Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Average Customer Rating:
8.642 out of 10
8.6
 out of 
10
148 of 159(93%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Review 1 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I love this old SUV!,
October 23, 2013
By Honeybear06
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:170000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliable, tons of space, easy access to spare
What's not so great about this vehicle?:MPG 15city/17hwy, no maintenance manual
ReviewOriginationID:f11c2745d1c34a779d4abdb572383316
Make:Mitsubishi
Model:Montero Sport
Vehicle ID:6675
"I have owned this SUV for about 10 years and have found it VERY reliable. Bought in WA, drove it to Vegas, Canada, cross country to VA, NC, even Mt. Rushmore. We've never had to do any maintenance outside of the norm. If you change your spark plugs, replace belts, etc as needed you should have no real problems. Now that she's got more miles on her we've recently had to replace the battery, alternator and starter BUT she's 13 years old for crying out loud. I love my Montero Sport. The only downside- there is no Chiltons/Haynes manual. You have to find your maintenance guides online. Also, the spark plugs are hard to get to (and the dealership wanted $400 to change them) because you have to remove the upper intake manifold just to see them. It's been worth it to put in the work and do repairs ourselves and I would recommend this as a good family car."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location NC
Year 2000
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Loved it until.........,
December 5, 2008
By Musically Mr M
from Roanoke Rapids, NC
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"......the engine with 186,000 pampered and well maintained miles on it lost oil pressure and spun a bearing. After researching the net found out, that the 3.0 Liter engine has an inherent problem with sludge build up-no matter how well you keep the maintenance up on it. It's served us well-decent performance, rugged. Had some other experiences with it that I've heard were were also common-transmission (judder; cleared somewhat with a fluid change. Electrical-warning lights that came on for no real reason. Had them checked by a dealer and several sensors changed. Lights still came on. Premature rotor wear. AC failure after 3years of ownership.
The oiling problem was the last straw. Mitsubishi was aware of the oil pan problem but chose not to contact customers. (Did write about it in a TSB) Will never own another one. Buying a Chevy Tahoe!!!!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Rough, tough performer,
November 24, 2010
By Nickerman
from Snohomish, WA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We purchased our '97 Monty when it had 40k miles on it and then added another 100k miles over the last 9 years with almost zero issues. All systems have worked flawlessly, except the cooling system in recent years when pulling up long hills on hot summer days. It's certainly not the most powerful SUV out there but it's been enough to pull our boat and utility trailer. It's not the most comfortable vehicle at lower speeds but at higher freeway speeds, it's smooth as silk and very stable, with performance exceeding 20 MPG on trips. We've had great times off-roading at the beach in the mountains. We've worn the wheels off this car, but it keeps on going strong. I'd buy another Montero Sport in a heartbeat if we still had children. We'll downsize with the next vehicle but have truly enjoyed this tough performer."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
You get your money's worth,
June 20, 2011
By sharona
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Not At All
10
Definitely
Approximate mileage:115000
What's great about this vehicle?:Reliability, low maintenance
What's not so great about this vehicle?:not the most comfortable on long trips
"This car has been a dream to own. Bought it used in 2003 (it's a 2000 Sport Limited). No major repair bills, just brake pads, new battery, oil changes (and I'm not the best at keeping those current) and new tires. We really beat on this car too. It makes the trip to NH or Maine several times each week in the Spring and Summer and it's our main transportation in the snow and ice. The other car is usually sitting in the driveway. Really, THE most reliable, trouble free car I have ever owned. We'll keep this one as long as possible. I plan to buy another Mitsubishi when this one is finally retired. Based on our experience with this car, my brother bought his wife an Endeavor and they love it."
Ownership Status I own this car.
Location MA
Year 2000
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
GREAT vehicle,
July 26, 2010
By austin
from Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I received one of these for graduation and have loved this vehicle for the past year. I own a 1999 Montero Sport Limited 4wd. my montero has all the features, leather and heated seats, sunroof, 4wd, front and rear AC (works Great), compass, thermometer etc. I have loved this car ever since I knew what a montero sport was. from the sporty look to the incredible reliability, this car has been more than perfect, as i expect it will for many years to come. If you are thinking about purchasing a Montero Sport, dont hesitate any longer. the only recommendation i would make is make sure you get the limited edition, as i have heard all other models tend to be less reliable and are not as valuable."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 6 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functional and Stylish SUV,
July 15, 2007
By APB
from Augusta, GA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I've owned my Montero Sport Limited for 7 years and it has been great. When looking for an SUV, I wanted a roomy SUV which still had style. I was attracted to the look of the SUV as it was distintive and the interior was comfortable and stylish with the leather interior. It also drove great! I have been very happy with the Montero Sport. It remains comfortable and I have had no problems what so ever. It has held up quite well. I agree with the other comment about it being a shame that Mitsu discontinued this model, because I think it would do well against current SUV offerings and it would be on the top of my list for a new SUV. I plan to keep this SUV for years to come!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 7 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Montero owner since 2001,
November 4, 2009
By loyal owner
from Franklin,KY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had my Montero since 2001 and can honestly say it is the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. If the new ones weren't so ugly I would have bought another one. Don't hesitate to buy a Montero, they are excellent vehicles. Mine has 125k and still running strong. My friends and family have gone through 2-3 vehicles and thousands in repairs while I am enjoying "old faithful"...it's been about the only faithful, dependable thing I've had..ha..ha.. I can always count on my Mitsubishi. My original Yokohoma tires even lasted 100k!! The mechanics said they should have been in the hall of fame. You can't go wrong with this truck, it's awesome!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
This Car Did the Job,
May 5, 2010
By TenderT
from Los Angeles, CA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this 2000 model car in 2001 w/50k miles on it. It ran and ran with only regular maintenance issues and a couple of wear and tear items until it was totaled in 2010 w/158k miles. I will admit that for the past few years it has been burning oil quickly and I have had to add oil every month, but this car did the job every day (40 miles a day) and I was never left stranded (on the side of the road). As for comfort, I always wished that there was more leg room (we are a tall family). With regards to the accident, I was hit by a diesel truck on the freeway (stop & go traffic), and the bumper did what a bumper is suppose to do."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 9 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great looking SUV I have always wanted one,
February 5, 2008
By Missy
from Mt. pleasant, Iowa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have just recently purchased my 1999 Montero sport. It has 152000 miles on it but still looks great. I love the interior the seats are very comfertable and its nice and clean. Unfortunatly the 4 wheel drive went out and a nasty shimmy in the pass. side rear wheel. I have faith in my mechanic and i will get it fixed im sure at great expense. Im looking forward to driving it again it was alot of fun! and my Shih-tzu Tiffy likes the leather seats. I gave it all 5 stars because up untill this it was a pleasure to drive and i love everything about it. Its a beautiful color inside and out and i hope to drive it for a very long time."
How long have you owned this vehicle? Less than 6 mo
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Best value, best looking SUV,
June 26, 2008
By tilolite
from Phoenix, AZ
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought my 2WD Montero used in 02. 6 years later, it has 131k mostly trouble free miles. I had to repair the A/C twice since it's weak for 110+ Arizona summer. Had other minor DYI repairs. The engine still feels solid and runs very smoothly, no shakes & get 20mpg on regular in 40/60 city/hwy driving. The front leather seats have cracked and ripped open but that's no biggie. Outside the US, it's called a PAJERO and even comes with hood scoop and rear monted spare tire. The 97-98 Sport, esp two-tone with wide tires, are the best looking SUVs on the road. I always wanted one and I plan to keep mine 4ever."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
April 4, 2008
By Momcat
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have owned my 1998 Montero Sport since 2000. I am the second owner. I still love the whole package. It has been the most dependable & reliable vehicle that I have ever owned. I have 72,000 miles on it with very limited time in the repair shop. Everything still works as good as the day I bought it. The only negative that I can say is the deterioration of some of the exterior trim. Our harsh Nevada summers are tuff on vehicles. Other than that, I can't say another negative thing. Wish Mitsubishi still made them, not that I need a new one at this time. My MS is like the Energizer Bunny!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 12 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Like the Energizer Battery, going, going .....,
October 18, 2007
By Bert
from Whitestone, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this SUV new in 2000. All I have done to it is change oil, new brakes and change the tires.
After getting used to dump all my previuos cars at 60000 miles or so, it is remarkable that this SUV still runs great and have no problems at all at 141000 miles.
I would like to get a new SUV but I can't because it would be ashame to get rid of my Montero.
WHAT IS REALLY ASHAME IS THAT MITSUBISHI DOES NOT MAKE THE MONTERO ANYMORE. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING AROUND BUT IT SEEMS THAT NOTHING MEASURES UP WITH MY MONTERO.
BEST RELIABLE CAR I HAVE EVER HAD!!!.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Best SUV ever,
February 15, 2008
By Gee$$$
from Atlanta, GA
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have had my 98 MS for 10 years now, 126K on her and she still rides like a dream. No real problems, keep the oil clean and I get the dealer tune ups. I got the shocks replaced, new tires, ceramic brakes and the battery. She is a great road dog. I take her on vacation all the time, it's fun loading her up and hitting the road. Only issue I am having is a lot of the Mitsubishi Dealers have closed in my area, only 2 left in the city. I look to putting another 100K on her. I don't want another car right now as reliable as she is."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Most Reliable- 12 years later,
October 8, 2010
By Well
from Chattanooga, TN
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"My husband purchased the 98 Montero Sport new, before we met. 12 years later, it is still going strong. No major problems, just maintenance. He still drives it daily after all these years. I will say it now leaks oil and smells like gas and at this point, he could use something newer, but not every car is going to last this many years. Because of the quality & dependability, we did purchase a Mitsubishi Endeavor new in 2007, but the quality was nowhere near that of the Montero. The Endeavor has since been traded."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 15 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
great pick,
December 7, 2010
By me inIL.
from rockford IL
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"i bought this vehicle when it was a few years old. i have owned it for atleast 7 or 8 yrs. no major problems. loved that is was still a "box" style as everything elese is so aerodinamic, (dont care for that look)went thru only normal maintnence, battery, brakes, etc. still own it. with 110,000.00miles. will run it to the ground. interior has held up well, have carted my 4yr old who is now 11 around w/ her friends. no tears or holes. would buy again if they still made it..great pick for a long lasting vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 16 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
This has been a great vehicle.,
August 30, 2007
By sailorgirl
from Springfield, MO
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I have 93000 miles on my Montero Sport 4WD Limited and it has been a great vehicle. Plenty of cargo space, nice interior, comfy leather seats (heated seats are wonderful), and easy to use controls. I have not had any problems with the exception of having to replace the transmission fluid pan as the original was too shallow and the trannie fluid would overheat in hot weather while driving down the interstate. It was a warranty repair and I've had no trouble since. I would get a new one if they still made them."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 17 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
ok vehicle,
August 12, 2010
By 97 Sport
from Las Vegas
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"This vehicle was great at first. Ran good. Never had any major problems. Then out of no where it started to smoke after idling. After spending $1,500. it still smoked and I got a ticket from smog division in southern nevada. So since I had already spent so much money I had to let it go. But other than the smoke this was an awesome vehicle. Got decent mileage, and performed well off roading. Would definately recccommend. The only problem is that this is no longer made so the parts/service is VERY costly."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 18 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Great for hauling kids,dog, and gear,
February 1, 2008
By Ed
from Upstate South Carolina
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I own a 1998 Montero sport w/ 140,000 miles on it. This is the best vehicle Ive ever owned. I've hauled my motorcycle,trailer and made the occasional stop @ the dump. "Monty" has never failed me or my wife. Plenty of room for my 3 boys and my dog Teva loves to sit in the cargo area. It must be true that dogs have a sixth sense about a good thing!! The only fix we did mechanically was replace the valve guides. This cost $2000 dollars,but I assure you that I will get another 140,000 miles out of it!!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 19 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Great Value,
July 16, 2007
By Nice SUV
from Wisconsin
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Its not a stunner in any sense, but I have 190K on my 2000 Sport LS, other than routine maintenance, tires, brakes, 100K service, it has been flawless. Looks decent, very durable, decent gas mileage, decent towing, engine runs like new. In short, very reliable at a great price. It is still glossy, responsive, clean, everything works...if your looking for a reliable ride at an extremely reasonable price...buy it. Just keep up the routine maintenance like you should on any other vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1997 - 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
LOVE THIS VEHICLE!!,
October 19, 2009
By cherry bomb
from St. Louis, MO
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"I bought this SUV with 20,000 miles in 2000 (it's a 1999) and it is the BEST vehicle I've owned. Ever. I have almost 200,000 miles on it and no MAJOR repairs. Some things are giving out (radio) and there is a little rust by the exhaust. With regular maintenance, this vehicle has been very good to me. At this point the SUV is burning some oil, probably needs major repair in the engine. But, it survived me a couple of rear end accidents and is very reliable. Wish they still made them!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.