Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima

Average Customer Rating:
8.538 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
458 of 487(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Review 241 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I have owned over 40 autos,this has been the best,
February 6, 2014
By freebee
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:114000
What's great about this vehicle?:good gas mileage,great drive for a tall driver
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no cup holders, needs a little more horse power.
ReviewOriginationID:7d56ac546faa40e5810a87668649bd12
Make:Nissan
Model:Altima
Vehicle ID:6877
"Over all a great car,I have had this car for almost 15 years now,All repairs have been minor up to date."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 1998
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 242 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable car,
January 8, 2014
By VioCh
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:205000
Reason for Sale:Wrecked
What's great about this vehicle?:Great value, easy maintainence, Reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Small engine
ReviewOriginationID:6f702ec521064e64aaef87ea51a49df5
Make:Nissan
Model:Altima
Vehicle ID:6693
"I really loved this car until the snow wrecked the car few days ago. I owned it last year with 195000 miles on it with hesitation but it has been a very good commuting car over the months. Got some pricey repairs on the brakes but mainly because of my faults. The car might not work on snow too well, at least for an inexperienced driver like me, I was driving on a poorly plowed road and it skidded like crazy.."
Ownership Status I owned and sold this car.
Location KS
Year 2000
Review 243 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Fun to drive, gas mileage,
May 6, 2013
By jmandong007
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:189000
What's great about this vehicle?:great value, gas mileage, standard
What's not so great about this vehicle?:reversed
ReviewOriginationID:c408fae97bd646bbb5d25d170e045ff6
"Fun to drive and 5 speed is just a blast. It picks up very quick. No problems in gearing or steering except for reverse seems to be difficult to change into. ( I think its something to do with the safety feature so you don't shift to reverse on accident.) Great car overall im getting 32 mpg"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 244 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sorry to see her go.,
February 21, 2013
By Matt
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:135000
What's great about this vehicle?:Durable, reliable, only minor repair issues
What's not so great about this vehicle?:So-so gas mileage, could use more giddy up
ReviewOriginationID:26ffc75736b64145bb66314271b3f8b5
"I bought a 1998 Altima SE with manual transmission brand new. It was a wonderful car. I think I could have gotten another 100,000 miles or more out of my Nissan, but a parking light pole recently fell on my car and crushed it. In 15 years I never had a major repair issue with the car. Although I only changed the oil every 5,000 miles, the engine still ran like a dream. My biggest disappointment was I only got around 25 mph to the gallon. The car also could have used more power as it struggled going up steep hills. After a decade and a half of faithful service the car did begin showing its age. The bass on the speakers blew. There were some areas rusting above and below the car. The leather seats were cracking. The trunk open latch on the floor of the car stopped working. The heating and air conditioning were not performing as well as they once did. Overall, I would not hesitate purchasing another Altima."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location OH
Year 1998
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 245 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
GOOD CAR,
February 1, 2013
By BIGBT
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:230000
ReviewOriginationID:3f45ac6345794325885a1a171513b7e9
"IVE PUT A TON OF MILES ON MY 1998 ALTIMA AND IT ALWAYS A VERY RELIABLE CAR.HAVING SOME ISSUES NOW BECAUSE OF ALL THE MILES."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1998
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 246 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
reliable with regular maintence,
October 16, 2012
By Hank
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:149000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliability, sleek styling from the late 90's
What's not so great about this vehicle?:mediocre gas mileage, fair at best brakes
ReviewOriginationID:692f1bb707804891b2c11b0b46be1ecc
"I have owned this 2001 Altima since new and currently have 149 k miles on it. It probably has been the most reliable car that I have owned, with reasonable amount of repairs.
Cuurently in good running condition and drives about 90 % of what it did as a new car.
A number of parts and repairs over the years:
Power window switch, several sets of brakes, including rear drum brake cylinders, several times. Water pump, radiator cooling fans, radiator ( my fault), right side axle shaft, whole exhaust system, except cat convertors,one piece at a time. Both O2 sensors. Belts, hoses, axle spindle bearing, one side. Valve cover gasket, distributor caps, sparkplugs, wires,several batteries.
The A/C still works, never serviced. Original Alternator and Starter. I have never had the infamous intake manifold leak problem many of the 99-2001 Altimas have had. ( knock on wood!)It is caused by a poorly designed routing of the EGR vavle. I have always used Premium or at least mid-grade gas and I think that is the reason. The higher octane gas burns at a cooler temp with a cooler EGR valve as a result.
Accesibility for repairs on engine is not good on this car. That's the reason why an intake manifold replcement costs $700- $1000 for a $25 part. The engine used was a rear wheel drive pickup engine adapted for use as a transverse engine/ front wheel drive car in the 93-2001 Altimas. Also was used in the rear wheel drive 240 sx cars.
Fuel mileage never great, 20-22 locally, 24 -27 highway.
It is a tough engine design, mine uses almost no oil at all between 4000 mi changes. Timing chains and chain guide known to cause problems at higher miles.
Still a good choice for basic transportation, even though they haven't made this model Altima for 11 years. Find an example that was well maintained and doesn't have super high miles on it and you may have wheels for a few more years.
"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 247 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Decent little car!,
October 15, 2012
By Matt
Not At All
7
Definitely
Approximate mileage:78000
ReviewOriginationID:c96318dbd5ea41e4b9ecba244641752d
"Bought it used with around 65000 miles a year ago. Had to replace two mass air flow sensors. Other than that no problems and the car has great pickup for a 4 cylinder."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 248 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
First Car\,
March 20, 2012
By allie_1423
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
9
Definitely
Approximate mileage:140000
What's not so great about this vehicle?:inside color
ReviewOriginationID:5db76eba-69f1-4440-a87e-9832ae90086b
"This is my first car and has been easy to fix and extremely easy to mainttain. I love my car and although it is small it still fits everything i need even when i move around."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 249 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
very good value and reliability,
March 13, 2012
By david
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Not At All
8
Definitely
Approximate mileage:150000
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, economical, good fuel economy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:road noise, comfort, not a bmw
ReviewOriginationID:ec3ca0b5-4723-45ef-a945-ae3c31b3abe4
"For the money, I couldn't have done better in its class. This car was thousands cheaper than comparable honda or toyota models and I've only had minor routine maintenance costs. I've owned the car since 20K and have about 150K now on it - I've replaced the alternator, the tires, shocks/struts, given it one tune up, and changed the oil about every 5K miles. it doesn't leak any fluids. It's fairly comfortable. road noise is average or higher slightly. fuel economy is about 30 mpg avg (still). I've taken winter and off road conditions in this car. and I've never been stranded in it....I'd rather be driving a 7 series BMW, or a BSA...but...."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 250 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
I like this car because it is good on gas,
February 17, 2012
By Panther
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
ReviewOriginationID:167ddfbc-3cb8-479b-b84e-6472f2b455b7
"I have heard a lot of good things about this car and i like it."
Ownership Status I don't own this car.
Location TX
Year 1998
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 251 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Very good vehicle, but was kinda expensive,
November 18, 2011
By Chris
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160500
What's great about this vehicle?:great car and reliable
What's not so great about this vehicle?:price and is an import
ReviewOriginationID:96c8232c-3003-4ddc-992b-16e991569075
"This has been a very good car and all the repairs have been small in comparison to what I have had with other cars. Not the most comfortable seat as well as did not come with any thing really neat in the cab. The reason I am sure was to keep the price down, but I am really fealing the pain in my back anymore"
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MO
Year 2000
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 252 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great car!,
November 14, 2011
By Eve
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:222000
ReviewOriginationID:77b5271e-df68-4910-b885-a40faf122106
"I absolutely love my car, ive had it for 2 years it has a new engine and transmission that the previous owner did.. im the second owner, never had any mechanical issues runs smooth leather in in tact. oh! i have gotten my left axle fixed that was about 60 bucks. i put 30 in the tank it last me about 5 good days. overall great car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1998
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 253 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
really good vehical,
November 4, 2011
By alicia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothin
ReviewOriginationID:6527649b-f9cf-4cdb-9422-6ab36dd49f62
"it is great for just about everything. its in great condition.."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1999
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 254 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love this car,
September 21, 2011
By kage
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price and easy to fix, great on gas and comfortable for long drives.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bumbers and body very flimsy, easy to get minor dents and fixtures
"for a small car this has been an awesome car. I love it and i know that i would continue to keep it. any time i have had to repair something it has been extremely cheap and easy to find. its great on gas and great for long distance drives."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2000
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 255 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best car I've ever owned!,
September 13, 2011
By Bloomer
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250250
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, sporty, great gas mileage, sturdy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no map light
"This car is incredibly reliable! It is a 5-speed GXE and I still have the original clutch. It has been incredibly reliable and I've only spent about $2500 on repairs in the 13 years that I've owned it. I've owned Toyotas and Mitsubishis and, by far, this is the best. I would buy another Nissan in a heartbeat."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CT
Year 1998
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 256 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and Practical,
August 30, 2011
By Frank
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:solid car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Nissan could have done a better job designing the back end of the car. It looks terrible.
"I purchased this vehicle when it had 55,000 miles. It was previously a rental car so I bought the bumper to bumper warranty. I never used the warranty as the car did not give me any problems. Within the last four years, I've changed the tie-rods, radiator and alternator. I did the work myself so it didn't cost me much. Overall, I think this car has been great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1999
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 257 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Handles well,
August 25, 2011
By Angel
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156000
"The car handles well, and is always reliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 258 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Over 190K miles - most reliable vehicle ever owned,
July 11, 2011
By A. Garcia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability is key.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Overhead liner began to detach about 5 years from purchase date.
"Purchased vehicle in USED condition in 1999 from a Nissan Dealer. I was the 2nd owner and it has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. The vehicle has over 190K miles on it (combination highway and streets) and it is still running hassle-free. Only repairs I have had to make is replace the radiator (after 150K miles), replaced the starter (after 100K) and now the exhaust manifold (after 190K). Other than the usual tune-up, oil change, and normal wear/tear tires, brakes, etc - this vehicle has been worth every penny. The car now has an intermittent fuse issue (short somewhere). I haven't been able to detect what the issue is...but I've made the vehicle last by replacing the fuse (inexpensive) here and there. I realize that my vehicle won't last forever, it's a shame."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 259 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Really great value,
May 19, 2011
By Jai
from Triangle, VA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car in 2001, no issues so far. Great purchase, worth every dime I spent. I am getting ready to trade for another Nissan vehicle. Since I can't afford an Audi Q5, LoL. I will stick with Nissan."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 260 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and Not to Ugly,
March 20, 2011
By Phycokiller
from Chicago
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought the car with 193,000 miles on it and now up to 205 and counting"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.