Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima

Average Customer Rating:
8.496 out of 10
8.5
 out of 
10
435 of 464(94%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Review 241 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best Car Ever,
August 10, 2010
By NissanLover10
from Tempe, AZ
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Had a Nissan Altima for 9 years, best car ever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 242 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
dependable,
July 6, 2010
By chief
from Richmond, VA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had very few issues with this car and it has never left me stranded unless it was do to a dead battery. had it (and still have it) for 10 yrs with 180k on it. this jewel is a tank that wont quit. City or highway, it makes the trek"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 243 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
nissan gxe,
June 11, 2010
By joe
from new jersey
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"good car reliable and safe very little problems with it its a good back and fourth to work car little maintance and overall this is a good car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 244 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good Buy,
November 19, 2009
By BAB
from Indianapolis
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Currently own a '98 SE (bought used in 2005) and a one-time owner of the "sister" make / model - a 1999 GXE that was bought new. Very reliable cars with strong engine and transmission. Little or no excessive maintenance costs other than routine items a person would expect with over 100K miles. Oddly enough when an item needed repair on one, the other also needed the same repair. (i.e. trunk key lock, windshield sun/shade visors, console latch, waterpump - both went out around 110K miles). Overall I would highly recommend either the '98 or '99 model...on the other hand and from what I've read on the web, the 2000 & 2001 models had serious "intake manifold" issues. In short, I would rate this car as a "Good Buy"!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 245 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not Bad,
November 16, 2009
By Billo
from Durham, NC
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
"We've put only 70,000 miles on our 1999 Altima 5 speed in 10 years. But there have been NO problems with it except noisy rear axle bushings and power antenna. Amazingly reliable. But front seats are not very comfortable for long trips, and the shift lever is rubbery. Clutch still going strong with lots of city driving. Good deal, I'd buy one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 246 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car, but stiff,
October 18, 2009
By NissanDriver94
from Huntsville, AL
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Had this car since 2001, it now has 56k on it (barely any, I know) but it still runs strong. My only complaint is that it rides a little stiff, but I'm sure this isn't Nissan's fault, and that my shocks are just going bad."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 247 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Wonderful Car,
August 6, 2009
By BOBBI
from Maryland
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"This Altima has served me well for many years. Great driving, nice size for traveling. Great driver leg room. Comfortable back seating for children and teens. No major engine problems. Large trunk."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 248 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great, reliable car,
June 9, 2009
By minivan mom
from North Carolina
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car new in 1998 and it has been terrific over the last 11 years. The only reason I had to sell it was because I needed something larger in which to tote my 3 children around. This would be the perfect high school or college car. It gets good gas mileage and is dependable with surprising speed and power. Other than regular maintenance, there have been very few problems and those were inexpensive fixes. I highly recommend this vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 249 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Value,
January 2, 2009
By RofoPete
from Limerick, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"147000 and still going. Best value in any car we ever purchased."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 250 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
loved mine,
October 3, 2008
By shelz
from Jeannette,PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"bought mine w/37K, now 114K-
great car/good price
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 251 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Overall a good value,
August 30, 2008
By samantha
from Boston, MA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought one used it gets 35 mpg on the highway."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 252 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
August 7, 2008
By Mechanics
from Greensboro, NC
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Extremely reliable. Owned a new one back in 2001. Now it has 95000 mileage on. Never pay a dime for mechanical or electrical problems. Good acceleration with four cylinders only. Two cons are
Interior noise and seat comfort. Probably will keep it until it falls apart.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 253 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
LOVE MY ALTIMA,
August 6, 2008
By Shoppaholic
from Baltimore, Maryland
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I love my altima. It handles wonderfully. I love the manual transmisson when I want to get up and go. My children spend a lot of time in the backseat,and are very comfortable. We do several major road trips a year, and i drove it 19 hours straight this summer with no problems. I bought this car with 17,000 miles, and never had any problems until about two years ago(140,000 miles), when I began putting a lot of maitenience repairs into it. At 165,000 it needs a new transmission, so I am going to buy a new altima. This car has ben rode hard, and put away wet, and has always been there for me. Average about 28mpg. Goodbye, I will miss you!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 254 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good, reliable, solid,
July 21, 2008
By AD
from Miami FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have a 98 GLE with a rebuilt title and 149,000miles. I thought I was going to regret even putting a dime into it, since I got it as a gift. But after sacrificing $1500 in repairs to get it to almost perfect mechanical shape- I now feel it was the best investment I've made. I've had the car almost 2yrs no, and it's as sound as ever. This altima reliably takes me to work and back 5 days week and everywhere else in between. I've had several other vehicles before this car, and I feel that the quality and performance of this altima, even with it's rebuilt title, outweighed the newer cars I've had in my life. It's a really fun and fast car to drive. Yes, I said fast for you speed demons on the highway looking for some pickup in your life. This car responds as soon as you touch the pedal. The handling is smooth even after 11 years,...The leather seats inside are still comfortable and not droopy- the quality has held. The body style is still stylish, esp with dark tints and gleaming alloys. Very comfortable vehicle. And most importantly, it's great on GAS."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 255 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Good car for the money,
June 1, 2008
By nate
from Indianapolis, IN
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my Nissan about 3 1/2 years ago. I loved the leather interior and sun roof. car handles good and has decent pickup and good gas mileage. I did have some issues at first with electronics, got that worked out and then had a timing belt broke and had to replace the engine ($1500,00) since then It has been a reliable vehicle and has over 157k miles on it. Good car for the money!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 256 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Love this car!,
April 5, 2008
By Proud Altima Owner
from Louisville Area
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I traded in a 2000 Beetle for a 99 altima and it was the best decision ever! This car has never let me down. The Beetle was brand new off the lot and it was in the shop more days than I drove it. The resale value at the dealer was the only good thing the Beetle ever did for me. I have had a few friends offer to buy my car from me and they'll offer me a little more than the blue book and I still can't part with it. If you need a reliable, comfortable car, I highly recommend this car!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 257 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
gave me 10 years!,
March 24, 2008
By mca
from Dallas Texas
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Great car, some minor mechanical problems.. nothing too expensive.. my major problem was that I didn't have the anti-lock braking system.. that car slid so easily in the rain especially on black top roads..
Anyways, I traveled all over the east coast on that car.. 20 hours straight (only stopping for gas)
the car was amazingly reliable..
Gave it up after moving out of the country..
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 258 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
i like it alot!,
March 20, 2008
By peanut
from berlin,nh
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"i love my Nissan Altima. it is 7 years old and going strong. Anyone who is thinking about buying one should. thank you."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 259 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Great Buy,
March 14, 2008
By JJ
from Dallas, TX
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"We purchased this vehicle used in 2003. We have never had anything wrong with it. The most impressive thing about the car is it's value...without question! I guess the only negative thing about the car would be it's "okay" gas mileage. Would recommend this car to anyone!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 260 for 1998 - 2001 Nissan Altima
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
It's "Old Reliable",
February 25, 2008
By Kryptonite
from Williamsport, PA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"I've had my car for 3.5 years. It's never broken down on me or left me stranded. It gets poor gas mileage 18-21 mpg on average. It's not really fun to drive. It gets you from point A to point B, no questions asked. If I'm driving a small, no fun, not asthetically pleasing car like this, I want better mileage! It's terrible in snow. I realize that this sounds pretty negative. All in all, for the money, you can't go wrong, but if you want some zip in your gitty-up, this is not for you. If you don't want to have to worry about your car, check this one out!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more