Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima

Average Customer Rating:
8.515 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
445 of 474(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Review 241 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
really good vehical,
November 4, 2011
By alicia
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:fun to drive
What's not so great about this vehicle?:nothin
ReviewOriginationID:6527649b-f9cf-4cdb-9422-6ab36dd49f62
"it is great for just about everything. its in great condition.."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location IN
Year 1999
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 242 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love this car,
September 21, 2011
By kage
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:160000
What's great about this vehicle?:great price and easy to fix, great on gas and comfortable for long drives.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:bumbers and body very flimsy, easy to get minor dents and fixtures
"for a small car this has been an awesome car. I love it and i know that i would continue to keep it. any time i have had to repair something it has been extremely cheap and easy to find. its great on gas and great for long distance drives."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CO
Year 2000
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 243 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best car I've ever owned!,
September 13, 2011
By Bloomer
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:250250
What's great about this vehicle?:reliable, sporty, great gas mileage, sturdy
What's not so great about this vehicle?:no map light
"This car is incredibly reliable! It is a 5-speed GXE and I still have the original clutch. It has been incredibly reliable and I've only spent about $2500 on repairs in the 13 years that I've owned it. I've owned Toyotas and Mitsubishis and, by far, this is the best. I would buy another Nissan in a heartbeat."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CT
Year 1998
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 244 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and Practical,
August 30, 2011
By Frank
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:148000
What's great about this vehicle?:solid car
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Nissan could have done a better job designing the back end of the car. It looks terrible.
"I purchased this vehicle when it had 55,000 miles. It was previously a rental car so I bought the bumper to bumper warranty. I never used the warranty as the car did not give me any problems. Within the last four years, I've changed the tie-rods, radiator and alternator. I did the work myself so it didn't cost me much. Overall, I think this car has been great."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location TX
Year 1999
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 245 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Handles well,
August 25, 2011
By Angel
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:156000
"The car handles well, and is always reliable."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location PA
Year 2001
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 246 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Over 190K miles - most reliable vehicle ever owned,
July 11, 2011
By A. Garcia
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:190000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability is key.
What's not so great about this vehicle?:Overhead liner began to detach about 5 years from purchase date.
"Purchased vehicle in USED condition in 1999 from a Nissan Dealer. I was the 2nd owner and it has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. The vehicle has over 190K miles on it (combination highway and streets) and it is still running hassle-free. Only repairs I have had to make is replace the radiator (after 150K miles), replaced the starter (after 100K) and now the exhaust manifold (after 190K). Other than the usual tune-up, oil change, and normal wear/tear tires, brakes, etc - this vehicle has been worth every penny. The car now has an intermittent fuse issue (short somewhere). I haven't been able to detect what the issue is...but I've made the vehicle last by replacing the fuse (inexpensive) here and there. I realize that my vehicle won't last forever, it's a shame."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location CA
Year 1999
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 247 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Really great value,
May 19, 2011
By Jai
from Triangle, VA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car in 2001, no issues so far. Great purchase, worth every dime I spent. I am getting ready to trade for another Nissan vehicle. Since I can't afford an Audi Q5, LoL. I will stick with Nissan."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 248 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliable and Not to Ugly,
March 20, 2011
By Phycokiller
from Chicago
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Bought the car with 193,000 miles on it and now up to 205 and counting"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 249 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great car,
August 27, 2010
By ant
from New jesery
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My wife purchased this car new back in 97'. It now has 182,000 miles on it 13 years later! I was very satisifed with it. We took good care of the car. Just normal maintenance no major repairs. Just last week the timing chain tension broke than timing chain. It's OK! We got our money worth and some!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 250 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best Car Ever,
August 10, 2010
By NissanLover10
from Tempe, AZ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Had a Nissan Altima for 9 years, best car ever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 251 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
dependable,
July 6, 2010
By chief
from Richmond, VA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had very few issues with this car and it has never left me stranded unless it was do to a dead battery. had it (and still have it) for 10 yrs with 180k on it. this jewel is a tank that wont quit. City or highway, it makes the trek"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 252 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
nissan gxe,
June 11, 2010
By joe
from new jersey
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"good car reliable and safe very little problems with it its a good back and fourth to work car little maintance and overall this is a good car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 253 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Buy,
November 19, 2009
By BAB
from Indianapolis
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Currently own a '98 SE (bought used in 2005) and a one-time owner of the "sister" make / model - a 1999 GXE that was bought new. Very reliable cars with strong engine and transmission. Little or no excessive maintenance costs other than routine items a person would expect with over 100K miles. Oddly enough when an item needed repair on one, the other also needed the same repair. (i.e. trunk key lock, windshield sun/shade visors, console latch, waterpump - both went out around 110K miles). Overall I would highly recommend either the '98 or '99 model...on the other hand and from what I've read on the web, the 2000 & 2001 models had serious "intake manifold" issues. In short, I would rate this car as a "Good Buy"!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 254 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not Bad,
November 16, 2009
By Billo
from Durham, NC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"We've put only 70,000 miles on our 1999 Altima 5 speed in 10 years. But there have been NO problems with it except noisy rear axle bushings and power antenna. Amazingly reliable. But front seats are not very comfortable for long trips, and the shift lever is rubbery. Clutch still going strong with lots of city driving. Good deal, I'd buy one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 255 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car, but stiff,
October 18, 2009
By NissanDriver94
from Huntsville, AL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Had this car since 2001, it now has 56k on it (barely any, I know) but it still runs strong. My only complaint is that it rides a little stiff, but I'm sure this isn't Nissan's fault, and that my shocks are just going bad."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 256 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Wonderful Car,
August 6, 2009
By BOBBI
from Maryland
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This Altima has served me well for many years. Great driving, nice size for traveling. Great driver leg room. Comfortable back seating for children and teens. No major engine problems. Large trunk."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 257 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great, reliable car,
June 9, 2009
By minivan mom
from North Carolina
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car new in 1998 and it has been terrific over the last 11 years. The only reason I had to sell it was because I needed something larger in which to tote my 3 children around. This would be the perfect high school or college car. It gets good gas mileage and is dependable with surprising speed and power. Other than regular maintenance, there have been very few problems and those were inexpensive fixes. I highly recommend this vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 258 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Value,
January 2, 2009
By RofoPete
from Limerick, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"147000 and still going. Best value in any car we ever purchased."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 259 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
loved mine,
October 3, 2008
By shelz
from Jeannette,PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"bought mine w/37K, now 114K-
great car/good price
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 260 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Overall a good value,
August 30, 2008
By samantha
from Boston, MA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought one used it gets 35 mpg on the highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.