
March 31, 2011
By Insomniac
from Jersey Shore, NJ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've purchased my Frontier new, as a leftover from '04 and have not had one regret. Starts up everytime and hauls a good amount. A few flaws in my truck would be when a family member overloaded it with dirt...now it creeks when I turn going down the driveway. Plus the fan for the heat/air has lost its #2 setting. Overall if you treat it right, it'll return the favor."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 88 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
March 30, 2011
By Al
from CT
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"great truck... just unde powered"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 89 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good truck,
March 20, 2011
By andy
from fort payne al
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i just bought a 01 xe model 4 cylinder automatic it has 154000 on it still runs tough. ive had fords chevy and dodge my 1sy nissian not afraid to drive it anywhere. ill proably buy another one later on when the smurf dies."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 90 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Very Nice 4X4,
March 20, 2011
By Rocky Man
from Colorado
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This Truck has been through the mill and still performs exceptionally well. It has a smooth ride yet is not to cushy. We use our truck as a truck and not a commuter vehicle and like the ride."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 91 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Keep on Truckin,
March 15, 2011
By Ibenevrywhere
from chicago
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned mine now for 12 years and bought it with only 66 miles. I did the 500 break-in-miles on the engine then drove it across America...My truck has 113,000 miles & recently had to put money into it to take it another 113,000 miles...Major maintenance over the 12 years of ownership $2,800 (roughly $230 a year)! Great truck only wish it got better gas mileage in the city but the hwy miles are better...I think the key to any well built vehicle is to be either the first owner or buy from a good owner...buddy got the same truck used and has had different luck with his...I do have rust showing but that is due to salty winters, the speedometer says 80 all the time and the fan motor runs only on high...I love this truck my first ever new vehicle gonna hate when its time to get a new one...Peace all hope this help"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 92 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gift from God,
February 1, 2011
By Jp
from GA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"This is by far the best compact pickup ever made. I have a black xe v6 desert runner I have an AEM Brute force cold air intake,and magnaflow duals, and nexen at2. This truck is awesome The power That i have gotten from the few mods I have done is awesome, I mean really if set up right these trucks can fly. For example I was following my older brother on the interstate he has a 2000 chevy 1500 5.3l v8 with air intake, and a full cherry bomb exhaust and from going 60 the little 3.3lv6 kept up with a v8 and a very fast one at that Ive driven it. Off road when I had street tires it still did great And it sure as heck can jump! And women love it so many girls have told me they like them way better than those bigger trucks."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 93 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
dont buy one,
January 5, 2011
By firetier
from crestview,fl
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
"absolutly the worst truck that I've ever owned. I love to go off-roading and this truck is not for that. There is absolutly no upgrades that you can buy for this truck go with a chevy you'll be happier in the end"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
January 5, 2011
By BigRon
from Sparta TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"121,000 miles and still runs like new!!!"
Review 95 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Solid and Dependable,
October 25, 2010
By Big D
from Woodstock Ga
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have owned my 2002 Frontier XE for 6 years. It was a one owner trade in with all service records. Truck has performed dependably and has just under 150,000 miles. I believe another 50-100 K is easily possible. No evidence of oil leaks or other mechanical issues. I have had a belt squeal that is difficult to correct and I had some emission system problems that cost me a few hundred dollars. It is a very utilitarian truck but it is dependable, has decent fuel economy and holds its value."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 96 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2003 Nissan Frontier XE 2.4L,
October 11, 2010
By BubaGump
from Houston Texas
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"What can I say! Great truck, Great fuel economy. I will say that I sometimes wish for the V6 and power windows, but, she never leaves me stranded, and I never regret owning her! I hope to get many years out of it. Trade in value on this site is low. Appraisal at Car Max was 4500 higher... If you are thinking about a reliable truck, this is it!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 97 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best Value w/potental,
October 9, 2010
By jrp
from Spokane, WA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Great pick-up. Great driver. Economy is excellent (23 mpg). With a Tonneau cover for for the bed mpg can go up to 28/33. A K&N air filter will help as well. This is my first pick-up. I have already used it for the purpose I bought it for."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
Review 98 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Best little truck I've own!,
October 8, 2010
By Izzy
from North Las Vegas, Nevada
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Got this truck brand new in September 1998. It has been the best little truck I've own. In 12 years, I've only changed the battery, the alternator, two sets of tires, and brakes all around.
I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a reliable mini truck. I only wish that it had more power... the 4 cyl feels too small for the truck, I'm sure the 6 Cyl would make a big difference but fuel wise, it is great as it is."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 99 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
My mechanic hates this truck,
September 29, 2010
By brainiac
from San Francisco
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"He says he can never make any money on it. It
never has problems. Carefully cared for and maintained all its life. New brakes. Drives like a dream car. Lots of room. Comfortable
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 100 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Little Truck,
September 2, 2010
By Dawn
from Bellflower, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Owned this truck for 9 years - bought as used vehicle. Have replaced clutch, brakes and tires (Normal wear & tear) but other then that no problem whatsoever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more