Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Average Customer Rating:
9.028 out of 10
9
 out of 
10
206 of 217(95%)customers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Review 61 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Love this car...,
February 24, 2010
By AcuraLvr
from Dallas, TX
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought this car used at the end of 2000. With regular maintenance, this car has never let me down. It runs like new, and rides like new, and looks like new. Recently put about $1500 in, in tires and suspension, and now has a new car ride. Engine is strong, no leaks. The best car I have ever owned. Look forward to buying my next Acura."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 62 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Good car, but watch for tranny prob on 3.0,
February 16, 2010
By dg
from Orlando
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Good car overall, but maint can be expensive. Some issues: door locks, window motors, radio, and big one- auto tranny on 3.0 litre model. Check out some of the forums on this subject before purchasing"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Good for the money,
January 31, 2010
By Lootsee
from Lawrence, KS
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I bought this car with 27000 miles on it in 2005. Besides routine maintenance (thru acura is EXPENSIVE) i havent had any major problems. I have replaced the drivers side window motor. Other re-occurring problems include a glovebox light that wont turn off, and an ignition switch which was recalled, and has again failed. acura refuses to fix the problem. it was recalled once, and was told that i would have to pay 200 dollars to have it fixed again. Makes a great student car, i average 23 mpg on regular fuel. the back seat is a little tight. other than that the car runs great and would probably purchase another one."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 64 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
excellent car,
January 14, 2010
By susan
from California
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I bought the 1998 3.0 new and it still looks stylish after 11 years. Have had no major mechanical problems after 80,000 miles. The transmission works great, no problems at all. Very comfortable to drive and a smooth ride for a sporty looking car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 65 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
great looking car - transmission is bad,
December 16, 2009
By av
from portland
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Reliability: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Quality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"the style of the car is great. it has acura luxury and quality. the engine still has a lot of power for being 11 years old. the driver seat isn't very comfortable in my opinion, but the major downfall is the transmission. it runs horribly when the engine isn't fully warmed up. on top if that, the transmission is usually jerky in general. if you don't mind the tranny, it's a great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
highway monster!!!!,
December 7, 2009
By liam
from bayonne nj
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"best car ive ever owned just not the most powerful. good looks, reliability and comfort im 6ft 5 in and still fit. bought car with 120,000 now have over 180,000 and still runs great!!! better then most new cars ive worked on (im a honda acura technichan) i own the 1998 5 spd 2.3 version and am in the proscess of getting a 99 3.0 v6 cant wait. both in primrose silver!"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 67 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Solid Car,
November 30, 2009
By TJ
from Seattle, Wa
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Great reliability, surprising performance in the 5-speed."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
Review 68 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
heckofa Good Car,
November 12, 2009
By Cirberus
from Cocoa, FL
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
"Great car, i've put mine through a lot and its sill going although the transmission is starting to feel funny, but overall its a well built vehicle."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 69 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Classy, Reliable, Low maintenance,
October 24, 2009
By NYC Acura Driver
from New York, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have a 1997 2.2 coupe with a manual transmission. I bought it with 66K and it now has 145K. The car looks beautiful and I still get compliments on it. After 6 years of driving, it has needed brake pads, tires, and I just replaced the timing belt (only regular maintenance). It is smooth, quiet, reliable, and actually pretty quick. I haven't had a car payment in 6 years and I plan to keep this until its loses its smooth classy coupe feel...but I don't see that happening anytime soon. Cheap to maintain and considering I'm a NYC driver, I would say that its extremely durable and well built too. Overall, very satisfied with this car. Umm...sorry one complaint...the turning radius stinks but given all of the other pluses, I'll live with that."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
one of the best!!!,
October 9, 2009
By 87teggy
from Mesa, AZ
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I just sold my 1997 2.2 CL for $4750. The new owner said she might be 12 years old, she's worth every dollar. Acuras and Hondas last forever if you maintain them regularly. I was sad to see her go but I know she's got many miles ahead of her."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 2 to 3 yrs
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Amazing coupe,
September 25, 2009
By CLer
from Philadelphia, PA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Owned my 1998 5 spd manual 2.3 CL since 2000. Bought it with 12,000 miles on it, now has 85,000. Still handles like new, paint and interior look great, everything works. ONLY mechanical problem was a left-sided power window lift. Unmatched quality. A gem."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 72 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
great car,
September 19, 2009
By joe
from cincinnati oh
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"i bought my cl 2.2 in january of this year (2009)
it had 225000 mile on it and ran great. fun to drive. good power a four cylider. driver 500 miles a week for work. only problem i had the oil pump went out at 249000. had to replace the motor. nice thing about honda motors are dime a dozen. 300 bucks for motor with 90000 mile so im good go for a few more years. the only thing i dont like is it has the turn radius like my truck.
"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 6 mo to 1 yr
Review 73 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Good performance, bad transmission,
August 25, 2009
By Anonymous
from Boston, MA
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Quality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"Had the car for 9 years and managed to get 170K highway miles before the AT needed rebuilding. The rebuilt AT from AAMCO only lasted 40K miles (just past warranty). The engine was running fine and no oil leaks after 210K miles. Exhaust manifold cracked and had to replaced. Even had to replace the driver's window motor. Overall reliable but moderately high maintenance for a highway-driven car. Traded in for a '09 TSX; hopefully it will be less maintenance. My '90 Integra was more reliable after 250K miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Acura 2.2CL,
August 15, 2009
By Qu33nZ BaLLa
from Queens, NY
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"Excellent car especially for a first car, bought it with 65K Miles on it in June 08 haven't had to make 1 repair on it in a year besides regular maintenance. Has good power decent styling still even over 10 years after it's release handling is excellent as well as the pickup...For the price I paid couldn't have asked for any more than I got"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 1 to 2 yrs
Review 75 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
I used to love this car,
July 25, 2009
By Missy
from Atlanta
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Reliability: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Quality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"But I bought it right under 100,000 miles and I had to do ALLOT of repairs on it : transmission needed rebuilding right when I got it, then there was a problem with the lock on the passenger side door, the fuel distributor needed replacing, then the regulator on the window needed to be replaces, the a/c condenser was repaired and then broke a year later and of course the usuall brakes, flushes and tune ups.... I do love the way this car drives but I wouldnt reccommend buying it at 100000 + miles."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Purchased new in 1997,
July 21, 2009
By Welly
from San Diego, CA
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
"We purchased this car new in 1997 and it has proven to be a great auto. We have replaced the starter at 80k (just out of warrantee) the alternator and CV at 122k and the car now has 150k on it. It has the 3.0 and is a rocket. Would not hesitate to take this car on any long trip. Have not had a car payment in over 6 years- Only negative is the turning radius of the car is not so great, but did I mention not having any car payments :)"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 77 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
couldn't ask for better,
July 20, 2009
By ali
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"I have had this car for over 10 years now and I bought it used making it almost 13 years old. I can't say enough good things about it. I have never had any major issues with it just regular maintenance. It just keeps running perfectly. Would recommend to anyone. Best purchase I have ever made."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Close!,
July 5, 2009
By Vincer
from Groveland, CA
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Reliability: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Quality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
"Since purchase in year 2000 my 1999 Acura presented front brake issues. Finally resolved that issue in 2009 by having Rabestos HD Drilled/SOT front rotors installed. Wish I had done this Years Ago! Chance oil myself every 4K miles, use Pennzoil 5/30 and Std Fram Filter. And so on and so on....."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
May 20, 2009
By matt
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Reliability: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Quality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
"Very happy with this car. Original trans. overhauled at 200k, EGR valve problomatic but easy to fix, window regulator motors replaced @ 150k. This is a great car."
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more
Review 80 for 1997 - 1999 Acura CL
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
good car - bad windows,
May 9, 2009
By mitch
from memphis
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Reliability: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Quality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Driving Dynamics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design/Interior & Exterior: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comfort & Convenience: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
"I have been happy except 2 batteries - one is first year - one in 4th. also big deal driver window motor/regulator went out at 50,000 and 100, 000. $400 per event"
How long have you owned this vehicle? 3 yrs or more