Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab

Average Customer Rating:
8.883 out of 10
8.9
 out of 
10
376 of 392(96%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Review 41 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2001 King cab XE,
November 15, 2008
By 2001XE
from Virginia Beach, VA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Bought the truck about 3 months ago for 6K retail. Had 85000 miles and some body issues. Since then I've given it a full tune up, new front brakes, premium shocks, A/T tires, alignment, and is now at the body shop getting body work and respray of the factory silver metallic color. Truck runs excellent, mileage is mid 20's. A/C very cold. I've owned 4 of these trucks beginning with Datsuns and they don't die, just watch for frame rust on Hard Body models.
This 01 is a solid performer and flat out gets the job done!! Can't wait to get it back from the body shop.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
GOOD LITTLE TRUCK,
June 27, 2008
By Billy
from Denver, CO
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This is a great little truck. My only concern with it is that after about 70,000 miles my check engine light came on. I found out that it was the EGR Valve. Apparently, the piping/hoses are collecting carbon build-up & clogging. I was able to clean them out with standard, over-the-counter fuel injector cleaner(carbon build up remover). Also, About the same time my truck now requires mid-grade or premium gas. If lowgrade gas is used it causes major 'pinging' and again causes the check engine light to come on. All around, I've enjoyed this little truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 43 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Last's Forever,
March 22, 2010
By PIC
from Dallas, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I absolutely love this truck! It has taken me cross country about 8 or 9 times and it's always the most comfortable and smooth ride. It is a 2001 and has more than 170,000 miles on it. It is a little squeaky now but I deal with it. I installed my own Cruise Control and all the wiring is very simple. It has only been in the shop about 4 times for 1 minor part repair and 3 tune-ups. I have the 4 cylinder and it has troubles accelerating onto the freeway and typically only gets 21-23 MPG's which is a little weird but I absolutely love this truck!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great little truck,
February 28, 2009
By Dave
from Memphis, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this 98 Frontier (automatic) new and its been great. No major repairs. I now have 198,000 miles on it and have only replaced the water pump at 175k and the muffler and the headliner. I have kept up the maintenance: oil changes, 3 tune ups. 1 timeing belt, tires, cooling system and transmission flush. I average 23 miles to the gallon. I've hauled a lot of surff in it.
It is still serving me well and still looks new.You just can't beat it for overall value.
I wish someone would make a truck this size with a new generation deisel engine.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 45 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Most reliable I've ever had!,
February 10, 2010
By bambam
from Austin, Tx.
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 99' model, bought used in 2000,
It's only been in the shop 3 times in it's life! 2 full break jobs and a simple power sterring pully.. that's it.. 11 years old and the a/c is still strong and COLD! NEVER been worked on!
Keep up the maintenance, change the oil on time, change plugs every year, and it'll last forever! I have 148,000 miles on it and it starts right up and takes me anywhere.. gets good mileage but not much for power for towing and hills.. thats why I don't have a tow ball on mine so people won't ask!
Great truck!
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 46 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Agricultural but reliable,
October 28, 2008
By OZ
from Miami, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Great Truck, not on the leading edge when it comes to technology but gets the job done. My 2002 4 banger uses no oil at 90,000 miles. It prefers premium fuel which really does have a positive and cost effective impact on power and and fuel consumption. Only repairs include sensor, and steering gear that wore out prematurely which I think is not typical and some broken plastic interior items. Otherwise just regular oil changes. Very cheap to keep. Paint is still like new. I think the life of the truck is somewhere over 200,000 miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Best car I ever had,
August 18, 2014
By DMBryson
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:179000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, something descent for any age
What's not so great about this vehicle?:manual windows, no cruise control..
ReviewOriginationID:3ccc9813aa064f68bcd51518e771a59f
Make:Nissan
Model:Frontier King Cab
Vehicle ID:6911
"Bought my 98 Nissan Frontier in 2000 when I was 18 used. I still got it to this day..14 years later I havent had as many issues as the average person I believe. Looking now to finally get something else. Of course it needs some odd jobs done to it but nothing major (ex spark plugs etc) but I think its just time for me to part ways but DEF the best I could of asked for!!...especially from a crazy driving 18 year old to 31 year old lol. i'd even recommend it for parents who are in the market for a "first time" vehicle for their teen."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 1998
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck,
September 18, 2008
By calsioux
from Concord, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This is my second Nissan Pick up. I have 109,000 miles on my 2000 Nissan King Cab with 4 cyl engine and 5 speed tranny. All I've done is regular scheduled maintenance, plus tires. Very reliable truck. what I like about it is the 4cy engine has a timing chain, not a belt so there is no expense for replacing timing belts. Very durable truck. Drove my first one 280,000 miles and it still only used 1/2 quart of oil between 3000 mile oil changes.
Great, Great truck. Ride is stiff..that's my only complaint, but it is what it is.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 49 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Have only used it to drive in 15 mile radius.,
May 6, 2013
By Bill
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
7
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:72000
What's great about this vehicle?:comfortable interior, well worth $7,500 price,
What's not so great about this vehicle?:has cup holders
ReviewOriginationID:03ab330639e44988b254047a0dd4be7f
"(around town). I have washed and wax it 2 times a year since I bought in 2000 (orginal owner). I change the oil 1 time per year (only use AMS synthetic oil). No accidents since I have owned it. Michelium Tires (2 years old). Getting new shocks (all 4 wheels) this Friday (May 10, 2013). Delaware Tags good till February 2015. The only problem since 2000 has been (a recall) of front
Stabilizer Bars(a rod about 6 inches long next to tires) has been replace about 3 times (about $100.00 each time). Averages 20 miles per gallon.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location DE
Year 2000
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
It's been a good truck.,
August 12, 2009
By Frontierman
from Atascadero, CA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have owned my 2001 SE 4X4 King Cab since it was new. Honestly, the only problems I have had are a leaking front shock replaced under warranty, a rear leaf spring broke (not sure how that happened) and the cowling between the windshield and the hood don't have big enough holes, so the truck is warm inside with the vent on and the a/c off on a relatively cool day (the truck is black, which doesn't help). It has 115k miles and still feels great. No rattles! My favorite feature is the stereo controls on the steering wheel."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 51 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
runs like a champ,
August 17, 2007
By mojave_dc10
from Charleston, SC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Own a 99 SE w/ V6 140000 miles and it runs like a champ. Live in a new home and driveway is clean, with no fluid leakage. I was skepticle when dealer told me the water pump was good to go when i had timing belt R&R. Way too lithargic of a engine for this truck, but seems reliable so far. There are signs of fit and finish problems, but again it's coming up on 10 years.
Besides consumables, only part replace so far is a defective thermostat that was replaced under waranty.
Overall I think Toyota still has them beat."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 52 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
best vehicle ive owned,
August 31, 2014
By garfield69
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Approximate mileage:425500
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability
What's not so great about this vehicle?:4 cylinder, cabin space
ReviewOriginationID:c38ab283d89340b5a7906266f0ef04a9
Make:Nissan
Model:Frontier King Cab
Vehicle ID:4561
"i have owned my 2002 frontier for 10 yrs. bought it at 23k and selling it now at 425k. yes that is 425 thousand mi. used it for my delivery job i had. no problems ever, only basic maintenance. i followed the maintenance schedule in the manual. major parts didnt start being replaced till over 200k, like water pump, radiator, etc. timing chain, alternator didnt go out till after 300k. i used synthetic blend oil always. only replace with nissan belts and brake pads for best results.
i did have the 4cyl, manual trans.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TN
Year 2002
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not for old people,
April 1, 2008
By Luigi
from Lebanon, TN
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Rides like a truck; looks like a truck; must be a truck! Front suspension jars at every bump. Instrument lights are very hard to read on cloudy,rainy days. No dash switch for dome light; very hard to reach around to dome light switch. Ride is very rough. 4 cyl with auto is not sufficient. Mileage is not very good for a 4 cyl. I believe mileage would be just as good with a 6 cyl. Air noise around windows. Wouldn't buy again. Transmission doesn't have a good passing gear. Newwer models may be improved. I hope so!."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bullet proof pickup,
August 18, 2010
By Gus
from South Dakota
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I grew up on a ranch and now own a small farm. I can't remember when I wasn't in a pickup. However this little Nissan is the toughest little pickup I've ever been around. Sure I've seen larger pickups pull more but never seen an American pickup put up with as much abuse day in and day out. This Frontier is as tough as oak barrel stave's period!
I was in an accident this week that totaled mine out. They drug the Chevy pickup off with a wrecker and I drove the Nissan away. I'm still driving it but it is totaled.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 55 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2004 NISSAN XE,
February 13, 2009
By Krome
from Miami,FL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This one of the last mini trucks out there.Originally bought in 2004 the only thing that has been done to this truck are oil changes every 4500 to 5000 miles.Spending a little extra for synthetic motor oil is well worth it compared to regular oil.It is also a great gas saver saved alot of money when gas reached it highest price.The engine is smaller than the previous Z24 engine Nissan had on their 720 & Hardbody models.I would recommend this truck to anybody looking for a mini truck to get the job done."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 56 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Never Again,
February 25, 2008
By X
from AR
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Quality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This has to be the worst truck I have ever owned. I have had more trouble out of this truck than any I have ever owned. Transmission at 47,000 miles & 167,000 miles, injector problems 3 times and so many little things I can't even count. Not to mention the best fuel milage is the thing will get is less than 17MPG. Don't try to pull anything bigger than a toy wagon either. I have had more trouble out of this truck than the last 4 I owned before it. I will NEVER own anouther piece of junk Nissan again."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Awesome little truck!,
August 1, 2007
By Nevada_Science_Girl
from Reno, NV
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this when it was 3 years old, have had it 5 years now, and haven't had 1 single problem with it! It still gets great mileage (relatively speaking- the same as the brand new tacomas- and my nissan is 8 years old!). It runs better than I ever hoped, it was an excellent purchase. The price is moderate- making it affordable, and totally reliable. I even 4-Wheel this truck quite hard, and never have a single problem with this stock pick-up. I've been pleasantly surprised, and will buy another!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 58 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Good reliability,
August 17, 2010
By nanu
from South Dakota
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"My first vehicle, and I like it. I worked hard on it and I drove it nice. Still, it went into the ditch and I fixed the steering wheel (it wasn't driving right)...you can still be a shade tree mechanic with this pickup except for the stupid EGR valve (whatever it is called).
No guts to the passing someone thing. It loves 55 mph. Best I got was 27 mpg. Worst was interstate 19 mpg. Built right though... It will handle the gravel and the next three years of college. have over 100000 miles. buy it."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 59 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
no complaints!!,
August 28, 2009
By delawareguy
from delaware
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Had my XE 4x4 V6 for 7 years now with no problems. I haven't even changed a light bulb yet! All I do is oil changes every 4,000 miles. The jump seats in the extended cab are a little tight for anyone bigger than a small teen but other than that I can honestly say I've already gotten my money out of this truck. I will probably own this truck for another 10 years or until the wheels fall off (based on my first 7 years of ownership I don't think that WILL EVER happen!) This is a tough little truck."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 60 for 1998 - 2004 Nissan Frontier King Cab
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great Truck!,
January 27, 2008
By shaneslover
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I owned a 90 nissan 4 cylinder pickup and had over 200,000 miles on it.. I really like the realiability of the truck and wanted a newer one. I bought a 99 nissan with 100,000 miles on it, and it's been a great truck. It's the 6 cylinder and has enough power for what i want to do with it. The only things that have gone bad is the seats have broke underneath, and aren't very comfortable.... other than that i don't have any complaints.. it's a great truck and i hope to put 250,000 miles on it."